We Let this game slip big time

Great effort by the Hawks. I am proud of the way they have stood up in the last few weeks. I personally had serious doubts about our season after the doggies game.

Shame about the last 15 or so minutes. I got the feeling after the Guerra goal we mentally put the cue in the rack. It happens so often when you change from trying to win to trying to save the game. Cats got their tails up and by the time we started having a crack again we were gone. I suppose today was just part of the season we are having. The footy gods seem to have it in for us.

Full credit to the cats they kept coming and won a game they shouldn't have with half a bench. I thought Lingy and Selwood were great for them. We can't blame the umpires for the loss. I thought they were rubbish but not to the detriment of either side. Although I would love to ask the umpiring coach about high tackles and Selwood. I thought if you ducked your head it was play on. I reckon he is the master of the high tackle move in the same class as Lloydie with the dive.

I am particularly disappointed with the loss as we really looked like we had the old Hawk game back. However as usual this season a 4 quarter full team effort went astray.

A few points on the playing personal that I can remember.

Kennedy - I don't think we can be too harsh on dumb moves like the handball to Buddy. The main thing is he looks like he can make it ala Watson and will only get more aware (remember the pedigree).
Taylor - I thought was pretty good.
Murph - did some good things early but did his usual share of lame things. I put alot of his problems down to a lack of body strength. He is one bloke that has to harden up physically. He seems to be okay mentally (i mean you have to be to cop the amount of shit us hawk fans give him!)
Hodge - piss poor. Looked like he was on the ales last night. However lingy must get some real credit as he is a gun tagger. He just stops our blokes. Clarko we need a big bodied tagger. They are worth their weight in gold.
Shields - special mention for the youngest bloke going around. He looks like he will be a gun over the next couple of years.
Roughy - kick straight.
Buddy - close to his best.

Bottom line we showed we are good enough but this year just won't work for us. Even though we can make the finals still I would hope the football dept have one eye on 2010 especially with Trent Croad. Don't turn him into an Egan! We have got some good games into some good kids and will be better off for it. I would suggest a St.Kilda type draft this year and grab a few mature players at the end of the draft. They have done really well with that and have shown that list management is not all about stocking up with 17 year olds.

On a personal level I have calmed down after having a near fatal heart attack at about 4.30 pm today. Right now the only mature thing to turn to my old friend cold beer and stick with that until the pain subsides.

Can't be bothered with typing anymore. Go Hawks!

What the hell possessed Kennedy to handball to Buddy with defenders all over him when he could of taken the shot in the dying seconds!!!!!

Just summed up the final QTR.

I'm not blaming him for the loss but #$%%#$% me that was infuriating!

Buddy would have called for it mate,thought the kid played well today.

Heartbreaking...yes. But we will all be back next week barracking hard as ever. Thought Kennedy, Shiels and even Schoey at times were great. They all contniue to mature and this is just part of the process.

Just to update, the AFL has just updated the stats, 7 frees to geelong to 1 in the last term. Just to correct my post earlier.

I'm so annoyed at every aspect of that last quarter. Was rubbish. Melbourne could have beaten us the way we played. Stupid handball chains, 5 metre grubber kicks to no-one, not holding onto vital tackles etc

You have obviously forgotten the pathetic frees you received in the 1st and second quarters so dont give me this free kick rubbish in the last quarter. You were beaten by an under manned Geelong today so no excuses.

You can't blame this loss if we don't make the 8, at least there was decent effort, what about the game against Port, Adelaide, West Coast and the Bulldogs - those games are the ones that cost us and the last quarter against Melbourne when we shut up shop after getting a good percentage boost to only win by 20 or so - they are the games that hurt us big time!

Good call - good words.

To those idiots bagging out Kennedy on here, hang your hand in shame. You are a disgrace to the club.

The kid has just played the game of his life. He gets possession looks up sees the great Buddy Franklin screaming for it, running 100 miles an hour at the goals and does the instinctive midfielder thing and gives it off. We know the result.

For people to single out this after all the mistakes that happen during a 110 minutes of high pressure footy is just misguided bullshit.

To cop this crap on here is just terrible. Hope the kid doesn't read this sort of stuff.:thumbsdown:

Again some great words...

Its so easy to get angry and target one player. Its too easy. But its not in the team spirit. Stuff happens. You have to know the boys do the best that they can when they are in the moment. You have to - and you also have to know that if they didn't do the best they will be at home beating themselves up about it right now.

Its in the past now.. we have to be positive and supportive to our amazing team of talented players.

I am devistated by the loss. We had it in the bag (sort of). But we lost it. Geelong got back on their game and put pressure on us. So many times we have done that to other players...

All I can say (being a hawthorn supporter) hats of to both teams and more importantly Beyond Blue.

You have obviously forgotten the pathetic frees you received in the 1st and second quarters so dont give me this free kick rubbish in the last quarter. You were beaten by an under manned Geelong today so no excuses.
And you were BEATEN by an undermanned Hawthorn in the GF.. You haven't won the flag yet..Me thinks you are getting ahead of yourself!! We also had 6 of our GF players out, and have had almost all year..You can't beat experience in these games. Having said that, I thought the young ones did very well, they will be all the better for the experience. We should keep playing all the young ones now, and we can at least look forward to next year..The team had a go today, no one can take that away from them..
At least we didn't get beaten by 10 goals as one of your posters stated yesterday. He said you would flog us by at least that many...WRONG

Hi guys, bad luck today.

