What is a fair trade for Kurt Tippett?

Sydney were premiers fair and square. Nothing artificial about it.

They have probably shot themselves in the foot though as this will put a spotlight on their extra allowance and i would expect it to reduced or removed in coming years. Eddie and his president mates wont wear losing players to Sydney under these circumstances.

Adelaide don't want draft picks, they want players. A reliable defender, one you would pick every time in the first 22, to replace Doughty, would be a possibility. Grundy perhaps.
Campbell Heath has been killing it in our reserves..............................................along with 22!

That's as good as it will get for Adelaide & they know it.

I don't even know why we persist on this topic. Unless the Swans choose to be generous, you won't see us robbing our defence of a couple of goals (grundy) at the expense of gaining a couple goals from our forwards (Tippett).

These deals always get done & pick 22 is a first round pick after all. With 18 teams in the comp, that's as good as it gets! A first round pick for Tippett.

I look forward to the fun ahead.

Already getting a laugh with people putting forward Spangher and and the seagull Trent-Lane

Tippett was excellent against the Hawks in the finals. I think the Crows would want some thing substantial and and injury risk like Rohen would be ruled out. Like for like says Reid who hasn't performed to Tippett's level as yet. Thus could be reid plus?

Sydney will probably also have their cap politely given a hair cut over time I suggest - been a tad greed with other clubs money this time.

Tippett was excellent against the Hawks in the finals. I think the Crows would want some thing substantial and and injury risk like Rohen would be ruled out. Like for like says Reid who hasn't performed to Tippett's level as yet. Thus could be reid plus?
Reid is contracted until the end of 2017 - clubs don't sign commitments like that with players they intend to let go of

I reckon essendon would love to get involved if they could get smith or Parker. The issue would be if Adelaide are looking for a tall defender in pears or hooker or perhaps Leroy jetta. Draft picks would be required as well.
Sydney get tippett
Adelaide get essendon player Sydney first round essendon third round
Essendon get Parker or smith

Emma Quayle has cited a trade that's similar using pears though hooker I think is the better player

Smith is better than any player on your list!

I look forward to the fun ahead.

Already getting a laugh with people putting forward Spangher and and the seagull Trent-Lane

Sydney will probably also have their cap politely given a hair cut over time I suggest - been a tad greed with other clubs money this time.

Explain this!

So we are reigning 'artificial premiers'!

It makes a mockery of Richmond then who still couldn't make the finals after being artificially fed top 10 draft picks year after artificial year.

Mate...............when the Swans finish bottom or middle of the road year after year & are rewarded for being crap & having crap management like the Tigers & others are, then you may be a little more qualified to give your opinion on the matter.

The only teams that will make a point of complaining are the ones that know they are crap & deep down know they have no hope.

Do you honestly think we won the p'ship because of this allowance?

Watch the replay...........................you may find that we had more ticker than Hawthorn.

Nothing artificial about that!

Now you're making things up. Where did I ever say they were "artificial premiers"?
Where did I say they won the premiership because of this allowance?
Why persist with the rest of that garbage about other clubs?
As to your opinion about about who may "be qualified" to have an opinion. Get over yourself.
As to the other teams complaining...just about every supporter of every club knows it's not an even playing field. The loudest critics publicly...collingwood, meaningless, no hope?

Just try to answer this one point. Do you think by Sydney having an extra $900,000 does it help you maintain the quality of the playing list. Yes or no?
Simple question.

If it's "yes", well it gives you an advantage that other clubs don't get. As I stated it's an artificial means to prop the list up.
If its' "no" why even have it then, you'd think that Sydney would offer to decline having it. As if.

Rohan, Smith or Parker

Hmmm - Rohan is potentially damaged goods, and the others are just steak knives to add in addition to a pick 10-14.

If Rohan passed medicals, I'd think that and 22 would be okay.

Remember, when Kennedy went to WCE he wasn't a GF full forward. Judd was a brownlow medalist and the best player in the league. Is Tippett worth a GF player with huge upside? I don't think so. Tippett hasn't got any acclodes to his name.
Kennedy was pick 4 in the draft only a couple of years before. Who IS a Sydney GF player with huge upsiode? They have a great system but no players other than Reid, Jetta and maybe Johnson with any upside. And Tippett is a 200cm monster who is the second best contested mark in the league, and Sydney are making him the highest paid player in the history of their club.

Mitch Clark is a similar player and he wend for pick 12. Fevola, who was a Coleman medalist and an All Australian went for a young KPP and pick 12.
Clark had been mediocre for two years and was considered toxic, and Fevola was damaged goods - there was no way he COULD come back to Carlton.

This is what I think will happen (long and drawn out):

Swans offer first rounder, mini draft pick ...
That would be more than enough, and would never happen.

Crows to decide, end up turning it all down and Tippett goes to GCS for nothing.
Probably true.

Campbell Heath has been killing it in our reserves..............................................along with 22!

That's as good as it will get for Adelaide & they know it.

I don't even know why we persist on this topic. Unless the Swans choose to be generous, you won't see us robbing our defence of a couple of goals (grundy) at the expense of gaining a couple goals from our forwards (Tippett).

