Western Region Football League Team (Part 4)

Do they really need 2 or 3 more players to catch up with the top 2?

or do they really just need to look to there homegrowns for abit of ticker instead of forkin out the quid they do?

Sure, it can be home growns, unfortunately most of the recent guys coming through have been the shorter type, rather than key postion players

i play at a club that gets belted most weeks and in every comp in the north and western suburbs has these teams, teams that are always in the lower end of the b grade ladder such as nthn saints moonee valley east keilor in the edfl and west heidelberg reservoir panton hill in the nfl i suggest that the edfl wrfl and the edfl merge to form a super comp of the northern and western suburbs. some of the pros would be that every team will be competitive thus attracting more supporters and sponsors and the cons would be more travel for players and the fact that the leagues would never let it happen and that some clubs would be against it. anyways i thought i would put my take on how it could be structured and before anybody bites my head off because i may have under or over estimated their club this is just a guess

DIVISION 1: Greenvale marby park northcote park keilor heidelberg nth heidelberg spotswood port colts bundoora

DIVISION 2: lalor strathmore albion west coburg douttas sunshine aberfeldie hoppers crossing craigieburn montmerency

DIVISION 3: Oak park west preston greensborough glenorden parkside avondale heights diamond creek macloed tullamrine eltham airport west

DIVISION 4: hadfield keilor park lower plenty fitzroy stars whittlesea nth footscray albanvale epping sunshine heights thomastown west footscray

DIVISION 5: braybrook roxburgh park sydenham jacana westmeadows laverton yarraville hurstbridge deer park watsonia mernda pakside(nfl)

DIVISION 6: reservoir west heidelberg nthn saints east keilor wyndamvale coburg districts south morang nth sunshine panton hill moonee valley

like i said just a rough guess as to what division sides should be in but would ensure all clubs would be competitive thus attracting players would be easier. and also maybe some of the clubs in the ammos might be intererested in joining such as nth and west brunswick werribee amateurs banyule ivanhoe old ess grammar fitzroy fc etc.

clubs such as heidelberg and greenvale would like the idea i`d think to play in a division with just the best clubs of the north and west of melbourne
Dont want St Albans in your comp mate.

Top idea probably a top 12 in the Division 1 with those teams added relegate 2 up and down each year would be fantastic, the only major problem would be the juniors and travell aspect.

Albion Vs Sunshine 1st round of finals will be a cracker on the back of Albions two's ground breaking win on the weekend........

You had West Coburg going to div 1 of the super comp, your not serious?? just from my clubs perspictive.... we have better fascilities, playings list, sponsors, $$ and support from the community! I sure as hell would also put Sunshine and St.Albans ahead of West Coburg.

Just going on their results from last couple of years. Must admit you do have a super list and support network would put you guys a fair way above the other 2 mentioned. Your from Hoppers right?

good to see all the current posts reflecting the current high levels of competition and not some of the other crap that has surrounded the league. hopefully it goes on long and beyond the finals series

i play at a club that gets belted most weeks and in every comp in the north and western suburbs has these teams, teams that are always in the lower end of the b grade ladder such as nthn saints moonee valley east keilor in the edfl and west heidelberg reservoir panton hill in the nfl i suggest that the edfl wrfl and the edfl merge to form a super comp of the northern and western suburbs. some of the pros would be that every team will be competitive thus attracting more supporters and sponsors and the cons would be more travel for players and the fact that the leagues would never let it happen and that some clubs would be against it. anyways i thought i would put my take on how it could be structured and before anybody bites my head off because i may have under or over estimated their club this is just a guess

DIVISION 1: Greenvale marby park northcote park keilor heidelberg nth heidelberg spotswood port colts bundoora

DIVISION 2: lalor strathmore albion west coburg douttas sunshine aberfeldie hoppers crossing craigieburn montmerency

DIVISION 3: Oak park west preston greensborough glenorden parkside avondale heights diamond creek macloed tullamrine eltham airport west

DIVISION 4: hadfield keilor park lower plenty fitzroy stars whittlesea nth footscray albanvale epping sunshine heights thomastown west footscray

DIVISION 5: braybrook roxburgh park sydenham jacana westmeadows laverton yarraville hurstbridge deer park watsonia mernda pakside(nfl)

DIVISION 6: reservoir west heidelberg nthn saints east keilor wyndamvale coburg districts south morang nth sunshine panton hill moonee valley

like i said just a rough guess as to what division sides should be in but would ensure all clubs would be competitive thus attracting players would be easier. and also maybe some of the clubs in the ammos might be intererested in joining such as nth and west brunswick werribee amateurs banyule ivanhoe old ess grammar fitzroy fc etc.

