Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

talking of coaching news, saw port colts have advertised there senior coaching position on the wrfl website. Is it just a case of it being advertised under the constitution or is there a legitimate vacancy.???:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Maybe Rock or Cougar or even the man himself Obe could fill us in?????

Or maybe Obe might put his hat in the ring at Spotty???:D:D

talking of coaching news, saw port colts have advertised there senior coaching position on the wrfl website. Is it just a case of it being advertised under the constitution or is there a legitimate vacancy.???:rolleyes::rolleyes:

Maybe Rock or Cougar or even the man himself Obe could fill us in?????

Or maybe Obe might put his hat in the ring at Spotty???:D:D

I'm sure if the right person applies the club would look at it,but it is in the constitution to adverise every year.
But think that i should keep the job still, the record isn't to bad and i'm sure obe1 will be there right beside me as we have done together over the last 4 years.
I doubt that obe1 would be walking away from the colts as i said we have been in partnership for 4 years and have made athe grand final every year.

i heard that a while ago that he wouldn't be coaching next year because of work but was still going to play

in other news i bumped into hoppers old chf camma at the gym today and hoppers are apparently getting ex-bulldog brad murphy and former junior player chris barry who has spent the last few years in the eastern league

couldn't tell you anything about the colts at this stage been a little side tracked but i'm looking forward to pre-season in january

Chris Barry is a sure thing will be at the Warriors next year. Is a much better player now when he was last in the league. Great pick up smart footballer!
Unsure about Brad Murphy but heard he is a likely!

Chris Barry is a sure thing will be at the Warriors next year. Is a much better player now when he was last in the league. Great pick up smart footballer!

Spoke to chris GF day at Werribee and he said he was heading back to Hoppers. Good Bloke!

murphy along with downey have already signed on at hoppers

I'm sure if the right person applies the club would look at it,but it is in the constitution to adverise every year.
But think that i should keep the job still, the record isn't to bad and i'm sure obe1 will be there right beside me as we have done together over the last 4 years.
I doubt that obe1 would be walking away from the colts as i said we have been in partnership for 4 years and have made athe grand final every year.

I reckon they need a new 1. The 1 they have is old and knackered! Im sure Obe1 wont be going anywhere but he would be worth chasing for any club (us) looking for a coach. He is a very good operator.

Hey Cabs, saw you blokes training near the Maribyrnong last night. Didnt see you, were you there? Who were all the old blokes with you? Looked like you guys were training with a super-rules team (and Im not being a smarta#se). You didnt seem to do much running, was it a skills session? We did a circuit of running, ballwork and resistence training (chin-ups, dips, push-ups etc) around the river. That hill never seems to get any shorter though. The best thing about training around there is the look. Get some quality birds doing their stuff. Hopefully its hotter next week!

Hey mate, yeh didnt make it down last night... had other things on. there is a few old guys running around, just past players trying to keep fit i think. Also Grechy the pres is trying to keep fit, which is a good thing! Last night they tell me was a skills and plyometrics session, not sure how helpful this will be come footy season but the boys tell me it was one of the harder sessions they have done. None of them could run at basketball last night. I agree that hill is an absolute killer, but is made easier by the females walking the river... and it has only been better and better each session we have trained there.

Plyometrics!! Have Sunshine gone high tech or do they have a new fitness man?

murphy along with downey have already signed on at hoppers

Murphy will be a huge asset, Downey kicked a fair few in the Mornington comp last season and Chris Barry is as good as any running around at local level, hard as nails. Very handy pick ups.

Plyometrics!! Have Sunshine gone high tech or do they have a new fitness man?

Haha i agree completely. Not sure what benefit it will have. All i know is that all of them pulled up sore, prob not a good thing in pre season.

Good for leg strength but I would have though km's in the legs early was a must. Im no fitness guru as can be seen given my elite rig. F#cking hard work if you are not used to doing it though, as you mentioned a few boys were sore.

I reckon they need a new 1. The 1 they have is old and knackered! Im sure Obe1 wont be going anywhere but he would be worth chasing for any club (us) looking for a coach. He is a very good operator.

