Western Region Football League Team (Part 4)

Well Boys to be truthfully Honest, Albion were pathetic.

the game started well, Bloomfield struggled, few of the spotty boys were verbally attacking him, may have thrown him off his game early, Zavalas got into Jensen Early, nice cheap 1!

Lachlen Mchie Was a stand out all ends of the ground.

Albions Coach Struggled probly best he stay off the field.

i am lead to believe he was focused on meeting a few SFC boys in the car park aafter an exchange of words on field, shit house if you ask me,

no real signs for albion they may have had blokes out but they were a rabble.

it will be an interesting finals series.

It was a bad day for the cats. Bloomfield was injured in the first quarter, that's why he wasn't on his game mate. Albion will perform a lot stronger on bigger open grounds, still in the mix don't worry about that.

Hopefully the injured players from saturday all come up and u get as many back from injury as possible. We are looking forward to taking on a stronger cats out fit on their own turf.
We should just about be at full strength ourselves maybe 2 0r 3 still missing but good to get bonnett and massis back along with debruyn & floreani

Just on the cats performing better on bigger open grounds???? Spotty isn't exactly a small ground, some better players back may make a difference but that effort would not have been any better than if it was played at the "G"

Hopefully the injured players from saturday all come up and u get as many back from injury as possible. We are looking forward to taking on a stronger cats out fit on their own turf.
We should just about be at full strength ourselves maybe 2 0r 3 still missing but good to get bonnett and massis back along with debruyn & floreani

Just on the cats performing better on bigger open grounds???? Spotty isn't exactly a small ground, some better players back may make a difference but that effort would not have been any better than if it was played at the "G"

Spot on ROCK - A bigger ground would only cause more problems for the Cats.....Spotty completely outran them and only gives more space for their quicker blokes like O'Keefe and Dumbleton to run and carry. The key to beating the Woodsmen is stopping their forward line, they have a lot of options and play taller than they seem.

The final 5 has been set for a few weeks now. I know that 3rd spot has still been up for grabs but do people really think that results over the last few weeks and the next 2 weeks mean a great deal?

Finals footy is different. Some teams just don't have the players or game plan that will stand up in finals regardless of what they acheive during the year and others just grow a leg during finals.

I know I am not really going out on a limb here but from what I have seen and from what has happened over the last few years I can't really see how anyone will get past Spotty and Colts. (still undecided about Hoppers but will get a good look at them this weekend)

Albion were beat by the better side on the day but were missing many even before losing a couple to injury during the game. The seconds played 1 short for most of their game(Including playing 3 retired veterans) because of the shortage in numbers on the weekend. Many players to return this week and a few more the following, wouldnt write Albion off just yet.

Who was missing and how would they have stopped Spotty? I gots ta know because I seriously think its an away ground issue regardless of players available.

Spot on ROCK - A bigger ground would only cause more problems for the Cats.....Spotty completely outran them and only gives more space for their quicker blokes like O'Keefe and Dumbleton to run and carry. The key to beating the Woodsmen is stopping their forward line, they have a lot of options and play taller than they seem.

The cats certainly do have a few really good players out, but would have to agree it doesn't make up 12 goals, spotty were just too good on saturday and you can see why colts n spotty have been in the past couple of grand finals, there's a fair bit of talent in both teams, but as Rock n a few others have said before any team can cause an upset if they really apply themselves properly on the day and put it together.

In saying that, it would take a massive effort for a Hoppers, Sunshine or Albion to knock off spotty or colts come finals time. But thats the challenge those 3 teams have ahead n its not impossible.

Although the seniors copped a bit of a belting, was great to see the reserves for albion show a fair bit of character in beating spotty. Would have to be one of the best wins by a team this year with their backs to the wall.

The cats certainly do have a few really good players out, but would have to agree it doesn't make up 12 goals, spotty were just too good on saturday and you can see why colts n spotty have been in the past couple of grand finals, there's a fair bit of talent in both teams, but as Rock n a few others have said before any team can cause an upset if they really apply themselves properly on the day and put it together.

In saying that, it would take a massive effort for a Hoppers, Sunshine or Albion to knock off spotty or colts come finals time. But thats the challenge those 3 teams have ahead n its not impossible.

Although the seniors copped a bit of a belting, was great to see the reserves for albion show a fair bit of character in beating spotty. Would have to be one of the best wins by a team this year with their backs to the wall.