These deals always get done & pick 22 is a first round pick after all. With 18 teams in the comp, that's as good as it gets! A first round pick for Tippett.

You complete flog. You are an embarrassment to Sydney posters of middling intelligence.

22 is a 2nd round equivalent. We would give Tippett to GCS if that's all you offered to acquire the highest paid player in your history. Why would we make a competitor better to get a worthless pick? Not worth it.

You draft a Tippett equivalent at 22 and we can leave it at that.

Sydney were premiers fair and square. Nothing artificial about it.

They have probably shot themselves in the foot though as this will put a spotlight on their extra allowance and i would expect it to reduced or removed in coming years. Eddie and his president mates wont wear losing players to Sydney under these circumstances.

"Eddie & his president mates" are smarter than that. They'll know that the reason we are able to offer Tippett this money is because the smart management front ended a few contracts in order to get to the 92 or so %. Throw in the Bradshaw contract which was taken into account in the 2012 salary cap & once Eddie & mates do the sums, they'll see that we actually won the 2012 p'ship on an oily rag

Eddie also understands that it is split across our whole list & not just to get one player. Do people comprehend that?.............................. because this has been explained a number of times on here on various threads.

One name that probably hasn't been bandied around enough is Craig Bird. Much as I hate to say it (since he's one of my favourite players), he's a very good player (finished 9th in our B&F, only a couple of votes behind Jetta), but of all the Premiership players is probably the most replaceable in terms of role. Can play inside and out, defensive forward or midfield, basically wherever his opponent goes. If packaged with pick 22, would probably get the deal done.

Isn't Bird from Sydney though (or at least NSW)?
Can't see him wanting to move to Adelaide.
Otherwise that deal seems fair.

"Eddie & his president mates" are smarter than that. They'll know that the reason we are able to offer Tippett this money is because the smart management front ended a few contracts in order to get to the 92 or so %. Throw in the Bradshaw contract which was taken into account in the 2012 salary cap & once Eddie & mates do the sums, they'll see that we actually won the 2012 p'ship on an oily rag

Eddie also understands that it is split across our whole list & not just to get one player. Do people comprehend that?.............................. because this has been explained a number of times on here on various threads.

Evenly, or as a percentage on top of their contract?

OK questions to neutrals, what pick equivalent do you think tippetts worth eg pick 1, pick 97678?

given that sydney have offered him $1M per year he's obviously worth a top 10 pick. ablett & judd are the only other players earning that coin and that's what they'd be worth.

Now you're making things up. Where did I ever say they were "artificial premiers"?
Where did I say they won the premiership because of this allowance?
Why persist with the rest of that garbage about other clubs?
As to your opinion about about who may "be qualified" to have an opinion. Get over yourself.
As to the other teams complaining...just about every supporter of every club knows it's not an even playing field. The loudest critics publicly...collingwood, meaningless, no hope?

Just try to answer this one point. Do you think by Sydney having an extra $900,000 does it help you maintain the quality of the playing list. Yes or no?
Simple question.

If it's "yes", well it gives you an advantage that other clubs don't get. As I stated it's an artificial means to prop the list up.
If its' "no" why even have it then, you'd think that Sydney would offer to decline having it. As if.

Why was this not such a hot topic for the last 5 years. Why is this a hot topic now that we won a p'ship on an oily rag.

This 'advantage' was given to us in order to make a move to Sydney attractive for young players or potential recruits that wanted to make a move from their club to Sydney. Not ALWAYS to the Collingwoods, Carltons, Essendons & Richmonds.
This didn't just happen overnight out of thin air. This has been something agreed to by the other clubs.

Make no mistake, the AFL WILL remove it now because the big boys are uncomfortable with our success last week & are quite envious of the way we've done it to say the least.

There are those that admire us & what we've done & there are those that are content for us to be in the comp as long as their winning streak against us is 11 straight & as long as our record at the MCG is 1 win of the last 15 or so, but as soon as we show a little sign of success........................WHACK............................ GET BACK DOWN THERE BUOOOOOYY! YOU HAVE NO RIGHT TO BE UP HERE!

The arrogance of the whole competition is embarrassing.

As long as we have only two teams playing Anzac Day, Vic teams only travelling interstate 4 times compared to interstate teams travelling 11 times, GFs being played at the home ground of some Vic teams, one team having a 6 day break V's an 8 day break, certain Vic teams being paid millions yearly to stay alive...........so on & so forth......it's a bit rich to now complain about one of the benefits we were given because of an agreed disadvantage we have had in keeping players in a non AFL market.

Remove it if you must! Don't really give a shit. But stop feeding the clubs like North & Bulldogs that can't rub two pennies together.

given that sydney have offered him $1M per year he's obviously worth a top 10 pick. ablett & judd are the only other players earning that coin and that's what they'd be worth.

Ok, do you think he is worth it disregarding any other speculation. Just the sheer ability for one club to get him into their team

May be a bit out there but what about Ted Richards packaged with the second round pick? Richards would suit the Adelaide defence well, is at his peak value (29 year old AA and current premiership player)

Would there be value there? Even if it ended up being Richards and the first round pick it may be enough.

What is a fair trade for Kurt Tippett?