Welcome + Getting to Know You

Firstly, we seem to have lots of new posters starting at the moment. On behalf of the other moderators (Grimreepah, Weevil, Whatboutbob) I'd like to welcome anyone who has recently joined the Lions board or has started posting for the first time. We might be biased but we believe that this is the best place around to talk about the Brisbane Lions. The posters here are friendly and knowledgeable and we're always keen to hear from someone new.

If you have any questions about the board or BigFooty generally, feel free to contact one of the moderators and we'll try and help out.

We've had this sort of thread in the past but the mods thought that, with the influx of new people, it would be a good idea to give it another run. Basically, tell us a bit about yourself!

This is for both old and new posters.

20 Questions

1. In which decade were you born?

2. Where do you live (State/Country)?

3. What are 3 words that describe you as a Lions supporter?

4. Why did you first start supporting Fitzroy/Brisbane Bears/Brisbane Lions?

5. Who is your favourite all time Fitzroy/Brisbane Bears/Brisbane Lions player?

6. What is your favourite footy memory?

7. Where were you when the Lions won the 2001 Grand Final?

8. Which player are you most looking forward to seeing play in 2012?

9. If you could change one thing about modern footy, what would it be?

10. What is your favourite past-time (other than Australian Rules)?

11. What is the dumbest thing you ever bought?

12. Who is your favourite poster on BigFooty?

13. If you were a BigFooty moderator for one day, what would you do?

14. What is your favourite possession?

15. If you were in a band, what would you call it?

16. Where did you go on your last holiday? Would you go back?

17. If you had to make a compilation album, which song would you have as Track Number 1?

18. Who are 5 people (dead or alive) you would invite to a dinner party?

19. What tops your 'bucket list' (ie 1 thing you *must* do before you die)?

20. How many roads must a man walk down, before you can call him a man?

(If there are questions here that you'd prefer not to answer, feel free to skip them.)

Early 80s

Brisbane, inner eastern suburbs

Diehard, emotional, evangelistic

Dad is a huge Geelong fan, took me to Bears vs Geelong games at Cararra. I found myself automatically rooting for this rag tag team of misfits. Kinda lost interest in my mid teens though (girls and alcohol seemed more interesting) but jumped back on board in a big way during the 1999 season.

The Brown Dog

The last 5 mins of the 2002 grand final. Aker's snap and the final siren.

At girlfriend's house, watching on TV

Based on early pre-season reports, Rich.

Get the bloody holding the ball rule right. Stop letting players just drop the ball.

Videogames (splitting my time between Skyrim and Madden 12 at the moment)

Hmm, I've bought a lot of shite in my time. I imported a PSP from Japan as soon as they came out, probably played it for about 2 hours all up before it gathered dust. I constantly buy DVDs and videogames and never watch/play them

GingerGreatness - we don't see enough of him, but man he delivers.

I am one - it's underwhelming :p.

My cat

Can't think of one.

Melbourne. Yes.

17. If you had to make a compilation album, which song would you have as Track Number 1?
Radiohead - Airbag (one of the best opening tracks on an album ever, so it will do for my mix tape)
[youtube]NvTNWWL4CW4[/youtube]

Carl Sagan, Christopher Hitchens, Ricky Gervais, Steve Merchant, Karl Pilkington.

Watch a Dallas Cowboys game at Cowboys Stadium)

Rhetorical eh?.... eight!

Hey! Thanks for the warm welcome. To answer your 20 questions:

1. The glorious 80s.

2. South Brisbane, QLD

3. Steadfast, one-eyed, Bears

4. To answer this, I'll quote a comment that I posted the the AFL sub-reddit a few days ago: "I was born in Brisbane in 84, and have been a Brisbane supporter since I was a very young man. I remember watching games in the very early 90s, hearing the name 'Voss' mentioned more and more frequently (I originally thought that they were saying 'Boss'), Leppitsch, Lambert, Lynch, etc. When they made the finals in 95 and came third on the ladder in 96, I remember being super excited. I started playing for a club in southern Brisbane in the later 90s, and Vossy's cousin played in our side, so Vossy and Beau McDonald and Shaun Hart came to guest train us, and it was a pretty magical moment for us all. They started winning premierships, and it was a very exciting time for us, but then they started losing a little more and the club went through a bit of a dark patch in recent times, but I have still stuck with them and supported them always. Now, a bunch of new boys are coming through and it feels like the club culture from a decade ago is building again. Things are looking good again.

