Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)

there is a fair chance that StAlbans wont be playing in this game, well for the leagues sake they hope St Albans aint because everyone will be whinging about a team playing a home final.
Which ever game StAlbans is playing in (should they make the finals) will be on the Sunday at Werribee, even if it is the qualifying Final (2nd v 3rd) which is normally played on the Saturday.

I have been told the ground is in ok condition but the away change rooms would be a concern so i guess you will just have to finish 2nd.
i think it would be good for the league and a massive crowd would be expected as it isnt miles away from other leagues i can imagine alot of edfl supporters coming to watch especially at night.

played there 2 weeks ago and the ground was very hard, wouldn't have thought a good venue for finals footy, if it where a day game would st albans be considered no chance

we may not even be involved we could still finish 1st or drop down to 4th or 5th so we'll worry about if we happen to be involved, how do other clubs feel about it(besides the saints of course)

we don't get a choice where we play and playing in finals is a privelidge so we'll play anywhere, like i said the best team will win

Night footy is certainly coming to the WRFL in 2008, all confirmed.

U18's are starting at two, the reserves after that and the ones game is kicking off at 7:00pm.

Never been in the home rooms, however the away rooms are shockers.

Ground was in pretty good condition when we played there so i dont think that is any real issue, this was a month or so ago.

Money from the gate would obviously go to the WRFL however i am assuming that St Albans will be raking in the money from the canteen and bar. Should be a big crowd.

People are saying that most Albion players can only play one position and to take out Jason Buttina takes out half our side, to prove a point:
the following players are capable of playing in the following positions:

2.Brent Davis- FP,HFF,R,C
3.Matthew Davis-BP,HBF,W,R
4.Aaron Tymms-BP,R (Fantastic tagger, Spend majority seniors 07 as a tagger.)
5.Brad Hewit-HFF,W,C
6.Mark Caruso-FP,HFF
7.Steve Zavarlos-HBF,C,HFF
8.Justin Dorward-C,R,FP
9.Andrew Knezavic-FP,HFF,R
10.Matthew Bettin-C,BP,FP,HFF,
11.John Haldane-Ruck,CHB,CHF,FB,BP,FP,FF
12.Stuart Vimpany-W,HFF,C,R
13.Chris Hall-BP,R,C
14.Jarred Magnabosco-FP,HFF,W,HBF,BP
16.Michael Turner-R,C,FP
17.Blake Richards-W,HBF,CHF,HFF,RUCK
18.James Stepens-CHF,HFF,W
19.Clinton Foreman-FB,BP,CHB,CHF,FP,RUCK
20.Adam Fenton-CHF,HFF,FP,FF
23.Corey Thomas-CHF,FF,FP,RUCK,W
26.Brendan Dixon-FB,CHB,FP,RUCK
29.Cameron Barker-ANYWHERE
30.Raymond Newman-BP,HBF
31.Troy Kelm-RUCK,FF,FP
33.Jason Buttina-FF,CHF,R
36.Jarrad Middleton-CHB,HBF,CHF
39.Chris Williams-CHF,CHB,HBF

Sorry but most these positional changes don’t really talk of great versatility.

You’d be hard pressed to find someone who couldn’t alternate between half forward and the pocket. Half forwards and wings can easily be alternated. Hf now requires more work than ever because they can become extra midfielders. So that takes out someone who plays in the centre being very versatile just because they can go to Hff and wing as well. Wings work to the back half so moving to the wing from HFF may require more running but not a heap more where true versatility needed. To think that a rover or centre is truly versatile just because they can play in the pocket or at half forward is a bit rich. Where else would you rest a rover if you don’t rotate him off the bench?

BP HBF. Both expected to not only stop their man but provide attacking moves from the back half. Overlapping work is required. No huge difference. Doesn’t show a great deal of versatility. You’d hope you could swap players to positions within the back half to accommodate for the other team’s set up. If you can’t, you’re gone.

FP Ruck CHF FF. Pretty standard if your ruckman isn’t also rotated off the bench. Nothing special here.

As for the tagger, may be really good at it but does it take any real change in mind set to then go to the back pocket? Not many blokes are just taggers in our comp so you'd hope he get get his own ball when he asked to.

Magna isn’t a bad player but don’t think he’d be a good back pocket or even half back flanker against the better sides. When you have opposition teams who have guns on every line, you wouldn’t go with Magna.
Stevens isn’t a CHF. Good player but will be found wanting against better backlines. Not because he can’t play at all but will be in strife against real backmen due to a lack of experience. I'd question whether these boys would be able to play those positions when the going gets tough against the good sides. If they do it in the finals, good on them.

This is not a criticism of the players you mentioned or Albion as a side. Just think it's an overstatement of versatility. The only ones I agree with are those that speak of movement within key positions.

Night footy is certainly coming to the WRFL in 2008, all confirmed.

U18's are starting at two, the reserves after that and the ones game is kicking off at 7:00pm.

