Grand Uncle Horace
Shake down the thunder
All of us watch the game we love and savour team efforts. Undeniably though we are entranced by those short periods when one player catches fire and is completely unstoppable.
There are heaps of examples I recall.
*Carlton’s Peter Bosustow turning the game in the 4th quarter with improbable speckies and goals,
*ditto Snake Baker (NM) would catch fire in short bursts in Finals,
*Phil Carman could turn on mercurial bursts as could Peter Matera, Juddy, Peter Daicos,
*Richo and Dusty for the Tigs and GAsnr have had bursts when it seemed like they were the only player on the ground,
*Sometimes it was a more obscure player turning it on - sorry Hawks but Ben Ronke springs to mind.
Unhappily I can’t find the vision, but my all time favourite crazy 5 minute burst was from John Pitura playing for South against Geelong in the 70s. During this burst there were three centre bounces, Pitura won each clearance and weaved his way through heavy traffic to dob 3 successive long range goals. Aside from the Umps and ruckman of either side, no-one else touched the footy for five minutes. Though it took five minutes allowing for the footy to be returned to the centre, there was probably under a minute of actual game time.
I reckon that Pitura burst (and a damned good season as well) was what persuaded the Tigers into what became a famously bad trade. (Lol, I confess when it happened I thought South had been dudded!).
So what is your favourite five minute burst of sheer unstoppable brilliance from an individual player?
There are heaps of examples I recall.
*Carlton’s Peter Bosustow turning the game in the 4th quarter with improbable speckies and goals,
*ditto Snake Baker (NM) would catch fire in short bursts in Finals,
*Phil Carman could turn on mercurial bursts as could Peter Matera, Juddy, Peter Daicos,
*Richo and Dusty for the Tigs and GAsnr have had bursts when it seemed like they were the only player on the ground,
*Sometimes it was a more obscure player turning it on - sorry Hawks but Ben Ronke springs to mind.
Unhappily I can’t find the vision, but my all time favourite crazy 5 minute burst was from John Pitura playing for South against Geelong in the 70s. During this burst there were three centre bounces, Pitura won each clearance and weaved his way through heavy traffic to dob 3 successive long range goals. Aside from the Umps and ruckman of either side, no-one else touched the footy for five minutes. Though it took five minutes allowing for the footy to be returned to the centre, there was probably under a minute of actual game time.
I reckon that Pitura burst (and a damned good season as well) was what persuaded the Tigers into what became a famously bad trade. (Lol, I confess when it happened I thought South had been dudded!).
So what is your favourite five minute burst of sheer unstoppable brilliance from an individual player?