What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Caught snippets of it Goat.

I agree that the sport is boring, but like anything, if there is a close contest it is watchable.
Pickles, it wouldn't have mattered to me if the scores were tied with 2 minutes to go. couldn't stand watching it. to stop start for my liking. was in the romsey pub two weeks ago pickles. how do you rate that establishment

Best TAB within a 50km radius. Good people - will lose a bit of charm when the pokies come in 18 months or so but is one of the best pubs in the area.

It started this morning and continued until bout 2pm. 48 minutes of play, 3 hrs and 12 minutes of bull********:thumbsdown:

I hear you boys loud and clear it's a shocker. I caught the end of the game and thought the spectators had invaded the ground but looked closer and it was team!. How many blokes are there in a side of this stupid game?

wouldn't have a clue how many are in a side for this game of piffle. i know who would have all the answers, and that's Jock Clark 2, who I understand is a very keen and passionate supporter of the NFL. Speaking of Jockstrap, where has he been lately. I miss his input to Big Footy.

I CAN only put the across-the-board brain fades down to the hot weather.
Slothie --- there are THREE (3) teams in every NFL team --- offence, defence and special teams.
Only one is on the field at any given time. F'r instance, if the Chicage Bears are defending their 11-strong defensive unit is on the park and Indy's offensive 11 headed up by Peyton Manning are out there.
On kick-offs, if the Bears are receiving their special unit of 11 players are there. You would have seen Chicagos's kick returner run 90+ yards on the very first play of the game.
Then to say there are too many players in a club. Jaysussss.
How about Aussie Rules, guys. There are 18 players on the park at any one time for JUST ONE TEAM, plus another four waiting to interchange. With the opposing team's 18 + 4 = 22 that makes 44 competitors on one winter's day.
Try explaining this shenmozzle to Europeans. I had a try in eastern Europe last November and the guys in the bar thought I was making it up.
American football people is a great game --- did I hear the commentators say there were 2 billion people watching worldwide today ??.
We might love our litle national game but its's very small potatoes in the woprld context.

Slothie --- there are THREE (3) teams in every NFL team --- offence, defence and special teams.
Only one is on the field at any given time. F'r instance, if the Chicage Bears are defending their 11-strong defensive unit is on the park and Indy's offensive 11 headed up by Peyton Manning are out there.
On kick-offs, if the Bears are receiving their special unit of 11 players are there. You would have seen Chicagos's kick returner run 90+ yards on the very first play of the game.
How about Aussie Rules, guys. There are 18 players on the park at any one time for JUST ONE TEAM, plus another four waiting to interchange. With the opposing team's 18 + 4 = 22 that makes 44 competitors on one winter's day.
Try explaining this shenmozzle to Europeans. I had a try in eastern Europe last November and the guys in the bar thought I was making it up.
American football people is a great game --- did I hear the commentators say there were 2 billion people watching worldwide today ??.
We might love our litle national game but its's very small potatoes in the woprld context.
sorry jock strap, you haven't sold the game to be based on what I saw today.

C'MON Goat. It's a world event.
What does Bill Lawry tell the Victorian co-commentators on the cricket every now and then.
"If you're very, very good, fellas, we might be able to arrange an overseas trip for you and your brand of football to Tasmania !!"
On today's SBS coverage, didn't you hear Sterling Sharpe (the former great Green Bay Packers wide receiver) mention a few times the NFL is off to Shanghai and London for big games in August.
Now don't even bother mentioning that appalling travesty of a game played in Ireland between our biffo-happy AFL blokes "representing Australia" .... what a joke ... and the home grown Irish. Total population less than urban Melbourne's.
Enough said.

2 billion people my a$$. There are about 6 billion people in the world. As far as I know gridion is only a major sport in the states where there are about 200-300 million. Id be pretty confident not to many people watch it in china or india so that wipes out about 1.5-2 billion people. Its not very popular in Africa, sth america or europe. As far as I know they are crazy about there soccer. I reckon maybe 1 in 50 aussies watched it and being a sports made country I reckon our ratio would probably be higher than most countries outside of nth America.

If I was to take and educated guess I would say 500 million would be closer to the mark.

They also say about 100 mil people around the world watch the afl Gf which is also a massive load of crap. Tv networks inflat their estimates hugely so they can overvalue their product.

Nfl is a very small sport outside the usa just like afl is a very small sport outside our country.

sorry jock strap, you haven't sold the game to be based on what I saw today.

I with Jock on this one. The game is good if you understand the game. Easy to say you hate it if you don't know what is happening. When people watch AFL for the 1st time they get very confused and think it is stupid as well.

Yesterday's game was played in extreme wet conditions. You will not get a good spectacle with those conditions. Same as the AFL when the ball is like soap.

according to the heathcote board , damien brown has been training at e/hawke and is a done deal.

I would be amazed if Damien Brown was to go to Eaglehawke, while at Kangaroo Flat he always made it pretty clear that he hated them with a passion, and he would not go somewhere just for the $.
May well end up back at Kangaroo Flat, or Keilor.

With Kangaroo Flat not far from announcing some big signings, key position players, don't be surprised if he returns to the green and white...

i with you ka and jock on this one, too
it pured rain right thru the superbowl and even into the presentations rain that i bet we wood like here in our nek of the woods
so the slippry conditions made ball handling very hard with dropped balls/fumbles/missed tackles
i also herd the commentator mention 2 billion adam ant dont right off inddia and china populations from watching it india very keen on sport and china with the olympics going there next year and a big american footy game in shanghai in august is growing sports mad

Many clubs in the GV are mentioning that if the drought keeps going that there will me a mass exodus of players from Bendigo and a few of them are hoping to pick them up.

Is this wishful thinking on behalf of these clubs or what???

Go Bloods

we are all entitled to our opinions. mine is that i don't enjoy watching that sport, but i respect the opinions of those who do enjoy it. goat out:eek:

I actually really enjoy american football i think that its a game that really relies on the tactical abilities of coaches and the players obviously to execute the plays but its a fascinating game to watch.