Never been in the home rooms, however the away rooms are shockers.

Ground was in pretty good condition when we played there so i dont think that is any real issue, this was a month or so ago.

Money from the gate would obviously go to the WRFL however i am assuming that St Albans will be raking in the money from the canteen and bar. Should be a big crowd.

They'll need to provide adequate valuables security (maybe lock the doors of the changerooms haha) especially at night.

Its obviously time for a clean out at the offices of the WRFL. What are they thinking playing a qualifying final at St Albans on a saturday night? I would say they believe they'll draw a bigger crowd & make more money over bar. I think this is one of the worst decisions they have made. After a contraversial year so for with incidents being ignored or lightly dealt with, i think they are setting themselves up for a dissaster. Playing a night game on a saturday people are already going to be pissed before the senior game even starts. Will there be security or police to monitor crowd behaviour, i doubt it. The teams that will be playing havn't this year or probably never played a night game, so why start in a final. Families who go & watch there local team play on a sat arvo prob wont want to take there kids out there on a sat night, which is a real shame. Isn't local footy about the community, parents taking there kids to a local game. There are way more negatives than positives to this idea. Well done WRFL you pack of muppets

The WRFL needs to take a serious look at itself, the margins (as mentioned by many in previous posts are embarrassing) these guys are employed on a full time basis which I'm sure would be reflected in the fees clubs pay, EDFL are a part time employee (correct me if Im wrong)...what's the difference. And if St Albans happen to host a final then the money has to be split with the opposing teams, they cannot cop the cream...Honestly the margins must be effecting clubs canteen/bar sales, who would go along and watch these matches (except for the top 4) except your die hard supporters?

Hey mate not only do i agree with your name (i love beer). But what you say is spot on, playing any final at St Albans if true is totaly wrong for all the reasons that have been mentioned. What ever games that cant be played at Werribee should be AND WILL BE played at Yarraville.

some interesting posts re: final being played at st.albans.

for what is its worth yarraville football ground is no longer a option for the leauge as the council have rejected every submission to play finals there.

werribee is unavailable on the saturday and there is not a lot of other ground options available.

The playing surface at kingspark is in good condition the jets have used it reg as a training venue and for games for the under age squads the league also played interleauge there this year.

As for the money the league will make the same amount of money as they make at any other venue.

Hey mate not only do i agree with your name (i love beer). But what you say is spot on, playing any final at St Albans if true is totaly wrong for all the reasons that have been mentioned. What ever games that cant be played at Werribee should be AND WILL BE played at Yarraville.

Not sure if i have missed something with the WRFL but what happened to playing games at the WHITTEN OVAL?
The WRFL would have to be STUPID to not be signing long term agreements to PLAY ALL WRFL finals there.

What a joke playing at St Albans! there is less parking there than what was ever at Yarraville..

Sorry but most these positional changes don’t really talk of great versatility.

You’d be hard pressed to find someone who couldn’t alternate between half forward and the pocket. Half forwards and wings can easily be alternated. Hf now requires more work than ever because they can become extra midfielders. So that takes out someone who plays in the centre being very versatile just because they can go to Hff and wing as well. Wings work to the back half so moving to the wing from HFF may require more running but not a heap more where true versatility needed. To think that a rover or centre is truly versatile just because they can play in the pocket or at half forward is a bit rich. Where else would you rest a rover if you don’t rotate him off the bench?

BP HBF. Both expected to not only stop their man but provide attacking moves from the back half. Overlapping work is required. No huge difference. Doesn’t show a great deal of versatility. You’d hope you could swap players to positions within the back half to accommodate for the other team’s set up. If you can’t, you’re gone.

FP Ruck CHF FF. Pretty standard if your ruckman isn’t also rotated off the bench. Nothing special here.

As for the tagger, may be really good at it but does it take any real change in mind set to then go to the back pocket? Not many blokes are just taggers in our comp so you'd hope he get get his own ball when he asked to.

Magna isn’t a bad player but don’t think he’d be a good back pocket or even half back flanker against the better sides. When you have opposition teams who have guns on every line, you wouldn’t go with Magna.
Stevens isn’t a CHF. Good player but will be found wanting against better backlines. Not because he can’t play at all but will be in strife against real backmen due to a lack of experience. I'd question whether these boys would be able to play those positions when the going gets tough against the good sides. If they do it in the finals, good on them.

This is not a criticism of the players you mentioned or Albion as a side. Just think it's an overstatement of versatility. The only ones I agree with are those that speak of movement within key positions.

I have put the positions in order of most preferred first to last. Oviously 26 players can't be picked on a weekly basic, and 2 other boys who i didn't put on the list Jamie Zerafa, good Wingman, but with richards, hewit, m.davis, vimpany in the side i don't think we will find room for him, and young Pat Savage will play his second game tomorrow.

on the two players mentioned.
Magnabosco has been playing Half Back Flank in the reserves the last couple of weeks and is on fire, no room for him in the backline in the seniors though, but he will learn from this and next year he might be a chance down back, on the other hand he has a great leap and mark and is capable of being a target medium built forward.

