What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

caveman said:
The Flat will be ready to pounce if the Bloods only field reserves players! :D

Interesting to read about who will field who in the lightning premiership. I would've thought that if there is prizemoney up for grabs then clubs would be having a real go at it. Especially if clubs are spending a fair amount on recruits then it would not only be a good opportunity to win the $$ but to also get some match fitness. Or are they keeping their 'weapon's' for the main season?

DEKKA listed in 2005 grand final program as 35 but we know to add 4 years onto that, Gareth.
He was skipper of the Maine when they won the flag in 1992.:D

Sorry for the late post, but the difference in standard whilst want mean much during the pre-season, echuca and rochy play in a division 1 comp, whilst bendigo is now division 3... Whilst a bloke like Nick Knight was a handy player in the GVFL, look out for him in the BDFL- young quick and skillfull! Forget all these names coming into the leuge from charlton, white hills or wherever, souths recruting of Knight is as big as any
user_online.gif

im sure that he may be quick, young and skillful, but to disregard there other recruits is utter rubbish. bloke thats come to south by the name of rick coburn is a terrific player. he's in a different mould, one of those blokes who doesnt hang back, who will put his head over the ball and do the tough stuff so that blokes like this quick young and skillful nick knight can get the ball out in the wide open spaces where im sure he likes it

Welcome to all the new people who have joined the website that I STARTED a few months ago. I look forward to hearing what you have to report over the coming months on the BFL. And Gareth, I have just loaded up on Burgoyne for the boundary. He is presently at $77 with one betting agency, so I can't go wrong. My suspension has been lifted and I'm now back.

Good to hear Pickles.
If Burgoyne gets up I'll expect a slab of West End Draught in the mail.

My SANFL team the Port Adelaide Magpies were chasing Mark Alvey. I think he was from Bendigo before he played AFL. He knocked back Port Adelaide to play country footy. Is he back in Bendigo????

i heard a slight rumour that along with mark rees from castlemaine signing with south bendigo is the story that leigh rees has been training and may also attempt to cross over to the bloods.

as for alvey he has signed with your club in question but has gone missing in adelaide due to the fact he told them quote, "he had cricket finals to play in bendigo"

Picklesmeoldmate said:
With Pete Lenaghan now out of town and working up in Darwin, just wondering if anyone has any ideas about who may host the BFL shows on Triple C this year. Pete was a wonderful commentator I felt and a great bloke. To me, waiting for the announcement of Pete's replacement is like waiting to see who will take over from Eddie McGuire on the Footy Show, that's how big a decision this is for Triple C. My preference would be to see Richard Jones step up and take more of an active on-air role. To me, Richard is a very knowledgable when it comes to the BFL and has obviously been around the league for a very long time. I could see him stepping up and doing a fantastic job in the important anchor role this year. What do some of you other people out there think about who Pete's replacement might be. What do you reckon Jock Clark 2, you seem to know a fair bit about what's going on out there.

Yer Pickles Old Bud Dicky Jones would be alright lets just hope that rambling Wal Teasdale doesn't have to be heard anymore than he has too.

Picklesmeoldmate said:
With Pete Lenaghan now out of town and working up in Darwin, just wondering if anyone has any ideas about who may host the BFL shows on Triple C this year. Pete was a wonderful commentator I felt and a great bloke. To me, waiting for the announcement of Pete's replacement is like waiting to see who will take over from Eddie McGuire on the Footy Show, that's how big a decision this is for Triple C. My preference would be to see Richard Jones step up and take more of an active on-air role. To me, Richard is a very knowledgable when it comes to the BFL and has obviously been around the league for a very long time. I could see him stepping up and doing a fantastic job in the important anchor role this year. What do some of you other people out there think about who Pete's replacement might be. What do you reckon Jock Clark 2, you seem to know a fair bit about what's going on out there.

Yer Pickles Richard Jones would be alright to step up but lets just hope that Wal Teasdale doesnt get more opportunity to ramble on.

On The Money said:
Yer Pickles Richard Jones would be alright to step up but lets just hope that Wal Teasdale doesnt get more opportunity to ramble on.