Yes the reserves started the game with 17 Players on the ground 1 being a retired veteran, by the 10 min mark of the first quarter Albion were down to 16 players. 2 more retired veterans rocked up at quarter time to chuck on the boots. Going into the last quarter down by 4 goals the cats had another guy go off yellow carded, to finish with 17 players against the flow of spotswoods control the cats did probably win one of the best games of the year

no under 18s to bring up?????

Under 18's have there finals coming up so they didn't play. But we have 4 blokes oversea's who will be back this week. Perry, Upton, Kelm, Dickson also had 3-4 extra injured players who will be right over the next 1-2

Talking up a reserve win is a bit of a worry, most reserve sides are battling weekly to get numbers, we have been using 6 to 8 u/18's weekly plus a number of retired players hardly anything to talk up though!!!

The talk should be on the dismal performance of the senior side!!!

Talking up a reserve win is a bit of a worry, most reserve sides are battling weekly to get numbers, we have been using 6 to 8 u/18's weekly plus a number of retired players hardly anything to talk up though!!!

The talk should be on the dismal performance of the senior side!!!

just taking a positive from a negative. All reserve sides I agree use plenty of under18's, can't take anything away from Albion reseves though, the win on the weekend against odd's just shows why they are on top.

And for the seniors, everyside is allowed to drop one bad one a season correct? just go back to round 1 rock, 92 points away at spotswood? you blokes had a few out, circumstances were likewise with Albion!

just taking a positive from a negative. All reserve sides I agree use plenty of under18's, can't take anything away from Albion reserves though, the win on the weekend against odds just shows why they are on top.

Perhaps you can base your 2010 season on the strength of your reserves? that may hold you in better steed going forward............

just taking a positive from a negative. All reserve sides I agree use plenty of under18's, can't take anything away from Albion reseves though, the win on the weekend against odd's just shows why they are on top.

And for the seniors, everyside is allowed to drop one bad one a season correct? just go back to round 1 rock, 92 points away at spotswood? you blokes had a few out, circumstances were likewise with Albion!

Think the Colts outs in Rd 1 were alot more substantial compared with Albion's on the weekend......But look if you are happy to talk up Reserves and 18's then good lad....concentrate on the important stuff...good to see.

yeh colts had a few out i think 15? rock will correct me if im wrong.

albion a few out, but smashed all over the ground by a very enthusiastic young spotty side. dont know what that the big bloke for cats gets paid but gee reckon he would be feelin guilty getting pay check from this game as well as afew others

1 bad one fair enough what about at our ground also????
Anyway rd1 we had about 10 or so out and i think the quality we had missing far out wieghs albions but i agree we all can have bad games.
Just for the record what players were missing that will come back and make an impact??? PLEASE don't mention dicko....lol

Albion r obviously still two or three short to compete with the top two sides. Need a key frwd and defender - too many med size players.

albion a few out, but smashed all over the ground by a very enthusiastic young spotty side. dont know what that the big bloke for cats gets paid but gee reckon he would be feelin guilty getting pay check from this game as well as afew others

Perhaps you can base your 2010 season on the strength of your reserves? that may hold you in better steed going forward............[/quote]
why not hoppers have been doing it for years now.....:D:D:D

Perhaps you can base your 2010 season on the strength of your reserves? that may hold you in better steed going forward............

"why not hoppers have been doing it for years now.....:D:D:D"[/quote]

LOL..... as well as 200k and a very big crystal ball that continues to promises plenty and delivers little.

1 bad one fair enough what about at our ground also????
Anyway rd1 we had about 10 or so out and i think the quality we had missing far out wieghs albions but i agree we all can have bad games.
Just for the record what players were missing that will come back and make an impact??? PLEASE don't mention dicko....lol

2 bad ones, wasn't it the same story last year? Using the bad game scenario when Albion have been routed on a contender's dung hill, again, just doesn't cut it. I hope the brains trust are addressing the issue rather than deflecting.
Can't win a final on a bigger ground against quality opposition unless there's a plan B. A final win just may be the tonic.

Bit harsh on Philpot, he got cleaned up in the first quarter, half a dozen stitches and some xrays after the game. Talking to some Albion guys at the game they reckon he has been very good for them this year and they are more than happy.

