Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

Gotheroos is not a hanger on he is a quality person and player and like evryone is just having a bit of fun with you guys and i'm not to sure if you are not the ones getting sucked in but lets all just leave it their,to you guys that play against the colts younmay get to know rooboy better as he will hopefully play with us this year.

Now with frost he is clearly the best player i have seen in wrfl at his peak but the last few years he has been well below that and i think he can still have an impact of the bench but that dropped chest mark will definately come out of the closet when we play next time i am a big sledger no matter who it is and if i can get into anyones mind i will.

I think a dropped chest mark in a GF merits sledging but where would you draw the line. What would you do if a stevens-carey situation arose in the WRFL?

What about an illness in an oppositions family?

I think a dropped chest mark in a GF merits sledging but where would you draw the line. What would you do if a stevens-carey situation arose in the WRFL?

Would definately draw the line about the illness in a family definatly a no go zone but a carey stevens typr of situation would be open slather both ways although would feel sorry for the stevens in the incident

if you are willing to sledge over an illness to an opposition player or their family members that is pretty low and if i heard a team mate do it i would pull them up

Big call but I think Frost is the best player I have seen play WRFL. He won't be remembered for a dropped chest mark although I am sure he would like it forgotton. More likely to be remebered for winning the Comp. b and f I think twice.

As we all know in football there were things done in the 1st, 2nd and 3rd quarters that cost goals also but as the dropped mark was late in the game then it is assumed that it cost the game. Perhaps in a sense yes but like I said earlier, in the game mistakes, turnovers, easy shots missed all contributed too.

I think he will be sledged, me personally I wouldn't because of respect in what he has done in football compared to most and also because he is a top bloke. I would like to see someone sledge him then play the game on him. Just my view I know others will do what they have to do to win games ,each to their own. Just ask Italy's soccer captain.

It actually was not italy's captain who did the sledging that u are referring to , i believe it was fabio grosso cheers
icon6.gif

I think if you have to sledge someone about a family illness then you would have to be a pretty low person. The Carey/Stevens thing is a pretty sticky situation also.
I think people only use these tactics if they are getting beaten anyway.

if you are willing to sledge over an illness to an opposition player or their family members that is pretty low and if i heard a team mate do it i would pull them up
my opion is nothing is bar on the footy field I would do what ever is nessary to beat the oppersition but thats just me after the game have a drink and be happy.:thumbsu:

Who's playing who in practice matches and when? Does everyone source there own games or do you play a round robin comp amongst the WRFL?

This has probably been covered but I don't want to go back and read all the other crap to find if it has.

I don't sledge much myself as a I rarely need to, but I thrive on being sledged at. I love it also when he crowd give it to me as well....Especially one-toothed fans sucking Jim Bean cans behind the goals...There is no better individual feeling on the footy field when you kick a goal after receiving a mouthful of abuse from your opponent or the supporters.

The problem with sledging is it can come back to bite you if you do it poorly, and you can be made to look like a real fool. I mean a real fool !!!!!!

I don't sledge much myself as a I rarely need to, but I thrive on being sledged at. I love it also when he crowd give it to me as well....Especially one-toothed fans sucking Jim Bean cans behind the goals...There is no better individual feeling on the footy field when you kick a goal after receiving a mouthful of abuse from your opponent or the supporters.

The problem with sledging is it can come back to bite you if you do it poorly, and you can be made to look like a real fool. I mean a real fool !!!!!!

Very subtle Whippety Boy ;)

Have also heard that hoath will definately be at hoppers but are trying to keep it hush hush
like he said when he went to Cashmore. He told the Colts he wasnt playing then he was spotted training there anyway good character and good luck to him he is a great footballer would have to be the second best ruckman in the comp, will be a great duel when he and Julier go at it. the only sad thing is that of all clubs he could have went to Hoppers does hurt you

i have been reading this for a while now and have to say you are the one who continually gets sucked in you say the same thing pretty much in every post "i dont play there but i know how close they are" ETC ETC your so worried about who he is and how he is hiding behind his PC but you are doing exactly the same thing this is a forum for discussing footy and congrats on the colts winning the flag its awesome for them but who are you? Anytime anyone gets on here and talks even slightly negatively you jump up and down like a lil school girl. Get over it and respond constructively or at least say something different your getting very boring.
Take it easy mate, the Colts have been chasing Gotheroos for 2 years the boy can play very tough and ball magnet, also hes been training with us for two years all the boys love him down the club, and thats because he cant travel to the bush to train he plays in the Ovens and Murray comp(voted the best comp outside of VFL and VAFA) where hes won a flag and a B&F. If he played for us we would be rapted and if playing juniors at the club counts for anything l think he has just about as much right as anyone to stick up for the Colts.

been playing against frost in this league for a long time and when he was at his peak he is the best i've seen in this comp, after winning back to back priest medals he went to werribee and won the liston by 15 votes, shows how good he was when he was younger, never would have dropped a chest mark back then

no need for the colts to sledge him coz we have the silverware but i wouldn't be suprised if there is a few jeers from the crowd if he takes a grab when we play them, i think he will rotate a lot off the bench to stay fresh and he will most likely have an impact but is definately well past the glory days
spraying frost is a must, just as we got sprayed in the return match in 2005 and thats fare enough, but Frosty wont be getting it on his own Sunline will cop a bit Taylor would cop a bit and the comment about Taylor leaving to go to Spotty would have to be the worst rumor started on BF.

