Welcome to Richmond Troy Chaplin (Port decides not to pursue offer)

Who have I been a dick to? Might have had some somewhat heated debates but they usually sort themselves out. And after you have those types of debates you gain some respect for the other bloke if he is debating you by addressing your points (rather then not paying attention to what you have said like Bojangles did earlier)and also offering his own opinion rather than making a little comment like "Coxy is just negative".
Most of my opinion of you is built on your posting history (where I've seen it) so you being negative fits that. I also did give my opinion about Chappy. I wasn't joining your discussion because I had nothing to add but letting someone else know that the way you post is your character and not to worry about it too much, also known as, Coxy is just negative.

While not a dick, you said it yourself:
That was an obvious piss take out of the blokes on here that reckon he is anything more than an average/solid player.

But I'm taking this thread way off topic and you didn't answer my question (or didn't pay attention to what I said like Bojangles did earlier) so I'll leave this thread and continue to ignore you.

Well you're being a sook I reckon, so it's not skin off my nose. Enjoy posting (and ignoring anyone who rubs you the wrong way)

Back on topic, welcome Chappy. I hope you can live up to the high expectations. Good luck to you :thumbsu:

"leaders" also don't up and leave their team in the lurch like Chappy had just done. Fills a need though and good luck to him, welcome addition, hopefully can wreck his body rather than Grimes et al wrecking theirs on the big nigs
That club has served up crap for so long. He has had massive offers before and said no, sometimes, you have to move on. Leadership has nothing to do with it. The club know what he brings, thankfully. I am sure he will prove it for us.
Apparently was shopped around by Port at last years trade period and wasn't overly happy about it. Richmond showed some interest at the time.

Sauce: 5aa Interview this arvo - Troy Chaplin - off to Richmond
(from 1:10 - 2:40)

He also suggests knees aren't a problem, confirmed by both Richmond physical test and on-going assessments by Port physio crew. Suggests the term of the contract was the issue for Port.

Pretty poor form of port shopping a club leader around if true

Port incompetent, Chappy not that good, or something in between?

Or Dan Jackson type lmao

At last, A new TigerTroy. Where's Rusty?

What number will he be ? He could be Tiger Troy 5 !

Welcome to the Tigers Troy ! Do your rehab , learn your role off Leppa and get stuck into a healthy work load in the pre season. I want to see spoil after spoil after spoil.

Maybe that could be his nickname "SPOIL"

Chaplin wasn't considered a leader in his last few seasons. Got the arse from their leadership group
Its not as though there was/is a wealth of candidates waiting to fill the void and judging by those that have left and are wanting to leave, they'll be even fewer candidates

I'm finding all of this he's great/crap dichotomy rather amusing.

A defender has been picked up by a team that is coached by (probably) Port's greatest defender. The same team that has, as its back coach, one of the best defenders of his generation (and who played in one of history's great teams).

When it comes to defenders, I'll trust Dimma and Leppa.

Its not as though there was wealth of candidates waiting to fill the void and judging by those that have left and are wanting to leave, they'll be even fewer candidates

The blokes they have in there now are much better players and leaders (with the exception of Trengove), IMO. A few years ago I reckon they had 8 or so blokes in the LG. Ridiculous amount

I see know obvious standouts, but most notably from those that have been there for a a number of years There own supporters attest to as much

I found this footage of chappy from a few years ago enlightening

I'm sure his input, direction and leadership will be invaluable to the group,particularly those just coming up

watch

Saw that footage , sounds like Barny of the Simpsons. Very passionate man. Hopefully he can just relax and play footy for us , not having to do all that yelling and screaming. Looks too much hard work.

Mr Cotchin should sort all that out pretty quickly.or maybe one look from Kingy ought to do it.

Saw that footage , sounds like Barny of the Simpsons. Very passionate man. Hopefully he can just relax and play footy for us , not having to do all that yelling and screaming. Looks too much hard work.
I hear this playing group is one of the least vocal and communicative on game day, so chappy may be the tonic that some of them need to get this group a little more passionate and vocal during matches

Read the bloody post I replied to. The poster said Grimes and Rance are going to improve a lot because of Chaplin, so I asked why the two blokes he played at Port with had poor seasons. You are aware that Chaplin played as the floater and racked up a lot of uncontested footy and at times he little to no pressure on him when he disposed of the footy. I don't need any stats, I watch the games. Did you watch Port/Chaplin in 2012 or any other season? If the answer is no then why the **** do you rate him so highly?
Simply because his own club rated him so highly, finishing top 4 in b &f 3 or 4 years in a row holds alot more weight than any of the piss and wind you might hear

more importantly, despite having a contract proposal 2 years longer than ideal, and for more money than they preferred, they took three days to decide to pass on him. If they wanted him out we would have heard the same time they said bye to Pearce

I am expecting him to fill a role for us. Hopefully pretty well. Not expecting star player, or turning crap into gold. If he can solidify the back end, and add to the rebounding a good get.
Apart from that this makes us look professional and PA look unprofessional. I can't remember that happening since about 1980. That is what really excites me, a professional outfit the just gets the job done - like Sydney, who I reckon are the best run footy outfit in the AFL.

Welcome to Richmond Troy Chaplin (Port decides not to pursue offer)