Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

went up to darly to watch spotswood on thurs night so i could see how a few of the old edfl players were goin (mangan, beazer, ben kelly etc) and it is now obvious why they left and went to a lesser league... they may have won by 5 goals but i tell you it was the worst game of footy i have ever seen even if it was a practice match... there is no possible way spotty would play finals in the edfl let alone they'd struggle to stay in A-grade!!! terrible footy...

haha good one, we are terrible, thanks for letting us know....maybe we should all give it away and come watch the edfl games on saturdays and admire how good that comp is and wish we were good enough to play there.........

i agree the WRFL div 1 has really gone downhill in recent years, spotty would get hammered by a top EDFL B grade team, they wouldnt come anywhere near an A grade team....the footy in the EDFL is so much quicker and cleaner, you would struggle to find a player who hasnt got a fair share of ability

then boot off to their forum and tell them how good they are.

to be honest champ whether its true or not and im thinking its totally wrong seen some edfl games and werent impressed either so give the subject a miss because nobody cares all wrfl sides care about the sides they play against and thats what counts

YOU FOOL!

Looks as though spotty may have started to loose a few from last year's premiership team, the big whispers are that p.wilson[back injury].beasley[relocation QLD], montebello [retired], hayse[not sure??] and with question marks over jensen and szalay.....still think spotty will be a tough team to beat but maybe hoppers with their pick ups will be the team to beat......we will find out soon enough 12 days to go hoppers V spotty rd 1

Rock, I think Colts are no doubt the team to beat. You have more then covered ur losses of last year and u only lost a grand final by a kick. Jacobs should be the best footballer in the league, and u said urself u have the best list and most depth for years. Hoppers will improve, but they have also lost Frost and Fletcher, prob there best 2 footballers last year. Spotty might drop off, but i reckon they will be thereabouts again. Just a query as to whether they still have the hunger that they did last year.

I was just saying from my point of view....with our pick ups and list i agree we will be very hard to beat, also agrre with jacobs being the best in the comp....it's amazing how good he looked and moved on the track, afl is certainly a fair way ahead of wrfl and jacobs would have/has been a good afl player.
Hoppers pick up.murphy,moody,thomas and co[can't think of the other pick up that come with murphy] will add alot to hoppers,they have lost some quality but i think they had no ruckmen towards the end of last year and venner and becker will also improve them.

ATTN BIKKAS: that was one of the worst posts i have ever read on a Big Footy forum.

your saying a B grade EDFL side would easily beat a spotty or colts or hoppers? let me ask mate how many games of WRFL have you seen?? because i have seen plenty of both and there is no way a tullamarine or airport west, who r the best in div 2 would beat a top WRFL team. hoppers or spotty or colts would probably push for a top 4 spot in EDFL div 1 and thats a fact. Greenvale and Strathmore would probably touch up spotty hoppers and colts but teams like maribynong park, doutta stars and keilor would all be close game.

Bikkas before u come on making such ridiculous comments maybe you should go and watch a game such as Spotty v Hoppers in round 1.

ATTN BIKKAS: that was one of the worst posts i have ever read on a Big Footy forum.

your saying a B grade EDFL side would easily beat a spotty or colts or hoppers? let me ask mate how many games of WRFL have you seen?? because i have seen plenty of both and there is no way a tullamarine or airport west, who r the best in div 2 would beat a top WRFL team. hoppers or spotty or colts would probably push for a top 4 spot in EDFL div 1 and thats a fact. Greenvale and Strathmore would probably touch up spotty hoppers and colts but teams like maribynong park, doutta stars and keilor would all be close game.

Bikkas before u come on making such ridiculous comments maybe you should go and watch a game such as Spotty v Hoppers in round 1.

Probably watched no WRFL games. A tosser indeed. I seem to recall a year where the WRFL actually challenged the EDFL to a match and they pulled out. Scared perhaps??
On another topic, good luck to ALL sides this year and I hope the year goes well for everyone who plays, coaches and officiates in the WRFL. Hopefully I will be able to come down and watch a game or two during the year.
All the best.