Teasdale does have a fair bit to say. Although he may say some things that are tongue in cheek, to be able to do that doesn't he need to know the people personally. Just seems he has ticked a few people off by some comments he has made. I realise he wouldn't be saying these to offend but needs to be careful. What do people think?

Weapo said:
Teasdale does have a fair bit to say. Although he may say some things that are tongue in cheek, to be able to do that doesn't he need to know the people personally. Just seems he has ticked a few people off by some comments he has made. I realise he wouldn't be saying these to offend but needs to be careful. What do people think?
here here weapo. i tend to agree brother

Jock Clark 2 said:
Max cood be rite, Weapo.
Bloke posting on the SANFL threads suggests Simon Cox has signed with North Adelaide for 2006. However, he didn't say wot Contessa mite be up to.
And Pickles ... Peter L. filled us in at the Eaglehawk 125th function last year about wot he does (or did) do for the local radio station. That was in between his back announcing rolls for the EFC at that impressive nite last year. He sed he rocked up at 9 am to collect the gear to take to the ground he was hosting at that day. Put in a big day each Sat. by wot he told our table.

I can tell you that Adam Contessa hasn't even heard of North City let alone Signed with them.

I heard a rumour that either Dole or West from the bendigo addy may be in line to do a bit of work on fresh fm this year on the bfl coverage. Anyone heard anything about it or know much about these two blokes?

gday fellas. well the time has come. i have served my suspension for the indiscretion of last weekend and i am back. my keyboard has been altered slightly with now a built in breathaliser that i must blow into before typing. along with that my keyboard keys have been made bigger and i have had surgery on my fingers and minimized them so that we don't have a reoccurance of the events that took place last weekend. i will end by saying
"WEEEEEEEEEEEED"

spoke4923 said:
I heard a rumour that either Dole or West from the bendigo addy may be in line to do a bit of work on fresh fm this year on the bfl coverage. Anyone heard anything about it or know much about these two blokes?
obviously these two guys work with the bendigo advertiser

Its not for awhile but who will be going along to Bendigo's first game for the year against Werribee at the QEO?
I hope to get along and hope to make it to as many games as i can in 2006.
It should be a good warm up to the 1st round of the BFL the following week!

I'm sure most of you guys would have heard of or seen a guy called Ben Doherty play in the BFL a few years ago with Golden Square.
He's been at Ainslie in the ACT the past few years but a mate of mine who coaches in Canberra tells me he's moving back to Melbourne with his work.

Couldn't tell you what he does for a crust but i'm told he's a very good player.

I wonder if he's a chance to return to the sacred turf at Wade Street??

I hope you blokes have had a few dollars on P. Burgoyne for the Brownlow. He's $101.

Gareth Keenan said:
I'm sure most of you guys would have heard of or seen a guy called Ben Doherty play in the BFL a few years ago with Golden Square.
He's been at Ainslie in the ACT the past few years but a mate of mine who coaches in Canberra tells me he's moving back to Melbourne with his work.

Couldn't tell you what he does for a crust but i'm told he's a very good player.

I wonder if he's a chance to return to the sacred turf at Wade Street??

I hope you blokes have had a few dollars on P. Burgoyne for the Brownlow. He's $101.
geez gareth, you seem to have footy connections all over australia. from what i remember about ben doherty, he spent a couple of years with the bendigo diggers and bendigo bombers, but couldn't crack a regular game with the bombers in his second year. spent most of it with golden square, where dominated, kicking over 50 goals and winning the b and f. too good a player to be running around in the BFL i reckon. think he may also have spent a bit of time with the brisbane lions and melbourne. good footballer, but if my memory serves me correctly, not the smartest bloke going around

Bloods eye Rees

Tuesday, 21 February 2006

ONE of the best big men in the All Seasons Bendigo Football League has signalled his intention to join South Bendigo this year.

Leigh Rees has lodged a clearance to cross from Castlemaine to South Bendigo in what is a massive coup for the Bloods.

