• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Region Football League Team (Part 3)

Stated at last Tuesday's Committee of management meeting that the 2 Leagues couldn't pull this concept game together - instead WRFL Round 1 to be Bush Fire Appeal Round with palyers wearing yellow arm bands and fund raising taking place for donation to either Red Cross or AFL so a sthe proceeds go towards a football community in replacing destroyed equipment

in defence of the wrfl head honchos 7 or 8 weeks isnt enough time to organise a game........... the way things are run in the league they would want at least 12 months notice.... the wrfl is losing respect with the way they run the organisation and i can see why sum clubs are entertaining the idea of moving leagues.....

Hope they dont. Im not real keen on chasing any more a#se than I already do. Its been 3 on the bench for all this time, why change it now? Stuff the AFL bcos thats what they do. We are local footballers and it is a slower pace bcos thats where we are at. Although we want the games to be a good spectacle, we dont owe anything to the crowds in regards to making the game quicker for 'the spectacle'. In local footy, these supporters will come irrespective of the pace or standard of the game bcos they support that club.

As for it solving the problem of who to chose for the 21st spot, it wont make a fifference as it will now be the '22nd best person to pick' problem. Where do you draw the line? Why is 22 any better than 21? Why not 23 or 24? Leave it as it is and stuff what rules other comps want to cahnge. If it not broke, dont fix it.

Who have got practice matches this sat? We have Bell Post Hill on Sun in Geelong.

Your stiff Beazer,if they had brought this rule in last year maybe
you would have got a run in GF?:)

Now that we are only 14 days 23 hours and about 30 minutes away from round one, wat are evrybody's predictions. Ladder, comp b&f, leading goal kicker?

Mine are:
Albion
Colts
Sunshine
Hoppers
Spotswood
St Albans
Altona
Glenordan
Heights
West

B&F: Theodore
Goal Kicker: Buttina

Hoppers
Spotswood
Albion
Colts
St Albans

Glenordan
Altona
West
Heights
Sunshine

Almond played well and as i said will be a good addition for us in the ruck this year.

Rusty, the hospital visit was precaution only, nothing too serious and as i said and will play this weekend.

Looking on the northern league site, many posters are picking Northcote Park to finish bottom four. Good to hear though that it will be a tough hit out for us. I reckon that is the best way to go with praccy matches.

And i agree with you on Corowa, being an O&M side that will more than likely be a top five side, it will be a good hit out for us. Up there too on a big country ground will ensure there will be plenty of run in the game.

Hows your pre-season form been fan?

travy if they are gonig to struggle, surely the kangas must be concerned, received a call saying that the parkers smashed you to the tune of 14 goals and if they kicked straight would have been more.
Surely you guys had to have a minimum of twelve out but still not good for the confidence going into round 1. Tock will be giving you guys a hard work out this week.....

We played Barham today and easily won by twelve goals over six quarters, we used 7 u/18's also, a great hitout with our young recruits doing very well , one in particular was very exciting, great in traffic, wonderful skill but most impressive was his decision making.
Also our new chb/chf dominated and will make a huge impression in the wrfl this year.

travy if they are gonig to struggle, surely the kangas must be concerned, received a call saying that the parkers smashed you to the tune of 14 goals and if they kicked straight would have been more.
Surely you guys had to have a minimum of twelve out but still not good for the confidence going into round 1. Tock will be giving you guys a hard work out this week.....

We played Barham today and easily won by twelve goals over six quarters, we used 7 u/18's also, a great hitout with our young recruits doing very well , one in particular was very exciting, great in traffic, wonderful skill but most impressive was his decision making.
Also our new chb/chf dominated and will make a huge impression in the wrfl this year.
Is the new recruit related to me by any chance?????????????
Hey did you see my name on the Barham honour board???
It was that long ago it has probably worn off lol.

Is the new recruit related to me by any chance?????????????
Hey did you see my name on the Barham honour board???
It was that long ago it has probably worn off lol.

Yes he is related to you.
All the boys would have mate i left straight after game, back to caravan park, feeling very sick with gastro, once the kids get it your gone....lol

He is looking fit and strong, hope to see him play a full year and he mite join you on the colts honour board.

They were a pretty solid unit today and played a lot better than us. A very scrappy affair. Was good to blow out a truck load of cob webs. We had a few out but no where near 12. No injuries to come from the day.

Will be interested to see how they go in the NFL this year. Maybe it was just a few muppets posting that they will finish in the bottom couple.

Thinking you may be right with a few muppets Travvy. I know a couple of cougars players and they said they had 5 key players out and after a harder than normal pre-season, were keen to make an impression come finals time. Was also told about the number 30 (i take it thats Foley) who's 3qtr time speech was the worst my listner had heard. Apparantly berating the players followed by "i've got nothing else to say. It's just sh*t." If this is true Travvy, it's not a good sign. On another note, just wondering if any wrfl umpires read these posts and if so would they please coment on any praccy matches they have umpired and what their thoughts are on the teams so far?

Good win for the boys up at Merrigum yesterday, probably won by 4-5 goals but could be more.
Ran the game out with no injuries!! Both teams missing players for the contest.

