2nds West Coast Eagles WAFL Watch 2024

It is not true, it sits outside the softcap.

Quote by Vozzo below.

You’ve had to play a licence fee, what’s your understanding how that would fit in the (football department) soft cap?

“It sits outside the soft cap, but due to the economy that we’re now in there’s no way – that’s Trevor’s (CEO Trevor Nisbett) area – but it’s my understanding there’s no way the club will be playing anywhere near the previous licence fee.”

It’s a license for a reserves team. Of course it is is included in the soft cap as a footy department cost. Where else is it going to go?

Are we really trusting Vozzo to know?

Let’s remember Vozzo had a mental breakdown and took stress leave cos the shit was piling up in the footy department.

It would not surprise me one bit of Vozzo believed that and had no clue.

Here’s Nisbett and I’ll include the link.

Asked about licence fees he said: “We don’t know yet. We certainly won’t be able to pay what we did before. We paid $800,000 and we can’t get anywhere near that.

“I would think most of the clubs would understand our position — whether they agree with it or not and whether they push back or not I am not sure. It will be a commission decision in the end.”

Nisbett said the main sustainability issue in maintaining their own WAFL team would be the inclusion of the cost of the team in their football department “soft cap”, which will be cut by $3.5 million next year.

He has urged the AFL to re-visit the extent of the “soft cap” cut.

Mate you have to stop this poor old WCE are disadvantaged and look within. We are a very poorly run club Football wise and have been for sometime now. More focused on fleecing it's members than building a football department. Interested in making money first and football second.
We are not disadvantaged anywhere, we are simply not accepting our own failures and trying to lay blame elsewhere. What or who have we lost because of these disadvantages? They don't exist mate.
It's our time to be at the bottom, the reasons why we got there is because we are not focused on the right things.
It's very simply, stop making excuses and Get better.

I’m one of the people who is incredibly critical of the club and how it has been run.

I agree entirely with what you are saying and would actually go further.

In terms of WC/WAFL, it’s very clear that the interests of the parties don’t align.

West Coast want a place to develop their young talent to play at the highest level of our game, the WAFL want to retain their identity as a second rung state based league.

Shake hands and say there’s clearly not overlapping interests here, let’s part ways, best of luck.

I’m one of the people who is incredibly critical of the club and how it has been run.

I agree entirely with what you are saying and would actually go further.

In terms of WC/WAFL, it’s very clear that the interests of the parties don’t align.

West Coast want a place to develop their young talent to play at the highest level of our game, the WAFL want to retain their identity as a second rung state based league.

Shake hands and say there’s clearly not overlapping interests here, let’s part ways, best of luck.

And I have no problem with that if that happens, just stop shitting on the WAFL who have done nothing but provide for you.
It is imperative to football that the WAFL stays strong and produces new talent.
It's not as if the Eagles or Dockers are doing any junior development is it. We need the WAFL strong.

If that’s true, that quickly needs to change.

The licence fee isn’t a football department expense, it’s basically a revenue sharing arrangement.

It is included in the cap.

See my post below.

And ask this: we are filthy rich. If it was outside the cap why would we fight tooth and nail to reduce the cost of the licence?

We’re not worrying about 200K reduction in licence fee if it sits outside the soft cap. We would only do that if other sat in the cal and it was connected to reduction in soft cap from covid.

It’s a license for a reserves team. Of course it is is included in the soft cap as a footy department cost. Where else is it going to go?

Are we really trusting Vozzo to know?

Let’s remember Vozzo had a mental breakdown and took stress leave cos the s**t was piling up in the footy department.

It would not surprise me one bit of Vozzo believed that and had no clue.

Here’s Nisbett and I’ll include the link.

Asked about licence fees he said: “We don’t know yet. We certainly won’t be able to pay what we did before. We paid $800,000 and we can’t get anywhere near that.

“I would think most of the clubs would understand our position — whether they agree with it or not and whether they push back or not I am not sure. It will be a commission decision in the end.”

Nisbett said the main sustainability issue in maintaining their own WAFL team would be the inclusion of the cost of the team in their football department “soft cap”, which will be cut by $3.5 million next year.

He has urged the AFL to re-visit the extent of the “soft cap” cut.

Great post. Clubs go bankrupt then less opportunity for young local players to get drafted. Then complaints from Eagles supporters that we don't have local players. Eagles will have to rely more and more on eastern states recruits.

It eliminates personal agendas and tests what’s best to go forward. You can’t have genuine reform without an existential threat on horizon.

I am ok with it. Relying on eastern states recruits isn’t materially a big issue. Sure local is preferred but it’s not a must. Some will see it as end of the world if one player leaves but it’s clear we recruited locals for sake of recruiting locals eg gorter.

It is included in the cap.

See my post below.

And ask this: we are filthy rich. If it was outside the cap why would we fight tooth and nail to reduce the cost of the licence?