Obe1 would be good for spotswood and he could join you and crackers at the health farm.

Hoppers to be the big improver's with many new signing's

Obe1 would be good for spotswood and he could join you and crackers at the health farm.

Hoppers to be the big improver's with many new signing's

oppers will always be a top side,so would expect them to improve with the resources they have at their disposal.
Interesting that everyone is spuiking albion....after what i heard today from a commitee member from last year is that they are still yet to pay some players from last year and that the following are heading to deer park
ali
both tymms boys
luke sommers
brad hewat
chris williams maybe a couple others also,will be interesting to see if they can back it up again with a finals berth.

what is plyometrics?? Cabs when are you going to have lunch with Ellis???

oppers will always be a top side,so would expect them to improve with the resources they have at their disposal.
Interesting that everyone is spuiking albion....after what i heard today from a commitee member from last year is that they are still yet to pay some players from last year and that the following are heading to deer park
ali
both tymms boys
luke sommers
brad hewat
chris williams maybe a couple others also,will be interesting to see if they can back it up again with a finals berth.

Are the Tymms good players, or slightly overrated?

Plyometrics is a type of excercise used to develop explosive power. Things like jumping off a chair into a crouch and then jumping as far/high as you can over a number of reps. Really works the leg muscles.......it's a ****een killer!

Good for improving things like leap (basketballers do plyometrics a lot), explosive speed (first five to ten metres from standing ) and leg strength.

Are the Tymms good players, or slightly overrated?

Both as hard as nails.........wont back away from any c*#t no matter how big!

ROCK07 said:
ali
both tymms boys
luke sommers
brad hewat

All staying except Summers, going back Melton way.

Go Cats!

ali
both tymms boys
luke sommers
brad hewat

Further to what I said in an earlier post, I heard at cricket last night that Knezevic shafted the team he initially signed for in West Footscray for a better offer from Albion. Apparently the figure is 3K sign on and $750 a game, and thats coming from a mate of his apparently. Nobody in the comp is worth that sort of money let alone a midfielder, maybe a gun ruckman or key position player. Im sure Albion will be very competetive this year but this is crazy. I would have thought that this money would be better off spent on players they need, like key position players.

Mate to be honest you wouldnt believe a word coming from Knez or any of his mates, so the figure of 750 a game and 3000 sign on can safely be halved.

On West Footscray apparantley they have been lucky to get 10 down to training for Pre season and a favourite sun Lucas Mcghie has given the club till Chriistmas to pull its finger out or he will likely head to the EDFL. Up and down may be the the likely outcome for them.

Speaking to a few Albion boys the other week and they seem to think a heap are leaving, so whilst the talk of them is big at the moment I would just be waiting until Praccy matches in Feb/March before you really have an idea if they have improved.

ali
both tymms boys
luke sommers
brad hewat

I spoke to an Albion player at work and said that both Tymms boys where at training Wednesday, with Williams. Was told Sommers was a bit slow last year and looks likely to be in 2nd Division this year. Ali signed a two year contract at Albion and Brad Hewat was down at the club in the past week. All players paid as per usual, Albion have never been a club to not pay players even if some are paid overs compared to there ability.

I heard yesterday that he initially signed at West Footscray and Albion have since offered him more cabbage and has signed at Albion aswell. I heard that this could get ugly and West are fighting tooth and nail to keep him, as they should. If true, doesnt say much for the bloke. Can anybody confirm or deny any of this?

Rumors are running around like crazy at the moment BUT if he has done this, doesn't show much as a person and i'm some of the we$t blokes will introduce themselves to him through the season! IF true, b/c the truth will come out.

Now beaz, any goss on the new coach for 2008? maybe a Montebello? has the respect down there but not sure if he has the time?

sun Lucas Mcghie has given the club till Chriistmas to pull its finger out or he will likely head to the EDFL. Up and down may be the the likely outcome for them.quote]

Preseason could be better down there BUT the "Lucas Mcghie" comment what a joke! there is more chance of west signing wayne carey then him leaving! Come on mate, make something up that could be realistic:thumbsdown: