Toast Welcome to Fremantle Neil Erasmus (pick 10 2021 AFL Draft)

Mate you had a really lame dig at a (very) young player learning his craft, and were rightfully piled on for being a tosser. Erasmus shows you to be very wrong today - just own it
His weaknesses were still on show today

• Still not much burst from contests
  • disposal iffy, missed handballs and kicks
  • looked slow on the spread (prime example was when he and banfield had the 2 on 1 running towards goal and stuffed it)
  • Got caught in traffic a few times

He also did a lot of good things but certainly not enough to prove people wrong on his potential ceiling as of yet

His weaknesses were still on show today

• Still not much burst from contests
  • disposal iffy, missed handballs and kicks
  • looked slow on the spread (prime example was when he and banfield had the 2 on 1 running towards goal and stuffed it)
  • Got caught in traffic a few times

He also did a lot of good things but certainly not enough to prove people wrong on his potential ceiling as of yet
For clarity where have you got his potential ceiling currently?

Is still only 19 and just played his 10th game. That HTB on Tom Mitchell with the arm trap? Outstandingly good tackling technique and fearless. Could be a special talent if he can put it all together.

Edit: Just saw he's listed at 190cm? Deceptively tall and still time to grow
2-3 years and we have peak Serong, Brayshaw, Johnson and Erasmus in there with Jackson and Darcy. Perfect age profiles and will have no excuses then. Desperately need a good mids coach now to give it time to bed in for then.

elliot yeo for me.

Him or Johnson should get the Rising Star nomination. Probably Johnson on his body of work.
But both stood up and willed the contest
Criminal that Johnson hasn’t received a nom yet, but Erasmus deserves it based off that game. 10 tackles!

13 contested possessions
10 tackles

Did some serious grunt work. Seriously young. A couple of preseasons and could be a Fyfe type wrecking ball through the midfield.

Agree with some other comments. Gets caught. Seems to lack urgency, not in a Matthew Johnson ‘matrix’ style of elusiveness. More like a, doesn’t have that instinct of where his team mates are.

I can easily see this bloke as a Fyfe lite version.

Him and Johnson 3 years from now with mature bodies are exactly what we’re needing now.

We do have some serious great youth.

13 contested possessions
10 tackles

Did some serious grunt work. Seriously young. A couple of preseasons and could be a Fyfe type wrecking ball through the midfield.

Agree with some other comments. Gets caught. Seems to lack urgency, not in a Matthew Johnson ‘matrix’ style of elusiveness. More like a, doesn’t have that instinct of where his team mates are.

I can easily see this bloke as a Fyfe lite version.

Him and Johnson 3 years from now with mature bodies are exactly what we’re needing now.

We do have some serious great youth.
He just takes a little too long to dispose of the ball by foot and hand. Then under pressure or gets caught. But every game played he gets a little better. Hopefully he can start to add a bit of size this coming pre-season.

Thought he played quite well and moves well up and down the ground.

He just takes a little too long to dispose of the ball by foot and hand. Then under pressure or gets caught. But every game played he gets a little better. Hopefully he can start to add a bit of size this coming pre-season.

Thought he played quite well and moves well up and down the ground.

Patience required.

Johnson also takes too long but he has an incredible ability to break tackles and/ or free his arms. Like others have said very Pendlebury like.

Erasmus can find the ball and there’s been some nice signs.

Maybe Erasmus is a victim of having similar weaknesses to the rest of our mids. Johnson adds something different, which I guess is more exciting than more of the same good traits?

I actually think some of Erasmus' projected strengths are exactly what we are missing in our midfield at the moment. A powerful, big-bodied contested bull who won't be walked through by the big boys from other teams.

Yeah. That lack if awareness was not evident in his junior footy. I know it is quicker in the Afl but he seemed to know where his teammates where in juniors and disposed of it more instinctively

Erasmus is a tough kid who works hard. Like Andy but a bigger unit when he fills out. He will work on defiencies and will be first to training and last to leave. I am not worried at all about him. Him and Johnno could be the Mundy / Fyfe replacements in time

Clearly Erasmus’s best game today! I’m confident now we’ve got a very solid,tough as nails on baller.He reminds me of a taller & probably slower Rory Sloane like type on baller….Can see him having potential concussions issues over his career- the lad is fearless.

Don’t discount the headless chook.

One of my aunts had a rooster that would torment her daily. When grandad went on a cull, and finally lopped the roosters head off, the body got up, and chased my aunt around for a few more minutes.
Sounds like a potential game plan.

Erasmus will have a better time in traffic when he carries the bulk to shrug off the short people trying to bring him down.
When he builds his core will be a very solid AFL player , Will stand up in those tackles and distribute by hand look at Rory Laird slow as treacle , Tackles well , positions himself well and has a strong core , Erasmus is taller , he is going to be ok just going to take a little longer like many of the COVID effected drafts , Just no competition for a couple of years set them back , just be patient.

Another game or two like today and he could come into the reckoning for RS nom. Would be a nice confidence boost for the kid
If you check the stats, he clearly should be the front runner for a nomination this week. Just depends on if they want to reward an individual performance or go back to the annoying 'body of work' nomination.

Toast Welcome to Fremantle Neil Erasmus (pick 10 2021 AFL Draft)