I guess the point is that I can't see myself supporting any other team, and it would take the Brisbane team to dissolve and disappear for me to stop supporting them, but I don't think I could ever support any other team like I do the Lions." Fin.

5. This is a difficult question. Probably Voss for the longest time, but it doesn't help to live in the past in terms of players. Probably Big Rog at the moment, because he gets in there and gives it a crack and doesn't do such a bad job these days either.

6. It's hard to look past the final quarter of the 2001 Grand Final, but a few moments could fit in the top 5 of my list. The Lions' finals run as underdogs in 2003 and Tony Lockett glaring at me when I (a very small young man) had a go at hom from the fence during a game at the Gabba in the late 90s.

7. In the lounge room yelling at the screen.

8. I think Daniel Rich will have an absolute blinder.

9. I would have the bump brought back (properly).

10. As a postgraduate student, I have no real past-times to speak of. It's really all a distant memory.

11. Love. Wait. That's the blindest thing I've ever bought. I'll have to get back to you.

12. From what I've seen so far, POBT and TheBrownDog seem to be quite prolific and well-informed.

13. Load up on that sweet sweet respect before the juice ran out.

14. My enormous "The Simpsons" coffee mug. You can fit a lot of coffee in it. A lot.

15. Terry Schiavo and the Feeding Tubes

16. Byron Bay. Going for a day next weekend.

17. I'm a bit of a music snob, so this is a super difficult question. I would definitely have to end the compilation with "The Final Countdown' by Europe, though. Otherwise, what's the point?

18. Josh Homme, Bill Hicks, Stanley Milgram, Winston Churchill, and Gandhi (I suspect that he would not eat much).

19. Lying in an inner tube in the shallows of Bora Bora with two topless (and/or bottomless) women (any hair colour is fine) on each side of me and a tallie of Chimay Grand Reserve in one hand.

20. Seven.

80s

Canberra

Mourning Fitzroy. Anxious.

First home was in Barkley St, Fitzroy. I think that house might be part of Carlton now. Funny how things turn out. Ha ha.

Paul Roos. But Blacky is a very close second.

Beating the Kangaroos at Princes Park in 1991. Dad couldn't care less about footy, but I badgered him into going to that game with me. Ross Lyon put us up by one point with the last kick of the match, and we sang the 'The Boys From Old Fitzroy' at the top of our lungs together.

Mate's place in Caulfield.

Patty K.

Well, this one's easy. BRING BACK FITZROY!

Soccer

Went to a new high school and found everyone there seemed to be playing a trading card game called 'Magic'. Bought a set of cards to try and look cool. Really.

Three way tie between POBT, Grimreepah and Duritz.

Red card for everyone who'd ever annoyed me. Seriously, never make me a mod.

The Chiltons.

Caloundra. Yes.

Big Star. Watch the Sunrise.

David Bowie. Martin Tyler. Stephen Fry. Barack Obama. Mario Vargas Llosa.

Go to a FIFA world cup.

Forty-two

The 70s

Northern Brisbane.

Optimistic. Analytical. Annoyed (jumper issue)

The Bears moved to Brisbane in the same year I did. Before then, I was a Tigers supporter (family connections) because the Gold Coast Bears did not tug at the heart strings.

Until recently, it was Michael Voss. I have to say that Simon Black is now the favourite.

Going to the MCG for the first time with my dad in the early 80s.

With mates.

Jordan Lisle.

12 months ago I would have said "lack of pack marks". That has changed. I'll probably go with "the decline of the old fashioned full forward"

Reading, other sports, spending time with my kids.

As a kid, I used to buy pen knives and then lose them immediately. You'd think I would have learned after the first half dozen.

For giggles - GingerGreatness and his videos. For info - Quigley or Grimreepah. For pics - Mr Ripper with Jorgo close behind. For footy knowledge - too many to name.

Find out which cave Weevil is hiding in.

Whatever is the last book I bought.

The Manky Mattresses

I travel to Sydney tomorrow with my son. I'll let you know when I get back!

Blitzkrieg Bop - The Ramones

Obama, Lincoln, Einstein, my best mate, my wife.

Take one year to travel following the great sporting events around the world - US Masters, Wimbledon, Olympics, Le Tour, Pipeline etc.

None. Dumb question.

Beginning of the 80s: I'm sick of marketers/sociologists continually redifining my generation. I'm an X goddamn it!

