Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

If you "heard" about the meeting fellas, you have heard incorrectly. The subject of the meeting was foul language and players who are abusive to umpires and what to do in the situation.
The process is to say "not acceptable language" and pay 50 metres or a free kick.
Some will, some umpires will actually be polite and ask just to leave them alone and play footy.
As for these "power trips", if you actually spoke to one of us after the game, you might find we aren't that bad...

Enough said about umpiring, talk some footy!

How about Beazer's exploits or colbol's kicking style!

kicking style is paying dividends at the moment, so not gonna change it just yet.

still no one has taken me up on my offer for some private kicking lessons, there still available fellas just let me know?

Is that $110 for the field and boundary umpires or just the field umps? I wouldnt have thought there would be too many 17/18 yo field umpires out there. On top of that there is a fair bit of training from what I know to become an umpire and I doubt whether the kids of today can be bothered putting in the physical work.

Training is a lifestyle choice whatever the discipline and shouldn't become part of the chore. Just as teams require younger blokes pushing through the ranks so do umpires, my piont being that it is good money for young blokes to umpire rather than do nothing, work at Macca's or collect trolleys, I know it is hard but just as the clubs recruit the same must be done for umpiring.

Well what an interesting topic this has become, better then the usual garbage of teams spruking and what not.
Umpiring, what a controversial topic. There have been some great responses to this but at the end of the day this sort of problem needs to be fixed at the top. There needs to be more incentive i believe for these umpires to do the job, that way the increased competition of umpiring will create a better standard. It's just like the fundamental operations of a football club. The better the players, the harded everyone goes to get a spot, the the better you become together.
This kind of system would eradicate the fringe umpires and possibly recycle some of the old habits of big headed and power-frenzied umps.
I also agree wit some of the other comments that umpires need to grow some bigger balls (if they have them in the first place), but this has to be done consistenly and evenly. some umpires use there position of power abusively. if there was consistency across the ranks then umpires would have a stronger foundation to employ their powers without such debate. but at the moment i reckon they are selective with their power and i honestly believe some clubs get looked after more then others. I witnessed a game a few weeks ago (i won't mention who was playing cause it's irrelevant) and couldn't believe some of the things players were saying to the umpires. Were they scared to retaliate? Who knows, but this sort of behaviour needs to be addressed across the board. there should be no favours for anyone.

anyway that's my belief, any further comments?

There is doubt about it we need umps to have a game. Now i understand this thread is manly a sen base 1. But i wanted to throw some fuel on the fire
I coach (well at lest try) under14s now i have manly 12 to 13 year olds running around having fun win lose or draw. Now tell me this where does the ump i had (div 1 sen) get running round telling the kids that they are sh it and ect wheather they are champs or loosers that shouldnt happen. I tell you thats why u umpires dont get the respect you want. to that was very disapointing.
borgie plz reply to this because to me its just not on. we put it down on the umpires report and as usual there was no reply

I played 2nds in the port colts st albans game on the weekendand i thought we had our best two umps for the year this was beacause the two umpires didnt show up and each club had to find 1 bloke to ump. Although i dont think this should happen for obvious reasons.
Both of them were fair and they let the game go and didnt pay soft free kicks which is the way it should be. They didnt pay ridiculous 50-m penaltys when thier decisions were disputed i even heard the st albans bloke tell a player to shut up at one stage which was good.

I think the hands in the back rule is making things to hard for the umpires in our comp you only have to look like you are gona touch a players back and they will get a free kick.

What do others think of this rule?

If you "heard" about the meeting fellas, you have heard incorrectly. The subject of the meeting was foul language and players who are abusive to umpires and what to do in the situation.
The process is to say "not acceptable language" and pay 50 metres or a free kick.
Some will, some umpires will actually be polite and ask just to leave them alone and play footy.
As for these "power trips", if you actually spoke to one of us after the game, you might find we aren't that bad...

Enough said about umpiring, talk some footy!