We’re not worrying about 200K reduction in licence fee if it sits outside the soft cap. We would only do that if other sat in the cal and it was connected to reduction in soft cap from covid.

I saw your post below. I think it’s a bit cheap to have a shot at Vozzo and dismiss his quote as “we couldn’t trust him to know what he was talking about”.

Let’s just say it’s unclear whether the fee goes in the cap or not, but if it does it shouldn’t.

And I have no problem with that if that happens, just stop shitting on the WAFL who have done nothing but provide for you.
It is imperative to football that the WAFL stays strong and produces new talent.
It's not as if the Eagles or Dockers are doing any junior development is it. We need the WAFL strong.

The arrangements with the WAFL are in no small part adding to the issues.

They’ve been a pain in the ass to deal with.

Reduced list sizes, higher costs, fixturing issues, recruitment restrictions.

The WAFL needs to understand that West Coast has particular interests that need to be met.

If West Coast have a Richmond like period of decades of irrelevance, the WAFL and WAFC will be highest affected.

It’s West Coast who financially underwrites the entire WA footy ecosystem. WAFL clubs would do well not to bite the hand that feeds them.

I saw your post below. I think it’s a bit cheap to have a shot at Vozzo and dismiss his quote as “we couldn’t trust him to know what he was talking about”.

Let’s just say it’s unclear whether the fee goes in the cap or not, but if it does it shouldn’t.

Then why did we fight tooth and nail to reduce the licence cost and not instead go all in on reducing recruiting restrictions?

Why lick 2 fights when you really only need to pick one.

No point for West Coast to pick a fight about money unless it’s in the cap.

Then why did we fight tooth and nail to reduce the licence cost and not instead go all in on reducing recruiting restrictions?

Why lick 2 fights when you really only need to pick one.

No point for West Coast to pick a fight about money unless it’s in the cap.

People seem to think that “oh West Coast has money, they don’t need to worry about the size of the cheques they write”.

No one should do business like that.

People seem to think that “oh West Coast has money, they don’t need to worry about the size of the cheques they write”.

No one should do business like that.

It was a cost they had already agreed to and renegotiated after the soft cap reduced.

The timing, the circumstances (covid=less money), motivation all point to the one conclusion.

The arrangements with the WAFL are in no small part adding to the issues.

They’ve been a pain in the ass to deal with.

Reduced list sizes, higher costs, fixturing issues, recruitment restrictions.

The WAFL needs to understand that West Coast has particular interests that need to be met.

If West Coast have a Richmond like period of decades of irrelevance, the WAFL and WAFC will be highest affected.

It’s West Coast who financially underwrites the entire WA footy ecosystem. WAFL clubs would do well not to bite the hand that feeds them.

They have not been a pain to deal with. Where you get that from. Or are you just listening to rubbish from people who think they are hard to deal with.

In what universe would it be fair for the Eagles to have unlimited recruiting, same salary cap as the wafl clubs?
Does every WAFL club have access to AFL listed players to play for them?

I have sat in these meetings at a WAFL club and the requests of the WCE are simply not realistic. They are like would you mid if West perth borrow Jeremy Mcgovern on your bye weekend type requests. Just crazy stuff.

we request the same salary cap? WTF, how on earth can that happen?

It is the WAFL clubs that put sensible in the discussion, it would be a very good idea for the Eagles not to forget where they came from and show a bit of respect to their parents.

Who thinks that?
Plenty of people over the past few years have posted as such on here.

Plus if you wonder into the mainboard threads about WCE, you'll see people whinging that WCE have tons of money, so they shouldn't get any help at all and use that instead.

They have not been a pain to deal with. Where you get that from. Or are you just listening to rubbish from people who think they are hard to deal with.

In what universe would it be fair for the Eagles to have unlimited recruiting, same salary cap as the wafl clubs?
Does every WAFL club have access to AFL listed players to play for them?

I have sat in these meetings at a WAFL club and the requests of the WCE are simply not realistic. They are like would you mid if West perth borrow Jeremy Mcgovern on your bye weekend type requests. Just crazy stuff.

we request the same salary cap? WTF, how on earth can that happen?

It is the WAFL clubs that put sensible in the discussion, it would be a very good idea for the Eagles not to forget where they came from and show a bit of respect to their parents.

I agree there is an element that West Coast has grown up to be a monster, but that’s where we are at.

The Optus Stadium user agreements are up for re-negotiation in coming years.

How much less funding will State Gov give WAFC if West Coast’s attendance levels are 60% of what they were in 2018?

That’s revenue in corporate hospitality, tickets, food and beverages that aren’t flowing to State Gov through the stadium, that will have to be taken into account when State Gov negotiates the next user agreement and how much money the WAFC gets.

If west coast are in the cellar, it won’t be the 9.7m the state Gov guarantees WAFC at the moment, I can tell you that.

West Coasts royalty is down from 3.5 million in 2019 to 2 million in 2023 off the back of reduced profit from in field performance.