Live in Redlands City otherwise known as Ipswich by the sea, originally from the real Ipswich.

Dedicated, Loud & Passionate

A family friend moved back to town at the beginning of the 90s after having lived in Victoria and he was obsessed with the Bombers. Hating rugby league (or pretending to hate it because that was tougher than saying my mum wouldn't let me play it) I started to turn an interest towards Aussie rules instead. I didn't really support any particular team, I just kept an eye on results and was in a tipping comp through high-school. In 2000 my GF's dad worked for CUB and kept on giving us "Carlton Club" tickets to the Gabba and after my first live game (Brownies debut against Adelaide) I was hooked.

Nigel Lappin, no question. He was the best player in 2004 and should of gotten a lot more Brownlow votes. Chris Judd isn't worthy of polishing his boots.

2 games against Geelong at the Gabba are neck-and-neck. 2001 when Browny kicked 7, and 2005 when Aker kicked the two miracle snaps in the wet, I'll never forget seeing the cop down the other end of the Gabba jumping around like he had won Gold-Lotto- priceless.

RG in the valley.

Can't wait for Bartlett to get amongst it. I would like to see Josh Green do well too.

Advantage Rule, no question. If the Umpire blows the whistle the game should stop regardless of whether the player has played on or not. Retraining players to not play to the whistle is stupid, 50m penalties will start happening all over the place if they do that, and if players still play to the whistle then advantage becomes a lottery.

I am a bit of a video-game geek.

"Bhagavad Gita" from one of the Hari Krishnas in Queen St.

Can't go past Quigley's mock drafts... Duritz makes me laugh though.

Rescind Mickey Blue Eyes red cards.... (kidding!)

My Aston Villa jerseys.

Yokel Slaughter

The Gold Coast unfortunately. Yeah I'll go back, but I would rather go somewhere more exotic.

Tool- Parabola

Mark Bosnich, Paul McGrath, Nigel Lappin, Leonardo DaVinci, Chino Moreno.

Spend a Season following Aston Villa home and away in the Premier League

That one is pretty difficult. I'm almost 30 and I still wouldn't consider myself a man. I fall short in dependability, but I am aware of this shortcoming and eventually I will fix it.

80s.

South Brisbane

Passionate. Loyal. Realistic.

Back in 2000 a new mate of mine started taking me along to Lions games on a spare members tickets when he had one. Instantly fell in love with a game I never previously enjoyed/watched/followed/cared about.

Obviously it was also hard to not get swept up in the euphoria over the few years after that time.

#16 - J. Brown

Not Lions related but in my first year of playing footy (I started when I was 27 :eek:) in my first ever game of footy we were smacked 147-7 with our 1 goal coming from a dodgy free kick late in the last and with the ball being touched on the way through but being missed. No, no... that's not my favourite memory... that's background! :p

A mere 7 weeks later we played the same side and got up by a couple of goals after being down at every change. I vividly remember us running from everywhere on the field and jumping all over each other like we'd won the Grand Final. :D

On the couch in my parents house yelling my lungs out.

Very tough... I'd probably say Bartlett, I think he can add something to our 22.

I'm with TBD on this one... fix the flaming holding the ball rule.

Photography.

One of the countless photography items I never used more than likely.

I can't just name one... but on the shortlist would be...

Mr Ripper, GingerGreatness, POBT and more.

Configure the webserver to no longer show you replies to posts made by posters who you've set to ignore.

My collection of photos = captured memories.

Talentless Hacks.

Travelled through 5 UK/European cities. Would absolutely go back. A magical time.

Glycerine - Bush.

Steve Waugh, J.R.R Tolkien, Queen Elizabeth I, Michelangelo & Bill Hunter.

Have children.

Just the one... but one full of twists and turns, highs and lows, good times and bad times.

70s

Qld

fanatical, respectful, thirsty (for knowledge)

Justin Leppitsch went to my school

Jonathan Brown

2003 grand final

a pub

Tom Rockliff

Get rid of the new advantage rule.

playing with my dog

I recently bought a couch I don't particularly like.:rolleyes:

my laptop

Don't know, but I would give it more thought than I did my username.

Melbourne. Yes.