At Grandparents on Thursday in Hoppers and was surprised to see a game of football at hogans rd. popped in to watch i think it may have been the 3rd qtr, hoppers where playing the bees 2s and when i got there they where up by about 9 goals, stayed until the end of the game in which hoppers won by 7 goals after being up by about 11 with 10mins to go lucky for the bees they brang of a lot of players in the last and they bagged the last 4 of the game. the standard of football was very slik, hoppers seem to tackle really well and played for eachother, the bees played as individuals. the talent between the 2 sides was no different as there where some very good footballers out there for the bees but the difference was the pressure the hoppers players put on them. No idea of most of the hoppers players names but it was Thomas who was the standout, a couple of others played well, some guy in the centre they where calling braydo one of there new players and a small murphy (no sign of b.murphy, either didnt play or didnt touch the ball, he is a star though so i would assume he didnt play).

creative mind11 stop flogging urself mate...for starters airport west are no good mate they were only good when mark mercuri and michael martin were getting around.....pasoce vale, westmeadows, glenroy, taylors lakes would put pretty boys spotswood/hopper crossing to shame prolly 5-6 goals would be the margin....so when players of the ilk of szalay, mutton leave the WRFL and play divvy 2, post a decent reply ya fluffer

whatever goose... all those sides would smack em and your forgetting abers and oak park and probably even jacana!!!

creative mind11 stop flogging urself mate...for starters airport west are no good mate they were only good when mark mercuri and michael martin were getting around.....pasoce vale, westmeadows, glenroy, taylors lakes would put pretty boys spotswood/hopper crossing to shame prolly 5-6 goals would be the margin....so when players of the ilk of szalay, mutton leave the WRFL and play divvy 2, post a decent reply ya fluffer

Played 1 game of EDFL B grade 2 seasons back against one of the supposed good teams in Glenroy and can say that the standard was utterly garbage, Hoppers/Spotty/Colts would all push for 3rd spot in A grade EDFL and would royally root all of the B grade teams in the arse.

not this subject again it's been done to death, for people to say B grade edfl is better than A grade wrfl is just stirring crap or is just clueless

as for comparing a grade in both comps, who cares we dont play them so it is all irrelevant

on a different note does anyone have practice matches this week

oh no look...we have two clowns on here now. BIKKAS and MOVE ON.

fair dinkum you flogs, if Tullamrine are the best in Div 2 the top 3 in wrfl would flog them. they are a soft bunch of little kids. put them against the men of the div 1 WRFL best sides they would get towelled up. dunno if u remember but just 6 months ago an older, stronger, bigger side in maribynong park gave tullamarine a flogging in the Grand Final. they were to soft and small. now colts or spotty or hoppers are no different to maribynong park(except for the amount of money they spend) all very big sides and tough(more so colts and spotty). so how you think it would be any different 6 months on is confusing me.

go back to your edfl forum and hopefully one day u clowns wont still be playing in a divsion 2 side ;).

happy days

oh no look...we have two clowns on here now. BIKKAS and MOVE ON.

fair dinkum you flogs, if Tullamrine are the best in Div 2 the top 3 in wrfl would flog them. they are a soft bunch of little kids. put them against the men of the div 1 WRFL best sides they would get towelled up. dunno if u remember but just 6 months ago an older, stronger, bigger side in maribynong park gave tullamarine a flogging in the Grand Final. they were to soft and small. now colts or spotty or hoppers are no different to maribynong park(except for the amount of money they spend) all very big sides and tough(more so colts and spotty). so how you think it would be any different 6 months on is confusing me.

go back to your edfl forum and hopefully one day u clowns wont still be playing in a divsion 2 side ;).

happy days

Agreed Creative, there are a few peanuts running around here.

yes agreed with your match report also chimp, i saw the whole werribee vs hoppers game. the standard was very high and hopers won by about 6-8goals. with all due respect to the way hoppers played i wouldnt think that werribee reserves will be much good this year.

will talk about a few new guys from hoppers and how they went.

Doug Thomas was the standout player had about 25 touches kicked a goal and his hardness was very impressive. great in and under player

Barry-not to sure of this guys real name but he played mainly down half back or chb and didnt do to much, but did enough.

