Western Region Football League Team (Part 3)

i think you will find that Altona played the Werribee VFL 2's and got beaten.
I also watched Spotty play Lara and was interesting to see the coach of lara not have a run. Ocky ran around and did as he pleased. Molan kicked 8 or 9.
Big Ray seemed to be running around like a man amongst boys, but couldn't kick straight.
It showed that they have some good depth and a solid midfield.
I reckon they will also be praying for some rain as the ground looked terrible, pitch appeared rock hard as players kept slipping over and at times you couldn't see the players for the dust.

i think u are mistaken, u will find that altona did play werribee ametuers (vafa D2) i know this because we were supposed to play them on saturday in a local night praqccy game but the junoir footy guy double booked us so we stepped aside to get another game and altona played the amos.... they go alright them amo boys

Altona played Werribee Ammos.

They are a pretty handy side actually. Move the ball very well.

Altona were terrible. Don't know the final score. Don't want to either.

Had four missing from all reports, but still..........

Have had 3 hit-outs in the past 3 weeks. Knox, Avondale and Werribee Ammos.

Altona played Werribee Ammos.

They are a pretty handy side actually. Move the ball very well.

Altona were terrible. Don't know the final score. Don't want to either.

Had four missing from all reports, but still..........

Have had 3 hit-outs in the past 3 weeks. Knox, Avondale and Werribee Ammos.
Werribee won the game by 103 points. Coaches report was Altona had 2 missing and Werribee had 5 . Werribee playing in D1 Ammos. 8 Werribee boys playing only their 2nd praccy match for the club. Will be better once they play together for a few rounds. Come on season proper

From what I have heard South Melbourne Districts would defeat Werribee Amos therefore Sunshine Heights might give Altona a shake this year as Heights played very well to defeat SMD. What are peoples thoughts on the new side in divi 1? Is it possible that Heights could have a good crack against a side like Glenorden and possibly beat West and Altona? This would be something to build on into the future I would have thought.

Anything is possible I suppose. Going on your theory though, Altona went down to Knox by 3 goals, who beat Colts by 6. See where I am heading ?

As I said earlier, Altona were atrocious. Practise match or not, it was a very, very bad display. We had 3 missing, and a couple only played a half, but that was no excuse. All credit to Werribee, a very handy unit.

A week is a long time in footy......

With the prcatise matches out of the way, I can't wait for the real, meaningful stuff.

mate heights are going to struggle big time smd had 6 of there best out and if it wasnt for poor skills we wouldve won easily...
heights depend on greto (29) and caruna (7) and mallia(cant recall num)who will have hes work cut out for him against quality backman which he would not have seen in div2 way to much and with no depth in the 2nds will be a long year in div 1
also the ground is terrible rock hard and so uneven

mate heights are going to struggle big time smd had 6 of there best out and if it wasnt for poor skills we wouldve won easily...
heights depend on greto (29) and caruna (7) and mallia(cant recall num)who will have hes work cut out for him against quality backman which he would not have seen in div2 way to much and with no depth in the 2nds will be a long year in div 1

The poor skills from SMD may have been the result of the pressure they were under. Heights easily won the contested footy. SMD were better out wide and were not suited by the small ground.

Would you consider your full back a quality backmen? Mallia kicked 5 on him and he only spent 50% of the game at FF?

It was a good hit out for both sides anyway and everyone at Heights know where we stand in the pecking order of Div 1. Right now before the season starts we are at the bottom. We'll se what happens as the season goes on.

Check back in a couple of weeks. The improvement in Werribee is enormous, and I think they will shock some teams in D1 ammos this year, even SMD who gave them a touch up 2 years ago last time they played.

The poor skills from SMD may have been the result of the pressure they were under. Heights easily won the contested footy. SMD were better out wide and were not suited by the small ground.

Would you consider your full back a quality backmen? Mallia kicked 5 on him and he only spent 50% of the game at FF?

It was a good hit out for both sides anyway and everyone at Heights know where we stand in the pecking order of Div 1. Right now before the season starts we are at the bottom. We'll se what happens as the season goes on.
i dont believe it was because of the pressure they were under more so just very rusty being our first game i can think off at least 10 times we had guys losse with the footy on the wing and couldnt hit targets.....although heights attack on the ball and the man with it was excellent
mallia was lucky to kick 5 3 fell in to his lap and i trule believe he will struggle on the likes of bonnet and cox and co in div 1

Anything is possible I suppose. Going on your theory though, Altona went down to Knox by 3 goals, who beat Colts by 6. See where I am heading ?

As I said earlier, Altona were atrocious. Practise match or not, it was a very, very bad display. We had 3 missing, and a couple only played a half, but that was no excuse. All credit to Werribee, a very handy unit.

A week is a long time in footy......

With the prcatise matches out of the way, I can't wait for the real, meaningful stuff.

Yeh fair call on the knox situation. As you said lets bring on the real stuff.

i dont believe it was because of the pressure they were under more so just very rusty being our first game i can think off at least 10 times we had guys losse with the footy on the wing and couldnt hit targets.....although heights attack on the ball and the man with it was excellent
mallia was lucky to kick 5 3 fell in to his lap and i trule believe he will struggle on the likes of bonnet and cox and co in div 1

Which forwards don't struggle against Bonnet?
Not sure about 3 falling in his lap. You must have been too far away in the opposite goal square.