Glory Box - Portishead

Graham Hadley, Adam Scott, Emma Quayle, Ali G and Jennifer Hawkins

threesome (the good kind)

for some it will take many, for others it will take even more

20 Questions

1. In which decade were you born? The 80's

2. Where do you live (State/Country)? QLD, Lion country!

3. What are 3 words that describe you as a Lions supporter? Loyal, passionate, eternal

4. Why did you first start supporting Fitzroy/Brisbane Bears/Brisbane Lions? Lions are my favourite animal, and I always had a soft spot for the Bears. It was really solidified when I went to my first game at the age of 15. Having undiagnosed Aspergers Syndrome is lonely...but when I went to the Gabba, I was just like everyone else.

5. Who is your favourite all time Fitzroy/Brisbane Bears/Brisbane Lions player? Alastair Lynch, who is my inspiration. Joel Patfull a close second.

6. What is your favourite footy memory? Meeting the Lions for the first time. I'll never ever forget it.

7. Where were you when the Lions won the 2001 Grand Final? In the loungeroom with Mum.

8. Which player are you most looking forward to seeing play in 2012? Joel Patfull

9. If you could change one thing about modern footy, what would it be? I'd make the players wear shorter shorts and more revealing guernseys

10. What is your favourite past-time (other than Australian Rules)? Oh...crap. Uh...

11. What is the dumbest thing you ever bought? That last packet of Doritos was unnecessary!

12. Who is your favourite poster on BigFooty? Me :D

13. If you were a BigFooty moderator for one day, what would you do? Let everyone break the rules!

14. What is your favourite possession? My first Lions guernsey...or my new one with the number 24 on the back

15. If you were in a band, what would you call it? French Onion Soup

16. Where did you go on your last holiday? Would you go back? Went to Noosa. LOVED IT. Saw the Lions training and got sunburnt, and saw topless Lions players. What more could a girl want?

17. If you had to make a compilation album, which song would you have as Track Number 1? My theme song-Rollin' by Limp Bizkit

18. Who are 5 people (dead or alive) you would invite to a dinner party? Joel Patfull, Alastair Lynch, Tom Rockliff, Jonathan Brown and Bernadette Flynn

19. What tops your 'bucket list' (ie 1 thing you *must* do before you die)? Make a significant contribution to the world

20. How many roads must a man walk down, before you can call him a man? One-either Stanley Street or Vulture Street!

1. In which decade were you born in?
The very early 90s

Abusive, passionate, loyal

First game was Melbourne vs Brisbane when I was three and I got a hug from the 'bear' mascot and since then always followed Brisbane .

Matthew Kennedy

Jason McCartney's final game after the bali bombings

I was in Stawell

Merrett

Hands in the back rule

College Football

A bar fridge for my bedroom

Quigs, but there are many others I like

Lock the board so I wouldn't have to do anything

My Signed Brisbane jumper

Was in a band called metamorphine

The USA and heading back there next week

Mr. Brightside

Warne, Hitler, Ghandi, Mandela and Tebow

Climb Mount Everest

Late 60s

Victoria, North Fitzroy

Passionate, Loyal, Realistic (but always hopeful)

By mistake, as a new Australian I meant to follow Richmond. When asked by a classmate who I barracked for, I couldn't remember the entire name, so I said the second letter of my team's name is an "i".. they said "Fitzroy", I said that's it. Once I'd pretty much told everyone Fitzroy was my team, I had to stick to them, even though I was horrified when I eventually learned of the mistake. I've been a lion ever since

Bernie Quinlan

Catching the tram to Junction oval to watch my heros every second Saturday arvo.

In the old Ponsford stand, sitting next to my ex business partner, a Dons supporter.

Callum Bartlett. Closely followed by Jarred Polec.

The advantage rule.

Hanging out with my kids.

Hugh Heffner style slippers - Yuk.

Hard to name just one, there are too many.

Let the power get to my head, I'd probably start a controversial threads to bait Freo, Blues, Port and Magpie supporters, then I'd red card the lot of them. Seriously, that's a privilege I'd happily forgo, it'd be a tough job.

My home.

I need time to think about it.

Wilson's Promontry, Yes.

Rock the Kazbar - The Clash

Barry Humphries, Stanley Kubric, Paul Keating, Leonardo Da Vinci, Charlie Chaplin

Learn to play a musical instrument, bass guitar would do.

Man or woman, one must never stop walking. Life's a journey.

Late 80s

Victoria, Inner South East

Loyal, Passionate, Considered

Family had no strong footballing ties, and my two best mates were brothers and their father played a few games for Fitzroy.

Brad Boyd (Damn injuries)

Winning the 2001 GF. It made up for all the bad years.

