Player Watch Welcome Max Ramsden, Pick 6 2022 MSD - extends to 2026!

That was a super impressive performance Saturday. Wasn’t what he did do much as the way he did it. Amazing ball use for his size. Not for the Tiges though, let him play VFL and VFL finals that will be grounding enough for a debut in 2023.
Agree, no rush with Max. Still much to gain at the VfL level. If we are going to give a taste to would prefer someone like Saunders or Long (albeit different types).

He's not ready for Balta either.

We're an impatient lot. He's a project, always was.
He's not ready 8 weeks after the MSD.

Let him keep playing at VFL, getting that confidence and dangle the carrot for 2023
If he's playing good enough footy I'm not sure why we need to limit a player's options? People kept saying this about Day, he'd need 2 years to bulk up before even sniffing senior football.

Hardly impatience to say form should be rewarded particularly when we're relatively thin for coverage in the specific area he plays.

Truly think we lucked out here and did not expect him to get to our pick. Reckon RoughandLove was spot on with his info at the time.

You just want to see glimpses whilst he's playing at Box Hill and I'm seeing it.

Could be that genuine FWD/Ruck that we haven't had since Hale.
Like what you are saying here.

If he's playing good enough footy I'm not sure why we need to limit a player's options? People kept saying this about Day, he'd need 2 years to bulk up before even sniffing senior football.

Hardly impatience to say form should be rewarded particularly when we're relatively thin for coverage in the specific area he plays.
He's not playing good enough footy. He played 1 decent game. Let's get him to back it up at least.

Max Ramsden (21 disposals, 1 goal, 11 hitouts)

"Maxy had his best game for the year by a mile with 21 touches, five marks and a goal. He was able to combine his aerial work with his cleanliness on the ground, his slick hands and especially his ruck follow up. He played with this new confidence, which we need to harness and keep building on, so hopefully we can replicate that for the rest of the year. He was outstanding."

21 touches is impressive

I watched the entire replay pretty much because of his stats. I wanted to see what he did, expecting to see some good signs and a fair bit of bloat. Man, he blew me away! That handball over his head straight to a team mate in the clear, wow. Held his own in the ruck, showed a bit as a forward and demonstrated clean ball skills. I think he's a long way off making his debut, but he's totally convinced me we've got something special here.

Will quickly relegate lynch to 3rd in line if his rate of progress continues over the off season. Is he eligible to play vfl finals?
looks to be a qenuinely exciting forward prospect too, maybe the partner for Lewis we are seeking

Will quickly relegate lynch to 3rd in line if his rate of progress continues over the off season. Is he eligible to play vfl finals?
looks to be a qenuinely exciting forward prospect too, maybe the partner for Lewis we are seeking

I believe he can play because he has not played for the seniors and he's played one game for BH

He qualifies if he's played one VFL game (and no AFL). Out of interest it's 7 VFL games if he'd played AFL.

He also ran 6:04 in a 2km time trial. Better than a lot of young mids. In the combine a couple of years ago Matt Rowell ran a 6:17, so Ramma can definitely move. At his height that’s pretty amazing.

Will be interesting to watch the time trials during the preseason as we have got a few elite gut runners now.

Max is our version of Luke Jackson - going to work out as a steal (Kane Cornes will implode at us rorting the MSD soon)

I believe he can play because he has not played for the seniors and he's played one game for BH

He qualifies if he's played one VFL game (and no AFL). Out of interest it's 7 VFL games if he'd played AFL.
I had thought he might deserve a hitout in the seniors in round 23, but I wouldn't be doing that now. If he can play finals for BHH that's more valuable methinks.

Unless a longer preseason means he is better prepared for next season

Just a personal opinion, I reckon a lot of our players over the partnership with BH have benefited from the fact that they have played a lot of finals early in their career. The step up and general experience has fast tracked their development from what I've seen.

Thanks my thinking too. That being said, getting the boy on the weights and protein packed diet will be a big focus for the off season. My tip is he’ll stay at BHH.

Seeing a young group go thru a VFL finals campaign or two together has always translated well for the AFL side.

There was a MSD ruck that was taken by North last year. how does he compare as the other bloke seems to have dropped off the earth
Jacob Edwards - yeah not sure what happened there for all the talk prior to the MSD. Plenty were talking as though he'd be an early pick in the next National Draft he had that much quality.

From what I've seen of him he hardly looks up to VFL level let alone AFL.

There was a MSD ruck that was taken by North last year. how does he compare as the other bloke seems to have dropped off the earth
Jacob Edwards was taken #1 in the MSD. He was studying year 12 last year, as was Max.

Both came via the MSD from Sandringham Dragons.

Jacob is only 5 months older than Max.

He has played 14 VFL games, and hasn’t dropped off the face of the earth.

This kid is a genuine talent. Great size, moves well and knows how to lead. Good set of hands. Could develop into a forward. Is able to put pressure on at ground level.

If and only if he gets in a full preseason I’m thinking that he will be a huge chance to line up in rd1 next year.

That obviously depends on how he goes in match drills / practice games.

Sky’s the limit

Player Watch Welcome Max Ramsden, Pick 6 2022 MSD - extends to 2026!