What do you wear to the footy?

What do I wear?

A bloody red sash!

:D

Under normal circumstances my guernsey over a T-Shirt.

But lately I've had to go more and more for business; which whilst it means every now and then a box, no colours, minimal cheering :(.

Usually?

Jeans, guernsey, black leather jacket, black knitted hat, scarf.

Maybe add a hoody under the jacket if it's a night game, and eschew the jacket and go with a cap for a sunny day.

I remain unsure why people continue to wear team colours of teams not actually playing in the match they have attended.

Has anyone dressed up properly in the MCC and then taken it off once into the sector to reveal denim and singlet and see how long until people would notice?

So maybe they are old fashioned. Nothing wrong with that, its only a collar.

You cant drink at your seat either, its just the way it is.

Something I'm completely in favour of, personally.

Has anyone dressed up properly in the MCC and then taken it off once into the sector to reveal denim and singlet and see how long until people would notice?

Denim is acceptable. Just to clarify, here are the regulations when it comes to dress in the MCC reserve:

Not Acceptable: Men

• Thongs, scuffs, dilapidated footwear, gumboots, moccasins, slippers and ugg boots.
  • T-shirts, singlets, torn or ripped clothes, even if "designer" tears.
  • Shirts not supported by a collar including crew neck shirts (skivvies are acceptable).
  • Football, running, athletic, bike, tennis and board shorts.
  • Tracksuit pants.
  • Beachwear.
  • Overalls.
  • Any clothing displaying racist or similarly offensive messages.
Not Acceptable: Women

• Thongs, scuffs, dilapidated footwear, gumboots, moccasins, slippers and ugg boots.
  • Torn or ripped garments, even if "designer" tears.
  • Running, athletic or bike shorts, or sportswear such as tennis skirts.
  • Tracksuit pants.
  • Beachwear.
  • Bikini tops and tops showing bare midriff.
  • Any clothing displaying racist or similarly offensive messages.
http://www.mcc.org.au/sitecore/cont...ulations/Dress Standards/Members Reserve.aspx

Not a massive issue, in my opinion.

Having said that, I have bought visitors tickets before and had my mates meet me inside, to find them wandering around in t-shirts (which I quicky advised them to cover with their jackets). No idea how they got in without being checked, as I can't remember ever walking through with a jacket and scarf and not being stopped to show that I have a collar on even if it's freezing cold and pouring rain.

I guess the answer to the other part of your question is similar to if an MCC member had no interest in going to, say the Essendon vs Carlton elimination final in 2011 (a sell-out, if I recall correctly) and was asked by a mate to have a loan of their membership so they could get in. While the chances of being caught are pretty remote, it would be a suicidal risk to chance it for the member. You are responsible for yourself and any visitors that you bring into the members and while I don't know what the penalties are for bringing in visitors who need to be escorted from one of the bars, or who get changed after entry into prohibited attire for the members reserve, I have no desire in finding out the hard way.

I remain unsure why people continue to wear team colours of teams not actually playing in the match they have attended.

It's a very Australian thing to do, it's basically attention seeking. It's like most Aussies abroad who will get decked up in the green and gold/have the Southern Cross tats proudly displayed and possibly wearing the flag as a cape.

I believe people 18 and over have mental issues if they wear team jerseys to matches. The dress regulations aren't that strict in the MCC, too much being made of the 'collar' rule.

The one that cracks me everytime going to the footy is the 'dilapidated' jean rule, have seen mates in their designer G-Star/Diesel jeans that would have cost $250 min plus being knocked back. There is one particular nazi MCC official who patrols this like a hawk.

Some footy tops look better worn over the top of a polo shirt anyway

A nice pair of jeans, with runners and a polo would get you in no worries, yes?

Yep, you'd be fine in that outfit. A guernsey over the top and a hat is also fine everywhere besides the Long Room, Dining Room and Frank Grey Smith Bar (i.e. any of the seated areas and the other three bars on Levels 1, 2 and 4). It's not as hard to meet the dress requirements of the MCC as some people make it out to be.

I believe people 18 and over have mental issues if they wear team jerseys to matches. The dress regulations aren't that strict in the MCC, too much being made of the 'collar' rule.

I believe that you have the mental issue if you have a problem with people wearing a footy jumper to a game.

I ususally wear a fetching off-the shoulder Lagerfeld number, accessorised with a gold Versace clutch and a pair of to-die-for Gucci Cuban leather power stilettoes. So does my wife. Oh, and a mink stole for winter, and of course this season's 'it' eyewear. And a beanie.

I believe people 18 and over have mental issues if they wear team jerseys to matches. .

What the hell is wrong with wearing a guernsey??

Up until about a year ago I always wore a black hoodie with the guernsey over the top with jeans.

However these days I normally just wear the media shirt. Not because I've realised I have "mental issues" like this above clothing nazi thinks ( I'm still only 22), but simply due to cost.

An authentic guernsey usually goes for about 100 bucks, and I only really wear it to games and a few times in the summer. Whereas the media polo costs around 60-70 and i can wear it any day of the week as the Essendon one looks quite nice.

What do you wear to the footy?