By the way I would be interested to hear if the fathers would beat the sons in a game. By this I mean watching games this year you have a number of sons playing that had fathers who were more than handy players in their day. For example McGhie, Langlands, Philpot, Savage to name a couple that are recognisable to me from Saturdays game. I would be interested if anyone can add to it.

"why not hoppers have been doing it for years now.....:D:D:D"

LOL..... as well as 200k and a very big crystal ball that continues to promises plenty and delivers little.[/QUOTE]

Interesting.

i play at a club that gets belted most weeks and in every comp in the north and western suburbs has these teams, teams that are always in the lower end of the b grade ladder such as nthn saints moonee valley east keilor in the edfl and west heidelberg reservoir panton hill in the nfl i suggest that the edfl wrfl and the edfl merge to form a super comp of the northern and western suburbs. some of the pros would be that every team will be competitive thus attracting more supporters and sponsors and the cons would be more travel for players and the fact that the leagues would never let it happen and that some clubs would be against it. anyways i thought i would put my take on how it could be structured and before anybody bites my head off because i may have under or over estimated their club this is just a guess

DIVISION 1: Greenvale marby park northcote park keilor heidelberg nth heidelberg spotswood port colts bundoora

DIVISION 2: lalor strathmore albion west coburg douttas sunshine aberfeldie hoppers crossing craigieburn montmerency

DIVISION 3: Oak park west preston greensborough glenorden parkside avondale heights diamond creek macloed tullamrine eltham airport west

DIVISION 4: hadfield keilor park lower plenty fitzroy stars whittlesea nth footscray albanvale epping sunshine heights thomastown west footscray

DIVISION 5: braybrook roxburgh park sydenham jacana westmeadows laverton yarraville hurstbridge deer park watsonia mernda pakside(nfl)

DIVISION 6: reservoir west heidelberg nthn saints east keilor wyndamvale coburg districts south morang nth sunshine panton hill moonee valley

like i said just a rough guess as to what division sides should be in but would ensure all clubs would be competitive thus attracting players would be easier. and also maybe some of the clubs in the ammos might be intererested in joining such as nth and west brunswick werribee amateurs banyule ivanhoe old ess grammar fitzroy fc etc.

clubs such as heidelberg and greenvale would like the idea i`d think to play in a division with just the best clubs of the north and west of melbourne

i play at a club that gets belted most weeks and in every comp in the north and western suburbs has these teams, teams that are always in the lower end of the b grade ladder such as nthn saints moonee valley east keilor in the edfl and west heidelberg reservoir panton hill in the nfl i suggest that the edfl wrfl and the edfl merge to form a super comp of the northern and western suburbs. some of the pros would be that every team will be competitive thus attracting more supporters and sponsors and the cons would be more travel for players and the fact that the leagues would never let it happen and that some clubs would be against it. anyways i thought i would put my take on how it could be structured and before anybody bites my head off because i may have under or over estimated their club this is just a guess

DIVISION 1: Greenvale marby park northcote park keilor heidelberg nth heidelberg spotswood port colts bundoora

DIVISION 2: lalor strathmore albion west coburg douttas sunshine aberfeldie hoppers crossing craigieburn montmerency

DIVISION 3: Oak park west preston greensborough glenorden parkside avondale heights diamond creek macloed tullamrine eltham airport west

DIVISION 4: hadfield keilor park lower plenty fitzroy stars whittlesea nth footscray albanvale epping sunshine heights thomastown west footscray

DIVISION 5: braybrook roxburgh park sydenham jacana westmeadows laverton yarraville hurstbridge deer park watsonia mernda pakside(nfl)

DIVISION 6: reservoir west heidelberg nthn saints east keilor wyndamvale coburg districts south morang nth sunshine panton hill moonee valley

like i said just a rough guess as to what division sides should be in but would ensure all clubs would be competitive thus attracting players would be easier. and also maybe some of the clubs in the ammos might be intererested in joining such as nth and west brunswick werribee amateurs banyule ivanhoe old ess grammar fitzroy fc etc.

clubs such as heidelberg and greenvale would like the idea i`d think to play in a division with just the best clubs of the north and west of melbourne

Top idea probably a top 12 in the Division 1 with those teams added relegate 2 up and down each year would be fantastic, the only major problem would be the juniors and travell aspect.

Albion Vs Sunshine 1st round of finals will be a cracker on the back of Albions two's ground breaking win on the weekend........