What hours do you work?

So many people with an hour for lunch, what on earth do you do for an hour in the middle of a shift, seems like a waste of time to me, half hour at every job I have had is plenty.

I don't tend to take an hour but have the opposite view. See when people take off early/arrive late/parents pick up the kiddies from school early and people tut tut about needing to stay back, I actually question what the fu*& those people are doing with their day and why they don't take off early themselves. Seriously if you can't get it done in 8 hours your working conditions suck/you are underpaid/you are horribly inefficient. (I exclude professions like police/medical/emergency services/where life is on the line) but seriously what the fu&* is everyone else doing with their days?

Just need to work 37.5, anytime between 8am and 6pm. Generally work 8:00 til 4:00-4:30. Anytime worked on-top of this is flexi/overtime and is accrued.

Working more than 40 hours a week has no appeal.

There is a contstruction site next to my building in the CBD, just looking out the window right now and its good to see all the tradies either sitting on their butts or standing around talking.

That real work certainly looks tough.

Or do you mean real work when you clock off if it gets a bit too hot or 3 drops of rain fall on your head.

Every industry you'll have people that work longer and harder and obviously you'll get the opposite. I know tradies that do the least work they can and will finish with any excuse possible. I also know of a few bricklayers that have worked up to 60 plus days straight 12 hour days because they're more interested in the money. It's always going to vary depending on who you deal with.

8.25 - 2.45, 40 weeks a year. Longer hours when the footy season starts, couple of meetings each term, bit of work at home. Added bonus, 3 minute drive to/from work, can leave at 8.20, be home by 2.50.

Every industry you'll have people that work longer and harder and obviously you'll get the opposite. I know tradies that do the least work they can and will finish with any excuse possible. I also know of a few bricklayers that have worked up to 60 plus days straight 12 hour days because they're more interested in the money. It's always going to vary depending on who you deal with.
yeah I know, I was only half joking.

Work something of a rotating roster. With about one weekend in four, 14 hours days on Friday Saturday and Sunday.
Evenings one week.
Two weeks of days.
All up about 55 hours a week.
Paid for 45.
Professional development and study is on top of that.
Work about 6 weeks of night shift a year. 7 12 hours nights in a rite, then a week off.

Run my own business so every week is different. Worked from 6am to 11.30 this morning and charged $500. If every day was like that I'd be happy.

Monday to Friday 8am - 3.30pm for 40 weeks a year. Usually arrive at 7am and leave at 4pm though.

Is the job market really as bad as people say?

rock in just after 9, try and head home just before 5
generally get my work done in 3-4 hours but need to be there as there is a constant flow of work that comes in through the day and i have to be able to jump on anything urgent. get the flexibility to work from home when i want to, so usually do so on friday and get other stuff done around the house in my off times
been pretty cruisy but probably need to look at something worth a bit more $$$ soon

8.30-5 - Monday & Thursday

8.30-1.30 - Tuesday and Friday.

Love having the Wednesday off, breaks the week up a bit, but do notice it in the bank account.

Is the job market really as bad as people say?
Can't get work in my field and haven't been able to for the last two years, so have had to start an online postgrad course last year. Have been working in a repetitive labouring job for over a year now due to this.

However if previous posts on this thread are anything to go by, some posters need to chill out a bit because they don't realize how good they have it in their jobs compared to many others.

Midnight till 8am mon to fri then midnight to 7am on sat.
Saturday is all overtime so it's a nice boost but I only get one night off per week.

dress casually in the office which is a major A+++++++++

I worked at an accountants office a few years ago, one person wore a suit and looked professional. Everyone else was casual to sloppy - jeans, shorts, runners etc. The contrast at another job at a local council was staggering (having to be corporate all of the time).

I have not put in a regular 8-4, 9-5 or 9-6 day in years.... my hours can vary between 8-12, 8-2 8-3 (even if I only do 4 hours the money I make is practically similar to doing a 9-5 day in other industries). Since taking up a second job a few months ago it pretty much becomes a 9+ hour work day, broken up in stages. I don't need the second job for money, the second job is more to keep me busy and active (otherwise I would probably have watched the 2014 grand final 400 times by now :D).

A lot of tradies are notorious for milking billable hours doing nothing but scratching their nuts, then they end up doing a job so shit that they have to come back and finish what they started.

Nearly lost my mind dealing with the useless flogs building my house.

Can't get work in my field and haven't been able to for the last two years, so have had to start an online postgrad course last year. Have been working in a repetitive labouring job for over a year now due to this.

However if previous posts on this thread are anything to go by, some posters need to chill out a bit because they don't realize how good they have it in their jobs compared to many others.

Yeah but it sounds like there's a lot of depressed office workers here who count down every painful minute at the desk. Just as well bigfooty is here to keep em all mildly entertained all day.

Work hours can range anywhere between 7am-9:30pm Mon-Fri, and 7am-7:30pm Sat-Sun. I work a 76-hour, 9 day fortnight, with 9 hour, 25 minute shifts (eg. 7:30am-4:55pm), with two 15 minute breaks and a 30 minute lunch break (all breaks unpaid). Get paid time and a quarter on Saturdays, double time on Sundays.

Business attire Mon-Thurs, neat casual Fri-Sunday. Shorts and polos only allowed if temperature is 32 degrees plus.

I told myself it would be temporary after I finished uni, but three years later...

A lot of tradies are notorious for milking billable hours doing nothing but scratching their nuts, then they end up doing a job so shit that they have to come back and finish what they started.

Nearly lost my mind dealing with the useless flogs building my house.

From my experience tradies do a lot better job if you don't pay them until they've finished and you're happy with the job.

Plus they're a 1000 times better if you know them.

The engineering field is going to get worse before it gets better, IMO. Cuts in operations won't be as severe but there is just nothing out there in terms of design/construction jobs because commodity prices are low and there is bugger all investment going on. With so many candidates on the market companies can afford to be pretty fussy with who they hire for the few jobs that are available, too.

As stated already, there is always work out there for those who are prepared to do it/can get a start. Specific skills are great, but being generally useful is severely underrated.

What hours do you work?