Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)

THE PROBLEM WITH THE WRFL!
It all started way back when the FDL absorbed the failed WSFL and created 2nd and 3rd divisions. There are simply too many clubs all too proud to merge or fold. Big money clubs, Spotty Colts, hoppers st albans have a head start on the next rung albion, SYCW are next then the rest battle for sponsors and income. The WRFL need to trim the league again, it cant survive as it is. Port colts shouldnt even be in the league, no team should cross the westgate for a kick. The u/18 divisions are lopsided, junior admin is disgraceful. The wrfl made an error moving to yarraville, skinners reserve was perfect for finals, with ample parking and central in location, now we travel to werribee for finals and apparently the land of goats this year. most 2nd div clubs need to merge, nth sunshine with sycw, sunny heights and albion, west and nth footscray, parkside and braybrook, altona an laverton with the 1st div teams more or less absorbing players, no team being promoted from 2nd division will succeed these days, the top 4 teams are to $$$$ to fall again (parkside destroyed themselves). as for this years finals, spotty look too strong, 2nd div is open, but why win it? look at nth sunshine now, 3 years ago they were on fire, now, just a disgrace. But why should the WRFL management care, they get paid, they'll keep everything as it is, if the league gets in troube they just move onto other jobs.

You did make some sense, but i don't think just because you have to cross the westgate we should be out of the wrfl.
As for spotty being to strong, well they may win the premiership but they have not won against the colts this year, with still seven weeks before the gf, injuries and a little bit of luck always play apart.

PICMAN i'm always here for you.
DOUG MORRIS JNR IS THE FUTURE.

You did make some sense, but i don't think just because you have to cross the westgate we should be out of the wrfl.
As for spotty being to strong, well they may win the premiership but they have not won against the colts this year, with still seven weeks before the gf, injuries and a little bit of luck always play apart.

PICMAN i'm always here for you.
DOUG MORRIS JNR IS THE FUTURE.
i will remember that, goes alright d m jnr ,my opinon (which counts for nothing)final at stalbans is a joke

colts will remain in wrfl needed to keep comp strong,i look forward to clashes with them as you can gain an idea of where your own club is at.
hcfc v colts always interesting games

Surely you have seen a bit of the highlighted player, as every game you post about involves hoppers, so it's obvious that's who you follow.
As for the ladder i don't think spotty will drop another game, st albans at home they will win easily and i think after the touch up they give albion earlier in the year, a reversal looks highly unlikely.
Colts v albion at st.albans underlights for the first game of finals
Hoppers v st.albans, on the sunday and with the saints beating hoppers both times this year that will be a game they will be confident of winning.
Looking fwd to playing hoppers this week, hopefully making amends for our embarrasing effort when we played them in rd 7.

hmmm i just looked at my last post of which i reported on a match, and it certainly wasnt a hoppers game! i went out to albions ground and saw steve savalas get rubbed out after doing a stupid act. so your incorrect there. as for seeing hoppers ive been to 4 of there games this season and never noticed litchfield, whether its because he hasnt been playing or just not that impressive i dont know.
as for spotty vs albion, yes of course it wouled have to be a big turnaround, but albion are such a different team on their home ground, its small which wont suit spotty all that much, and i just have a feeling albion will win. logically that doesnt make sense, but i do have a feeling. feel free to spray me in a couple of weeks if spotty flog them.
as for colts vs hoppers there is no way hoppers could beat colts. round 7 was a disgraceful day, hoppers had alot more to lose, it was at hoppers ground and hoppers had a full side in. fast forward 9 weeks, colts are close to full strenght, DJ is absolutely flying, the side is gelling together well and its at their home ground, and very very rarely do colts get done at murphy reserve! and hoppers look depleted, reading an article in the local rag last weel it appears they are minus 7 of their top 21 players. but having said that if hoppers were full strength they still wont beat colts.
colts vs albion at st albans will be a ripper. colts dont have a great record on the ground, whether thats just against st albans or not who knows, but id pick colts to win by 5 goals. colts spotty grand final is almost a certainty.