I have a hawks fan who has just told me that we (Geelong) are irrefutable, gutless, soft and honourless? He said if Hawks play Geelong in a finals game he will point out all of the abovementioned traits about my side. I am perplexed as to why he would say this? Do any other hawks fans agree with what he has said? You guys were awesome today and I think you will make the finals and put fear/danger into anyone, even us.

Cheers.
Is Jeff Kennett your friend?

Great effort by the hawks today - fantastic effort.

The hawks got beat because at the end of the day they lacked a little bit of polish at some critical moments.

BUT - what we saw today was not the finished product.

Kennedy, Shoenmakers, Dowler, Shiels and co will all be stars in time.

Very disapointing result but the cats are almost finished - the hawks are just starting.

Great effort by the hawks today - fantastic effort.

The hawks got beat because at the end of the day they lacked a little bit of polish at some critical moments.

BUT - what we saw today was not the finished product.

Kennedy, Shoenmakers, Dowler, Shiels and co will all be stars in time.

Very disapointing result but the cats are almost finished - the hawks are just starting.

Yep - I agree

Vulcanize the whoopee stick
In the ham wallet

Cattle prod the oyster ditch
With the lap rocket

Batter dip the cranny ax
In the gut locker...

FOXTROT UNIFORM CHARLIE KILO!!!

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Only the 2nd time in our history I believe that we have lost by a kick after the freakin siren!

I was reading an article last night that a Cat supporter put a $1000 bet on us to not make the 8 this year at 100-1. Needless to say - please let us make the finals this year, please!!!

Who would of thought 3 and half weeksd ago we would of smashed the Pies and almost beat the Cats by 5 goals, after we got belted by the dogs we all thought it was time to pack up and look foward to next year, well i for one am not writing of this season and nor will i come in here and bad mouth players and ask for players heads.
They are feeling the hurt worse than us we are just spectators, if you heard sewell on mmm after the game he was so devistated they know they should of won and had we beat the eagles this loss would not of mattered as much.

Gutted at the result but let's not single out 1 scapegoat. We had numerous opportunities to kick more goals (or not conceed some).

Unfortunately we made a few crucial errors which the Cats pounced apon and made us pay. In the end they were hungrier and made the most of their chances.

If we can replicate that for 4qtrs and make a few less crucial errors, we will be hard to beat. We just need to get that consistency back that made us feared last year. Too late for this year? Let's see how we go next week and how the boys respond to this disappointing result. Carna Hawkers!

Gutted at the result but let's not single out 1 scapegoat. We had numerous opportunities to kick more goals (or not conceed some).

Unfortunately we made a few crucial errors which the Cats pounced apon and made us pay. In the end they were hungrier and made the most of their chances.

If we can replicate that for 4qtrs and make a few less crucial errors, we will be hard to beat. We just need to get that consistency back that made us feared last year. Too late for this year? Let's see how we go next week and how the boys respond to this disappointing result. Carna Hawkers!

Well said !!!!

Undermanned? That's not a term Hawthorn is familiar with..... :rolleyes:
2 things to remember :
Hawthorn have won a premiership since Geelong
Hawthorn will win another before Geelong

You were handed the game on a platter today. Accept it and be grateful....

What the hell possessed Kennedy to handball to Buddy with defenders all over him when he could of taken the shot in the dying seconds!!!!!

An urgent drill needed by our team - not to handball, or pass in any other way for that matter, to a team-mate under the hammer. It has been a bad flaw in our game all season.

Think the criticism of Kennedy is a bit unfair. Players are instructed to handpass up from ground level all the time, as generally that time to stand back up and get the kick away is enough to get tackled.

To the poster who talked about the Campbell Brown "mark" that wasn't paid, think the fact that Campbell didn't try and claim it at all, and ran to try to make a tackle on someone else as soon as the ball spilt showed that the ball wasn't a mark, considering he didn't think so.

I've enjoyed the umpiring of recent times, with less whilsting, but today's holding the ball was so inconsistent. Reckon there were at least three paid where there were a bunch of hands on the ball, and then there were a couple of tackles were a guy was out on his own, ball spilt and it was play on.

The Hawks just didn't manage to convert their limited opportunities in the last quarter. That was the biggest difference, they needed to take some wind out of the cats' sails, and never managed to do it.

I feel for you Hawthorn fans. As much as I was absolutely elated with Geelong's win, I can only imagine how gutted you guys must feel. It would have been such a significant and important win for your finals campaign. However, I reckon you guys should look at the good side of things. Hawthorn played better than they have for most of the season, and I saw the spirit that won them a premiership last year. If they can carry such form for the remainder of the season, I foresee Hawthorn making the 8 still. If you guys make it, I'll be silently very glad that Geelong won't have to face you guys until prelims at least. Good luck for the rest of the season.

We Let this game slip big time