Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

bush_tucker77 said:
Is Ben Foley gunna play for the roos this week or will he play for willy 2's cause they are playing werribee on saturday at burbank oval?

No sure as yet - we would want him playing for us of course

Has anyone heard any rumours about who St Albans will have coaching them next year?? Could be an interesting one, and what about Albion?? The rumour is Michael Brown has already accepted an Assistant Coaches job with Torquay next year. Is Julian Shanks still the front runner??

Travvy43 said:
Interested to hear from Sunny on his thoughts about Spotty, seemed to have hit form at the right time. The woodsmen ended the year as the second best offensive team in the league.

Well done on seccuring a double chance Travvy, pretty good effort by yourself to come from division 2, to be playing finals in Division 1, in the one year. Spotswood have some good players and will deffinately test Parkside, though I don't think they have the tall's in the middle or in defence to stop Condos and Davis and going on last time they played, which I was at that game, they will struggle. In saying that, Spotty always have a crack and Finals are a different ball game, I just don't think the wide open spaces of Whitten oval will suit Spotty.

how many years did saul spend on the doggies list and what years was he at the dogs
if you could just help me out rock that would be nice

Good to see the WRFL bring the U/18 Elimination final forward to Sat. This means all three Port Melb Colts games can be played on the same day. Big day for the club. Go Colts!!!

manatwork said:
i dont know which game you were at but the game was under decent control all day.

mate i was on 1 metre away when coward number 9 king hit grant millen in a ruck contest, didn't even look at the ball and if grant didn't have to leave the groung because of the blood rule something could have broke out
just prior to this freeland give caddy a punch to the stomach after he took a mark, there were a few scuffles shortly after and if not for finals our guys would have squared up no doubt, like i said good discipline

i know what game i was at and i had a hell of a lot better idea of what was going on than you mate

sunline 11 said:
Travvy, pretty good effort by yourself to come from division 2, to be playing finals in Division 1, in the one year.

Your usually pretty spot on with your facts sunny, couple of years off the mark here though.

cold pies said:
mate i was on 1 metre away when coward number 9 king hit grant millen in a ruck contest, didn't even look at the ball and if grant didn't have to leave the groung because of the blood rule something could have broke out
just prior to this freeland give caddy a punch to the stomach after he took a mark, there were a few scuffles shortly after and if not for finals our guys would have squared up no doubt, like i said good discipline

i know what game i was at and i had a hell of a lot better idea of what was going on than you mate

You seem to have isolated the only two incidents that happened on Saturday fella. Saw the Freeland incident, and dare I say Caddy would have copped far worse in the past. It was a rib-tickler at best. The other incident I was too far away to see. So I won't comment.

yeah i herd that if the colts boys were as undisciplined as what they are percieved to be at least 5 of them would be up at the tribunral i herd there was a few very low acts by altona that normally would of seen different outcomes if the game was earlier in the year and all the umpires had to do was make an example out of 1 player when things started to get a bit ugly and issue a send off but no the just let things go but to the colts credit they stuck to the task and flogged altona also rock what happened in the 3rd quarter you were payed a free kick and our mate played on and kicked a goal on ya 5 minutes later he was off just a coincidence or not but i know he was left wondering

cmat26 said:
You seem to have isolated the only two incidents that happened on Saturday fella. Saw the Freeland incident, and dare I say Caddy would have copped far worse in the past. It was a rib-tickler at best. The other incident I was too far away to see. So I won't comment.

i should have mentioned that there were no incidents in the first 3 quarters and the two incidents that i brought up were the ones i seen clearly, the one in the ruck contest was just a cowardly act, even one altona player said it was a disgrace, and the other i'm sure caddy has copped worse but it was still a punch in the guts when your arms are strecthed out taking a mark and the villian was the coach, great leadership, did he behave like that last year when you were cruising through 2nd division
the point i was originally making is our discipline was good, we don't care about the other stuff now the game is over, our club gets labelled as undisciplined quite a bit but we were good in that area on the weekend and i'm sure it will be good through the finals

I'm a little confused here. Explain "very low acts" please. Disregard the two that have already been mentioned (one was a non-event, the other I didn't see) and please highlighted other instances.