clubs such as heidelberg and greenvale would like the idea i`d think to play in a division with just the best clubs of the north and west of melbourne

This "superleague" is an unrealistic idea, will never happen and a waste of time to think up

never a waist of time to t5hink of something new its a posative to look outside the square its a pity league management don't try to see the benefits of such a valid proposal l for 1 am all for this sort of football shake up god it needs it

didnt mean to leave out any clubs.....was just a lot of clubs to keep track of. just accidentally left a few out. yeah its a bit unrealistic and wont happen but it does have some merit. the leagues would never allow it because the administrators be worried about losing their positions/influence/jobs for the boys etc. it would almost elimainate 200 point beltings and even up all the divisions. the leagues never come up with any decent suggestions to improve anything....in fact the leagues goes backwards coz they are run by ******s that dont want to leave their comfort zone.

and the junior comps would stay the way they are currently

"why not hoppers have been doing it for years now.....:D:D:D"

LOL..... as well as 200k and a very big crystal ball that continues to promises plenty and delivers little.[/quote]

Pretty silly to even mention that figure Johnny. Maybe it was tongue in cheek??? Im sure Hoppers would be in the top few in regards to player payments but as I have always said, if you have it then good luck to you. Playing at both Spotty and Hoppers I can say that they work VERY hard to raise as much money as they can and its normally the clubs who cant be f#cked doing this are the 1's whinging about how much other clubs spend. I am not sure how the pokies work at Hoppers so Im not going to comment on whether they get money out of them or not.

Hoppers have always paid well as far as I know but a large % of players recruited to the club over the past 6 or 7 years have either played juniors at the club, played higher level footy and are coming back to their club or have some affiliation with the club with mates etc. Its irrelevant who they are or where they come from anyway. The point Im making is that they rarely just throw a heap of money at a gun player who has no connection to the club.

Its easy for anybody from Port to say things like this bcos they have been the most successful club over the last 10 years and apparently dont pay the amount of money other clubs do. Maybe apart from Port and Spotty, Im sure any of the other 1st division clubs would have liked the success Hoppers have had over the past decade, even if they do spend good money. Albion and St Albans have proved over the years that spending big doesnt guarantee success.

Just going on their results from last couple of years. Must admit you do have a super list and support network would put you guys a fair way above the other 2 mentioned. Your from Hoppers right?

Yes mate I play at hoppers!

LOL..... as well as 200k and a very big crystal ball that continues to promises plenty and delivers little.

Pretty silly to even mention that figure Johnny. Maybe it was tongue in cheek??? Im sure Hoppers would be in the top few in regards to player payments but as I have always said, if you have it then good luck to you. Playing at both Spotty and Hoppers I can say that they work VERY hard to raise as much money as they can and its normally the clubs who cant be f#cked doing this are the 1's whinging about how much other clubs spend. I am not sure how the pokies work at Hoppers so Im not going to comment on whether they get money out of them or not.

I'd say they work the same as at every other venue, u put money in the slot, (coins or notes) and push buttons and lose your cash....seriously though, you cannot tell us that the Hoppers Footy Club do not get money out of the pokies, they would get serious coin out of them, obviously shared amongst the other sporting clubs but is a huge advantage over other clubs (financially) that don't have that income. Be interested from someone on the committee to advise just how much coin they do receive but I'm sure that wont happen and fair enough so everyone can just assume rightly or wrongly what it would be.

I'd say they work the same as at every other venue, u put money in the slot, (coins or notes) and push buttons and lose your cash....seriously though, you cannot tell us that the Hoppers Footy Club do not get money out of the pokies, they would get serious coin out of them, obviously shared amongst the other sporting clubs but is a huge advantage over other clubs (financially) that don't have that income. Be interested from someone on the committee to advise just how much coin they do receive but I'm sure that wont happen and fair enough so everyone can just assume rightly or wrongly what it would be.[/quote]

Most venues that have pokies only receive around 8-10% of the total money pumped into the machines. Don't forget you have to take into account the cost for licensing, staff wages/training and as you stated other areas of the sporting club not just football. As Beazer has stated if the club is willing to work hard and raise the money (doesn't really matter how) then they have the right to spend whatever they choose and if it brings them success which they sort of had then good on them. Unfortunately this can have a negative impact on the sustainability on other smaller clubs trying to compete, but hey I guess Hoppers probably started as a smaller club and worked hard to grow.

