We Let this game slip big time

And you were BEATEN by an undermanned Hawthorn in the GF.. You haven't won the flag yet..Me thinks you are getting ahead of yourself!! We also had 6 of our GF players out, and have had almost all year..You can't beat experience in these games. Having said that, I thought the young ones did very well, they will be all the better for the experience. We should keep playing all the young ones now, and we can at least look forward to next year..The team had a go today, no one can take that away from them..
At least we didn't get beaten by 10 goals as one of your posters stated yesterday. He said you would flog us by at least that many...WRONG
I've accepted our loss in last years GF with no excuses but whats that got to do with yesterdays game? I am clearly stating the obvious from quite a number of your fans everytime you lose you look for excuses. I also dont think Geelong will win the GF with current state of injuries and form. Read my reply and accept the fact that you lost.
As an opposition supporter I think some of your supporters are too harsh on the young player Kennedy.

Laying the blame for this loss on individual players or the umpiring is pathetic, weak and spineless. All of you who have chosen to do so should be embarassed. Fact is, this was almost without doubt the most thrilling game of the season, and probably as close to the intensity and uber-standard of the Saints-v-Cats game 3 weeks ago.

Yep - we should've been more composed as a group to hold them out when 28 points up at three quarter time. How about we focus on the aulity of footy that got us into that spot in the first place?

Yep - we allowed Selwood and Ablett too much latitude throughout the day, and especially Corey in that last. Still, you can't keep top shelf footballers down all day, and the Cats have plenty of them.

Yep - I also felt terrible at the final result, as it seemed this would confirm what we already know, that we will be a serious threat if we make the final eight.

If we can re-produce what we did yesterday, we will win 4 of our final 5 games to finish 12-10. This means we need Carlton to go 2-3, OR Essendon (presuming they win today) to go 2-3, including a round 22 loss, to take 7th or 8th spot. There is every chance of this happening.

Full credit to Geelong, to win from where they were sitting at the 3 minute mark, without their 2 key defenders for the second half is similar to the heroic efforts of our guys in the 2008 GF. They should be proud of this win. Likewise, we should be proud of our boys efforts. I certainly am, and will back them to make the GF if we can sneak in after rd 22.

Just like the geelong supporters did last year after the GF, how about we say that THEY didn't win it yesterday, WE lost it..Wasn't that the excuse from every cat supporter in 2008?
IF we had kicked straight yesterday we would have won, simply put!!
But we didn't,and that's what winning is all about, kicking GOALS!!:(

What left me astonished was the amount of ball not going to Franklin in the second half, the guy was clearly on fire and in red hot form, and yet we didn't give him nearly enough ball or opportunity in the second half especially when one out on Mackie, on many occasions we completely bypassed Franklin............ when we finally did give him the ball( Kennedy) it was the wrong time and he was surrounded by 3 Geelong players.

I'd offer my condolences but screw that ;)

Very happy to get away with the win when we looked gone. Was a ripper game of footy :thumbsu:

In all honesty do you think your boys are going to be worse for wear after that hard slog and they will be heading into the finals series with blokes carrying injuries.
Even if the Hawks did pull of the upset win we still no certanties to play finals, but from what i seen yesterday the Cats do look little too vonurable at the moment..

In all honesty do you think your boys are going to be worse for wear after that hard slog and they will be heading into the finals series with blokes carrying injuries.
Even if the Hawks did pull of the upset win we still no certanties to play finals, but from what i seen yesterday the Cats do look little too vonurable at the moment..

Yes there were some signs which concerned me for sure.

But then, I didn't expect to be two KP defenders down by half time.

The thing I am pleased about though, is that Hawthorn had it all to play for and all but had it won with 15 minutes to play. We don't usually rise up off the canvas against the Hawks like that.

One thing that did cross my mind after the game though, was 'We were closer in the GF and never looked like getting back into it, yet today we were absolutely gone and found a way to pull off a victory.'

I think if nothing else Saturday put to bed the myth that we fell over last year.

It will remain the biggest mistery of GF 2008 - the cats last quarter.

Some factors though

Hawks had more run in 08 - cats had more this time despite the injuries suggesting it shouldnt be so.

Bomber pulld more moves non as effective as moons in the ruck - it threw the hawks because they were getting better and better though there. Hawks answered every goal in the GF bar one and were lacking in the final 1/4 come saturday.
Bomber did have more small options wirh varcoe and stokes fitter.

Hawks alo iced it better in the GF - killed the contest early in the last 1/4 - seemd unable to do that on satday.

Even when it was a draw with not long to go I wanted them to Ice it

The reason ? that point would have delivered the draw and absolved us of our poor percentage. - we'd be in the eight now and only needing to match the bombers for wins.