At the MCG, with my older, Essendon supporting brother.

Jesse O'Brien.

Bring back some physicality - see the Voss on Richardson bump!

Cocktail with friends.

Sony Minidisc player!

Grim, as Roster Watch means I don't have to trawl through the papers.

Let the red cards fly!

My iPhone.

Intrigue

Sydney and I'm going back in March.

At the moment, Noel Gallagher - Broken Arrow or Blink 182 - Kaleidoscope

Barack Obama, Matthew Mitcham, Danny Wallace, Kevin Smith and Scott Mosier

Go to Savile Row and get a suit personally tailored.

1970s
Melbourne-Victoria
Passionate and die-hard
Born in Nth Fitzroy, lived around the corner from Brunswick St and the old man worked at national Can which was directly behind the old Brunswick St Oval.
Bernie Quinlan/Gary Wilson- can't choose.
Mick Conlan slotting home the winner in the 86 Elimination against Essendon in atrocious conditions/2003 Premiership.
On the fence next to the behind post City end.
"THE Jack" Redden
A National Reserves Competition played before the game
Sports betting
My last car
Noel Mugavin
I would ask a journalist to rate our list and chances for 2012 after the rookie draft
I have a Fitzroy Team Of The Century Jumper (Maroon and Blue with the white emblem) framed and signed by Gary Wilson and Kevin Murray. Around it are cards with the players faces- like footy cards and a bio on their career and their stats. It is over 1 metre and half x 1 metre.
U3
Gold Coast and yes.
Tough - Knights of Cydonia Live - Muse
Bernie Quinlan, Gary Wilson, Paul Roos, Alistair Lynch and Robert Walls
Travel and experience life in Europe for a year
That depends on whether he has been there before

1980s

Currently Brisbane, soon to be Melbourne.

Loyal, realistic, committed.

Officially became a member in 1997, but kept up with how the Bears were going from the early 90s.

Tricky... probably Vossy, although McRae would be up there.

2001 GF no doubt although the 2009 Elimination Final was pretty special.

At the MCG, behind the goal posts, second last row of seats in the topmost part of the stadium. Terrible seats but amazing experience.

That's a tough one next year as there are some exciting youngsters coming through. Rich I think is ready for a big one and Hanley, if he continues his improvement.

The constant ridiculous rule changes, in particular the current "holding the ball" interpretation. I could probably waffle on for ages for the problems with modern football umpiring intrepretations.

Enjoy playing squash.

A Linkin Park CD comes to mind...

There's a few but John, Quigley and POBT are some that come to mind...

Hah... probably attempt to "moderate" some of the more negative posters.

My beast of a computer.

Stifled Electrics

Surfers Paradise. Sure would, love the Gold and Sunshine Coast.

Ooo, Float On by Modest Mouse comes to mind at the moment.

Gustav Stresemann, Ian Kershaw, Eddy Merckx, Stephen Fry and David Bowie

Probably seeing a stage live of the Tour de France.

Definitely 8.

20 Questions

Late Seventies
Melbourne Vic
DieHard loyal proud
4. Why did you first start supporting Fitzroy/Brisbane Bears/Brisbane Lions? since birth
Jason Akermanis
my first game of afl dad took me too see was the 1986 emlimation final against essendon i was watching the game from on top of my dads shoulders
at the MCG watching the game was lucky enough to get tickets
Jarred Polec hoping to see more of him this year has been working on his fitness and will be first pick for my dream team
no more draws always play extra time
watching WWE so glad HHH is back
the DVD of Austin Powers the spy who shagged me
Quigley love his Phantom drafts
I would not want to be looks like a hard job I will leave it to the experts
my 3D television
One Hit Wonders
Brazil for work yes
My Favourite song of all time 500 Miles by the Proclaimers
Jessica Alba Jonathan Brown Johnny Depp Charlie Sheen Adam Scott
Watch Man United VS Man City in England
I love that song peter paul and Mary i think sung it the answer my friend is blowing in the wind

(If there are questions here that you'd prefer not to answer, feel free to skip them.)[/quote]

The 90's.

South Australia.

Agro when losing.

When I was 4 years old my favourite animal was a lion so I just went with plus everyone was following the crows which was annoying the heck out of me.

Michael Voss

The comeback the lions made in 2008 against port, I was at the game which made it alot better.I think we were down by fifty points, cameback after the rain started and BOOYAH!

Likely at home.

