What is FREO'S midfeild??

WestCat said:
Gee you guys get fired up easy.

From hopefully a non biased opinion (don't ask me about the Eagles because that will be biased), with Pavlich playing at CHF and Longmuir at FF, the Freo talls don't look too bad. Also if this kid Murphy is as good as everyone says, then he'd be an option up forward (perhaps as a third tall initially) which would allow Longmuir to ruck more. The biggest problem is in fact small forwards, Medhurst needs to learn how to pick up the ball, and Farmer needs to be accountable for his man. In the second derby this season, Farmer let Banfield run all over the ground picking up possesions (and even kicking a goal i think) while he stood out on the flank watching. Leave McPharlin, Hadrill and Polak in the backline with Woods, Hayden and Parker. Freo do look good for next year, and the reason for their softness this year is a lack of Cook and M.Carr. Take the 2 hardest nuts out of a lot of sides and they will apear soft. Eagles supporters cannot say that they wouldn't be soft without Chick? Or Saints without Guerra and Hamill? The addition of J.Carr will add lots of in and under to Freo along with hardness at the ball. This will help player like Headland improve dramatically, as he had nobody to receive from this year.

Well that's my two cents. :D

I agree with all that, but they probably could have been harder this year even with those injured players out.

They've also got Thorton up back and he's doing pretty well, Woods and Hayden seem to be well out of form ATM, hopefully they can get there ********** together next season.

I would like to see McPharlin play up forward. Just have Polak, Thorton, Hadrill, Wood, Hayden and Parker up back.

Murphy has been good in the WAFL but didn't get a touch at AFL level so he might not be good, still have to wait and see.

Luke Webster is the most "newish" promising player IMO, if he can stay healthy then he'll add quite lot. Not sure where they'll play him though.

PowerKop said:
I got this from another footy forum, so thanks to QPower for this. It sums it up perfectly.

Docker Follies

Folks - just to underline the incompetence of the Fremantle Football Club consider these thoughts:

Freo have gone about recruiting a great midfield, largely based upon the hardwork and development skill of other clubs. Headland from Brisbane, Bell from the Kangas, Black from the Saints and now Carr from Port. I do not question that they have good midfield.

Yet when you look through their list, what they really needed to chase this trade period was a key forward, particularly with Simmonds leaving them. Who are their key forwards? Longmuir?? Give me a break. They rely on Medhurst and Farmer. Now call me simple, but doesn't everyone know that you need a big key forward who can take a catch to win finals footy? They have no one who can play this role. Polak is a deadset CHB and McPharlin a defender also.

So what we will see next year I respectfully predict is a gun midfield pumping the ball inside the Freo 50 with great regularity. I also predict the better teams will repel these entries with relative ease. This time next year Chris Connolly will come to the startling revelation that he needs a key forward. So, what will he do?. Right again, he will try and poach one from a rival club. Development is a dirty word at the Dockers.

I am sure glad we tied Damon White up for two years. If the Frockers had any brains they would hae chased him as heir first priority this year.

Possible freo forward line for 2005

Pavlich
McPharlin
Longmuir
Medhurst
Farmer

Not bad IMO.

McPharlin played one game up forward this season before he got injured and kicked 3 from 3. He's got plenty of potential as a forward.

Dockers backline will probably read like this

Polak
Parker
Thorton
Hadrill
Hayden
Woods

And then you have the players that can run through midfield

M.Carr
J.Carr
Bell
McManus
Headland
Walker
Hasleby
Shammer
H.Black
Cook
Webster
A.Brown

They've got a good list, they just have to start playing.

ThePope said:
And as for Lion... I'm sorry, but anyone who follows Freo/Eagles can't be taken seriously.

LOL

Oh well done mate, now we're supposed to take someone seriously which says something like that.

Never seen anyone do such a good job of making a statement and then totally discrediting themselves at the end. Good job.

Milenko, you are a ****en ****, i have been talking of freo the entire time i rate WCE a lot and have always enjoyed watching their exciting brand of footy. Not to mention seeing my cousin play every week and get the most prized possesion at the end of the season.

Please do not question me.

Saintsation23 said:
Win a final freo and stop making excuses!!

Win a premiership Saints and stop making excuses.

Freo have only been in the comp for a very short time, saints what 120 years or so and 1 premiership. Your record is so impressive i'm so jealous.

Great ratio.

Damn Saints have one good year and supporters like yourself just can't get enough. You guys play well at T-D and won 1 final and lost the other. Get a grip man. It's a start sure, but it could be another 50 years before you win a premiership.

Saintsation23 said:
Milenko, you are a ****en ****, i have been talking of freo the entire time i rate WCE a lot and have always enjoyed watching their exciting brand of footy. Not to mention seeing my cousin play every week and get the most prized possesion at the end of the season.

Please do not question me.

Saint's haven't won a AFL premiership either, they've won a VFL premiership, what 1 in about 120 years.

South Fremantle have won plenty of Premierships in the WAFL and have only been in the AFL for a short time.