Travvy, it seems you guys went into the match yesterday under-estimating the Cougars? Can't blame the so called muppets on here, or did you guys have a print out of the BigFooty pages and handed them out before the game on how they could be bottom four in the NFL??:confused:

boofaaa79, you need to pay your mate!! You LOST the bet!

Good win for the boys up at Merrigum yesterday, probably won by 4-5 goals but could be more.
Ran the game out with no injuries!! Both teams missing players for the contest.

Travvy, it seems you guys went into the match yesterday under-estimating the Cougars? Can't blame the so called muppets on here, or did you guys have a print out of the BigFooty pages and handed them out before the game on how they could be bottom four in the NFL??:confused:

boofaaa79, you need to pay your mate!! You LOST the bet!

You sort of lost me with your comment. :confused: The match gave us a good hit out for sure though, plenty of things to work on which is what praccy matches are about.

Who were the boys that you did not have playing? I have a pretty good idea on the chaps who did not play for the swans however just interested to know your outs were for league comparison sake (and also to see how the swans will go in the GV).

Clubby, foles was quite blunt at 3/4 time. I was getting a rub through the 3/4 time break however something along those lines was probably said. It is not the note though he ended with, gave some direction to round off the address and we responded in the last (with the wind though!).

Looking forward to another solid hitout this weekend up bush.

You sort of lost me with your comment. :confused: The match gave us a good hit out for sure though, plenty of things to work on which is what praccy matches are about.

Who were the boys that you did not have playing? I have a pretty good idea on the chaps who did not play for the swans however just interested to know your outs were for league comparison sake (and also to see how the swans will go in the GV).

Clubby, foles was quite blunt at 3/4 time. I was getting a rub through the 3/4 time break however something along those lines was probably said. It is not the note though he ended with, gave some direction to round off the address and we responded in the last (with the wind though!).

Looking forward to another solid hitout this weekend up bush.

So trav how did your new recruits play???
Powell??, Almond?? not sure if you have any other unknown recruits.

So trav how did your new recruits play???
Powell??, Almond?? not sure if you have any other unknown recruits.

Both did not play but will play this weekend i believe.

K Murphy played, showed some good glimpses and will provide some good run and carry for us. Will be better for the run, like us all.

2 weeks to go to the GF rematch, Spotty unfurling their flag in front of the faithfull, assuming the past players will be in their tent again??? Both sides will be missing a few from last years team. The Colts have the wood over Spotty at their home ground, I'm tipping our boys in a thriller.......Go the Colts!!! Bonnett or one of the Jacobs to be BOG! (good breeding in that family).

Hey Micka havent seen you down the club very much. Are you doing anything at the club this year.

Yeah very good breeding in the family. Its quite obvious that one of the Bonnett girls has got to much time on her hands!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well I went to a few games on the weekend!

Watched the Sunshine and Northcote Park game... I wasnt overly impressed with the Cougars, I think the better sides like Colts,Hoppers,Spotty would account for them without to much trouble! so in saying that it pretty much sums up what I think of Sunshine. Going by that performance and how they looked I would think Finals would be pushing it, they will probably fight out that 5th spot with St.Albans.

At 3 qtr time I popped over to Glenorden and must say those blokes show a bit of grit. They arent a flashy team but a bunch of goers, I would think they will improve a bit on last year. It wouldnt suprise me to see them knock of a Sunshine or St.Albans during the year, unlikely but possible!

Obviously a pretty good effort from Albion, from all reports they were pretty switched on and looked sharp. Harro seems to have them up and firing, the fact they went up and played on a bigger ground and beat a good country team indicates they will improve again and be hard to beat. Very positive!

Also heard good things out of Hoppers, beat Bell Post Hill by 21 goals or something... That would make there total winning margin by goals around 41 for there first 2 matches! they played a pretty poor st bernars team last week but a VAFA B grade team is still quite handy. This week beating a team that is probably like a Altona in our league so I dunno how much we can take out of these games! in saying that you can only beat wats in front of you.

Good signs for the good clubs, Colts/Albion and Hoppers... the others may be left behind!

Hey Micka havent seen you down the club very much. Are you doing anything at the club this year.

Yeah very good breeding in the family. Its quite obvious that one of the Bonnett girls has got to much time on her hands!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Not sure mate, pretty busy with the kids baseball but I'll most likely run the past players day again and give a chop out where ever I can, I love to help out at the club, maybe I'll sell the beer from the van...that's a job I've wanted for years, sell one, drink one.

How were the Jacobs boys Sunday night?????

Mine are: end of home & away
Colts
Albion
Spotswood
St Albans
Sunshine

Hoppers
Altona
Glenordan
Heights
West

B&F: D. Jacobs
Goal Kicker: Buttina or Clarkey

Grand Final: Port vrs St Albans

Mine are: end of home & away
Colts
Albion
Spotswood
St Albans
Sunshine

Hoppers
Altona
Glenordan
Heights
West

B&F: D. Jacobs
Goal Kicker: Buttina or Clarkey

Grand Final: Port vrs St Albans

I think you mite be be a little off with the highlighted prediction mate, struggling to walk at this stage so playing is a long shot, although i think you mite be right with the team predictions, a very well balanced team with plenty of speed and youth.

i didnt see the game but have heard spotty had a win on the weekend against bungareee,

lots of good signs for the team i was told,

rock if your excited about your young recruits from what im told some of the spotty youngtsers will be equal to the task