Autopsy Welcome to Freo Liam Henry – Fremantle’s 3rd 2019 National Draft Pick [Match bid Pick #9]

Prized Fremantle draft pick Liam Henry set for first appearance in Dockers reserves clash against Gold Coast
Headshot of Braden Quartermaine

Braden QuartermaineThe West Australian
Wednesday, 8 July 2020 5:00PM
Prized academy selection Liam Henry is poised to make his first appearance in a Fremantle guernsey, more than seven months after being taken with pick 9 in last year’s national draft.
Henry is likely to play limited minutes for the Dockers’ reserves in a low-key hit-out against Gold Coast’s reserves tomorrow.
The 18-year-old appears unlikely to make a fairytale debut in next Sunday’s western derby at Optus Stadium, however he is on track to be unveiled at home in the coming weeks.
Henry only joined Fremantle’s Gold Coast hub mid-way through, having remained in Perth due to a family bereavement.
The Claremont product was placed on a modified training program over the summer, designed to build strength in his legs, after dislocating his kneecap last year.
The Dockers have made a significant investment in Henry, with their first pick in this year’s national draft to be pushed back to make up a points deficit after Carlton forced them to pay up for the silky-skilled forward.
Henry’s looming AFL debut could enable Fremantle to field their top-10 draft trio together for the first time, after Hayden Young and Caleb Serong were introduced in Queensland.
Young, taken with pick 7, has held his spot since making a debut as a late inclusion in round two and has impressed with his poise and kicking ability. Inside midfielder Serong has played the past two matches.
The Dockers will make at least three changes for Saturday’s meeting with St Kilda at Metricon Stadium.
Forward Jesse Hogan (calf) and defenders Griffin Logue (toe) and Reece Conca (hamstring) were all injured in Sunday’s breakthrough win over Adelaide.

Liam Henry is set for his first appearance in a Freo jumper.

Skipper Nat Fyfe is pushing to return from a hamstring injury, while forward Travis Colyer is likely to be available after being a late withdrawal on Sunday with a migraine.
Midfielder Blake Acres could make his club debut against his former side, while the Dockers are sweating on the availability of defender Brennan Cox.
With Logue becoming the fourth key defender to join the injury list, Fremantle are desperate for the 195cm Cox to prove his fitness after missing the past two games with a hip injury.
Waiting for the Dockers is St Kilda’s future star Max King, the towering 202cm youngster who has kicked seven goals over the first five rounds.
Conca said his injury was similar to Fyfe’s and he was hoping to make his own quick recovery.
“I got some really positive news with the scan. So very similar to Nat’s in that I’m probably looking at 1-2 weeks, just depending on how all the recovery comes through,” he told TAB Radio.
“We’ve got to treat the injury for what it is, so I won’t be rushing back if it’s not ready but I’ll also be doing everything I can to get up as quickly as possible.”

Looking forward to seeing him play this season if it happens. Just hope he doesn’t pick up any more injuries. He still seems so delicate and slight for the brute physicality is AFL footy. Could be one of those players that doesn’t debut till in his second year of the system due to his frame.

Shill was pretty slight too when he made his debut. Arguably his best season was his first.

He seems big enough providing he’s got the smarts, speed and evasiveness. If not, you’re right, he’d get smashed.

I haven’t seen much of him but from what I have seen, I think he’ll be just fine.

Shill was pretty slight too when he made his debut. Arguably his best season was his first.

Big argument from me his best year was his first. I don’t recall his career that way at all.

Hill though slight, had played in WAFL finals and turned a match such was his influence.

Henry is nowhere near as experienced as Hill was having played against mature bodies already.

Sounds like he’s a few weeks at least away from AFL.
He'll do well to play this year I reckon.

Half a game this week, then nothing next week. May be able to play on the Sunday or Monday of the week after. He'll need at least 4-5 from there you'd think. Probably be round 11/12 before he is available and then he has to find some form.

One thing going for him is the condensed fixture. If that happens I think he will get a look (as most will).

You've seen his six pack haven't you or was it an 8 pack? That being said, there's no rush in coming back from injury!
1594341748132.png
Photo from The West training in Derby in Lockdown (I know there is a better one out there)

He'll do well to play this year I reckon.

Half a game this week, then nothing next week. May be able to play on the Sunday or Monday of the week after. He'll need at least 4-5 from there you'd think. Probably be round 11/12 before he is available and then he has to find some form.

One thing going for him is the condensed fixture. If that happens I think he will get a look (as most will).
Is there no WC scratchie next week?

TV tonight had him in the reserves looking pretty good and kicking at least one goal - anyone see this or know where the stats are?

Absolute load of of **** that his first season was anywhere near his best.

He improved dramatically from his first to second season, then was close to All Australian when the side was at its peak (2013-2015). He was no where near All Australian in his first season - his first season wasn’t even top five for him.

Back to Liam Henry, he needs some time in the gym but if it wasn’t for the injury he’d be right the mix. He’s got more meat on him than Stephen Hill did in his first season and Hill played 22 games.

He improved dramatically from his first to second season, then was close to All Australian when the side was at its peak (2013-2015). He was no where near All Australian in his first season - his first season wasn’t even top five for him.

Back to Liam Henry, he needs some time in the gym but if it wasn’t for the injury he’d be right the mix. He’s got more meat on him than Stephen Hill did in his first season and Hill played 22 games.
Pretty convinced if he’d not been carrying an injury and had a proper pre-season then he’d be playing.

Putting my money on rd 12

Yeah I don't agree that Hill's 1st season was his best (I'm thinking 2012/2013 from memory) but I also agree that playing undersized 1st year players isn't a bad thing. Fyfe in his 1st year, remember how skinny and undersized he was? Still had an impact. I'd be happy to see Henry playing as soon as he's match fit

He basically hit a wall in 2010 rd4 after our mate Ross put a hard tag on him.

A quick outside player with damaging disposals. Early in his career without the experience to outposition and without the tank to outrun a taggers yet. Pretty natural choice to tag him for a good result.

Where’s the wall? 2019? Otherwise he must’ve overcome it pretty quick.

You’re talking rubbish about one of our best ever players.

Disposal count went up every year until 2015. Considering taggers are meant to stop him getting as many disposals I think he did okay.

At least he's not talking rubbish about JLO and Bell

Hey, if that fingernail deep analysis is enough to convince you I'm wrong then all power to you.

I don't need to post stats, I remember perfectly well that Hill was being tagged out of games in 2010 and 2011. Picken and Brady Rawlings both kept him to basically nothing and I remember vividly Ross being asked how he was going to break the tag on Stephen Hill at the first AGM he was at.