So if i was you i would kinda of keep quite of that if you want to save face, otherwise i might have to bring out the stats on both teams history and you don't want that.

Lion said:
Saint's haven't won a AFL premiership either, they've won a VFL premiership, what 1 in about 120 years.

South Fremantle have won plenty of Premierships in the WAFL and have only been in the AFL for a short time.

So if i was you i would kinda of keep quite of that if you want to save face, otherwise i might have to bring out the stats on both teams history and you don't want that.
No please bring out the stats buddy boy. There is only one team with a worse win loss ratio than the Saints and that's the mighty purple boys.

For our first 100 years there was no such thing as draft picks so it is impossible to compare to your history.
But if we compare the last ten years no team has had more top picks than your team and what do you have to show for them. One final??? Imagine how good Freo would have gone when there were no draft picks??? Even the Saints have managed a grand final appearance since your mighty team have been around.

Keep on spouting buddy boy.

Tony_Clifton said:
I don't think you want to go down the draft picks road.
Saying that the saints have a better premiership ratio than freo shows a lack of mathematics comprehension.
No just compare draft picks since your team has been in the competition bozo. Who said anything about premiership ratios??? For your benefit you can't divide by Zero!

bangko-bangko said:
No please bring out the stats buddy boy. There is only one team with a worse win loss ratio than the Saints and that's the mighty purple boys.

For our first 100 years there was no such thing as draft picks so it is impossible to compare to your history.
But if we compare the last ten years no team has had more top picks than your team and what do you have to show for them. One final??? Imagine how good Freo would have gone when there were no draft picks??? Even the Saints have managed a grand final appearance since your mighty team have been around.

Keep on spouting buddy boy.

Saints have won 1 Premiership in the VFL (not AFL).

South Fremantle (now the dockers) record:

Premierships: SENIORS 1916-17, 1947-48, 1950, 1952-53-54, 1970, 1980, 1997 (11 total) RESERVES (from 1958) 1985-6, 1991-2, (4 total) COLTS (from 1958) 1970, 1982-3-4-5, 2002-3 (7 total) OTHER PREMIERSHIPS - R.P. Rodriguez Shield: 1983-4, 1992, (3 total)

Anything else young lad.

Port fans got into enough trouble going down that road Lion... and officially they are the same team (go back over the posts around GF time to see the whole story). Freo and South Freo have no official links other than sharing a training ground. I'm a lifelong Bulldogs supporter and Dockers supporter from day 1, and we have no right to claim South's premierships any more than we can claim East Freos or the original Fremantle Football Clubs premierships from the 1890s. What we can claim is a link to the Freo football heritage, nothing more, nothing less.
It's better just to ignore the trolls.

Rd 2 is the only thing that matters in the Freo vs Saints comparison.

You really are clever buddy boy.

Some real facts for you:

VFL/AFL Summary
covering every game, by St Kilda from 1995
Overall Record Played Won Lost Drawn Win%
228 97 129 2 42.5%
VFL/AFL Summary
covering every game, by Fremantle from 1995
221 81 140 0 36.7%

PS The 7 additional games=, they would be finals!

bangko-bangko said:
You really are clever buddy boy.

Some real facts for you:

VFL/AFL Summary
covering every game, by St Kilda from 1995
228 97 129 2 42.5%
VFL/AFL Summary
covering every game, by Fremantle from 1995
221 81 140 0 36.7%

PS The 7 additional games=, they would be finals!

No doubt we havn't been very good , but heres the head to head stat.
Played Fremantle St Kilda Drawn Win% First Last
13 7 6 0 53.8% 1995 2004

And that is flattered by the Saints winning the last 2 narrowly.
;)

RIPPER_46 said:
No doubt we havn't been very good , but heres the head to head stat.
Played Fremantle St Kilda Drawn Win% First Last
13 7 6 0 53.8% 1995 2004

;)
Fair point. But how is it flattered by us winning the last two?? Do only Freo wins count?

Anyway I'm sure by round 10 of the Ali-Frazier fight the numbers will be much more flattering for the saints.

Ps. Wasn't Ali knocked out in that fight?

RIPPER_46 said:
;)

The last game was a good contest but the Saints smashed us at Subi, saints took there foot off the pedal in the last Q, i think that margin was very flattering to the dockers because they got smashed.

Second game was awesome, freo could have won that game at T-D which really shows they're ready to take it to top 8 sides interstate. Probably the dockers best travelling performance even though they lost, they showed a lot of hardness which they've been lacking. Things can now only improve with M.Carr, J,Carr and Black in the side.

It's fair 2 say u saint ppl and docker ppl should get over this bitchy little argument, u both have awesome young midfields.
- Freo are more pacy
- Saints are better in and under
With both midfields being quite young

And watch out 4 daniel mcconnell at west coast this year, as he's a real talent and has bulked up 2.

All I’ve got out of most of this carp is hints on how to SMS quicker.

Remember the old adage, “Never work with children or animals”?

Come on Moo, Pontiff and Co – you’re above flying the purple flag on school holidays.

What is FREO'S midfeild??