Downey- looked very impressive in the first half, tackling and hardness also a feature like thomas. didnt do much in 2nd half

Moody- looks like he will blow a few games apart this year. played forward and back didnt do alot but this guy is huge. built like a brick heaps of tattoes. didnt do much except put a few blokes on their backsides.

other players to play well were the old bloke who played forward, Leach, another midfielder dont know his name.

not to sure on many others names, but was with a mate who was speaking to the president of the club before the game who was saying they were missing their captain and vice captain and recruit Murphy and one other. president seemed quietly confident before the game, and after seeing the way they played and the fact they had 4 of their stars out i can see why!

also was good to see a good crowd there, spoke to one of the weribee supporters who was saying the seniors are really confident of making the finals. good luck to them and to hoppers for the upcoming opening round matches. i hear hoppers is playing this saturday at home also and will be at full strentgh against a low grade side from the Diamond Valley league.

yes agreed with your match report also chimp, i saw the whole werribee vs hoppers game. the standard was very high and hopers won by about 6-8goals. with all due respect to the way hoppers played i wouldnt think that werribee reserves will be much good this year.

will talk about a few new guys from hoppers and how they went.

Doug Thomas was the standout player had about 25 touches kicked a goal and his hardness was very impressive. great in and under player

Barry-not to sure of this guys real name but he played mainly down half back or chb and didnt do to much, but did enough.

Downey- looked very impressive in the first half, tackling and hardness also a feature like thomas. didnt do much in 2nd half

Moody- looks like he will blow a few games apart this year. played forward and back didnt do alot but this guy is huge. built like a brick heaps of tattoes. didnt do much except put a few blokes on their backsides.

other players to play well were the old bloke who played forward, Leach, another midfielder dont know his name.

not to sure on many others names, but was with a mate who was speaking to the president of the club before the game who was saying they were missing their captain and vice captain and recruit Murphy and one other. president seemed quietly confident before the game, and after seeing the way they played and the fact they had 4 of their stars out i can see why!

also was good to see a good crowd there, spoke to one of the weribee supporters who was saying the seniors are really confident of making the finals. good luck to them and to hoppers for the upcoming opening round matches. i hear hoppers is playing this saturday at home also and will be at full strentgh against a low grade side from the Diamond Valley league.

This should help the hoppers image...the tatta do make you tougher...lol
Looks like hoppers will be a very formidable outfit this year.
Can moody ruck??? or who is doing the ruck work down there??? is venner or bekker still there?

We have a game against knox this week, they are first div eastern, so should be a solid hit out.
If we can get through this week without injury will be close to full strength and looking forward to taking on sunshine at home in 11 days.

I have come to the conclusion that the top teams over the past few years have good affiliations with VFL teams for eg Spotswood Hoppers Port and Sunshine. obviously this is an advantage fitness wise if the players end up just training with the VFL or play a handfull of games at the other. are these connections through players only or are there commitee members with higher agendas that have good relationships that allow this take place?

Unfortunately the colts have no real relationship with port melbourne at the moment, although a few years ago we used their players who didn't get a game but that fell through when a player could not get a game in our seniors.
The only relationship now is that our former junior players are able to play for us when not playing for port melb.
It can be a good thing to link with a vfl club up but it also can have
negative affects, especially if players dropping back are not from your club originaly.

SILK: boofa is going very well, he is the fittest he has ever been, got of the smokes and is feeling better for it, was our best against corowa, he is not playing this week but will be ready rd1

whatever goose... all those sides would smack em and your forgetting abers and oak park and probably even jacana!!!

Stop stirring the pot Timmy. Dont stress, I wont tell everybody your surname. Get back on your other thread snag watcher. lol

SILK: boofa is going very well, he is the fittest he has ever been, got of the smokes and is feeling better for it, was our best against corowa, he is not playing this week but will be ready rd1

glad to hear it mate. A big step if he's off the death sticks........a bigger tank on him from a healthier preseason will see him dominating.

no idea who the rucks for hoppers were. werent very impressive though and this will be a downfall i think just by looking at it. and no idea who bekker is. the ruckman from werribee was a listed hoppers player though trying his luck in the VFL.

ROUND ONE TIPS
Altona def W.Foots - 60 points
Glen Orden def Yarrville- 78 points
Colts Def Sunshine - 46 Points
Hoppers Def Spotswood- 22 Points
Albion Def StAlbans- 27 Points