Dayne Zorko

I haven't thought too much about it but maybe loaning your players to other teams or the SANFL, VFL or WAFL, just like in soccer.

Playing soccer, Waking up early to watch germany at the world cup and euro's, staying at my cousins house.

A Cactus

Cotter,POBT (love the german soldier) and Quigs

I don't really know what a moderater does, ban a few people :p

Golf Clubs

Black Rosette or The Kanga Krew

Houseboat on the murray river, if the weather was a bit hotter I would go back.

17. If you had to make a compilation album, which song would you have as Track Number 1? Tapoica by New Navy (Triple j unearthed band)

Kevin James, Mesut Ozil, Rowan Aktinson, Don Knotts, Michael Crawford.

19. What tops your 'bucket list' (ie 1 thing you *must* do before you die)? Climb Mt Everest

20. How many roads must a man walk down, before you can call him a man?Ahhhhh, Ten

80s

SA

Interstate, faithful and passionate.

I defected from the Kangaroos after the 1997 GF because too many Crows supporters were getting stuck into me about it and my favourite player was Alastair Lynch despite going for North so I switched to the Lions.

Alastair Lynch

The premierships (can't split them)

At home with family watching it on the tele.

Polec

Collingwood being good

Watching movies/TV

Dunno - I waste it on lots of little things.

Grimreepah for the news updates.

Dish out a lot of red cards to whoever posts something I disagree with. Also for those who abuse the English language.

Laptop

Can't think of anything. I'm not musically talented at all.

Perth - yes but I'd go somewhere else I haven't been before.

Blue Lines by Massive Attack

Stephen Fry, Stanley Kubrick, John Cleese, Louis Theroux and Banksy.

Follow the Aussies on an Ashes tour of England.

0 - he should just drive, get a lift from a friend, catch a cab or a bus.

Late 80s

Melbourne, Aus

Tragic, optimistic, proud

Round 22, 1998. Classic win against the Saints.

Darryl White

Watching the 2003 grand final on the Gold Coast and hearing the whole street going nuts when the siren went.

Had recently moved to Melbourne, but I was in Queensland at my dad's place for the GF. Was great.

Zorko for the unknown quantity, Lisle to see how he'll slot in, Banfield to see how he's progressed and Bartlett for obvious reasons.

More consistent umpiring, less soft decisions

Making music, basketball/cricket, writing, cooking (food is the best)

A gigantic shell casing from an army supply store

Hmm, probably TBD, Duritz or Bender. Respect Mobbenfurher for the amount of work he puts in.

Probably just card a lot of casual racism and Bay13 threads on the main board. I'm a bit dull.

Probably my computer :p

Spleen Bursting Forth

Would've been New Zealand and yeah, definitely. Love it there.

T.R.O.Y (They Reminisce Over You) - Pete Rock and CL Smooth

Liam Neeson, Barack Obama, Don Bradman, Jay-Z, Bill Bryson

Release an album. Like, a proper one.

Depends on the road!

Early 80's

Brisbane - inner south side

passionate, supporting, understanding

didn't really get into AFL until about 2005 or so. My wife is originally from WA/SA but is a lions supporter, started watching more and more afl after meeting her and we joined up in 2007. She's now created a monster and best part is I get to say its her fault when she complains about how much footy I watch

wow tough one - hmmmmmmmmmmm............... crap, ok, no, but,grrrrrrrrr.................. probably Simon Black. I'm exhausted

I'm fairly new so favourite would have to be one I was there for and thats the 2009 Final against Carlton at the gabba. The crowd was just nuts (including me banging on the fence seperating the gabba members from the rest of us). Great atmosphere and when Bradshaw kicked that goal around his the corner I was high fiving complete strangers over the fence in the members.

Honestly have no idea. Was probably watching it but was more of a rugby supporter back then. First one I vividly remember was 03, 3 21st birthday's and the gf in one day. Was insane!

Bartlett. If he can make it he will be a very handy player. May watch his first game with half my face covered though in anxiousness.

Holding the ball rules. The fact that if you go after the footy you get pinged, but if you're second and hold it in you get rewarded??? Also dropping the ball is now effective disposal?????

