What were you doing.....

*Danni*

Mar 18, 2002
5 years ago ?

At this time 5 years ago I was at the Gabba, barefoot, on the grass.

I got up about 7.30 on the Friday morning, I was already in Melbourne by that day. On the Friday night, Lady Lawrence and I decided to have a glass of wine at the hotel bar to calm our nerves. 2 and a half bottles later we were about the last people wandering around in the hotel lobby except for staff. It was some ungodly hour of the morning. We went out seperate ways and after only a couple of hours sleep met up again for the big day. No sleep on the Saturday night, plane flights home on the Sunday and having consumed goodness only knows how much booze, add in the plane trip, and my feet no longer fitted my shoes. So, when we got the Gabba for the welcome home to the team, I went barefoot on the lovely cool grass.

Only a couple of hours sleep between Friday morning and when I finally went to bed just before midnight Sunday night. I was shattered.

Crikey that was a great weekend!

Went down on a bus with my Dad on the Friday:eek:...Unimaginable these days, I think we couldn't get a plane ticket. Went out after the GF with some band guys I knew down there. Drunk so much, spelt in, missed the bus my Dad was on the next day and had to do the 20 hour trip on my own.:D Great weekend, nightmare Sunday night.

we drove down.Stayed with family.We all went to the parade,the game.
By Sunday we were driving back, regaling stories of the day.

The best part, was afterwards.They had a big shindig at Windy Hill. We drove past it about 10 times, windows down, scarves out, speakers blaring the Lions song.One time, was when some players were arriveing, and walking across to go into the ground.They glared, it was funny stuff.

5 years ago! I was 12... I watched the game the day before by myself, on the couch, at home... My story is boring. Next year is the end of that I can finally go out for the Grannie!

We had booked our accommodation and airfares with Virgin about June. Many
of our friends had booked with Ansett and then had to go scrambling for alternatives after their collapse.
After the parade on Friday we spent the next many hours in Cafes and Pubs, amazed at the goodwill everyone was exhiibiting towards us.
Immersed ourselves in the whole MCG experience before the game and behaved like joyous idiots after.
With much drinking and celebrating, we were surprised at the graciousness of many of the Essendon fans. At one stage we got on a packed tram and the whole tram sang the Lions song, then the Essendon song, the Richmond, Calrton ...... you get the picture. I love Melbourne
Went to dinner at Lygon Street and even the flashy young men in the gold jewellery and draped over their fancy sportscars wanted to talk to us about the game. They seemed amazed that we had actually flown there (it was September 2001.)
Sunday we spent at Junction Oval, amd I will never forget Kevin Murray sitting there, surrounded by fans, beautiful smile on his face, and Brownlow Medal around his neck.

We could not get to Melbourne so a bunch of us met at the rather trashy Muddy Farmer on Ipswich Road. My memories are that the first 1/4 was the fastest in history. I was so engrossed. The next thing I knew the full time siren sang the greatest sound I had heard and Lynchy held the ball up in that now famous victory pose. The pub erupted and we had a celebration conga. After that who knows as it was a drunken celebration into a long long night. How good was that:).

OK, I had booked on Ansett, then something in my guts said they were going to fold, so I booked a second flight on Virgin. That was good decision #1.

I then was reading the classifieds in the Herald Sun and saw a tiny add asking if you wanted to see the GF. I rang and found out that due to the demise of Ansett, a heap of GF Packages were returned by West Aussies. I picked up a GF ticket and a ticket to the Lions Dinner on the Friday night for $220-00. That was good decision #2.

Got to Melbourne on the Friday morning, went to the parade and final training. I was blown away. It seemed like the whole of Victoria except to Essendon supporters were behind us. I decided then that I was not going to sleep until I got home. Good decision (sort of) # 3.

Went to the G very early on GF day, met my best mate who had gotten off the Lions Bus Express late Friday. Enetered the 'G and found out they were giving away GF stubby coolers, as long as you drank 4 beers. We drank the 8 beers and got a cooler each. Good decision # 4.

Sat next to a couple of elderly Lions fans, right in the middle of about 2000 Bomber fans, and about 3 metres from the Bombers coaching box. I savioured every moment of the first half, but kept relatively quiet. Good decision # 5.

Went to the TAB at half time. We were paying $3-00. I decided to plonk a lazy $50 on them. I have no idea why I was so confident. Certainly this was good decision # 6.

Second half, I went beserk. (Bad decision #1) I seriously loved every second of it. The Bomber fans were a little intimidating, but who gives a stuff. The two elderly Lions ladies were telling me to give it to the Bombers fans. How could I say no to these ladies, they had told me that they had followed the Lions since 1950. We were all having a ball. Good decision #7.

