Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

Spurling Reserve said:
Where are you off too Spurlock?? back to whitten oval perhaps??

Sad to see you go, you have added some much needed common sense at times to this thread.

As for playing with and against, the boys in blue , no doubt it is a matter of trust. Experience has taught me to never trust a member, they are always "working" and those who are not are few and far between.

duckduckgoose said:
i f a r t e d ..........book me danno

You have to love it fellow posters, when the appropriately titled poster lives up to he's name.

Duck Duck Goose... what can we say , that hasn't already been said about you..........mmm..... not much to add my poor boy:thumbsdown:

Colts Vs Albion - Think will be closer than everyone thinks at half time but Colts after the week off, will pull away and win by 44 pts.

Sunshine Vs Yarra - Sunshine to be too strong but would not want to drop this one. However Sunshine to win by 38 pts.

St Albans V Altona - St. Albans to win here by 15pts

Parkside V Spotty - Spotty to win here by 23 pts if info on Davis is correct. Davis plays Parks to win by 10 pts.

Hope your side wins

I used to love playing against Deer Park years ago especially the big blond headed bloke that played for them,always went missing against the colts.

Travvy43 said:
Well it is obvious that views like this indicate that some unfortunate experiences surrounding certain members of the police force and members of the colts have taken place. I know nothing about this and dont profess too so these people are entitled to their opinion.

For the record, I have good clsoe friends who are members of the police force.
Travvy43 how come you didnt follow the boys to the acadamy??

Are any of them friends those great memebers from the armed offeders squad that were in the paper yesterday for Assualt and other unlawful things were they

bronco27 said:
look who gives a f uck where the copper plays all I know is in my time playing the great game played against a couple of jacks over the years and to tell you the truth they were weak as **** on the footy field but put there uniform on after the game and they thort they were tougther then geoge foremen so lets all get over it and waste no more time talking about the lowlife.
Would have to say i'm not a big cop fan but a good mate of mine who i also play alongside is a cop and he is far from what clarkey claims they are, is infact just one of the boys likes sucking p i s s and getting upto mischief and he doesn't mind bending the rules a bit himself eg: driving a car full of us whilst drunk himself, smoking a bit of weed and other sorts of scallywag stuff so they ain't all that bad, but in saying that i agree with u bronco who gives 2 flying heck s they ain't a cop whilst on the field just another a r s e on the paddock

PARKSIDE VS SPOTSWOOD
This game i built up hoping of an epic battle against two sides with plenty to prove,it turned out to be a mismatch and looked like a team of men playing a team of boys.
From the first few minutes parkside dictated the play and were more desperate at the ball and were far more physical than there dissapointing spotswood opponents.
Parkside attacked every contest with passion and pride and looked like a side with something to prove,they got the football at will and basically did what they wanted with it because of the lack of pressure from spotswood.
Being honest spotswood looked intimidated by parksides desperation and hunger for the ball,this must be a worrying sign for Larry because it paints a huge picture about spotswoods presence in big games.
Today was a huge chance for Spotswood to stand up and be counted in the finals race and unfortunatley they gave the impression that if they finish 5th they will merely be making up the numbers.
There will need to be some soul searching for a few spotti blokes this week.............

madpie said:
PARKSIDE VS SPOTSWOOD

Today was a huge chance for Spotswood to stand up and be counted in the finals race and unfortunatley they gave the impression that if they finish 5th they will merely be making up the numbers.
There will need to be some soul searching for a few spotty blokes this week.............

Interesting reading madpie,how did the teams line up? Where both at full strength? What do spotty have to do to regain form? Who starred for parkside?

speculator said:
Interesting reading madpie,how did the teams line up? Where both at full strength? What do spotty have to do to regain form? Who starred for parkside?
Not sure if they were full strength or not,beasley and montebello tried hard for spotti,juegan,condos,kotoski, and alot of other parkside players(did not have a record)were dominant all day.
Spotswood just need every bloke that runs out to play accountable and passionate football,give a 100% and not leave it to a handfull of blokes.

speculator said:

G'day spec my old mate,well i had my first game for the year where i didn't kick six or more and with seddon pulling the pin,the ton might be hard to get in the home and away but if not may be in the finals.
Interesting tactic used by goldie on saturday playing two loose players in front of me,very negative mindset and albion were never going to win and once i put myself up onto the ball it really opened up and showed we have many options that can kick goals and to win by 95pts with myself only getting 2 shows the other teams i dont have to kick 50% of our goals for us to win.
Did you see that new bloke for us Saul Caddy what great player 6 goals in the second half after gathering 19 posses in the first half on the ball very handy footballer,will certainly give the oposition something to think about.
Also looks as though the top four teams are a class above the rest and it will be an interesting last 6 games,good to see you come and watch us while you had the week off.