How about Beazer's exploits or colbol's kicking style!
I think talking about ump,s on this site is a lot of sh it it's like talking back to the opp supporters on a satday gets you no where.what I think should happen is start sending the ump's out to train with clubs
again is always a good way to find out there interperaion of the rules and for players to just let the ump's know that where in battle on a satday that sometimes we might say the wrong thing but are over it in a couple of mins when a player keeps going off over and over then use your power to send them off to cool down.

your thorts borgy

Training is a lifestyle choice whatever the discipline and shouldn't become part of the chore. Just as teams require younger blokes pushing through the ranks so do umpires, my piont being that it is good money for young blokes to umpire rather than do nothing, work at Macca's or collect trolleys, I know it is hard but just as the clubs recruit the same must be done for umpiring.

not many 17-18 year old umpiring div 1 seniors they would have to start at junior level to get experience where they get paid $60 which is not good money.

we are lucky if we cover 2/3 of games at this level with umpires and if we did i bet most are doing 2-3 games.

I think talking about ump,s on this site is a lot of sh it it's like talking back to the opp supporters on a satday gets you no where.what I think should happen is start sending the ump's out to train with clubs
again is always a good way to find out there interperaion of the rules and for players to just let the ump's know that where in battle on a satday that sometimes we might say the wrong thing but are over it in a couple of mins when a player keeps going off over and over then use your power to send them off to cool down.

your thorts borgy

I think commenting on umipre and players interacticing with a crowd at a local game are two different things.
The standard of umpiring in this league is fine,it comes down to player not being disciplined enough to accept their decision and act like little boys when things don't go their way.Umpires will make mistakes so will players just get on with,how ever there are some umps that do have some issues with certain players and clubs and this i do not agree with and they should get over this.
Crowd getting into players from opposition is all part of the footy culture and once the game is over no harm is usually done from either party,just like sledging between players on the field once said and done get on with the game and that's it.
I actually don't think an umpire will have a result on a game it is usually the way player respond under duress

Not sure if it was the same at every 1st division game last weekend but at Sunshine vs Albion the umpiring was right on top of everything and were very touchy with all of there dicisions and wasn't letting the play flow. At least they were consistant all day!

Read on the thread named in his honour that he has only signed for 6 weeks and then is back to Melton, surely this can't be true, no club should allow that to happen imo

Good mail from down Melton way, the one and only Dane trained there tonight. Rumour has it there was an 'incident' at Albion and he wants out.........

the kid never trained. and his form was way off the mark. couldn't kick goals and as a full fwd ya really need to be kicking scores. he can play but not when hes unfit. melton wil lov having him back but stil wont be kicking bags

word from Melton is he dosent like the captain Or coach
he dosent play twos and he dosent like training Tuesday nights
tough position to be in playing at a club he regrets taking money from :confused:

just in regards to the umpire situation
I think the problem is that over the past few years there have been a few umpires of all disciplines that have been promoted to the VFL List and umpiring at higher levels.

This has left the wrfl short on quality umpries, in every discipline, so maybe the wrfl is in a period of 'between' where the younger, inexperienced umpries just need some time under their belts to umpire at a decent quality in all divisions of football and the umpires of lower quality are getting seniors games basically because there's no one else.

As borgy says there a lots of boys and girls umpiring, we just need to help them become 4-5 year umpires rather than 1-2 which is most common now.

just in regards to the umpire situation
I think the problem is that over the past few years there have been a few umpires of all disciplines that have been promoted to the VFL List and umpiring at higher levels.

This has left the wrfl short on quality umpries, in every discipline, so maybe the wrfl is in a period of 'between' where the younger, inexperienced umpries just need some time under their belts to umpire at a decent quality in all divisions of football and the umpires of lower quality are getting seniors games basically because there's no one else.

As borgy says there a lots of boys and girls umpiring, we just need to help them become 4-5 year umpires rather than 1-2 which is most common now.

Good call :thumbsu:

anybody know if adam taylor still playing with hcfc told not played for 4-5 weeks where is he now. playing elsewhere? keen to contact him re season 2008

Yeah he is still playing there. he has a broken finger and will be back in a few weeks he said. Have you got his number or do you want me to PM it to you?