I don't have one now that I have a new (old) house and an overgrown yard to fix. Love any other sport though, although Cricket is the only one I play.

a 4wd, just never had the time to use it properly.

whataboutbob - has done great work off and on the forum

Don't think I would know what to do. Free memberships for all!!!

my phone - how else would i get my continuous footy fix

The Gutless Wonders, or maybe "Man Boobs number 5"

Melbourne - 5 games of AFL in 3 days, yes heading back for the f1 in march and lions vs north/origin for my 30th in May

tough call probably Muse - Time is running out or possibly Running up that Hill - Placebo

Kerry O'Keefe, Leigh Matthews, Bob Simpson, Steve Waugh, Curtley Ambrose

19. What tops your 'bucket list' (ie 1 thing you *must* do before you die)?Greatest sporting trip in the world. Starting at one olympics (summer or winter) and ending at another with all the major sporting events in between. I have already started saving for this - all my loose change i get goes into funding this trip, but won't be for a long time. have been dong this for about 5 years, current balance is about $8,000. Interest adds up!

The sixties, maaan.

QLD

Pessimistic, Rusted-on. Hungry.

Family tradition. Although when I was much younger and didn't know any better, I had a brief dalliance with Carlton.

MICKY CONLAN

[YOUTUBE]z9phBQcM6gc[/YOUTUBE]

Q26

The Coleman Medallist... A-Corn. :thumbsu:

Could list 100 things umpires should be doing better to help the spectacle of the game, but I'll cover all with one suggestion: Sack The Giesch!

:confused:

I bought that Milli Vanilli record the day before they were "outed".

SpecialBruce

Unban SpecialBruce

My wife... ooh, no, that's sexist... um... my camera

Maggot Legs and the Polyurethane Armada

Melbourne - of course!

17. If you had to make a compilation album, which song would you have as
Track Number 1?
Could pick a different one every day for a year, but for now, I'll settle on...
[YOUTUBE]hCZBxwa3_nc[/YOUTUBE]

My grandfather who met his demise on the HMAS Sydney
Michael Caine
Kevin Sheedy
Sid
Michael Palin

Take that one, miracle, once-in-a-lifetime photo

Albatross!

80s

Victoria, Australia

Dedicated Die-hard

Ever since I can remember

Michael Voss

6. Where were you when the Lions won the 2001 Grand Final?

With family (Most are Lions supporters)

7. Which player are you most looking forward to seeing play in 2012?

Barlett

8. If you were a BigFooty moderator for one day, what would you do?

Nothing really.

9. What is your favourite possession?

Not really my possession but it would be Michael Voss's playing glove he gave to my son.

10. Where did you go on your last holiday? Would you go back?

Fiji and yes I would go back.

Mid 60’s
Gold coast
Committed, Loyal, Supportive.
Introduced by a friend ( I am from a Rugby background )
Voss and Lynch
The 70 metre Voss Bomb in 2000
BBQ with mates who all supported the Lions
Redden and Polec
Bring back the hardness
Yarns and Beers with the boys
Way too many to list
Head straight to the Feral’s board and start trouble
All of them.
Elephants have more friends than Snakes.
Middle of nowhere FNQ. Absolutely.
No Surrender – Bruce Springsteen
Harry “Breaker” Morant, Frank Herbert, TE Lawrence, John Wayne, Diana Krall.
Spend 6 weeks in The Kimberley
That depends on “If I had a Hammer” or was “Puff the magic Dragon”

Firstly, we seem to have lots of new posters starting at the moment. On behalf of the other moderators (Grimreepah, Weevil, Whatboutbob) I'd like to welcome anyone who has recently joined the Lions board or has started posting for the first time. We might be biased but we believe that this is the best place around to talk about the Brisbane Lions. The posters here are friendly and knowledgeable and we're always keen to hear from someone new.

If you have any questions about the board or BigFooty generally, feel free to contact one of the moderators and we'll try and help out.

We've had this sort of thread in the past but the mods thought that, with the influx of new people, it would be a good idea to give it another run. Basically, tell us a bit about yourself!

This is for both old and new posters.

