Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)

where will Fenton fit into the mix when he comes in the side.
you wouldnt put him deep in the forward line because you could be messing with a good thing down there in Butina.
i just dont see where fenton would be able to play apart from a lead up half forward but even that would be messing with the mix they have at this stage.

if fenton came in he can only play deep in the forward line. if that was the case there forward structure would look have
fenton buttina stevens/caruso
vinpani thomas barker ????

So whats the go fellas did the Albion boys get even with the Sunshine boys on Saturday? Gee from what i heard last week it sounds like the Sunshine boys were gonna get smashed up bad after the game or something!!! Would be pretty girlish if they didnt follow through with the threats hey...

Nothing girlish about it. We smashed them by almost 100 points.

The 2 main boys involved from Sunshine didn't come and the Albion boy was in hospital. Anyway get over it.

Nothing girlish about it. We smashed them by almost 100 points.

The 2 main boys involved from Sunshine didn't come and the Albion boy was in hospital. Anyway get over it.

thought there were 20 of them, if there was 2 main offenders are the other 18 off the hook now?

seriously this topic has run it's race albion got the points on saturday lets move on

Grounds updates..... Not that the league really cares until someone gets injured.
Spotty not looking to bad, but patchy in places.
Glenorden 3 patches of grass the size of a small putting green each of them.
Hoppers, there are softer car parks going around, not a lot of grass and the centre is turning to mud
Wests, beach!
Albion, has some green tinges on it, centre corridor bair and pitch gone to sh!t.
Port will brown off but good coverage.
Yarra, in great nick.
Altona StAlbans and sunshine not sure! surely with the professionalism the league is searching for, they could sit down with the clubs and the councils and set a minimum standard for a ground to be played on.

I watched the Albion game on Saturday and the 90 points they won by did not do it justice. They wasted heaps of early chances and could have won the game by 120 +.
Sunshine are kidding themselves if they think they are a top 3 side. They had about 6 blokes pushing 30 who are all to slow and are just not big or hard enough to win finals games! Last years finals proved that, and they are a much poorer side than last year.
Albion has got the right mix. They have pace, strength, and with Zavalas and the recurits he bought to the club, now have toughness. 2 unsung heroes are definitley the Davis brother.

Well Rock everyone thought it would be the colts spotty show but seems as if Albion have come to play this year. But spotty and colts @ colts should be a ripper GF replay. should be a shootout between you and Keenan with crackers hot on pace to kick a Ton!

Should be a great game this week.
No doubt crackers will kick the ton easily the best forward in the comp but he will have his work cut out this week bonnett has come back fitter faster and stronger, he has been on fire of late and look forward to these two guns doing battle.
We have some players missing but that's no excuse we have more depth than ever and many good players to step up if required
WINTER AND WITTMAR have not played a game yet and both at least 4 wks away, debruyn,millen, partridge,mullet won't play and critch and stevens 50/50, as i said will still put a very good team on the park.

I think albion have almost cemented a top 3 birth with a great start to the season, with only spotty to play before the half way mark i think they will finish top 3 no problems.....savalas has been awesome.

Should be a great game this week.
No doubt crackers will kick the ton easily the best forward in the comp but he will have his work cut out this week bonnett has come back fitter faster and stronger, he has been on fire of late and look forward to these two guns doing battle.
We have some players missing but that's no excuse we have more depth than ever and many good players to step up if required
WINTER AND WITTMAR have not played a game yet and both at least 4 wks away, debruyn,millen, partridge,mullet won't play and critch and stevens 50/50, as i said will still put a very good team on the park.

I think albion have almost cemented a top 3 birth with a great start to the season, with only spotty to play before the half way mark i think they will finish top 3 no problems.....savalas has been awesome.

i dont think crackers is the best foward in the comp he has the worst kick in the comp could end up costing spotty some close games this year he kicks the ball like charlie manson the x collingwood *******

He would still have got 10 on you robbie, he is definately the best, kicking style not the greatest but it has definately improved.Just as buttina has improved but let's see if he can keep it up for the second part of the year.

Has Albion's improvement come from your expetise on the bench?????

Sunshine Heights Football Club are holding a joint preimership reunion for our 1979, 1988 and 1998 teams. I am having trouble contacting a few players and was hoping that somebody may be able to assist. If you have any information on these guys please pm me. Thanks

Tony Segon - Captain of the 1998 side. I beleive he may live in the Werribbee/Hoppers area and has a son named Luke that is about 16.
Lindsay Parsons - Played in the 1998 side and also played footy at Kealba and Braybrook in the 90's
Michael Mallia - Played in the 88 side and I beleive also played some footy at Wembley Park/Brooklyn (may have coached) and also may have player at Glenorden.

if fenton came in he can only play deep in the forward line. if that was the case there forward structure would look have
fenton buttina stevens/caruso
vinpani thomas barker ????
To me that look's like a pretty strong forward line! when Fenton come's in him and Butina will work well together i think when both are firing they will be hard to shut down.....