When we played in the finals series just before it the Colts got some good info on a leading player for Hoppers that he stole some money from a ladies purse and later was caught and fessed up and payed back the money after spending it at the pokies, well during the finals this player was getting sledge and it affected him and even his players didn't stick up for him so it works, and illness is barred but the Steven's and Carey thing l would spray Carey but not Steven's. l think sledging can be a massive tool on the field if its used wisely and l know theres been allot more now BF's around it good the banter some times you win it sometimes you lose it, but it certainly helps when your winning.

Heard St Albans have some handy footballers training with them Jessie Wells and Brad Murphy both from Bulldogs not sure about Murphy think his training there due to him playing in the bush and Wells hasn't committed but they have a former EDFL player from Dottas Stars named Ryan Wolley who kicked 40-50 goals last year and is meant to go alright can the St Albans people clear this up?

spraying frost is a must, just as we got sprayed in the return match in 2005 and thats fare enough, but Frosty wont be getting it on his own Sunline will cop a bit Taylor would cop a bit and the comment about Taylor leaving to go to Spotty would have to be the worst rumor started on BF.

When we played in the finals series just before it the Colts got some good info on a leading player for Hoppers that he stole some money from a ladies purse and later was caught and fessed up and payed back the money after spending it at the pokies, well during the finals this player was getting sledge and it affected him and even his players didn't stick up for him so it works, and illness is barred but the Steven's and Carey thing l would spray Carey but not Steven's. l think sledging can be a massive tool on the field if its used wisely and l know theres been allot more now BF's around it good the banter some times you win it sometimes you lose it, but it certainly helps when your winning.

Heard St Albans have some handy footballers training with them Jessie Wells and Brad Murphy both from Bulldogs not sure about Murphy think his training there due to him playing in the bush and Wells hasn't committed but they have a former EDFL player from Dottas Stars named Ryan Wolley who kicked 40-50 goals last year and is meant to go alright can the St Albans people clear this up?

i read on the edfl thread that ryan wooley had crossed over to st albans so that is a good signing for them, also does anyone have any news on those players from the saints who were rumoured to be on the move

He wasnt happy either, go on EDFL moves and read it

there were quite a few rumoured to be leaving. which ones were you talking about

none in particular acr2751

what is the latest down there if they sign a few more and hold on to the current list then they would be a finals contender

i think the players rumoured were arena,tonna,dawson & d fitzpatrick just to name a few but not 100% sure

arena, dawson and fitzy are all staying.. not sure what tonna is doing yet

what is the latest down there if they sign a few more and hold on to the current list then they would be a finals contender

i think the players rumoured were arena,tonna,dawson & d fitzpatrick just to name a few but not 100% sure

tonna didnt play for us 2006 (overseas) i belive he is moving to nsw after xmas and will play o&m. The others you mentioned are all training
i dont think we will keep all the list as with most clubs there is always a few movements.
as always plenty of rumours.

i will be happy to see rain soon though other wise we will have to spend saturday arvo at home..

local councils have already said no grounds available to april and if that fire gets any closer to thompson dam stage 4 water restictions will start.
none of us might need new players.

tonna didnt play for us 2006 (overseas) i belive he is moving to nsw after xmas and will play o&m. The others you mentioned are all training
i dont think we will keep all the list as with most clubs there is always a few movements.
as always plenty of rumours.

i will be happy to see rain soon though other wise we will have to spend saturday arvo at home..

local councils have already said no grounds available to april and if that fire gets any closer to thompson dam stage 4 water restictions will start.
none of us might need new players.

thanks for the update the saints should go ok then, obviously every club has a turn over of players but if all those key players stay that is a positive

we all need to pray for some rain soon, depth will be a key factor next season as i believe there will be a lot more injuries and general soreness because of the hard surfaces

I can tell you they have signed Ryan Wooley from Doutas, Adam Swadiak returns from Doutas, Jesse Wells from the Bulldogs and his brother and apparently a ruckman from Werribee.

Sebastian Arena is staying but only because the club refused to clear him from the last year of his contract. But i can tell you he is not the biggest fan of the new coach, so will be intersting to see how he goes.

Tonna has signed at Albury or somewhere up that way, Ash Craig to Northcote park, Tent Zantuck back to Noosa, Simon O'Keefe has left, Mark Oxnam, Matt Draga and Jeff Fraser have also left.

Saints still need a few more new players yet before we can consider them a threat.

I can tell you they have signed Ryan Wooley from Doutas, Adam Swadiak returns from Doutas, Jesse Wells from the Bulldogs and his brother and apparently a ruckman from Werribee.

Sebastian Arena is staying but only because the club refused to clear him from the last year of his contract. But i can tell you he is not the biggest fan of the new coach, so will be intersting to see how he goes.

Tonna has signed at Albury or somewhere up that way, Ash Craig to Northcote park, Tent Zantuck back to Noosa, Simon O'Keefe has left, Mark Oxnam, Matt Draga and Jeff Fraser have also left.

Saints still need a few more new players yet before we can consider them a threat.

will the saints get the best out of him next year, he has been at that club for a while and been a good player for st albans and the wrfl,but if the club forces him to stay when he really wants to move on then surely he wonnt play his best footy, or am i wrong ???
will