hmmm i just looked at my last post of which i reported on a match, and it certainly wasnt a hoppers game! i went out to albions ground and saw steve savalas get rubbed out after doing a stupid act. so your incorrect there. as for seeing hoppers ive been to 4 of there games this season and never noticed litchfield, whether its because he hasnt been playing or just not that impressive i dont know.
as for spotty vs albion, yes of course it wouled have to be a big turnaround, but albion are such a different team on their home ground, its small which wont suit spotty all that much, and i just have a feeling albion will win. logically that doesnt make sense, but i do have a feeling. feel free to spray me in a couple of weeks if spotty flog them.
as for colts vs hoppers there is no way hoppers could beat colts. round 7 was a disgraceful day, hoppers had alot more to lose, it was at hoppers ground and hoppers had a full side in. fast forward 9 weeks, colts are close to full strenght, DJ is absolutely flying, the side is gelling together well and its at their home ground, and very very rarely do colts get done at murphy reserve! and hoppers look depleted, reading an article in the local rag last weel it appears they are minus 7 of their top 21 players. but having said that if hoppers were full strength they still wont beat colts.
colts vs albion at st albans will be a ripper. colts dont have a great record on the ground, whether thats just against st albans or not who knows, but id pick colts to win by 5 goals. colts spotty grand final is almost a certainty.

Well majority of the time you talk hoppers, i have not looked back at any of them just going by memory, i don't really care who you follow to be honest.
We have a few injury concerns from the weekend, have lost two backmen and a key fwd, as for hoppers they have a talented list and we will not underestimate them after our pitiful performance last time and will not forgot that some hoppers people labled us soft.....

Very good post!!! I've got no alignment to anyone in the league but I cant believe how shabby the WRFL is compared to other competitions.

I read today on the league website that the Footy Record is back for finals, fair enough the things are a hassle and can be unprofitable. The Eastern FL put together a thing about 100 pages thick every week, filled with sponsors, club news, team lists, results. The EDFL have one as well. In fact, tell me any other decent league anywhere that doesnt produce a weekly publication? At worst the league should put something together each week on the site in electronic form.

I think the league website is done quite well and the leagues radio team is the best in Victoria, but I'm amazed how wrong the results section of the website has been all year. Guys who kick 6 goals are only credited with 3 and players who are clearly best on ground not even getting named in the best six. God help them when two players with the same surname play in the same team. They've done a fine job of mixing up the Fitzpatricks at St Albans, the Murphys at Hoppers and the Jacobs at Port Colts this year. It's a joke. Surely it is somebodys job to make sure that information is correct.

When you've got imbosiles running the league, generally the standard aint going to be great.

Very good post!!! I've got no alignment to anyone in the league but I cant believe how shabby the WRFL is compared to other competitions.

I read today on the league website that the Footy Record is back for finals, fair enough the things are a hassle and can be unprofitable. The Eastern FL put together a thing about 100 pages thick every week, filled with sponsors, club news, team lists, results. The EDFL have one as well. In fact, tell me any other decent league anywhere that doesnt produce a weekly publication? At worst the league should put something together each week on the site in electronic form.

I think the league website is done quite well and the leagues radio team is the best in Victoria, but I'm amazed how wrong the results section of the website has been all year. Guys who kick 6 goals are only credited with 3 and players who are clearly best on ground not even getting named in the best six. God help them when two players with the same surname play in the same team. They've done a fine job of mixing up the Fitzpatricks at St Albans, the Murphys at Hoppers and the Jacobs at Port Colts this year. It's a joke. Surely it is somebodys job to make sure that information is correct.

When you've got imbosiles running the league, generally the standard aint going to be great.

Yeah spot on about the record its a joke and they keep going on about how there the best. When new players come to our club and they ask about the lack of a record its embarrassing to tell them we dont have and instead we have two sheets of paper. The WRFL reckons they have replaced it with an email page that no one seems to receive, they go on about how they lose on it but it couldnt be that much and im sure they could make up for somewhere. We have lost our Footy Show on channel 31 we only have the radio shows left which as you said are a good standard

Well, no record, huge fees, empty links on the web page, inaction on the brawl at Glenorden, another brawl in an under 18's game, simplistic decision to play a night final (Hillier labels it as a bright idea...haha) and consequently more business for the car thieves in St Albans, but we have a fantastic administration. Sweep stuff under the carpet too many times and you'll trip over the mound. They're tripping, maybe in more ways than one.

Agree with all your sentiments re the administration, they are not making forward thinking decisions and only seem to care about the relevance of their bank balance. I didn’t know they had scrapped the weekly rag, that’s something of a tradition in all local footy and something that damages the perception of the league to great effect. It also boosts player moral, how many times have you had a laugh at what a scribe might say about your match or whether you might have landed the name on the review section. I'm very very surprised they canned it. The VAFA manage one every week also, always good material to sit down and have a gawk at after training on a Thursday night when you’re sitting down to a meal with the team. Team application fees should encompass this cost. Anyway, enough about that, I hope it makes it back for the WRFL sake.