You blokes were underdone and that showed in the last qtr. I thought that you should have got over the top of us considering you played with 6 on the bench to our 3 (2 after half time) in pretty hot conditions.

I agree that it is going to be a tough year against the top sides don't get me wrong. I just think if we are competitive against the bottom 3 or 4 sides and pinch a win against one or two of those sides then that would be a good year for 1st yr division 1 and something to build on into the future.

Which forwards don't struggle against Bonnet?
Not sure about 3 falling in his lap. You must have been too far away in the opposite goal square.

You blokes were underdone and that showed in the last qtr. I thought that you should have got over the top of us considering you played with 6 on the bench to our 3 (2 after half time) in pretty hot conditions.
your right most fowards struggle against bonnet was rapt that i was on the same team....
na mate i was on the bench couldnt get near the footy ;)
i thought we wouldve as well but the coach mixed things up a lot to check out the new guys anyway good luck in 09 youll need it

I agree that it is going to be a tough year against the top sides don't get me wrong. I just think if we are competitive against the bottom 3 or 4 sides and pinch a win against one or two of those sides then that would be a good year for 1st yr division 1 and something to build on into the future.

yep id be looking forward to playing them bottom sides because from what i saw of spotty on saturday theres 2 games your not going to enjoy, thats unless they promote there 2s

Yes thats him. The same one that trained at marby park last night.

Albion v marby
st albans v avondale heights .

went down to st albans ground

no scoreboard didnt help
if my goal count was right
3qs only playd
Heights 12 vrs StAlbans 6

sorry didnt know the names
Heights solidly built midfeild to experienced, quick & strong for ST albans
Heights full forward did some damage

St Albans a very young side

yep id be looking forward to playing them bottom sides because from what i saw of spotty on saturday theres 2 games your not going to enjoy, thats unless they promote there 2s

Agree there spotty to be a top 3 chance again, although not as strong as last year. Theodore and montebello look in very good touch along some quality kids, it will be hard for us this week first up.

Yes that's true will be out for 4 to 6 weeks.
We will also likely have another 7 missing from our best 22, we have a tough first up match but i still think it's very win able, spotty have also lost some players from last year. It's along year so we will not be at our peak just yet but not to far off.

well should be an interesting game you guys missing numbers spotty missing up to 8 from last years premiership side.

spotty look as though they are set to start reaping the benefits from strong juniors from past years with several ready to make big impacts,

my guess Spotty by 4 goals BUT if port have the willy boys in anythings possible:thumbsu:

So what are the tips for the weekend fellas? Looks like four interesting enough games with West Footscray v Albion the dud match.

GLENORDENARY V S HEIGHTS heights by 3 pts in the closest game of the round emotions will play a part for heights to have its 1st ever win in a grade it could be match of the round not for skill but a close game

SPOTSWOOD V P COLTS i hate to say this spotty by 5 goals colts to slide into the bottom half of the top five imo but colts will win there next 3 games just wait and see if i'm on the money

ST ALBANS V ALTONA st albans by 12 goals should just smash them altona are a very young side who are still 3 or 4 years away from playing finals unless they recruit some big bodies with experience in a hurry st albans should be hungry after a pretty good 2008 and should build on that

WEST V ALBION albion to kick the sweep 30+ goals there should be a mercy rule

SUNSHINE[YELLOWBELLYS] V HOPPERS hoppers by 4 goals yc r soft but so r hoppers

AND MY FINAL TIP IS BEAZER GET THERE EARLY FOR THE TWO'S IF YOUR IN THE ONE'S HOPPERS ARE GOING NOWHERE

Agree there spotty to be a top 3 chance again, although not as strong as last year. Theodore and montebello look in very good touch along some quality kids, it will be hard for us this week first up.

It will be tough going for both sides due to changes in personnel. Both sides will take time to settle in so the real indication of where they're at will be in the return leg later in the year. Expecting a cracker of a game though.
So have you got out Rocky3 as a rev up for the boys?

So what are the tips for the weekend fellas? Looks like four interesting enough games with West Footscray v Albion the dud match.

West Footscrays ground is a disgrace, the oval should be closed for the season. Before somebody seriously hurts themself.

GLENORDENARY V S HEIGHTS heights by 3 pts in the closest game of the round emotions will play a part for heights to have its 1st ever win in a grade it could be match of the round not for skill but a close game

SPOTSWOOD V P COLTS i hate to say this spotty by 5 goals colts to slide into the bottom half of the top five imo but colts will win there next 3 games just wait and see if i'm on the money

ST ALBANS V ALTONA st albans by 12 goals should just smash them altona are a very young side who are still 3 or 4 years away from playing finals unless they recruit some big bodies with experience in a hurry st albans should be hungry after a pretty good 2008 and should build on that

WEST V ALBION albion to kick the sweep 30+ goals there should be a mercy rule

SUNSHINE[YELLOWBELLYS] V HOPPERS hoppers by 4 goals yc r soft but so r hoppers

AND MY FINAL TIP IS BEAZER GET THERE EARLY FOR THE TWO'S IF YOUR IN THE ONE'S HOPPERS ARE GOING NOWHERE

Thanks for the advice