What was daily life like in the 80s/90s/00s?

Violet Crumbles or Crunchie Bars?

Violet Crumbles, they had real honeycomb in them and tasted better.

I don't know what Crunchie Bars had in them but it wasn't real honeycomb.

Timezone's and their lock-ins were awesome. Great times.

Magic Mountain was the **** as well. People may have laughed at it looking like a dinosaur turd, but for a kid growing up in the late 80s/90s in Adelaide, that place was like heaven.

South Road Timezone used to do lock ins where you'd pay $20, all games were on freeplay midnight to 0600hrs and we'd spend hours playing that.

Only ever got to go to the morning 2 hour super sessions (10-12). Still fun, I enjoyed when my secondary local TZ upgraded to include laser tag (even though I had longggg since stopped going I was still sad at seeing them shrink the size of the building, years later).

Also 80s/90s, seeing my main local shopping centre as it is now... when back in the late 80s/early 90s it was like 1 Safeway and Target - less than 1/4 of how big it is today!

I miss how easy it was to arrange a neighbourhood game of footy or a driveway (or quiet street) cricket match. Of course the Jordan era everyone wanted to play basketball anyway anywhere they could.

Also Bmx-ing it up around the streets, parks and our school had a good layout for bike shenanigans.

Magic Mountain was the **** as well. People may have laughed at it looking like a dinosaur turd, but for a kid growing up in the late 80s/90s in Adelaide, that place was like heaven.
My mate was playing Tron at the Academy Cinema City when some perv reached in the booth and touched him up.

Violet Crumbles, they had real honeycomb in them and tasted better.

I don't know what Crunchie Bars had in them but it wasn't real honeycomb.
I could never tell the difference, not enough that it made an issue or could tell you which was better.

Probably just happy mum/dad let me have one

On CPH2005 using BigFooty.com mobile app

I enjoyed growing up in the 80's, Canberra only had two TV stations back in the 80's, so I didn't watch a lot of television, generally about an hour a night if and something decent was on (The A-Team, Bring 'Em Back Alive or Magnum PI) and maybe a few hours on the weekend, but mostly, I preferred to be outside playing sport with the neighbours kids, or for various local clubs. I played 100 different sports, had a racing bike and would go for rides with my friends to nearby towns, go mountain climbing with my father or my friends, pretty much any activity I could do outdoors I would do.

Things changed a little around 1983/84 when my father bought a VHS video recorder, we would go to the local video store and rent a movie for after mums Saturday night roast, and I was never all that fond of arcade games because we had one of these at home:
vic20.2.png

and I had a few of these:
90349bd2bb25c9c9ec4f2b49cd761bab.jpg

My love of music goes back to late 70's and on my 12th birthday my parents bought me one of these:
tiki-download_file.php

I had about 20-25 cassettes that I would play when I was doing my homework, and I would put on a cassette or the local radio at night to help me sleep.

Life was fairly simple for a kid back in the 80's, God I miss it. :(

I could never tell the difference, not enough that it made an issue or could tell you which was better.

Probably just happy mum/dad let me have one

I wouldn't knock back a Crunchie if I was offered one but if I had a choice between the two I would pick a Violet Crumble

Pretty much any chocolate bar was good when you were a kid, the only thing I didn't like was dark chocolate so I wasn't a fan of Cherry Ripes.

I wouldn't knock back a Crunchie if I was offered one but if I had a choice between the two I would pick a Violet Crumble

Pretty much any chocolate bar was good when you were a kid, they only thing I didn't like was dark chocolate so I wasn't a fan of Cherry Ripes.
Box of roses was a gift we'd give mum for mother's Day, used to love going through the flavours to pick the one I want.

I know they're still around but haven't had one in over 20 years I reckon.

Only remembered this today. Kid across the road had a pet ferret, we would take our dog down the track to the bush and he bring the ferret. Find what looked like rabbit holes and he would put the ferret down the hole and we would wait for the dog to chase a rabbit if one came out of another hole in the ground. More often than not it was late in evening like now so sometimes it would get dark and have to worry if the dog ran too far away chasing a rabbit we may not find him. Obviously we still found him but you could get lost in thick bush at night if stayed out too long.

Box of roses was a gift we'd give mum for mother's Day, used to love going through the flavours to pick the one I want.