Here is a list of the blokes (or birds) representing your forum in the Bigfooty Rregional Leagues Fantasy Football League (BRLFFFL)
The four teams competing are the the Central Sharks, Donkey Floggers, the North-Eastern Wolves and the Western Wallabies.

These folks are representing you lot at the liest level, and you all should be proud of their efforts. Many big leagues (Ballarat, West Gippsland La Trobe, Eastern FL, THE WHOLE OF SOUTH AUSTRALIA!) aren't represented at all, so these guys are making a hefty imprint on the virtual footballing community!! Maybe a quick visit to their match threads to talk 'em up and can their opponents wouldn't be out of order?

(If you are on this list, and there is a x in front of your name, this means you are yet to even read the private message I sent about picking a guernsey number. It means you probably aren't aware of the season in progress, and your club needs you!)
Central Sharks - Western Region FL - Gemini17
Central Sharks - Western Region FL - Blueboy16
Central Sharks - Western Region FL - thesilkmeister

Wow it is amazing what a loss to the colts does to this thread, it pretty much dies in the rear!!

Travvy's tips:
Spotty over the cats by 72 points
Altona to pip the pies by 7 points
Hoppers down there to roll the siants by 24
Colts over the hawks by 59 points
Kangas over the eagles by 51 points

Wow it is amazing what a loss to the colts does to this thread, it pretty much dies in the rear!!

Travvy's tips:
Spotty over the cats by 72 points
Altona to pip the pies by 7 points
Hoppers down there to roll the siants by 24
Colts over the hawks by 59 points
Kangas over the eagles by 51 points

I think you will find we have still had a number of post on here travy,but it's true if we don't get on here it does die a little.
I hope that your not stirring the pot their travy,we may use it as motivation[the sunshine way].Be aware of the wounded dog we,will fight back and our aim is to finish top 3 and at the moment we are just percentage out so we are not that down mate and if we can get ourselves in the top 3[i have no doubt]we again will be the team to beat come finals time.
Agree with the tips also.

Honestly i can't believe that you guys think Altona will just get over the line against Parkside. Steven Milne went as far in the local rag to tip Parkside to beat Altona. Mate i'm telling you Parkside are finished, they are done and dusted. If Glenorden can get over the line against them then i can garuntee that Parkside will be relegated this year. Plus i heard on the weekend Parkside suffered some key injuries. Glenorden are extremely ordinary and i think Altona will have no problem beating them, just as they'll have no problem beating Parkside on the weekend. The bottom three will finish Parkside, Glenorden, Altona.

Any comments?

ROCK07;7622335 I hope that your not stirring the pot their travy said:
If putting my tips up on your wall Clarky inspires the side, you are more than welcome to do it.

I was referring to how the thread has gone quiet remark,but we will find our motivation from with in.
On a positive we get to play,spotty,sunshine,albion and st.albans all at home in the second half and we are still yet to play the two bottom teams so we can build on percentage also,so it's not all doom and gloom but no doubt we need to improve in certain areas and i think you will agree as will beazer that at or near our best we will be very hard to beat,so hopefully we get it right at the buisness end where it really counts.
On a different note hows your form travvy or are you injured? can recall u finished on the pine against us.

I was referring to how the thread has gone quiet remark,but we will find our motivation from with in.
On a positive we get to play,spotty,sunshine,albion and st.albans all at home in the second half and we are still yet to play the two bottom teams so we can build on percentage also,so it's not all doom and gloom but no doubt we need to improve in certain areas and i think you will agree as will beazer that at or near our best we will be very hard to beat,so hopefully we get it right at the buisness end where it really counts.
On a different note hows your form travvy or are you injured? can recall u finished on the pine against us.

I have witnessed Travvy the mediator, travvy the umpires advocate and now I am seeing travvy the stirrer! I like it.

hmmmm interesting.

I have to say, although Rock07's posts always sound like he is addressing the playing group, I agree with him. If colts are in the finals, I back them due to experience, skill and grunt when it matters most. I like sunshine, but for mine, you have a bit of a way to go before the runs are on the board...IE winning in the matches that matter... finals..