Did you see that new bloke for us Saul Caddy what great player 6 goals in the second half after gathering 19 posses in the first half on the ball very handy footballer,will certainly give the oposition something to think about.
Also looks as though the top four teams are a class above the rest and it will be an interesting last 6 games,good to see you come and watch us while you had the week off.[/quote]

Hello Rock from your number 1 fan, enjoyed the game yesterday , interesting tatic by Goldie indeed. Heard him say that he's aim for the day was to stop you...lol... I think he forgot about the other 20 blokes out there. It must have been a pleasing result considering the over the top defensive tactics he employed in the first half. I must say however that once you moved onto the ball and they went man on man, the flood gates opened. The big No 69 was quite impressive both on the ball and forward. You would have thought Albion would have had more of an idea how to go about things considering that was the fourth time they have played you for the year. In the four games you have played I heard from there bench that 15 points was the closet margin. Has your team improved that much? Good result in the twos also, young Pitchford was pretty good in he's first game back. You seem to have some legitimate depth at the club. The win would have also been so much greater if the two boys in white didn't try and even things up . The three goals in junk time were all hand outs. I must post Obe1 to discuss this. The team also seemed to get through unscathed which will make fitting Jacobs,Webb,Bracken,Bellingham,Keely,Sequenza,Crich and any other potential senior player into the side all the more interesting

After reading the wrfl website clearance page, it looks as though Seddon should have merged with North Footscray. It looks as though Robert Street is the new Police Headquarters for the league. Wonder if the inclusions will give the once mighty club a chance of returning to Divvy one. Also we are a little unhappy that we ( hoppers ) missed out on Wrennie to Deer park.

ROCK07 said:
G'day spec my old mate,well i had my first game for the year where i didn't kick six or more and with seddon pulling the pin,the ton might be hard to get in the home and away but if not may be in the finals.
Interesting tactic used by goldie on saturday playing two loose players in front of me,very negative mindset and albion were never going to win and once i put myself up onto the ball it really opened up and showed we have many options that can kick goals and to win by 95pts with myself only getting 2 shows the other teams i dont have to kick 50% of our goals for us to win.
Also looks as though the top four teams are a class above the rest and it will be an interesting last 6 games,good to see you come and watch us while you had the week off.

i think it's safe to say that saul caddy will be a gun of this competition, hence port melbourne colts are going to be very hard to beat
hopefully jason clarke gets 100 goals we all know he deserves it and the only thing stopping him is negative tactics which we witnessed yesterday, which will never win games of football, it's just a tactic to try to reduce the damage to make a losing team look better than they are
colts still have webb, jacobs & bracken to come back in and several capable players on the fringe and have proved that clarke is not the only avenue to goal, i think they're going to be very hard to beat and deserve flag favouritism

elephant said:
ill say here now, that albion have the measure of the colts.. dunno if they will even make the finals, but they will beat port colts both times this year in home and away.

Well i don't think elephant has been on here for a while but if someone out there can send as S.O.S,i'd like his response to his early predictions.
Reading back there were a few people having a dig at us after losing a praccy match to albion,but elephant please there has been no team that has beaten the colts twice in home and away game in the same year for a while so to predict albion would do that was well LAUGHABLE

cold pies said:
I agree with your thoughts pieman, Saul looked very good yesterday. It is good to see that the wraps on the bloke prior to he's signing are spot on. Good to see young Kane also play well. He was another bloke with huge wraps on him. Didn't realise he played Teal Cup for Victoria a few years ago. He also has a huge reputation to live up too. Both blokes will only get better as the season gets on. Clarky to kick a 100 you say. I think that will look after itself as the year progress's. Thought your versatility showed out yesterday and with the blokes out that you mentioned there is a lot to look forward too. One thing I will ask is how do you think you will match the pace of Hoppers younger blokes and the run of sunshine?

Quick comment on my guys, thought they started well but like in most one sided encounters they tried to even things up in the second half.

herd cooper played his best game for the colts and like i said a few weeks ago saul caddy could possibly win the league medal and just wondering do cooper and caddy look for each other much as they have played against each other for 10 years

obe1 said:
cold pies said:
I agree with your thoughts pieman, Saul looked very good yesterday. It is good to see that the wraps on the bloke prior to he's signing are spot on. Good to see young Kane also play well. He was another bloke with huge wraps on him. Didn't realise he played Teal Cup for Victoria a few years ago. He also has a huge reputation to live up too. Both blokes will only get better as the season gets on. Clarky to kick a 100 you say. I think that will look after itself as the year progress's. Thought your versatility showed out yesterday and with the blokes out that you mentioned there is a lot to look forward too. One thing I will ask is how do you think you will match the pace of Hoppers younger blokes and the run of sunshine?

