Western Region Football League Team (Part 4)

LOL..... as well as 200k and a very big crystal ball that continues to promises plenty and delivers little.

Pretty silly to even mention that figure Johnny. Maybe it was tongue in cheek???

Dont know about silly Cam, your telling me that with afiliation fees and payments to coach's , players ,trainers and consumables the bill isn't around the above mark?

also any truth to the rumor the former St Albans coach has been sounded out in regards to next season? or that the Saints are throwing half their poker machines at Mighty Mick to entice him over the road to St Albans??

PLEASE, GIVE US A SPELL, Regardless of the loan repayments the monies these clubs recoup is enourmous, there is a club in Waverley that turns over 6 mil a year from the pokies so please don't embarrass yourself by saying that it is not big money. Port Melbourne Football Club (not Colts) were struggling huge until they got a pub in Port Melbourne with Pokies, they now do not have to align themselves with any AFL club, are contributing over 1 mil plus for renos at their ground, have purchased properties not to take into account what they are paying for Ayers etc...Not every club has the opportunity to get pokies, you can't have a pokie venue on every corner especially when u are in close proximity to the crown. At the colts I'm glad we don't have them (sure it would help financially) but I don't think you'd have the friendships & mateships we have down there if the pokies were in the building, i'm sure we have a much better time down there when we have a function. however I'm sure financially it would be a lot easier to pay our league fees etc if you had $50,000 kicked into your club for no effort.
Sorry to bore everyone with the tattersalls update but this is my opinion for what it's worth. Out of interest, how many clubs struggle to pay their league fees on time especially when you lose a home game due to a strike???? obviously not hoppers or st albans.

i normally dont need help with emarrassing my self but you should re read what i said.
i never said there wasnt good money in pokies i said you would be surprised what was actully given to the football clubs for there football operations out of money raised from pokies revenue.

Pretty silly to even mention that figure Johnny. Maybe it was tongue in cheek???

Dont know about silly Cam, your telling me that with afiliation fees and payments to coach's , players ,trainers and consumables the bill isn't around the above mark?

also any truth to the rumor the former St Albans coach has been sounded out in regards to next season? or that the Saints are throwing half their poker machines at Mighty Mick to entice him over the road to St Albans??[/quote]

which former coach????

very very good mate, i will give you the inside info if you like?????

Bonnett, Massis, Debruyn, Floreani all back in, hopefully the cats have improved their side after last week also.
Looking forward to playing the cats at their ground, where obviously you are alot better!!

Like you or hate you, you are honest with this and its good to see. I dont see what everybody gets so caught up in selection for. everybody knows who is playing, if not b4 the gane obviously when they run out and this gives coaches plenty of time to change things.

Richards in...................Dicko is still fighting the kurds and rootin camels!lol

Big test for the boys before the finals, will see how we fare come 5pm Saturday!

WRFLfan you playing???

Nothing wrong with rooting camels. Im with Dicko.

also any truth to the rumor the former St Albans coach has been sounded out in regards to next season? or that the Saints are throwing half their poker machines at Mighty Mick to entice him over the road to St Albans??

Personally I dont know the exact figure but yeah I do think that figure id rediculous, but as I said I dont know as a fact and Im not sure how you would know.

Like you or hate you, you are honest with this and its good to see. I dont see what everybody gets so caught up in selection for. everybody knows who is playing, if not b4 the gane obviously when they run out and this gives coaches plenty of time to change things.

I agree Beazer... why dont you PM me tomorrows Hoppers line up:D

HATE me....surely nobody hates me beazer....your making me sad and insecure!!

On the pokies issue, I believe (but not 100% on) that Hoppers had some help getting the pokies in from the Bulldogs. Majority of the revenue would've gone back to the doggies although like most business deals I'd assume that would be for a say, 5 year period 70% to bulldogs, after 5 years that would drop etc. No sources or inside knowledge, just what I heard when they were first put in.

just been on the u 18s forum and noticed Tedesco playing seniors for Altona any relation to the Colts Tedesco .

Yes it's his younger brother!

Wow Hoppers are looking very formidable and have sent a clear warning, that this is not a two horse race. 40 goals is a massive effort and now with almost a full list up and running they will be very hard to beat come finals time. Obviously Murphy back kicking 7 goals has no ill affects from that shoulder injury.
Sunshine also getting close to full strength will also have a say come finals time.

Wow Hoppers are looking very formidable and have sent a clear warning, that this is not a two horse race. 40 goals is a massive effort and now with almost a full list up and running they will be very hard to beat come finals time. Obviously Murphy back kicking 7 goals has no ill affects from that shoulder injury.
Sunshine also getting close to full strength will also have a say come finals time.

I agree that Hoppers are in the mix. I didnt think they were before yesterday. It wasnt the score that they kicked but the way that they went about it. They managed to create space for each other on a small ground and worked really well as a team. They certainly are well coached.

As well as that it was probably the best display of kicking skills I have seen all year. Their field kicking was faultless and they barely missed a set shot at goal. They also seemed to have a few quality players in the reserves.