Just thought I would add that I went down to Hoppers to watch the game on the weekend and must say I was blown away at how good the commentary and coverage of the game was on I think it was 88.9. Never listened to it before, didn’t know it existed to be honest but the blokes doing the show were fantastic. One of the best things in WRFL.

Anyhow, let’s get back to how much the WRFL is a shambles. They will be without a home soon and might be camped on your front door step.

do you care to explain how we 'destroyed' ourselves?
financially we are in as good a position as we have been in years.
Over the last 2 years we have fielded under 18 sides which the club had not done for about 20-odd years.
Fair enough we did have one bad year, and we aren't traveling the best in division two.
But to say we 'destroyed ourselves' is utter bulls h i t.
in a few short years Parkside will be up there in division one again.
every club has had a bad era in there history, up until last year parkside and spotswood were the only two teams to have not been relegated in the WRFL/FDFL.
in a couple of years time colts, spotty or hoppers could have the same thing happen and end up in the same predicament.

Over the last 2 years we have fielded under 18 sides which the club had not done for about 20-odd years.
Fair enough we did have one bad year, and we aren't traveling the best in division two.
every club has had a bad era in there history, up until last year parkside and spotswood were the only two teams to have not been relegated in the WRFL/FDFL.
in a couple of years time colts, spotty or hoppers could have the same thing happen and end up in the same predicament.

no hope

Colts were in a predictiment just a few years ago, when they were almost relegated. Also i have heard from a friend that they are struggling for juniors, so this could ring true, hopefully for them they continue in first division.
I think it is laughable the league has no footy record, also the internet site could be a little better and maybe some award to follow best players and goal kickers, also the chanel 31 show would have been great if it could have continued but a weekly show on the net would be just as good.
Agree with the previos post also the radio is top notch, with affiliation fees as high as they are i call on the wrfl to listen to the wrfl people and improve these areas and improve the league, it helps attract the better players.
I like the idea of a nite final but at st.albans it is not a wise decision, the surface is way to hard, the away change room are a disgrace and the ground has no wind breaks, so it's always windy, thus affecting the standard of the game.

quiet in here this week
so 3 weeks to go what will this round tell us
port v hoppers match of the round port to use home ground advantage win by 4-6 goals
albion at home to glenorden would think cats by at least 90points or not going to pressure top to sides
stalbans v yarra saints backmen will struggle to stay awake saints by 150points
sunshine v altona good chance for the vikings this week have the sunshine boys given up finals hopes? may drop boys back to the 2s to help prepare them for finals.
and last of all
west v spotty would of been interesting if both Mcghies playing, will be interesting to see how spotty tackle it will they bring back molan and go all out or will the rest a few and give a few of there youngsters a run, im tipping they will stick with there no youth policy and go all out,
spotty by 35goals

quiet in here this week
so 3 weeks to go what will this round tell us
port v hoppers match of the round port to use home ground advantage win by 4-6 goals
albion at home to glenorden would think cats by at least 90points or not going to pressure top to sides
stalbans v yarra saints backmen will struggle to stay awake saints by 150points
sunshine v altona good chance for the vikings this week have the sunshine boys given up finals hopes? may drop boys back to the 2s to help prepare them for finals.
and last of all
west v spotty would of been interesting if both Mcghies playing, will be interesting to see how spotty tackle it will they bring back molan and go all out or will the rest a few and give a few of there youngsters a run, im tipping they will stick with there no youth policy and go all out,
spotty by 35goals

Of course Spotty will have no youth policy! they are playing the bootom team.. all the helium heads will run around high fiving each other when they are 35 goals in front and standing over the young kids with 1/8th of their ability!
Spooty have done that for years! not againt colts etc..

There has been a lot of criticism about the night final being held at St Albans. I was in the League office only today and witnessed first hand the abuse the WRFL office staff are receiving and to tell you the truth, it wasn’t nice.
Yes, there is a ground at Yarraville, but the council will not allow any SENIOR Finals games played there, this is not the Leagues fault.
Chirnside Park not available, Burbank Oval only wants to host Junior Finals. Port Melbourne ground was sought and is not available, even Coburg’s ground was enquired about and this also is not available.
The only option was to look within the WRFL for an appropriate venue and the forethought to hold a NIGHT Final was considered where not many other leagues around Victoria would be able to do so.
Whilst the rooms may not be the best, we have all played there over the years and got by.
The game will be held between, Spotswood, Port Colts or Albion, the League made the correct decision in not allowing St Albans to play a home final in these conditions.
What everyone should be doing is congratulating the WRFL of taking the initiative to hold such a game and showcase the WRFL to other leagues.
Any club playing in a final should be grateful no matter where the game is being held.