If West Coast leave the WAFL that’s another 600K that won’t clubs won’t get.

The WAFC and WAFL clubs better get used to running on reduced revenues, if that’s the case!

It would be wise if they took a broader view of what is in the best interests of WA footy, unfortunately they’ve demonstrated zero ability to look beyond their own clubs interests.

Who thinks that?

Specifically, the poster I was replying to who insisted West Coast have pots of money so they wouldn’t have made a fuss about the licence fee unless it was impacting the football department cap.

Generally, it’s been a common theme I’ve noticed recently. E.g. “we should just rip up Lathlain and returf it, even if it doesn’t fix the injury problem it can’t make it any worse, and we’ve got pogs of money”. “We should just sack the entire coaching staff and pay them out, we’ve got pots of money”, “the West is crap so we should just start our own paper, WCE got pots of money”.

Actually that last one may not be the worst idea…

Specifically, the poster I was replying to who insisted West Coast have pots of money so they wouldn’t have made a fuss about the licence fee unless it was impacting the football department cap.

Generally, it’s been a common theme I’ve noticed recently. E.g. “we should just rip up Lathlain and returf it, even if it doesn’t fix the injury problem it can’t make it any worse, and we’ve got pogs of money”. “We should just sack the entire coaching staff and pay them out, we’ve got pots of money”, “the West is crap so we should just start our own paper, WCE got pots of money”.

I never said we shouldn’t be frugal.

I was pointing out there is no motivation to renegotiate a previously agreed cost unless it was included in the cap.

I never said we shouldn’t be frugal.

I was pointing out there is no motivation to renegotiate a previously agreed cost unless it was included in the cap.

“The world has changed and that amount now no longer makes commercial sense”.

There’s your motivation.

I agree there is an element that West Coast has grown up to be a monster, but that’s where we are at.

The Optus Stadium user agreements are up for re-negotiation in coming years.

How much less funding will State Gov give WAFC if West Coast’s attendance levels are 60% of what they were in 2018?

That’s revenue in corporate hospitality, tickets, food and beverages that aren’t flowing to State Gov through the stadium, that will have to be taken into account when State Gov negotiates the next user agreement and how much money the WAFC gets.

If west coast are in the cellar, it won’t be the 9.7m the state Gov guarantees WAFC at the moment, I can tell you that.

West Coasts royalty is down from 3.5 million in 2019 to 2 million in 2023 off the back of reduced profit from in field performance.

If West Coast leave the WAFL that’s another 600K that won’t clubs won’t get.

The WAFC and WAFL clubs better get used to running on reduced revenues, if that’s the case!

It would be wise if they took a broader view of what is in the best interests of WA footy, unfortunately they’ve demonstrated zero ability to look beyond their own clubs interests.

You keep saying you agree and always on your last sentence you say the WAFl clubs are at fault again.
The WAFL in case you didn't know get very little of the money the Eagles give the WAFC. this mainly goes to admin and pointless positions that do nothing for football. The WAFL has been effectively operating on their own for many years now.

What should happen is the WAFC should be funding the WAFL Salary cap just as the AFL funds the AFL salary cap.

As the owners of both the Dockers and Eagles AFL licence they should be charging those clubs a larger amount per year. But they don't to appease them.

If the Eagles and Dockers leave then that is not necessarily going to be less money for the WAFL, the WAFC will have to cough it up and where you reckon they will get that from?

I have a very broad view, I care about the sport and want football to thrive across the board not just in the AFL, and for any AFL club supporter to stand up and say my poor club is doing it tough is just laughable.
We the Eagles are doing it tough because we have been poorly run in the football side of things, I don't get any joy telling someone we have 60 million in the bank. Thats embaressing, and more so they should send 30 million of it back to WA football.

“The world has changed and that amount now no longer makes commercial sense”.

There’s your motivation.

Except the world did not change for west coast in a commercial sense.

They made 5 million dollars profit in 2020.

The only thing that dramatically changed was the soft cap.

Funny enough when we were winning it was pretty a pretty common thought that the West and the Eagles were the same company. Maybe we are just a little sensitive now we are crap that everything is not smelling of roses anymore.

Except the world did not change for west coast in a commercial sense.

They made 5 million dollars profit in 2020.

The only thing that dramatically changed was the soft cap.

Rubbish.

6832AB91-13CC-4658-B48C-E14F71F4F3A0.jpeg

Hahahaha. That’s a red herring.

What was the overall financial result for that year?

I’d remind you that first half of 2020 we didn’t play home games due to covid, late re-start to the season, and starting in a hub.

West Coast generate a huge majority of their revenue from match day revenues. Revenue that only occurred in the second half of the year.

All the expenses were in the first half of the year, and all revenue in the back half.

I’ll spare you having to 2020 financial result. It was a profit of 5.4 million dollars.

You clearly don’t know what you’re talking about.

Apology accepted.

Here’s the financial report.

2nds West Coast Eagles WAFL Watch 2024