In regards to Murphy I think the jury is still out. He did get on the end of a few yesterday and is a quality player but I can assure you that his shoulders were not tested. If it would have been the difference between winning and losing we would have certainly targeted him but under the circumstances it was hardly worth employing those tactics. I am sure that he will be tested come week 1 of the finals.

i still stick to my guns Hoppers will beat spotty in the first final . Cats willl loose to Sunshine as well.Who r the other brothers playing against each other in the WRFL divy 1 .Interesting y the Tedesco brothers r not playing together .how does the younger one go.Early tip Hoppers vs Port for the Grand Final

Good to see someone sticking to their guns....however outlandish they are. Spotty too strong through midfield and up forward and the bigger ground is only going to be to their advantage. Spotty will win by 3-4 goals. And please don't classify Hoppers as in the mix after beating Sunshine Heights by a space. Hardly something to be written home about. Colts vs Spotty a certain matchup come September 12.

I agree that Hoppers are in the mix. I didnt think they were before yesterday. It wasnt the score that they kicked but the way that they went about it. They managed to create space for each other on a small ground and worked really well as a team. They certainly are well coached.

As well as that it was probably the best display of kicking skills I have seen all year. Their field kicking was faultless and they barely missed a set shot at goal. They also seemed to have a few quality players in the reserves.

In regards to Murphy I think the jury is still out. He did get on the end of a few yesterday and is a quality player but I can assure you that his shoulders were not tested. If it would have been the difference between winning and losing we would have certainly targeted him but under the circumstances it was hardly worth employing those tactics. I am sure that he will be tested come week 1 of the finals.

Like I said a few weeks back Murph's shoulder is good to go, I'm shore opposition teams will test it out, but once they realise after wasting there time for 10 minutes that his shoulder is like yours and mine you will look a bit silly especially if umpires know what your tactic is and a few cheap free kicks go his way. Any ways I wont try to convince you. 7 goals and 36 touches aint a bad return to senior footy.

Let's not forget Colt's thumping of Albion, just going along very nicely the Colts at this stage. Spotty and Colt's are clear fav's for the flag. Can Sunshine throw a spanner in the works this weekend knocking Colt's off the top of the ladder?. I don't think so.

Rock are you near to full strength, couple of good in's over the weekend are there many more to come back in?.

Looks like most teams will be going into finals at 90-95% full strength, will make for some great viewing.

Let's not forget Colt's thumping of Albion, just going along very nicely the Colts at this stage. Spotty and Colt's are clear fav's for the flag. Can Sunshine throw a spanner in the works this weekend knocking Colt's off the top of the ladder?. I don't think so.

Rock are you near to full strength, couple of good in's over the weekend are there many more to come back in?.

Looks like most teams will be going into finals at 90-95% full strength, will make for some great viewing.

Trying to deflect the hoppers hype....hoppers are equal to colts/spotty no doubt about it!!!

We still have 4 to come back from last weeks team, winters, williams, huggins and jackel all should be available this week for selection.

Like I said a few weeks back Murph's shoulder is good to go, I'm shore opposition teams will test it out, but once they realise after wasting there time for 10 minutes that his shoulder is like yours and mine you will look a bit silly especially if umpires know what your tactic is and a few cheap free kicks go his way. Any ways I wont try to convince you. 7 goals and 36 touches aint a bad return to senior footy.

I'm sure the Hoppers players would be quick to point out free kicks if he is treated unfairly, they do a good job umpiring from memory

You must be his personal stats man. I must have missed at least 20 of those touches.

Whats the story with West? He came to the club with a huge reputation and has played 7 games in the reserves. Is he that bad or is the senior team that good?

You must be his personal stats man. I must have missed at least 20 of those touches.

Whats the story with West? He came to the club with a huge reputation and has played 7 games in the reserves. Is he that bad or is the senior team that good?

Stat's are taken each week, 36 touches was Murphs return. West has a degenetarive knee and will not play footy again after this year unfortunately, Just finishing off his career in the 2's.

GB50, your team had a real crack on Saturday and didn't give in untill the final siren which was fantastic. Also very disciplined and didn't once go the knuckle like people have been suggesting of late. Good luck next year. 2009 has been a success for where you have come from and where you guys are at.:thumbsu:

Rock cheers for the pump up but you blokes are 3-4 goals ahead of us... You can only go on past results and you boys have had our measure this year... Also with all the outs last time round pretty much sums up the difference between the 2 sides!! Colts almost unbackable favourites this year! You should also have coach of the year wrapt up going into the gf.

Stat's are taken each week, 36 touches was Murphs return. West has a degenetarive knee and will not play footy again after this year unfortunately, Just finishing off his career in the 2's.

GB50, your team had a real crack on Saturday and didn't give in untill the final siren which was fantastic. Also very disciplined and didn't once go the knuckle like people have been suggesting of late. Good luck next year. 2009 has been a success for where you have come from and where you guys are at.:thumbsu:

Thanks. Hard to beleive from the scoreboard but we did have a real crack. The game was played in good spirits. 4 golas in the last qtr was a good reward as we did play to the final siren.

Beazer was a bit quiet on Sat but he was in fine form around the food table after the game:D Really good effort of him to stick around for so long after the game.

I addressed the issue of "going the knuckle" on the radio on Sat. I beleive that we have moved past that type of footy. I also think that talk of this happening has been unfair as it really only happened for 1 qtr in the game against Sunshine. I spoke to Tocka after tha game about it who wasnt that concerned and was happy that the game was played in good spirits for the last qtrTake that qtr out and our discipline has been as good as any club this season.

I think that we have made a positive contribution to the competition in 2009