Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

How would you know mate?? from everyone involved at the club the common thought is Hoppers havent had a side like this current one for quite a few years.

I wouldn't know just guessing really, there side in 06 was full with alot of experieced vfl footballers,so just an uneducated guess by myself really although murphy will be a big recruit i have not heard much about his friend from red hills and a friend at donvale was not a big rapt for barry and moody from darley also have not heard much of.
Back in 06 frosty was better than now,the carson boys both guns tails also in better form along with disco,but camilleri,puli,buchanan,venner[think he is back],beasley, mcgaw,shaw, and host of other i can't think of was a side stacked full of class and experience but if you say this list is better then i believe you but the proof will come soon........good luck a cocky hoppers is good for competition.

I wouldn't know just guessing really, there side in 06 was full with alot of experieced vfl footballers,so just an uneducated guess by myself really although murphy will be a big recruit i have not heard much about his friend from red hills and a friend at donvale was not a big rapt for barry and moody from darley also have not heard much of.
Back in 06 frosty was better than now,the carson boys both guns tails also in better form along with disco,but camilleri,puli,buchanan,venner[think he is back],beasley, mcgaw,shaw, and host of other i can't think of was a side stacked full of class and experience but if you say this list is better then i believe you but the proof will come soon........good luck a cocky hoppers is good for competition.

Not saying its a better list but I think its an upgrade on last season, time will only tell if the squad is capable of bettering 06.

To be fair the blokes you mention where at the end of there careers, experienced?? yeah they where, Camma was a gun and probably one of the smartest blokes running around. Tails and Disco are as fit as they have been, they look a million bucks on the track. Whoever told you Bazz is nothing special is really surprising, he is as hard as they come and has one of the best set of hands going around, will easily be one of the best running in the league.

Time will tell, but I think many will be surprised with Hoppers, should be a cracker round 1 with Spotty.

I think you will find it's a minor hiccup and he will be cleared....happy for him to go and hopefully he plays out his career at st.kilda city, give him a sense of belonging although maybe he mite return to his junior club and become captain coach, his parents would like that [great people]
is that your way of saying don't come bacl???

You port colts blokes make me sick how can you say all the best when once again he has shot thru again ,how many times has he come back only to leave again,as i said once before he surely must have won your best clubman award,don't care what you say on here but plenty of rumblings about some supporters happy to see the back of him.

Care to shed some light on why you care so much? Did he once give you a bath and you cant get over it? Whats done is done, both the colts and JL will/have moved on and I think you should.

is that your way of saying don't come bacl???
Not at all buddy if you are friends with jl you will find that i'm the one that has always tried to keep him and was the person that chased him and i did what ever i could to keep and personaly felt let down when he left again,but that's footy and i hope we have a frienship out side of footy how ever i doubt he will play at the colts again as alot of people are very dissapointed he has gone again......but you never say never and i don't ever hold grudges life is too short.

Not saying its a better list but I think its an upgrade on last season, time will only tell if the squad is capable of bettering 06.

To be fair the blokes you mention where at the end of there careers, experienced?? yeah they where, Camma was a gun and probably one of the smartest blokes running around. Tails and Disco are as fit as they have been, they look a million bucks on the track. Whoever told you Bazz is nothing special is really surprising, he is as hard as they come and has one of the best set of hands going around, will easily be one of the best running in the league.

Time will tell, but I think many will be surprised with Hoppers, should be a cracker round 1 with Spotty.

We were close to signing a team mate of his from last year,chris jones he won donvales bnf and he thought barry was ok but well past his best,i have never seen him play but i'm sure he will make an impact.

No doubt the game will set the scene early

I heard today west wont play in div 1 only div 2 i suppose thats better than folding !!

Yer i heard bones mcghie is having a meeting with the league tomorrow night and his going to tell them either put us back in to divy 2 or were going to fold.

just curious what would bones have to do with it didnt he step aside aty the end of last year:rolleyes:

that was a very interesting article i dont think that was the smartest move by brad coming out and saying that he is on big money, even though everyone already knew that you dont like the person admitting it.
things like this is what causing turmoil in clubs

it also proves another thing... brad murphy is a blonk... you are a disgrace, could you talk yourself up anymore no wonder a vfl alignment wouldn't sit well with you because your a flog and no one would put up with your kak. I cant see how a vfl club having an agreement on how many afl players came back to play each week would matter, if you deserved a game and were doing everything required the coach would play you anyway.

pull your head in and start having a crack you w***er!!!!!

Hey falcon, just wondering how Michael Lubke went last year. Played some junior interleague footy with him and he was more than handy. Also what positions did he play and where could you see him playing this year for the roos?