In regards to the criticism towards the League, get along to an AGM and see what goes on. The WRFL clubs have one of the cheapest affiliation fees in Victoria to a football association. We don’t have the ability to charge spectators to get into home and away games, if we did then from footy records, TV shows and the like would able to be afforded. If the affiliation fees were to be increased to cover these costs then everyone would be yelling more about the fees going up but this is to try and keep everyone happy with all these other things. They are in a no win situation.
So before anyone else goes potting the League, go back to your own club President and advise him/her of your concerns so that they can be raised with the League clubs and if everyone is in favour to increase the fees to cover a footy record or TV show then great.

Junior Finals commence this Sunday, then only three games to go til Senior Finals, bring it on.

There has been a lot of criticism about the night final being held at St Albans. I was in the League office only today and witnessed first hand the abuse the WRFL office staff are receiving and to tell you the truth, it wasn’t nice.
Yes, there is a ground at Yarraville, but the council will not allow any SENIOR Finals games played there, this is not the Leagues fault.
Chirnside Park not available, Burbank Oval only wants to host Junior Finals. Port Melbourne ground was sought and is not available, even Coburg’s ground was enquired about and this also is not available.
The only option was to look within the WRFL for an appropriate venue and the forethought to hold a NIGHT Final was considered where not many other leagues around Victoria would be able to do so.
Whilst the rooms may not be the best, we have all played there over the years and got by.
The game will be held between, Spotswood, Port Colts or Albion, the League made the correct decision in not allowing St Albans to play a home final in these conditions.
What everyone should be doing is congratulating the WRFL of taking the initiative to hold such a game and showcase the WRFL to other leagues.
Any club playing in a final should be grateful no matter where the game is being held.

In regards to the criticism towards the League, get along to an AGM and see what goes on. The WRFL clubs have one of the cheapest affiliation fees in Victoria to a football association. We don’t have the ability to charge spectators to get into home and away games, if we did then from footy records, TV shows and the like would able to be afforded. If the affiliation fees were to be increased to cover these costs then everyone would be yelling more about the fees going up but this is to try and keep everyone happy with all these other things. They are in a no win situation.
So before anyone else goes potting the League, go back to your own club President and advise him/her of your concerns so that they can be raised with the League clubs and if everyone is in favour to increase the fees to cover a footy record or TV show then great.

Junior Finals commence this Sunday, then only three games to go til Senior Finals, bring it on.

with a decision like that there are always going to be protests, especially with st albans as i doubt many visiting teams have had good experiences out there and i'm not talking about the results on field

when it comes to finals it's a luxury to be playing so i'm positive that all players will play anywhere they have to only 3 weeks left and the 5 looks set hopefully we get some good weather like we did last year, made it a better finals series imo

Good post with some valid points. Not sure why the WRFL office staff would be getting abuse. You would think people have better things to do.

Sounds like you work at the WRFL.

This maybe a very stupid but also sensible question..

Why wont the council allow senior finals at yarraville? whats the big deal and big difference between having junior and senior finals played there

good thoughtfull post however not all correct.

all abuse should be directed at the councils they are the ones who should be providing venues for the local leagues as we are all residents in these councils and we all pay our rates and its just not good enough that we dont have a finals venue suitable considering how large our league is

when st.albans offered kings park for finals they requested (if they made the finals) that there game be played at churnside park to avoid some of the negativity sorrounding this venue,st.albans made the decision not to play in this game.

maybe just the cheapest affiliation fee but our leauge has a managment fee which includes many diferent things and when you compare the end figure i think you will find the edfl fees are quite a bit cheaper.

The wrfl managment fee's which all clubs pay included costs to cover the tv show and records when these items were removed the managment fee's were not reduced. why would the clubs now agree to be charged again for these items when we are already paying for them.

The record was replaced with the newspaper spread which i am not even sure still goes in each week.

where is the money for the tv show? i have been told it has been used to set up the web show.

our presidents are the ones who vote on all these things. whats yours doing at c.o.m meetings?