If we dont match them for wins, but the percentages are similar, we will have to beat the bombers by 15 goals come round 22

To everyone posting the free kick count in the final quarter how about posting the free kick count in each of the quarters?

We were beaten by a team that wanted nothing more than to crush us.

Honestly, started reading this thread, but have decided to skip all the crap you so called "supporters" are flogging on about and cut to chase.

How anyone can blame any of the players individually for what happened saturday is beyond me. From where I was sitting, we had enough of the ball, just couldn't make it count on the scoreboard. You can try to single out one specific moment, but as we were beaten by a point after the siren, what's the point in that?

Our kids will learn from this and be stronger for it. The game didn't really matter anyway...if we keep playing like that we WILL make the finals and then it's anyone's game. If losing on Saturday killed of ANY chance of making the finals, I may understand some of the negative crap being written on this board, but it didn't, so get over it.

These things happen in footy. Hawks are still a force this year and that has only been proven more by that game Saturday. If we don't make it this year, so what? 2010 was always the year they ear-marked anyway and the injuries this year has given time to the kids, who are better for the opportunity.

I think there is a certain amount of "fait a compli" this year about the Hawks. I have the feeling that whatever happens was meant to be and will help us build a strong platform for the future; finals or no finals in 2009.

Just cut out the negative childish crap and get over it.

Yeah we did let it slip, but lets look at the positives.

We have been looking for solid form.. And we outplayed the cats for 3 and a half quarters comfortably. Even before the injuries, we had the run and flair back into our game. We would have buried them earlier had we had not missed easy shots. They needed a bit of luck in the last and got it, we missed loads of shots, one decision.. or behind or held tackle and we might have won the game, and we would all be happy as larry.

We played lots of youngsters in the game, and have dealt with injuries as much as they have. Shoey, Dowler, Shiels, kennedy and we were outplaying them. Even so.. minus campbell, croad, ladson williams, young dew ect we are still playing great football.

Essendon and port lost, meaning the game had little effect on our chances. If essendon had beaten richmond like they shouldhave, and we had won, we would still be out of the 8.

As bad as the loss was, we clearly have the form that we were looking for, and if we play like we have the last few weeks, we should smash port this weekend, and even give the saints a nudge in tassie.

I think we will grab 8th spot, and if we do we WILL do damage. No one will want to play us. Have a little faith.

LOVED reading the first few heated pages from Saturday!!:D:thumbsu:

Couple of points:

Kennedy - WTF??? We were saying this was his best game so far and then he has a complete brain fade. Good signs for the future though and i was one who has been totally critical of him.

Roughy - OMG, WTF?? How can he be so good some weeks and so utterly f***ed up the next? He is a massive UNIT and should dominate more often than not.

Shoey - Off the pace early but is deffo a gem for the future.

Razor Ray - what a complete w*nker! This guy is worse than Goldspank:thumbsdown: About to destroy games with a single blow!

Reminds me of a loss to the Brisbane Lions in 95 that scarred the club for a long time. Psychologically the players must feel awful. It's very disappointing but it's critical they get support across the board to keep spirits up. A win next week against Port Adelaide will get things going again. Get behind the boys. They need it. No point in bagging them, the game has been decided. Come on Hawks beat the Power!

Watch the Geelong vs St Kilda game and you will see Selwood and Gary Ablett's attitude towards umpiring and free kicks.

Selwood is the first to complain about not getting a free kick on multiple occasions and Gary Ablett looks for the umpires midway through him being tackled to look for the free.

Both of them have Pavlov's dog thingy going on when it comes to free kicks.

Honestly, started reading this thread, but have decided to skip all the crap you so called "supporters" are flogging on about and cut to chase.

How anyone can blame any of the players individually for what happened saturday is beyond me. From where I was sitting, we had enough of the ball, just couldn't make it count on the scoreboard. You can try to single out one specific moment, but as we were beaten by a point after the siren, what's the point in that?

Our kids will learn from this and be stronger for it. The game didn't really matter anyway...if we keep playing like that we WILL make the finals and then it's anyone's game. If losing on Saturday killed of ANY chance of making the finals, I may understand some of the negative crap being written on this board, but it didn't, so get over it.

These things happen in footy. Hawks are still a force this year and that has only been proven more by that game Saturday. If we don't make it this year, so what? 2010 was always the year they ear-marked anyway and the injuries this year has given time to the kids, who are better for the opportunity.

I think there is a certain amount of "fait a compli" this year about the Hawks. I have the feeling that whatever happens was meant to be and will help us build a strong platform for the future; finals or no finals in 2009.

Just cut out the negative childish crap and get over it.

Yeah we did let it slip, but lets look at the positives.