Stephens has played majority of his career at CHF and most of this year on the forward flank.Last year he worked good across the wing and back flank, Hasn't had the best of starts but has a good presence down forward with a big body and strong hands.
First game back this week from injury in the reserves will be good to see how he goes.
Both young up and coming players for our club.

With the likes of Barker,Haldane,Dixon,Foreman who can play just about any key positions I think we have proved we will be a good chance in 2008

I have put the positions in order of most preferred first to last. Oviously 26 players can't be picked on a weekly basic, and 2 other boys who i didn't put on the list Jamie Zerafa, good Wingman, but with richards, hewit, m.davis, vimpany in the side i don't think we will find room for him, and young Pat Savage will play his second game tomorrow.

so whats the point of trying to get him qualified

so whats the point of trying to get him qualified[/quote]

a good side is run on good depth. If one player goes down, I'm sure he is the next option in. we have now all 30 players considered to play Senior finals football this year fit and ready to play, there are a lot of people to choose from and unluckily 6-7 blokes are missing out each week. I will garantee here now, both our seniors and reserves will beat hoppers tomorrow.

Not sure if i have missed something with the WRFL but what happened to playing games at the WHITTEN OVAL?
The WRFL would have to be STUPID to not be signing long term agreements to PLAY ALL WRFL finals there.

What a joke playing at St Albans! there is less parking there than what was ever at Yarraville..

Whitten Oval is classified a construction site at the moment.

Lots of animosity with the St Albans night game. How long has it been since the colts have won at St Albans?

Whitten Oval is classified a construction site at the moment.

Lots of animosity with the St Albans night game. How long has it been since the colts have won at St Albans?

Last Year Travvy.

Any negativity against playing a final at that venue is based on common sense, not fear of loosing.

As rock and cougar have posted they couldn't care less where they play as long as they play finals, perhaps you and your mates focus on the same otherwise this will be another wasted year from Sunshine.

If the league are looking for a venue out that way, then Robert Bruce is a better option, nuetral venue with better rooms, surface and the ground is completely fenced.

Last Year Travvy.

Any negativity against playing a final at that venue is based on common sense, not fear of loosing.

As rock and cougar have posted they couldn't care less where they play as long as they play finals, perhaps you and your mates focus on the same otherwise this will be another wasted year from Sunshine.

If the league are looking for a venue out that way, then Robert Bruce is a better option, nuetral venue with better rooms, surface and the ground is completely fenced.

ha ha likely response this one.

Just a simple question that was posted Obe, no need to get too hot under the collar about it.

Fair enough if you got up there last year, the way people take up that St Albans are a bit of a bogey side for you i thought it may have been longer than that.

All the best though with the rest of the year and your likely visit to the venue for the night final. GO KANGAS.

ha ha likely response this one.

Just a simple question that was posted Obe, no need to get too hot under the collar about it.

Fair enough if you got up there last year, the way people take up that St Albans are a bit of a bogey side for you i thought it may have been longer than that.

All the best though with the rest of the year and your likely visit to the venue for the night final. GO KANGAS.

Yeh, I may have jumped the gun a little.........only because it may have been the year before, I'm still a little hazy from a dose of Bali belly-lol.

Never the less Rock and Cougar have clearly stated their view on the topic so why re-ask the same question, unless its a under handed swipe at the colts?

Whilst on the topic, its seems illogical to experiment with this venue as a night final when only one game has been played under lights to refer back too. I'm all for thinking outside the square on some matters but when its a do or die final, I would think a more suitable time and venue would suit the occasion.

Yeh, I may have jumped the gun a little.........only because it may have been the year before, I'm still a little hazy from a dose of Bali belly-lol.

Never the less Rock and Cougar have clearly stated their view on the topic so why re-ask the same question, unless its a under handed swipe at the colts?

Whilst on the topic, its seems illogical to experiment with this venue as a night final when only one game has been played under lights to refer back too. I'm all for thinking outside the square on some matters but when its a do or die final, I would think a more suitable time and venue would suit the occasion.

This is probably closer to the point, but thats ok isn't it? Surely you boys have a thick enough skin to take that on board.

I say good on the WRFL for trying something different with the night final.

I am sure the lighting has a lux level that is within the Australian Lighting Standards, otherwise games would not be permitted.

Away change is an issue. Security, i agree could also be an issue but if all goes well on this front, i think it will be a great advertisement for WRFL footy.

Finals footy and match of the round games would have been played at the whitten oval when the construction was complete but aparently the WRFL pulled out of a deal to do it. Great management team :rolleyes: The Whitten oval is the icon and un-official home of Western region football.

there have been 7 games played under lights at this venue this year.

1 a grade, 3 ladies, 2 interleauge and 1 junior game.