Thanks in advance.

cold pies said:
i should have mentioned that there were no incidents in the first 3 quarters and the two incidents that i brought up were the ones i seen clearly, the one in the ruck contest was just a cowardly act, even one altona player said it was a disgrace, and the other i'm sure caddy has copped worse but it was still a punch in the guts when your arms are strecthed out taking a mark and the villian was the coach, great leadership, did he behave like that last year when you were cruising through 2nd division
the point i was originally making is our discipline was good, we don't care about the other stuff now the game is over, our club gets labelled as undisciplined quite a bit but we were good in that area on the weekend and i'm sure it will be good through the finals

All credit to you. You were very disciplined ALL day.

If thats what happened, then yes. It was not the most savoury of acts.

As for the Freeland "incident", it might be just me, but as a forward I come to expect stuff like that. The only thing I could possibly fault it on was the timing. Had it have been in the first qtr it wouldn't have been spoken about, but because the game was over it became a talking point.

Ahhh well, good luck over the next 3 weeks.

Very poor form from the Altona coach telling his players not to come in for a drink after the game. Ithink Freeland was scared that Caddy might hurt him or something.

cmat26 said:
I'm a little confused here. Explain "very low acts" please. Disregard the two that have already been mentioned (one was a non-event, the other I didn't see) and please highlighted other instances.

Thanks in advance.

the attitude of about 8 - 10 players talking s h i t trying to suck players in when the colts players were in a no win situation why didnt they just go as hard as they could at the pill no because they arent that hard or tough so why go around trying to get a bloke to hit you on the chin if they were in the colts posistion would they have done the same thing no so it was very un sportsman like but after talking to my mate about i will guarantee that if by some chance he runs into 1 of these smart arses on the street he will not be asking questions but breaking jaws then we will find out how tough these c o c k s u c k e r s from altona are and as for thier coach if what i herd was true then what a lagging dog

high_flier said:
Very poor form from the Altona coach telling his players not to come in for a drink after the game. Ithink Freeland was scared that Caddy might hurt him or something.

Had nothing to do with a directive from the coach. Had nothing to do with being scared of Port. Had nothing to do with the calibre of blokes they are.

touch of class said:
the attitude of about 8 - 10 players talking s h i t trying to suck players in when the colts players were in a no win situation why didnt they just go as hard as they could at the pill no because they arent that hard or tough so why go around trying to get a bloke to hit you on the chin if they were in the colts posistion would they have done the same thing no so it was very un sportsman like but after talking to my mate about i will guarantee that if by some chance he runs into 1 of these smart arses on the street he will not be asking questions but breaking jaws then we will find out how tough these c o c k s u c k e r s from altona are and as for thier coach if what i herd was true then what a lagging dog

Well then.....this type of rubbish is precisely why people stereotype Port. Now I have nothing against them.....but other people come on and read this crap and make the assumption that not just Port, but the entire competition are a bunch of thugs etc...Hmmmm, actually, I don't even know why I am bothering, because if thats what your mate is gonna do, then thats what your mate is gonna do.

Silly, just silly.

cmat26 said:
Well then.....this type of rubbish is precisely why people stereotype Port. Now I have nothing against them.....but other people come on and read this crap and make the assumption that not just Port, but the entire competition are a bunch of thugs etc...Hmmmm, actually, I don't even know why I am bothering, because if thats what your mate is gonna do, then thats what your mate is gonna do.

Silly, just silly.

what so its alright for blokes from altona to try and do what they could to get a bloke reported because they are s h i t and arent playing finals that is very poor form and people who stoop to low acts like that deserve to get a smack in the mouth so if them weak c u n t s from altona just played footy and never opened thier mouths the way they did nothing would be said but they did and mate its a big bad world out there dogs like them always get there day

cmat26 said:
Had nothing to do with a directive from the coach. Had nothing to do with being scared of Port. Had nothing to do with the calibre of blokes they are.
I'm a bit confused here, this is the 2nd time someone has mentioned that they didn't come in, I was in the rooms after the game and so were a number of Altona players...were they reserves players? I saw quite a few so I'm not sure about that...can anyone elaborate?

touch of class said:
what so its alright for blokes from altona to try and do what they could to get a bloke reported because they are s h i t and arent playing finals that is very poor form and people who stoop to low acts like that deserve to get a smack in the mouth so if them weak c u n t s from altona just played footy and never opened thier mouths the way they did nothing would be said but they did and mate its a big bad world out there dogs like them always get there day

Will you all just get over yourselves and stop all these little digs at each other and worry about the big picture in which we are all playing for this weekend.