We have been looking for solid form.. And we outplayed the cats for 3 and a half quarters comfortably. Even before the injuries, we had the run and flair back into our game. We would have buried them earlier had we had not missed easy shots. They needed a bit of luck in the last and got it, we missed loads of shots, one decision.. or behind or held tackle and we might have won the game, and we would all be happy as larry.

We played lots of youngsters in the game, and have dealt with injuries as much as they have. Shoey, Dowler, Shiels, kennedy and we were outplaying them. Even so.. minus campbell, croad, ladson williams, young dew ect we are still playing great football.

Essendon and port lost, meaning the game had little effect on our chances. If essendon had beaten richmond like they shouldhave, and we had won, we would still be out of the 8.

As bad as the loss was, we clearly have the form that we were looking for, and if we play like we have the last few weeks, we should smash port this weekend, and even give the saints a nudge in tassie.

I think we will grab 8th spot, and if we do we WILL do damage. No one will want to play us. Have a little faith.

Two very good posts - I hate getting on here after a loss because of the amount of bashing that goes on generally but do understand everyone's need to vent.

Hopefully after a few days everyone has had a chance to cool down a bit and look forward to the future with a bit of optimism and confidence.

Let's face it, most of our supporters had conceded this and the Saints game anyway - the equation is still the same so we haven't lost anything as such.

But I bet you as a side - we gained a lot. You learn something from every loss.

And before any smartarse chimes in, yes, we have learned enough this year to complete our doctorates.

Ummm, probably Buddy calling for it :confused:
Buddy shouldnt have called for it. He would have known mackie was right on his hammer and other players were antcipating the handball to buddy. The better option would have been kennedy kicking it goalwards and for buddy to try and run onto it if it didnt score. In that situation though its hard to blame anyone, everything is panic and no one thinks straight.

TWITA I can feel your pain re idiots.

Just when you think you've written something intelligent and idiot-proof,
they go and design a 'better' idiot.

<sigh>

What is it about Selwood and the frees for high tackles he gets? (he got 6 frees on Saturday) I watched the GF replay again since the loss, and there was Cyril spinning him 360 by the jumper and Selwood gets the free. When he is tackled, he drops to his knees, not trying to break the tackle, so it looks high even if it started low. As usual the umpire falls for it. I have been watching him do it for two seasons now. I hope the meeting Clarkson has with the umpires includes this.

That said, if we had kicked straight we would have won. We will probablly miss the finals now and Geelong and Collingwood will be mightily relieved.

What is it about Selwood and the frees for high tackles he gets? (he got 6 frees on Saturday) I watched the GF replay again since the loss, and there was Cyril spinning him 360 by the jumper and Selwood gets the free. When he is tackled, he drops to his knees, not trying to break the tackle, so it looks high even if it started low. As usual the umpire falls for it. I have been watching him do it for two seasons now. I hope the meeting Clarkson has with the umpires includes this.

That said, if we had kicked straight we would have won. We will probablly miss the finals now and Geelong and Collingwood will be mightily relieved.

Selwood goes in and gets the hard ball. Yes he drops to his knees and attracts free kicks but I'd be hard pressed to find one player who doesn't exaggerate any high contact they receive, fall forwards or argue with the umpire.

Also the rule of a tackle is that it has to actually impede the player being tackled. If the player is still poised and in control it's play on.

Ummm, probably Buddy calling for it :confused:

Not sure about the critcisim Buddy has received for calling for that ball.

Buddy has a trait that all great players have - he wants the ball when the game is on the line, he wants to be the player that wins (or loses) the game for us.

I reckon that should be encouraged at all costs because there's plenty that don't want the ball then.

Kennedy had to be more composed and not give it to him but he's young and will learn.

Selwood goes in and gets the hard ball. Yes he drops to his knees and attracts free kicks but I'd be hard pressed to find one player who doesn't exaggerate any high contact they receive, fall forwards or argue with the umpire.

You are right on all points, but it doesn't explain why he gets more free kicks than other players who do the same.

I wish I knew. To win the most free kicks for two years in a row is a fair achievement. :confused:

If I were you, I would stop whinging about the loss we had.

I know that some of you think that the umpires try to ruin the game for everyone. They don't.

They don't even have a clue on how many frees they pay. They just pay them.

You might think I am bullshitting, that's fine and look go right ahead, bag me if you wish to. The only problem is that you don't know what you are talking about when you do this.

You don't see me bagging you out for doing your job.

You don't see me bagging out school kids either. It's not right to do so.

We only lost by 1 point to Geelong in an awesome game. Yet we have got a lot of people who think that it was a rubbish game, riddled by poor umpiring.
Fine think that, but remember those of us that do umpire know what the rules are and understand them better than what you do. Why? because we umpire games of footy in the local leagues every weekend.

We Let this game slip big time