I know they're still around but haven't had one in over 20 years I reckon.

They used to have ads for Roses Chocolates in the 80s but you don't see them anymore so they wouldn't be as popular now as they were back then.

Only remembered this today. Kid across the road had a pet ferret, we would take our dog down the track to the bush and he bring the ferret. Find what looked like rabbit holes and he would put the ferret down the hole and we would wait for the dog to chase a rabbit if one came out of another hole in the ground. More often than not it was late in evening like now so sometimes it would get dark and have to worry if the dog ran too far away chasing a rabbit we may not find him. Obviously we still found him but you could get lost in thick bush at night if stayed out too long.

A kid from our primary school had a pet ferret too that he brought into class for show and tell, you had to be careful with them as they could bite you.

They used to have ads for Roses Chocolates in the 80s but you don't see them anymore so they wouldn't be as popular now as they were back then.

A kid from our primary school had a pet ferret too that he brought into class for show and tell, you had to be careful with them as they could bite you.
Basically only Cadbury favorites these days

I was literally humming that Roses ad in my head before when I read the first post about them. That’s ****n freakish. Yeah doubt that run with that campaign now. 😂

loved the bumper boats at MM, used to go to the gaming place about 100m down the foreshore by the old Ferris wheel, wasn't as crowded.

I enjoyed growing up in the 80's, Canberra only had two TV stations back in the 80's, so I didn't watch a lot of television, generally about an hour a night if and something decent was on (The A-Team, Bring 'Em Back Alive or Magnum PI) and maybe a few hours on the weekend, but mostly, I preferred to be outside playing sport with the neighbours kids, or for various local clubs. I played 100 different sports, had a racing bike and would go for rides with my friends to nearby towns, go mountain climbing with my father or my friends, pretty much any activity I could do outdoors I would do.

Things changed a little around 1983/84 when my father bought a VHS video recorder, we would go to the local video store and rent a movie for after mums Saturday night roast, and I was never all that fond of arcade games because we had one of these at home:
vic20.2.png

and I had a few of these:
90349bd2bb25c9c9ec4f2b49cd761bab.jpg

My love of music goes back to late 70's and on my 12th birthday my parents bought me one of these:
tiki-download_file.php

I had about 20-25 cassettes that I would play when I was doing my homework, and I would put on a cassette or the local radio at night to help me sleep.

Life was fairly simple for a kid back in the 80's, God I miss it. :(
aadb74bc-c999-4c01-9037-6402524d5bf5.jpg

i had one of these in blue, made life easier for dubbing tapes and recording off the radio, thinking about it, i think it's still in the shed at mum's

View attachment 1607253

i had one of these in blue, made life easier for dubbing tapes and recording off the radio, thinking about it, i think it's still in the shed at mum's
I bought one of those about 7/8 years later shortly after starting my first job.

fc0fb400-6b7c-4614-a5df-a4fd81989b16

Roses still exist. Seen them around. Just different size of box now.

Yeah i know, said that in my original post - ii just havent had them in about 20 years and from my experience you rarely see them given as a gift if ever (cadbury favorites etc these days)

Family member is a swimming instructor and gets a shit load of chocolates at the end of the year from the kids he teaches, he never gets roses chocolates

The car park down from magic Mountain, next to the old type carnival games, was a car cruise Saturday night location.

you could see the ocean on ANZAC Hwy

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
they had a great hot dog van in that carpark

We were the Just Say No generation, cheers Nancy, miserable failure btw. Despite being the generation that bought us the sixties, a lot of our parents had a lot more in common with their parent's attitude towards drugs than any hippie ideal. The idea of legal weed in the 80s was unthinkable.

Your Cathlolic Mum telling you off because your girlfriend stayed overnight in your room.
My Catholic Mum was in literal tears when she twigged I'd been sexing.

I was 21, had been out of home for 4 years and was living interstate!

And the old man ended up in the shit by proxy: "Why did you even ask him then if you didn't want to know the answer!?"

The shit that woman would find to clutch her pearls over. I had no interest whatsoever in playing Dungeons and Dragons at school until Ma came home from some church group and, in true Nancy Reagan style, decreed it "evil and forbidden!!" So naturally my response was "Hey, maybe those nerds are onto something?" Only reason I even tried was because I was told not to.

What was daily life like in the 80s/90s/00s?