20 Questions

1. In which decade were you born?80's

2. Where do you live (State/Country)?melbourne

3. What are 3 words that describe you as a Lions supporter?loud,passionate and hates losing to the big 3

4. Why did you first start supporting Fitzroy/Brisbane Bears/Brisbane Lions?1990

5. Who is your favourite all time Fitzroy/Brisbane Bears/Brisbane Lions player?chris johnson

6. What is your favourite footy memory?beating collingwood in 2002

7. Where were you when the Lions won the 2001 Grand Final?at home unfortunetly

8. Which player are you most looking forward to seeing play in 2012?dayne zorko

9. If you could change one thing about modern footy, what would it be?make collingwood,carlton and essendon stay at the bottom every year so i would never have to put up with them winning any flags

10. What is your favourite past-time (other than Australian Rules)?playing cricket

11. What is the dumbest thing you ever bought?nothing

12. Who is your favourite poster on BigFooty?dont have one

13. If you were a BigFooty moderator for one day, what would you do?ban the swear filter

14. What is your favourite possession?premiership medallion(personally) 2002 premiership port overall

15. If you were in a band, what would you call it?dont know

16. Where did you go on your last holiday? Would you go back?w.a no because its to far away

17. If you had to make a compilation album, which song would you have as Track Number 1?parkway drive romance is dead

18. Who are 5 people (dead or alive) you would invite to a dinner party?dont know

19. What tops your 'bucket list' (ie 1 thing you *must* do before you die)?travel around europe and america in the off season of course could never go during footy season

20. How many roads must a man walk down, before you can call him a man?no idea

(If there are questions here that you'd prefer not to answer, feel free to skip them.)
go lions :D

20 Questions

Late 80's

Victoria, Currently in Melbourne, but born & bred in Geelong

Understanding. Passionate. Occasionally frustrated.

Growing up in Geelong, the media is very Cats biased, so that was instantly ruled out. I became a Fitzroy supporter because I felt sorry for them getting thumped most weeks and the lack of supporters for them down in Geelong. Hence my love affair with the Lions began, & I stuck with them when they relocated, I had some wavering moments initially but after 1999, there was no other team for me.

Simon Black - the bloke is a deadset legend, on & off the field.

I've had a few of my own playing ones, as well as being in Geelong in 07 when they broke the drought, despite not being a cats fan, that was a special day/night which I have a foggy memory of.
As for a favorite lions memory, the 03 premiership was special for me. Another big one was the win against the eagles in Perth a few years ago, I had been concussed in my own game earlier in the day & woke up in the hospital to see my beloved Lions beating the Eagles in Perth...thought I was still out cold haha.

Parents place

Zorko

Stop changing the bloody rules every year!

Relaxing down the coast!

A second hand super nintendo from an op shop. It didn't work!

Anyone that throws out logical debate or good banter!

Reveal the identity of Lions Insider!

Signed lions guernseys from 02 & 03! Waited at the family day for a few hours to get them done, worth their weight in gold!

The CMT experience

Thailand & Laos. Yes in a heartbeat!

Gold fields - Treehouse

Good question. Probably my ancestors!

Attend an American college sporting game!

maybe it's not road we have to travel down at all, but a trail.....

20 Questions

Early 80's

Brisbane Northside, QLD

Cool, Calm, Eager

Local team, started supporting after the prime of the glory years. Became more interested in AFL after attending some games at the Gabba and really enjoying them. Love for the sport and the Lions grew from there.

Hard to go past Vossy, but i really liked Lynch and Leppa as well.

Probably the 09 Final at the Gabba, but i also recall a sunny afternoon at the Gabba a few years back watching Brown kick 10 goals and destroying Carlton. Enjoyed that a fair bit as well

Bowling ally with 2 mates bowling. I hate no interest in the Lions nor AFL for that matter at this point in time (don't judge me!!!)

Polec if he can get up and running.

Slow it down a bit, and let the marking contests go a bit. They are too touchy at the moment, i want the big forwards and contested marks back.

I'm a nerd at heart, love my computer games, always have always will. Don't mind getting out for a game of golf here and there either. Not a past time, but i love history as well, especially ancient history.

Hmmm.... Not sure. Can't think of anything of the top of my head.

Many regular posters here that contribute so much. Many people contibute a lot of hours into this board, and it makes it a great place for discussion.

Rename the Pies and Blues boards names to something the posters wouldn't like :p

Contested!? (see what i did there)

Awesome squared!

Thailand. Probably wouldn't go back, because it's the 2nd time i've been. Would like somewhere new now. For anyone who hasn't been, great place to visit.

Too tough to answer, but there would be a lot of rock on it, everything from Queen to ACDC back to Van Halen and all the way through to Slipknot and everything inbetween.

Not into dinner parties, but i'm sure i could find a few Lions players i'd love to have over for a BBQ. Fab 5 come to mind.

Travel more, i'd love to see Europe, as well as have a family. Looking forward to starting a family soon and enjoying that stage of my life.

Welcome + Getting to Know You