He would still have got 10 on you robbie, he is definately the best, kicking style not the greatest but it has definately improved.Just as buttina has improved but let's see if he can keep it up for the second part of the year.

dubbbaaaa

clarky i think u might need some of that expetise on ur bench give me a buzz if u need some advise

Learn to spell and then you can have the job.......but good to see you on bigfooty.
Just let the albion people know that it's along season and premierships are not won til september..........

From what i believe Robbie is the stats man.

13 cabs where are you havent heard from you since Friday nite. Jump on and tell us where the kangas went wrong.

Mate, Albion are a very very very good side. I wasn't so sure until we played them but they are strong all over the ground and very well drilled. Got quality midfield, with Turner one of if not the best in the league. There forward line is awesome, how good is Butina! You cant stop him, hes too both quick and strong so u really need a perfect match up for him. The backline is also strong with Middleton and Foreman playing well, and also others dropping back in to the hole well... Zavalas also gave them a lot of drive off half back and in the middle. Honestly think they could be the real deal, and we might have got ahead of ourselves after the Spotty game. Albion are easily the best side we have played this far, and they still have some quality to come back in.

Saw my first WRFL game on the weekend, I admire the passion you guys on here have for the competition and footy played in it, but surely it has to be of concern how lop sided the competition is, and how uncompetitive a number of teams are.

The winning margins on the weekend just gone were 92, 58, 136, 109 and 153. Maybe it was just a bad weekend.

So far from 25 matches in Div 1 this year, 11 of them have been decided by 100 point margins or more. 20 of 25 have been decided by 40 points or more.

If the WRFL wants to be taken seriously then something has to be done to improve the gulf between the excellent, the good and the downright disgraceful who make up the 10 team competition.

The only way West Footscray and Yarraville are going to shape the finals is how much percentage they hand the opposition. Final spots in the top five will be determined by who smashed the whipping boys by the greatest margins.

How do they fix it? Reduce the competition to eight teams? Try and encourage a few new clubs to join the competition? Bring in competitive mechanisms such as a player points system?

The drunks in front of the social club probably enjoy seeing their sides demolish the opposition. I prefer a contest. And to get some respect among the community when on one side of the area there is the progressive EDFL and the other side the Geelong FL, the WRFL need to get their thinking caps on quickly.

The routine went a little astray at times Rock. Bit of a mix b/w lynch and lloyd. Glove toss, ground mark then the plumb check followed by the grass toss and finally the sock pull. Last quarter was your best with the glove given the flick and a move towards the double plumb check and the sock pull. Worked well then! Ha ha

Should be a good game this week b/w colts and spotty. Good to see young Bennie Pope getting a run at Spotty. Great kid!

secure38, how is your man M Spence going this year. Could match up on B pope round 9

Saw my first WRFL game on the weekend, I admire the passion you guys on here have for the competition and footy played in it, but surely it has to be of concern how lop sided the competition is, and how uncompetitive a number of teams are.

The winning margins on the weekend just gone were 92, 58, 136, 109 and 153. Maybe it was just a bad weekend.

So far from 25 matches in Div 1 this year, 11 of them have been decided by 100 point margins or more. 20 of 25 have been decided by 40 points or more.

How do they fix it? Reduce the competition to eight teams? Try and encourage a few new clubs to join the competition? Bring in competitive mechanisms such as a player points system?

While you highlight the obvious, every league has teams that struggle each year for various reasons. While both West Footscray and Yarraville/Seddon are struggling in the margin departments, both clubs were rumoured to be in trouble at the start of the year due to player shortages. I believe both teams to be commended on putting two teams out on the park each week.

One way to improve the standard of Division 1, is to improve the standard of Division 2, because it would seem the gap between the team that wins the flag and get promoted is huge.

An eight team league then brings in uneven draws. The points system has been raised, but I think poaching rules and sanctions would have a significant affect.

It is in the leagues best interest to have teams attempt to recruit from outside the league. The other thing that would benefit is to make each team have 3 teams, U18.5's Reserves and Seniors. That way there are 3 games each day, it allows team to promote kids and reduces the needs for clubs to spend up big bringing in players every couple of years.

It would also mean more supporters at games and better atmosphere if there are 3 games involving the two clubs all at the same ground.

secure38, how is your man M Spence going this year. Could match up on B pope round 9

Spence is flying just ask him. Calls himself the back pocket plumber! Funniest bloke going around and Popey and him would be a good match up. The pup would spend half the game laughing I would suggest. Look out for Spence with a strong second half of the year and rolling nicely into finals??

Tick Tock Tick Tock.........whilst the Albion faithfull sing their on field praises, how long will it be before there is an off field implosion??

It is quite funny seeing all the old "die hard" parkside crew cheering on a former rival club. The great Kotoski and Spiritual leader "Cuz" looked a little out of place at Parsons reserve on Saturday arvo. How long will it be before the social rooms are rocking for all the wrong reasons??

I'm sure it will happen and the outcome will only be bettered by that of the day the Commo's went through there like a steam train.

Spence is flying just ask him. Calls himself the back pocket plumber! Funniest bloke going around and Popey and him would be a good match up. The pup would spend half the game laughing I would suggest. Look out for Spence with a strong second half of the year and rolling nicely into finals??

Can guarantee you that spence has a better chance of playing seniors at albion this year than you(secure38) will ever have of coaching a senior side