Quick comment on my guys, thought they started well but like in most one sided encounters they tried to even things up in the second half.

in all seriousness and without sounding too confidant, we are the reigning premiers and are on top this season so other teams should be trying to match up against us
i'm 100% behind the rock i'll back our boys all the way and if we're not good enough so be it, but we're not afraid of failure

touch of class said:
herd cooper played his best game for the colts and like i said a few weeks ago Saul caddy could possibly win the league medal and just wondering do cooper and caddy look for each other much as they have played against each other for 10 years

Have not seen all he's game to date but from the few I have seen he did very well yesterday. He gets a bit fiery doesn't he! There is a good photo of him on the website. It looks like he is giving the opposition ruckman quite a spray. Being as close to him as you are, how do u think he is traveling? Has he any more to offer? The big fella Saul looked okay also, considering he has only been there for two weeks.

obe1 said:
Have not seen all he's game to date but from the few I have seen he did very well yesterday. He gets a bit fiery doesn't he! There is a good photo of him on the website. It looks like he is giving the opposition ruckman quite a spray. Being as close to him as you are, how do u think he is traveling? Has he any more to offer? The big fella Saul looked okay also, considering he has only been there for two weeks.

well obe he does get a bit firey sometimes but he is smart enough to know when to stop and i think he is starting to get a lot fitter and his injuries are not bothering him as much so if it stays that way i think he will have alot more to offer and i believe the best of him is still to come

Well we were able to chalk up another win on the weekend to continue on the first divisions current longest winning streak. Although the margin was almost 12 goals, we did not put them away in the last like we should have.

This weeks game is the one we are waiting for, surely the match of the round; Hoppers at Hoppers. Will be a huge challenge for us but one we are looking forward to.

madpie said:
Not sure if they were full strength or not,beasley and montebello tried hard for spotti,juegan,condos,kotoski, and alot of other parkside players(did not have a record)were dominant all day.
Spotswood just need every bloke that runs out to play accountable and passionate football,give a 100% and not leave it to a handfull of blokes.

I too made it out to a couple of games on the weekend. The first one myself and cliketyclix ventured out to was Parkside v's Spotswood. Only stayed there for the first half and noticed everything madpie did, your summary of the game was spot on. Spoty were very intimidated and were second to the ball the whole first half. Then it was onto Sunshine v's Yarraville and to my supprise when we arrived, there was only 4 goals in it at half time. It opened up from there, Yarraville deffinately didn't lower there colours. The game was pretty free flowing, with not much deffensive play, more like a shoot really that sunshine won. Stenhouse took everything that came his way and I think it was number 8 a little stocky short haired fella had the ball on a string. The game this weekend between Hoppers Crossing and Sunshine will definately be match of the round and we can't wait. Sunshine have done something no other team has this year in beating Colt's and this will be a big challenge for Hoppers.

sunline 11 said:
I too made it out to a couple of games on the weekend. The first one myself and cliketyclix ventured out to was Parkside v's Spotswood. Only stayed there for the first half and noticed everything madpie did, your summary of the game was spot on. Spoty were very intimidated and were second to the ball the whole first half. Then it was onto Sunshine v's Yarraville and to my supprise when we arrived, there was only 4 goals in it at half time. It opened up from there, Yarraville deffinately didn't lower there colours. The game was pretty free flowing, with not much deffensive play, more like a shoot really that sunshine won. Stenhouse took everything that came his way and I think it was number 8 a little stocky short haired fella had the ball on a string. The game this weekend between Hoppers Crossing and Sunshine will definately be match of the round and we can't wait. Sunshine have done something no other team has this year in beating Colt's and this will be a big challenge for Hoppers.

Sunline just think your over emphasing sunshines win over us a little to much,yes they are a good side and deserve their place in the top 4.I dont want to take anything away from them, i think once the big three take them seriously and match up certain players i don't think they can beat the top three in my opinion.I think the hoppers boys at home this week will win this game by at least 6 goals and i know the sunshine boys wont like me saying that and may even print this out and stick it on the walls for motivation when they play us but if they need to do that their already behind the 8 ball.Good luck to the kangas this week i hope they can knock hoppers of,it will make finishing on top for us a little easier but i just can't see it happening and if im wrong next saturday i'll put my hand up and say so.

ROCK07 said:
Sunline just think your over emphasing sunshines win over us a little to much,yes they are a good side and deserve their place in the top 4.I dont want to take anything away from them, i think once the big three take them seriously and match up certain players i don't think they can beat the top three in my opinion.I think the hoppers boys at home this week will win this game by at least 6 goals and i know the sunshine boys wont like me saying that and may even print this out and stick it on the walls for motivation when they play us but if they need to do that their already behind the 8 ball.Good luck to the kangas this week i hope they can knock hoppers of,it will make finishing on top for us a little easier but i just can't see it happening and if im wrong next saturday i'll put my hand up and say so.

You are entitled to you opinion rock, in fact i quite enjoy that you are more than willing to put your opinions down in black and white. Fence sitters can be annoying.

This weekend will be our biggest test for the year so far.