'‘Leigh is a big inclusion for us if we can get him (cleared from Castlemaine)," South Bendigo coach Danny O'Bree said yesterday.

‘‘Obviously, he's an inter-league ruckman and was picked in the VCFL squad last year." Rees was named the BFL's best player at last year's VCFL Pool C country championships at Mount Gambier, but suffered a season-ending knee injury in the final game against Bellarine.

Rees was selected in the VCFL training squad following the country championships, but the knee injury ruled him out.

‘‘This is where he has indicated he wants to play, so if we can get him and keep him fit, he can play either up forward, in defence or in the midfield," O'Bree said.

‘‘And if he can play in the ruck at some stage, that will be good.

‘‘He has been moving around well, so he should be ready to go in round one." With the addition of Rees, the Bloods will boast two of the best big men in the competition in himself and inspirational captain John Hardinge.

Rees shapes as the perfect replacement for Bloods' key tall Jake Matthews, who will try his luck with the Bendigo Bank Bombers in the VFL this year.

Last month, new Castlemaine coach Ian Martin hinted at Rees being the potential replacement in the goalsquare for star Magpies' full-forward Steven Oliver, who is coaching Newstead in the Maryborough-Castlemaine District Football League this year.

‘‘We will be looking for blokes like Leigh Rees to stand up for us this year," Martin told The Advertiser on January 5.

Rees is the eighth player to seek a clearance from Castlemaine since applications opened on February 1.

Among the others wanting to leave Camp Reserve are former coach Paul Eyles, Wayne Burchell, Scott Carson, Brad Lawlor and Travis Stevens, who have all had their clearance applications rejected.

The Bloods have also signed Rees' younger brother, Mark, who played with Castlemaine last year as well.

South Bendigo will be the first team to play the BFL's newest club, North City, when it hosts it under lights at the Queen Elizabeth Oval in round one on Saturday, April 15.

The big footy community seems to have gone a bit quiet recently. what's going on out there followers of bendigo football. here's my market for the BFL flag at the moment.
$4.50 Gisborne
$7 South Bendigo
$7.50 Eaglehawk
$14 Golden Square
$27 Sandhurst
$38 North City
$47 Castlemaine
$65 Kyneton
$77 Maryborough
$90 Kangaroo Flat
What do we think of that
I reckon the weed would like a nibble at some of those odds

Picklesmeoldmate said:
The big footy community seems to have gone a bit quiet recently. what's going on out there followers of bendigo football. here's my market for the BFL flag at the moment.
$4.50 Gisborne
$7 South Bendigo
$7.50 Eaglehawk
$14 Golden Square
$27 Sandhurst
$38 North City
$47 Castlemaine
$65 Kyneton
$77 Maryborough
$90 Kangaroo Flat
What do we think of that
I reckon the weed would like a nibble at some of those odds

Good job mate! :thumbsu: These are my alterations.

$4.50 Gisborne
$6 South Bendigo, Golden Square
$7.50 Eaglehawk
$27 Sandhurst
$30 North City
$60 Kangaroo Flat
$65 Kyneton, Castlemaine
$70 Maryborough

I feel that with the mass exodus at Castlemaine they will drop significantly. Kyneton will not do much at all. Maryborough will struggle. Kangaroo Flat will improve but arent anywhere near the top echelon of teams but I do think they are marginally in front of the above 3. Just my opinion! :)

Thanks for that man who lives in a cave. tell me, why should kangaroo flat be rated a better chance than kyneton, castlemaine and marybough. I know you're a big fan and loyal supporter of the side.

Picklesmeoldmate said:
Thanks for that man who lives in a cave. tell me, why should kangaroo flat be rated a better chance than kyneton, castlemaine and marybough. I know you're a big fan and loyal supporter of the side.

You are exactly right Pickles and maybe I am a little be biased but Kangaroo Flat played some competitive football towards the end of the year last season. The youngsters now have a year under their belt and with a bit more experience should really deliver more. Browny and the Milwards will lead onfield.

We have kept our squad and I just think this is the year that we might even get to 4 wins! :D