What players look like being out for the first weekend of the finals from each clubs? Sunshine - Millar

Was their any incidents over the weekend on Sad Sunday or Mad Monday that everyone always like's to hear.

Gobombers55 said:

Will you all just get over yourselves and stop all these little digs at each other and worry about the big picture in which we are all playing for this weekend.

What players look like being out for the first weekend of the finals from each clubs? Sunshine - Millar

Was their any incidents over the weekend on Sad Sunday or Mad Monday that everyone always like's to hear.

Just have to mention one special match up this week les [marrie nappy]taylor on BRENDAN [ROCKY DENIS] ACREMAN.the two ugliest local footy players of all time

Kozzis Dizzy said:
I'm a bit confused here, this is the 2nd time someone has mentioned that they didn't come in, I was in the rooms after the game and so were a number of Altona players...were they reserves players? I saw quite a few so I'm not sure about that...can anyone elaborate?

Been enough said on this issue, just to clear a couple of things up.

About half a dozen senior players came into the colts room along with Sam Ellis and some of the committee of Altona. Freeland and the rest of the players did not.

There was a clear message from some of the lesser Altona players to get under the colts skin. Apart from the incidents mentioned the rest was mostly verbal. It would be disapionting from Altona's perspective that most of the undisciplined actions started from their on feild coach.

What goes around comes around,time to move on and plan for the next challenge. The inclusion of Foley and perhaps X to Sushine and the form of some of the colts lesser named players will make for interesting selections come thursday night. Has the sacking of Kotoski galvinised Parkside enabling them to produce the type of footy they are capable of. Spotswood are going into the finals with nothing to loose and every thing to gain,they can afford to be reckless and play with confidence knowing there is little presure on them.

Makes for a big week in football......

ROCK07 said:
Just have to mention one special match up this week les [marrie nappy]taylor on BRENDAN [ROCKY DENIS] ACREMAN.the two ugliest local footy players of all time

hey rock i herd you werent to happy when the advantage rule was paid and a player kicked a goal and you didnt get your shot and was it just coincidence that 5 minutes same player was taken off i think there is a bit of uncertinany from him about the situation

touch of class said:
hey rock i herd you werent to happy when the advantage rule was paid and a player kicked a goal and you didnt get your shot and was it just coincidence that 5 minutes same player was taken off i think there is a bit of uncertinany from him about the situation

One has nothing to do with the other. All " running players" were rotated during the course of the day. Timing of this rotation is a coincidence. To suggest the motive for the rotation was for anything other than the above is childish.

obe1 said:
One has nothing to do with the other. All " running players" were rotated during the course of the day. Timing of this rotation is a coincidence. To suggest the motive for the rotation was for anything other than the above is childish.

just having a joke with the rock obe as i know he takes great pride in his goal kicking abillities and im led to believe after a handball in the goal square at yarraville the boys are even

cmat26 said:
All credit to you. You were very disciplined ALL day.

If thats what happened, then yes. It was not the most savoury of acts.

As for the Freeland "incident", it might be just me, but as a forward I come to expect stuff like that. The only thing I could possibly fault it on was the timing. Had it have been in the first qtr it wouldn't have been spoken about, but because the game was over it became a talking point.

Ahhh well, good luck over the next 3 weeks.

the freeland incident probably wasn't that bad but it happened when things were getting heated and he is the coach, it could have blown up that's all

all the verbal stuff that will always take place on a footy field, water under the bridge i reckon and in hindsight not a bad test of our discipline on the eve of the finals, time to move on

we are just about full strenghth and both sides fancy themselves on whitten oval should be good viewing for those who get to the game, also spotty and parkside i think will be good to watch so should be a good weekend of footy

to those who's season is over, now that you have played everyome twice who do you think will win and who would you like to see take out the premiership