Toast Welcome to Fremantle Neil Erasmus (pick 10 2021 AFL Draft)

Just feel like JOM can offer us something. I think both Ras and Johnny should be occupying both wings.
Spot on JOM has to take Banfields role in the forward line alongside Amiss educating him.
Hopefully the two young guns can play both wings the big mid atm needs to be Fyfe asap.

Spot on JOM has to take Banfields role in the forward line alongside Amiss educating him.
Hopefully the two young guns can play both wings the big mid atm needs to be Fyfe asap.
Amiss has Sonny, who is 8x the forward JOM is. JOM might be able to educate him how to go missing for large portions of the season.

I just realised that JOM is basically a better version of Tucker. Capable of being A grade for small patches (in JOM case at least he has whole games) but then you can forget he is even playing the rest of the time.

Can't shake this nagging feeling that the slime might come after him hard at season's end. (Already are if they are)

Supported them growing up, they'll be looking to top up with any young top end talent they can find and he'd be a cheap get at this stage of his career. They'd have the coin to throw at him, and he's not getting a consistent chance with us as it stands.

Anyone else concerned?

Can't shake this nagging feeling that the slime might come after him hard at season's end. (Already are if they are)

Supported them growing up, they'll be looking to top up with any young top end talent they can find and he'd be a cheap get at this stage of his career. They'd have the coin to throw at him, and he's not getting a consistent chance with us as it stands.

Anyone else concerned?
He wouldn't be cheap in terms of draft picks considering he was a top 10 pick, in his second year, and contracted. Even if they come hard for him we just say no.

Anyone else concerned?
Contracted for 2 years so wouldn't be cheap at all

We don't really trade with wce so can't see it happening

He wouldn't be cheap in terms of draft picks considering he was a top 10 pick, in his second year, and contracted. Even if they come hard for him we just say no.
Contracted for 2 years so wouldn't be cheap at all

We don't really trade with wce so can't see it happening
The contract is a bit of security yeah, but they're easily broken nowadays. Thank christ Young isn't his manager.

Still yet to see anything from him that says A grader in waiting.
Disagree.
He’s a hard worker and goes inside.
The way he has been used is garbage.
He’s not a starting sub. He’s not a sub off. He’s a starting 22. Either play him for the full game or let him gain minutes at Peel.
He came into the game at the wrong time and unfair for him to be in the centre.
JOM coming to the club has put him in an awkward spot. Fyfe in the team as well.

Disagree.
He’s a hard worker and goes inside.
The way he has been used is garbage.
He’s not a starting sub. He’s not a sub off. He’s a starting 22. Either play him for the full game or let him gain minutes at Peel.
He came into the game at the wrong time and unfair for him to be in the centre.
JOM coming to the club has put him in an awkward spot. Fyfe in the team as well.

I don’t disagree with any of that. Just haven’t seen anything from him that suggests he’s anything special with skills or vision or decision making or racking up touches. The things that separate the really good players. Like with Johnson there’s already been a few wow moments with poise & vision. I’m yet to have a wow moment with Erasmus. I’m not saying he doesn’t have it just that I’m not convinced at this stage from what I’ve seen.
Early days & I hope to be proven comprehensively wrong.

I don’t disagree with any of that. Just haven’t seen anything from him that suggests he’s anything special with skills or vision or decision making or racking up touches. The things that separate the really good players. Like with Johnson there’s already been a few wow moments with poise & vision. I’m yet to have a wow moment with Erasmus. I’m not saying he doesn’t have it just that I’m not convinced at this stage from what I’ve seen.
I think that’s all fair. Players do develop at different rates I guess - look at Henry.
He should play every game for the rest of the season now though.
A good early indicator of an elite talent is the rising star nominees.
The majority of future elite players get a RS nom, with an odd exception, I would say while Johnno is quite close to a nom, Ras wouldn’t even be on their radar yet.
He had an eye for goal as an underager that was promising but we haven’t seen it at AFL level yet.

Neil has an appetite for the contest, something lacking at Freo.
Many also questioned what Serong offered in his draft year with limited
X factor.
Erasmus will make the other mids look better with his grunt work and has good hands.
But if JLo ever decides to play him as the forward/mid, he would improve both.
With Johnson they will combine to help lift Freo together.

I haven't had any particular 'wow' moments with Ras yet either, but I thought the same thing about AndyBray for a time also. Just sorta did everything well without blowing me away.

Now look at him.

It's been an important lesson for me that players can take years to adjust to the pace of AFL. And with that you start to see the traits that made them so highly rated.

Plus, Wells doesn't miss too often. In the great man we trust

I haven't had any particular 'wow' moments with Ras yet either, but I thought the same thing about AndyBray for a time also. Just sorta did everything well without blowing me away.

Now look at him.

It's been an important lesson for me that players can take years to adjust to the pace of AFL. And with that you start to see the traits that made them so highly rated.

Plus, Wells doesn't miss too often. In the great man we trust
In my mind Erasmus is still like a year behind the other guys from his draft class in terms of development. He was only 17 when we drafted him, barely played any colts either when Johnson and Amiss played heaps.

But yeah nothing I've seen from him so far that stands out for me. Even with Johnson he had moments of class from basically his first game. I think you're right in comparing him to Brayshaw. Don't remember him standing out at all until the Derby when he was close to our bog before getting his face smashed in. He also had the added benefit of playing full games every week. Gotta be much harder when you keep coming on as the sub for Ras.

I reckon between 70 to 100 games is where most players feel like they belong at the level. He has plenty of upside. Ras was also bottom age in his draft and doesn’t turn 20 until December

He's a more physical version of Henry at this stage of career - he was essentially drafted straight out of high school footy, and has limitations (both in physical and in game sense terms) as a result of that.

I think he's going to be a star, but he's going to take more time to build and develop than people seem to be ready for.

Anyone else concerned?
2 years on his contract? Pick 1 or GTFO.

Neil has an appetite for the contest, something lacking at Freo.
Many also questioned what Serong offered in his draft year with limited
X factor.
Erasmus will make the other mids look better with his grunt work and has good hands.
But if JLo ever decides to play him as the forward/mid, he would improve both.
With Johnson they will combine to help lift Freo together.
Didn’t Serong win the rising star in his first year?

Erasmus looks like a headless chook out there.

Cerra for Amiss has been a big tick for us. If they come for Erasmus, for the right trade price, so be it. We have Brodie sitting around twiddling his thumbs anyway, and we need players in other areas of the ground. But I can't see it happening and think he will be great for us.

Toast Welcome to Fremantle Neil Erasmus (pick 10 2021 AFL Draft)