Went to Rod Laver Arena. Got a great seat with my best mate. Sang some Spanish sounding songs to a band that were generally crap. I just kept sing "We are the Pride of Brisbane town......" Good decision # 8

Said goodbye to my mate who had to get back on the bus. Got on a tram myself which was in an accident on Flinders Street (could have been bad decision #2) but lucky for me, I was to be the second off the tram (good decision # 9) and luckier for the lady from Brisbane, the drunk in the car missed her by no more than 1 metre. It took us an hour to get through police reports etc. I had sobered up, but I was on my no sleep vow. A couple of other guys at the tram decided we would hit the Casino. About to be good decision #10

Went into the Crown. Had $20-00, in my poket, I decided I could try to find the TAB to collect the GF winning, of I could make some money out of the $20-00. I put $5-00 on Red 3, and $5-00 on Black 20. Red 3 comes up, Vossey had been looking after me all weekend I guessed. I put the next $10 on the next roll, adding 32 to my 20 bet, and the $5 was still on 3. Black 20 saluted (why wouldn't it). I now had $350-00 in my pocket, and ready to party.

Drank until the early minutes of the morning. My head was hurting. I was wondering why I had booked a hotel when I really could have hired a locker for 3 days (bad decsion #3, but heck the Casino God's had been kind!!). We saw the Scott boys in the Casino, they were drunkerer than me. We had one with Chris.

Went to Brinswick Street Oval. Awesome decision #1. Was there very early, and OK, I fell asleep on the tram. The driver came over and told me that it was my stop. He also gave me a high five and said "Go Lions". Brinswick Street was awesome. Loved every second of it.

On my waqy back to town to go home, dropped in at the Herald Sun Shop and bought 25 Weg Posters. Old Bill Green was there and got him to sign half a dozen. Good decision # 12 or so I think.

Anyway. I only watched that 2001 GF on DVD about a month ago. That honestly was the best weekend I have ever had, unless my wife ever reads this post and then it is the second best weekend after our wedding:eek: .

I remember listening to the radio in the first half being in the car

I got home just after half time - i was optimistic but nervous

I remember being glued to the TV watching alone at home wishing I was there

I dont remember much of the game for some reason although I do remember when Harty and Hird collided and Harty's helment rolled off looking as if his head got dicapitated. That was scary!!

I remember the final siren and the look on Lynchy's face with that pose - was priceless and could not have a more fititng person to have the ball on sirens end

I would give a cheer everytime the announcer would say the name of the next player to get his medaliaon. My friend best who was a Crows fan had told me that there is no finer moment as a supporter when your favorite player get a chance to accept his medalion - I had no idea how right she would be when it was Lynchy's turn. God I never cried like that - as the Hunters and Collectors song goes it was true tears of joy.

I remember Vossy cry of YOU LITTLE BEAUTY! when he finished his speech.

I remember the cup being presented and the victory lap afterwards

I remember drivng my family insane as I kept alternating between sinigng our club song and 'The Holy Grail.

I remember not being able to sleep, having my raido on and belting every song as if the final siren had just gone then.

Luckily my brother and I booked with QANTAS for the flight down. He had promised to take me to the grand final for my birthday in August so it's lucky how it all worked out.

What I remember about the day is the heat, the fact that we probably had the worst seats in the stadium sitting directly behind the goal posts on the top tier except for the row behind us, that sequence of play where we took the ball all the way down the wing from defence for a shot on goal, Brad Scott shutting down Hird, Harty's courage, worrying at half-time but thinking it was destiny that we'd get up, Vossy's wobbly sealer, singing the song to the Essendon fans who started walking out before the end of the game, singing the old Bears song after we heard some guys singing the old Fitzroy song.

Fantastic day. Then there's the bus trip down of 2003 and catching a tram with Aaron Keating after the game. But that's for another thread, I suppose.

I was almost 21 and full of life the 2001 Grand Final Victory we had did some strange things to me After watching my Second love win their very first flag at the Mcg I went Lions mad I had celebrations for my 21 for a whole week!!!.The family knew of my happiness and started giving me everything Lions as gifts T-shirts, Shirts, hats, beanies, a signed and framed lions jersey a lions doona cover, mugs, beer mugs, a singing lions bear (it sung the teams theme song) A lions clock a lions scarf, 3 lion stubby holders and the 2001 lion premiers dvd and Several Lions keyrings a lions watch and my dying Grand father gave me a 2002 membership(I still have my membership card from that year) It started to get funny when my friends started buying the same things ie I ended up getting 3 of the same premiers Tshirt (which really came in handy) and heaps of Lions beer mugs I have 8 in total.

I loved that week although it looked like I had an obession with the lions with all the gear I got which I still have to this day That whole week I dont think I was sober we had a party every night of the week. If you are wondering why did everyone buy me Lions gifts for a 21st present well They all saw how keen I was about the Lions getting into the grand final and thought if They win Im buying Lions stuff for him and considering they all asked me "What do you want for your birthday"?and I said anything to do with the lions and I will be happy I didnt think they would have all got me Lions gear but meh It made my day. What I did and only wanted for my 21st Bday was to witness my team win the Premiership and I got my wish and would have been content with only that to.It was the best year I've had in ages the following year I was diagnosed with Cancer and in 2001 they announced to me that it had been successfully removed and I was going to be ok.

What were you doing.....