Toast Welcome to Fremantle Neil Erasmus (pick 10 2021 AFL Draft)

Haven't seen a replay. Should the holding the man on Erasmus against Bont been holding the ball?

I saw it a couple of hours ago. I think it should have been holding the ball but it is one of those ones where the player being tackled drops the ball and gets taken to ground and gets a free kick for holding.

So did Palmer?
He’s played what 10 AFL games and several as the sub.
If that’s a good run at it I’m at a loss for words.
Gets tagged at Peel, so someone must rate him.
I don’t understand - are you saying even if Erasmus did have exposed form he could still be a flop like Palmer?

I saw it a couple of hours ago. I think it should have been holding the ball but it is one of those ones where the player being tackled drops the ball and gets taken to ground and gets a free kick for holding.
Then, as there is no longer a dropping the ball rule, it is holding the ball. That decision and the unrealistic attempt decision against Ryan turned the game imo.

I just don't think there is anything wrong with developing at WAFL level. I almost reckon he is better off playing in the guts and getting the ball 30 times for peel than playing AFL on the wing/forward with little runs in the guts for 12 touches and probably subbed off.

Continuity is a big thing for footy imo. Going from playing colts football to WAFL football is a huge jump. Let him dominate at peel for the rest of the year unless he is needed in the side.

Players develop at different rates. Johnson suits different roles better than Erasmus because he is faster and has better skills. Erasmus is a pure inside beast, unfortunetly its a hard role to come straight in to AFL and dominate.

Didn’t Serong win the rising star in his first year?

Erasmus looks like a headless chook out there.
He hasn’t been given the luxury of AFL game time which Brayshaw, Cerra and Serong have. It’s good thing. Develop slowly and he ll build.

He ll play this week with Fyfe out

Keep giving him games, he's developed a little slower compared to Amiss and Johnson, but you give him the same opportunities that you've given them and he'll take advantage of them.

Is it just me or is anyone else getting kmart Fyfe vibes? Hard at it contested beast, poor disposal, good overhead mark due to size. Basically a bigger Connor Blakely who can take a grab due to his size, with better goal sense. In the AFL seniors, players that play that way need power, size and strength to be at their most useful, which is still a few years away for him. Without silky skills or decision making (ala Johnson) he won't be ready for the coalface until he is 21 I reckon. Agree with maybe easing him in via the forward line with pinch hits in the centre until then.

I'll never understand why we haven't played him forward more to get him into the team. Midfield is stacked, forward-line needs class, he's historically a forward, sorted. He can transition into the midfield later.
We have better forwards

If we are picking a forward player then we should pick Sturt

Do we? We regularly dominate time in the forward line but don't convert. Agree about Sturt but wonder about the others being better. Even taking poor forward 50 delivery into consideration.

Switkowski and Freddie are down on form but I wouldn't drop either of them for Erasmus.

I understand what you are saying but how long do we just continue on with the same players? Are we just going to wait for them to grow up and hope that fixes everything or do we become more proactive and see if something else works better?

Is it just me or is anyone else getting kmart Fyfe vibes? Hard at it contested beast, poor disposal, good overhead mark due to size. Basically a bigger Connor Blakely who can take a grab due to his size, with better goal sense. In the AFL seniors, players that play that way need power, size and strength to be at their most useful, which is still a few years away for him. Without silky skills or decision making (ala Johnson) he won't be ready for the coalface until he is 21 I reckon. Agree with maybe easing him in via the forward line with pinch hits in the centre until then.
Erasmus is anything but K Mart Fyfe or Connor Blakely. He was drafted because he was a late developer in terms of spending more time playing cricket and only coming to the attention of talent afl scouts the year he was drafted. He was also drafted for his long term athletic potential. He was an absolute gun junior runner at both distance and the 100 metres. The reason to be optimistic about his potential is that even at a young age he can already run with mature age elite runners at AFL level. His kicking has improved a heap this year despite was some say here.

Right except the coming to attention the year he was drafted. Late in the 2020 colts season (the year before he was drafted) after PSA finished he started to come to recruiters attention - especially WAFL colts finals with Subiaco. He then really hit the headlines with 4 goals in the 2020 colts GF.

2020 was a COVID affected year and you’re right he was right into cricket. West Coast had the chance to nominate him to their academy but chose not to, mostly because of limited exposure.

Right except the coming to attention the year he was drafted. Late in the 2020 colts season (the year before he was drafted) after PSA finished he started to come to recruiters attention - especially WAFL colts finals with Subiaco. He then really hit the headlines with 4 goals in the 2020 colts GF.

2020 was a COVID affected year and you’re right he was right into cricket. West Coast had the chance to nominate him to their academy but chose not to, mostly because of limited exposure.
I know a teacher at Hale where Erasmus went to school. Neil spent way more time focussing on cricket right up until towards the last 18 months of his schooling was what I was told. He was highly motivated in all sports and drove a massive improvement in terms of the dedication of the school students who played in the first XVII in his final year. So much so he received Honours for football when Honours is normally only assigned to academics. He was also the best 100 metre runner at the school. I'm very confident we have an absolute gun player long term. His work ethic just like Brayshaw will be what turns him into a star over time. His improvement this year has been very significant in terms of his football skills in my opinion.

Good call. I saw him play PSA and was very pleased when we selected him. Highly motivated. I agreed with your earlier comments just pointed out that late into the season before his draft year started to come to real attention of recruiters - especially the 2020 WAFL colts GF.

Toast Welcome to Fremantle Neil Erasmus (pick 10 2021 AFL Draft)