Most venues that have pokies only receive around 8-10% of the total money pumped into the machines. Don't forget you have to take into account the cost for licensing, staff wages/training and as you stated other areas of the sporting club not just football. As Beazer has stated if the club is willing to work hard and raise the money (doesn't really matter how) then they have the right to spend whatever they choose and if it brings them success which they sort of had then good on them. Unfortunately this can have a negative impact on the sustainability on other smaller clubs trying to compete, but hey I guess Hoppers probably started as a smaller club and worked hard to grow.[/quote]

Well even 10% of say $1 mil is $100,000 and most pokie venues turnover is in excess of a million dollars a year. It is going to become very hard to compete with clubs that have this advantage in years to come, in my opinion they give an unfair financial advantage, not every club can get them even if they have hard workers at the club (strict regulations apply)

[quote/]Well even 10% of say $1 mil is $100,000 and most pokie venues turnover is in excess of a million dollars a year. It is going to become very hard to compete with clubs that have this advantage in years to come, in my opinion they give an unfair financial advantage, not every club can get them even if they have hard workers at the club (strict regulations apply)[/quote]

Of course it is going to be an unfair advantage when a club has an extra avenue of revenue coming into the club but that 10% doesn't just go to the football club (i.e cricket, juniors, equipment). As I stated this money has to cover other areas of the club as well, staff, club maintenance, licensing etc......The real negative of pokies is not the money for the club but people becoming addicted to them and wasting there money/lives and possibly destroying families.

Well even 10% of say $1 mil is $100,000 and most pokie venues turnover is in excess of a million dollars a year. It is going to become very hard to compete with clubs that have this advantage in years to come, in my opinion they give an unfair financial advantage, not every club can get them even if they have hard workers at the club (strict regulations apply)[/quote]

The pokies were available to every club to apply for and the preference from state goverment was for them to go to sporting clubs (football,soccer,golf amd even rsl clubs) as the money derived from them went back into local communitys and not into peoples pockets.

i would be curious to know how many clubs applied for them when they first came out or even now how many clubs are investergating weather they can get into them now as there is changes happening that will allow clubs to buy in if they are prepared to raise the capital needed.

i think a lot of pople would be surprised as to the amounts of money given to clubs like hoppers and st albans for football operations from money raised from pokie revenue it would not be the huge amounts everybody thinks as they havnt taken into account the million dollar + loan repayments for venue upgrades to house these pokies or the many other expenses that goes into running a venue like these.

Is there any footy news or is this Tatts Australia's new forum...... Bring back the beeza forum as that is what you call entertainment...... And were is Razor Ray gone??????

Anything happening out at Glenorden at the minute. Whisper floating around telling me that all is not well???

how did selection night go at the colts?

very very good mate, i will give you the inside info if you like?????

Bonnett, Massis, Debruyn, Floreani all back in, hopefully the cats have improved their side after last week also.
Looking forward to playing the cats at their ground, where obviously you are alot better!!

The pokies were available to every club to apply for and the preference from state goverment was for them to go to sporting clubs (football,soccer,golf amd even rsl clubs) as the money derived from them went back into local communitys and not into peoples pockets.

i would be curious to know how many clubs applied for them when they first came out or even now how many clubs are investergating weather they can get into them now as there is changes happening that will allow clubs to buy in if they are prepared to raise the capital needed.

i think a lot of pople would be surprised as to the amounts of money given to clubs like hoppers and st albans for football operations from money raised from pokie revenue it would not be the huge amounts everybody thinks as they havnt taken into account the million dollar + loan repayments for venue upgrades to house these pokies or the many other expenses that goes into running a venue like these.[/quote]

PLEASE, GIVE US A SPELL, Regardless of the loan repayments the monies these clubs recoup is enourmous, there is a club in Waverley that turns over 6 mil a year from the pokies so please don't embarrass yourself by saying that it is not big money. Port Melbourne Football Club (not Colts) were struggling huge until they got a pub in Port Melbourne with Pokies, they now do not have to align themselves with any AFL club, are contributing over 1 mil plus for renos at their ground, have purchased properties not to take into account what they are paying for Ayers etc...Not every club has the opportunity to get pokies, you can't have a pokie venue on every corner especially when u are in close proximity to the crown. At the colts I'm glad we don't have them (sure it would help financially) but I don't think you'd have the friendships & mateships we have down there if the pokies were in the building, i'm sure we have a much better time down there when we have a function. however I'm sure financially it would be a lot easier to pay our league fees etc if you had $50,000 kicked into your club for no effort.
Sorry to bore everyone with the tattersalls update but this is my opinion for what it's worth. Out of interest, how many clubs struggle to pay their league fees on time especially when you lose a home game due to a strike???? obviously not hoppers or st albans.

Beazer and his hoppers crew are happy flying under the radar...

INKA how did selection go at the cats last nite?????Richards and Dicko back????

Richards in...................Dicko is still fighting the kurds and rootin camels!lol

Big test for the boys before the finals, will see how we fare come 5pm Saturday!

WRFLfan you playing???