He played some good footy in '07. Div 2 Team of the year and only a young fella at 19. Knows how to find the footy and can be a very handy player in nearly any position. Played most of last season as a midfielder at Wyndhamvale but can also fill any key position spot too with his height and strength. Can see him doing alright at the Kangas and getting a fair run, would suggest he would play midfield but like I said he can play most positions well.

it also proves another thing... brad murphy is a blonk... you are a disgrace, could you talk yourself up anymore no wonder a vfl alignment wouldn't sit well with you because your a flog and no one would put up with your kak. I cant see how a vfl club having an agreement on how many afl players came back to play each week would matter, if you deserved a game and were doing everything required the coach would play you anyway.

pull your head in and start having a crack you w***er!!!!!

Thats huge muscles...

Just my opinion but the side we had a few years ago would beat Hoppers team now comfortably. There has been a fair turnover of players of late but will no doubt finish top 3 this year imo.

Yer i heard bones mcghie is having a meeting with the league tomorrow night and his going to tell them either put us back in to divy 2 or were going to fold.

I heard Yarraville and West Footscray both have crisis meetings tonight. Both are suffering with no one on the training track. Be interesting to see what unfolds in the next few days.

West spent a lot of money last year and I hear that there is not much left in the kitty.

I heard Yarraville and West Footscray both have crisis meetings tonight. Both are suffering with no one on the training track. Be interesting to see what unfolds in the next few days.

West spent a lot of money last year and I hear that there is not much left in the kitty.

Surely they should have known the WRFL rules on Div 2 / Div 1 wins? If they couldn't afford the move, then why the big push to get back up?

Hello, I am new to this forum and have found all the previous posts interesting having followed the WRFL for some time. Good luck to all for the new season.

If that is true about a Friday night game, its about time.

The Crowds are usually fantastic on a Friday night.

I think that the U/18's should be changed from a Saturday Morning to Friday nights.

It would generate a lot more revenue for clubs, and you would get heaps there every week.

Im sure the boys would get a thrill about playing at good grounds under lights.

Whether it be Kings, Soldiers, Hogans. I could Imagine there would be a few grounds that arnt up to scratch in terms of playing night footy

Inaccurate there red devil..... Money is there, they are just not going to throw it out to blokes to get a team on the park. Struggling to sign quality players and get guys on the track. I am unaware of any meeting being held last night.

I can't speak on Yarraville behalf BUT for West it's a simple problem, there is money there and money that West are willing to spend but are struggling to get players on the training track. I have heard a hand full of players that have had enough guts to say why they are leaving and why (including twins that annoy everyone anyway lol) and credit to those players who have done the right thing but to the players who played in the premiership and have now left for $$$ or just jumped ship to go rip another club GOODBYE AND SO LONG, I just hope that sunny heights, Albanvale, Nth foot's and any other Divvy 1 hopefuls, stay away from trying to signing them b/c they are just going to leave your club in a big hole for when you go up. Oh, and in saying that, 90% of them who has left, ALL SAID they were going to stay for the long run ahead in Divvy 1.

I guess the moral of the story, if you go sign wanna be stars, that surprisingly only play in 2nd divvy or lower comp's so they make themselves look better than they actually are, your not going to make in Divvy 1 b/c they are going to run to the hills instead of having a crack and seeing how good they really are. Just shows the character of those type of people :thumbsdown:

Oh, for the crisis meeting i did hear West were going to speak to the league but the reasons for, i am unaware off

Thats a good idea by both St Albans and Albion. I think we have a game against Spotty on the friday of Anzac Day so that should pull a big crowd. Used to be Spotty v Parkside on that day. Really think the WRFL should continue to think out of the box in regards to when matches are played. It can only be a good thing to get more people to our games. Not only will other WRFL people come watch but I reckon there would be a fair few others who would come just to watch some senior footy on a Friday night/Sunday afternoon. Juniors can be worked around Im sure.

Inaccurate there red devil..... Money is there, they are just not going to throw it out to blokes to get a team on the park. Struggling to sign quality players and get guys on the track. I am unaware of any meeting being held last night.

Fair enough I stand corrected on the $$$ issue.

Nothwithstanding, I just can't believe how a team can win a flag one year and then not get anyone on the track. That would not happen at North Footscray. Even if we went up and struggled to recruit and then got pumped by 25 goals on a regular basis, we would always field 2 teams.

I really hope they can turn it around, but you would think questions about the club need to be asked.

Last year they were flying down there on and off the park. Can someone tell us where all the players have gone? Hustle and Ball seems to have a fair idea.

[/b]

We were close to signing a team mate of his from last year,chris jones he won donvales bnf and he thought barry was ok but well past his best,i have never seen him play but i'm sure he will make an impact.

No doubt the game will set the scene early

Chris Jones is a fantastic footballer, one who could play ruck, yet also be your best onballer. He would have been a good get.

As for Hoppers Crossing, there could be some very interesting news over the next week. I'm sure someone with a close connection to the club, may know more.

I have been told by an albion player who is also on the board that the friday night match was rumours. And this is not the case. Was talked about but both clubs agreed to not take place. I agree an under 18 on friday. But senior on friday is a big call espically when every bloke would work?. Also. Spoken with a mate at yarra eagles and he said that its a bit of chaos atm but they should get two teams going soon number low atm few blokes to sign this week though