Prediction What will become of big Tommy Boyd?

How will his career play out?

Playing ft fwd with our delivery may well have even broken Carey's confidence.

Happy for Boyd to play ruck, at least until he shoes some sign of marking confidence, competencd and intemsity.

Unfortunately 200cm blokes who can't take a mark don't tend to get new contracts..

Ayce Cordy?

Got 3 contracts I think ;)

Hmm, I reckon Tommy Boyd needs to show it by the second half of this year if he is going to be a big player.

I can definitely see him tandeming with English. Boyd as primary forward / secondary ruck.

Just have to keep being patient. His 2016 finals were not a fluke, the guy was a consensus number 1 pick and he starred on September for a team that won the flag.

He would need to be broken beyond belief for us to get rid of him.

Pretty confident that was the most unpopular post in the history of BigFooty KH. Thanks for reminding me. :)

Sadly, it’s true however. Beveridge is not a big fan. We were close to having a deal with Carlton for the weitering pick.

As for my opinion, I’d be surprised if Tom sees out his contract with us.
Interested in your thoughts on this because Bevo seems to be highly rated for his people skills but he has a potential conflict here if ultimately he doesn’t ‘rate’ the player. Any insight into if that has affected how he’s been developed?

At face value I would think it couldn’t help because the coach may not be buying into the importance of developing him when actually we have to given how much the club has invested in him (whether you agree with the original investment decision or not as otherwise you’re just cutting off your nose to spite your face). If club and coach are not on same page on this point then you’re almost at a point where someone has to be pulled into line or someone has to go.

I really would like to see him just be given a bulk of games to play as a key forward. He played his first few games with us down there, but since then has been moved back and forward between that and the ruck. I genuinely think it hurt his development a bit. I can't see it changing though.
The few games where he played mostly ruck if Roughy went down with an injury or something, he has covered the ground really well, and has been able to keep going the whole game. So i'm not sure about when people question his tank. I reckon he's fine in that area.

The niggling injuries have also been an annoying factor. Gets going then has a couple of weeks out with an injury.

His mental health is what i'm most worried about. It just makes me sad seeing the amount of shit he cops, from the media, opposition fans, and even our own supporters. A lot of it before he even played a game with us. No one, at such a young age, should have to put up with the shit he has had to. So I wasn't terribly surprised he had to miss a lot of footy due to his mental health last season. And I wouldn't be surprised if at some stage he had to miss some more. Because people just constantly hound him. He gets dropped, people give him shit. Goes and plays in the VFL, you have w***ers on the fence giving him shit all game. Comes back to the AFL, people give him shit for having to spend some time in the VFL. This has been from the ages of 19-22, a time when nearly every young tall is given leeway with the consistency of their performance. The amount of money he makes doesn't mean he is more equipped to deal with outside abuse, nor does it mean he's going to fast track to superstardom. Blame the club if you want to blame someone for the money, not Tom. And even if people deny it, that is absolutely the underlying cause for any and all abuse he cops. The money. Which is bullshit.

Does need to get better at marking, and i'd love us to hire a proper key forward coach, and let Tom actually play as a key forward for a while, to see if he can get some good footy going playing there. Even if he's playing average, it's a lot ******* better than what we have there at the moment. Which is literally nothing. I just want to see him get given the chance.
End thread. Couldn't have said it better myself.

Here we are, a team screaming out for a key forward and we've got one we won't play there..
Sadly, he hasn't spent enough time there for us. If the season is shot, we might as well just play him there.

Unfornately if you want to play full forward in this team, you also need to be a good half back Lol....honestly if Bevo wants to take the chance to build the team up a bit before we contend again then he needs to give Tom a go at full forward for at least half a season. He did it in 2015 and in my opinion worked okay.

Pretty confident that was the most unpopular post in the history of BigFooty KH. Thanks for reminding me. :)

Sadly, it’s true however. Beveridge is not a big fan. We were close to having a deal with Carlton for the weitering pick.

As for my opinion, I’d be surprised if Tom sees out his contract with us.
Given this must have been in 2015 if we're talking about the Weitering pick, do you know if opinions on him changed at all after 2016? (And have perhaps regressed back since?)

From all accounts, Tom is a very intelligent man. With his time off for depression, there's every chance that he has undergone some type of existentialist dilemma. It's only footy, after all. What happens if you decide, one day, that you don't really love it all that much? Is it worth the constant scrutiny, the relentless pressure and the negative comments? He is a man that is very good at playing a game, but he surely has many other dimensions. Yes, he gets paid well. But so what? Money and fame doesn't shield a person from being miserable - in fact, it may well be a contributing factor at times.

In my mind, there's no doubt that Tom is a fantastic talent. As others have pointed out, he was the unanimous number one pick in his draft year, and for good reason. And you just don't fluke a match winning performance on the biggest stage and on the biggest day of the AFL calendar. We would all love Tom to replicate that form every week, to fulfil his undoubted potential and to have a long and illustrious career in Doggy colours. But it is not about the salivating fans. We are irrelevant, and I mean that nicely. It's about Tom - the man, not the footballer. It's about life decisions that we all make. If Tom truly does have the hunger and desire to be a Bulldogs star, then that's awesome for him and for us. If he would rather find inspiration and meaning doing something else, then that's awesome for him...there is no us. And whilst we will be disappointed, I'm just hoping for a fantastic outcome for Tom. With or without footy.

Given this must have been in 2015 if we're talking about the Weitering pick, do you know if opinions on him changed at all after 2016? (And have perhaps regressed back since?)

No idea sorry. Dalrymple thought weitering was God’s gift to football.

Yes Boyd can be slow on the lead and not the best at reading the forward play yet...

He draws a big defender, creates a contest, brings the ball to ground, potential to earn a free.

I see him deep forward / ruck. I still have faith he can turn it around

FFS Bevos rubbish got us a flag against all odds. Yes its grim at the moment but have some faith.
I am not so sure the 2016 model involved playing players radically out of position - with the exceptions of Boyd & Cordy (both of which because we lacked depth in their assumed positions). By and large all other players played in the positions they had shown skill in. Bont wasn't at FF, Wood wasn't at HFF etc etc

A perfect world for the future would be English first ruck, Schache CHF and Boyd FF. Unfortunately that seems very against Bevos game plan/structure.

I would love to see jonathan brown, wayne carey or dermott brereton get hired to work with Toyd. Both from a specialist coaching and mental point of view.

They were all specialists at the chf position with massive swagger, and who had flogs having a go at them at all times.

It may just help to unleash the beast.

Cmon Toyd - unleash!

I would love to see jonathan brown, wayne carey or dermott brereton get hired to work with Toyd. Both from a specialist coaching and mental point of view.

They were all specialists at the chf position with massive swagger, and who had flogs having a go at them at all times.

It may just help to unleash the beast.

Cmon Toyd - unleash!

Id like to see him working with Big Bazza Hall and just have him go around throwing hooks at every campaigner

Boyd is a flake. For a guy who was touted as a big, powerful key-forward, he sure doesn't play like a big, powerful key-forward. He just doesn't have the aggression, the attitude or the swagger. He's exactly like Justin Koschitzke.

I'm glad you woke up from that coma you were in in Sept/Oct 2016 :)

Prediction What will become of big Tommy Boyd?