What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

A lot of people say that high money recruits are the only way to succeed.Thats correct,but too many of these "blow ins" know that theyre only in town for a season or two so they absolutely rape the clubs.
Generalising they also;
Dont train in melb
Play ,shower,pay envelope, home.
When they stay overnight,they either muck up or cheat on their teammates missuses as they have no respect for the local culture
Paypacket is generally same size as ego
Have many bad debts towards the end of the season
Bring unruly "drinking buddies" up in the car with them
Big mouth about their wages,causing player unrest amongst club doyens.

These are some negatives,i know the positives,how bout some comment or examples of this type of side effect of the "gun recruit"[/quote]
user_online.gif

Any news on the Nick Knight of south bendigo trying his hand at horse racing??? heard a whisper of Jockey talk! 'onthemoney', your a betting man... any news?

The Nest said:
I know a bit about Pye for Golden Square. Big strong player. Similar to Tony Plim with a lot more talent, is the perfect addition to the doggies line up. They will have to be a chance this year.

What about Dillon Anderson for the Michelson, if not then Rudy Hawkins would be my next choice.

According to my Golden Square man your barking up the wrong tree Nesty.
After passing on your thoughts I received the following mail from him
`Wes Pye wouldn't hold a candle to Tony Plim'
`Dillon Anderson has as much hope of winning the Michelsen as Danny Ellis'

Now if my memory serves me correctly I used to play against Danny Ellis years ago and as much as he used to kick a few sausage rolls in his day he'd struggle to pull a few votes in 2006.

Aside from that Nesty the word out of my Wade Street spy is that your boys are going okay but apart from Bovalino (I think that's his name) they might lack a little bit in the hard ball gets department.
My spy reckons there's a few too many outside players at Square these days.

I'd love to get some unbiased thoughts about Square from some of you blokes.

Okay my fellow friends of big footy, what are our thoughts on the lightning premiership that is coming up. how serious do we think clubs will take it?

Gareth Keenan said:
`

Where is Plim running around these days? One big unit T.Plim

Picklesmeoldmate said:
I don't think he is playing anywhere doona old son. last i heard, he was involved in bodybuilding.

Was it ever true or just exaggerated hype amongst rival clubs that he was on about $800 when at Elmore a few years ago?

Kick it To Me/:
Your club has obviously had some bad recruits through in the last few years. It's up to the club to screen the recruits not only about their football, but their personality and values, to see if they'll fit into the club culture. Recruits can be the answer, but only if they fit in to the culture of the club, otherwise you can end up paying guys who are detrimental to the club.

Our club has several city guys come and play, and they train in the city together, so they know who is and isn't showing up, and when the club has functions, they're the first to put the majority of their pay packed back over the bar.

A club should always ensure that recruits will fit in, and then they can add a lot to the club both on and off the field.

Great call sainter,but in all seriousness ,what club would knock back a champ that will guarantee a flag?Even with the occasional indiscretion expected?

Kyneton gone before they started-Turmoil at the club, few recruits poor numbers at training and word has it a lot of them a jumping off the ship and joining neighbouring clubs in lesser leagues like Woodend in the R.D.F.L-Now we'll see if Nifty Nev is as good coach as he thinks he is!

woody07 said:
Kyneton gone before they started-Turmoil at the club, few recruits poor numbers at training and word has it a lot of them a jumping off the ship and joining neighbouring clubs in lesser leagues like Woodend in the R.D.F.L-Now we'll see if Nifty Nev is as good coach as he thinks he is!

Good call Woody, is it just me or is Kyneton starting to have a Maryborough feel about it? Players leaving, no real recruits...I wonder if Kyneton will be the next Maryborough/Kangaroo Flat in the next couple of years...and if Nev will still be around.

Gareth Keenan said:
`Dillon Anderson has as much hope of winning the Michelsen as Danny Ellis'

Now if my memory serves me correctly I used to play against Danny Ellis years ago and as much as he used to kick a few sausage rolls in his day he'd struggle to pull a few votes in 2006.

Aside from that Nesty the word out of my Wade Street spy is that your boys are going okay but apart from Bovalino (I think that's his name) they might lack a little bit in the hard ball gets department.
My spy reckons there's a few too many outside players at Square these days.

I'd love to get some unbiased thoughts about Square from some of you blokes.

Gareeth what is your football background? Or do you just make up crap rumours like the Contessa one??? Who is Your "mate" at square?
Why don't you get an opinion of your own or isn't your football knowledge up to it?:cool:

max powers. said:
Geez you've given Wes Pye a bit of a rap there nesty!!! T Plim has been the premier ruckman in the district for the past decade.
As for Dillon Anderson he's been down for a few years through injury & form and i have no doubt he can return to the form which saw him make the VCFL squad in 2002. I think he's currently getting over a stress fracture in his foot.

As for Aaron Hawkins he had a steller 2005 and was a roughie for last years Michelson.....apparently he's been flying on the track and is looking forward to just enjoying his footy after having a stint as Ass Coach.....
Good bet.

Maybe I did exaggerate with the Pye man. He will be handy for Square though.

Keenan me old mate, Im not a Square follower, do think that they will go ok in 06 though. I think that the square boys have consistantly been the best drinkers and uncle Doug consumers in the league for some time now, if they can put it on the park i dont think it will matter how many skirts they have, they can still win it.

I'll go Square, Kain Robins double!

The Nest said:
Maybe I did exaggerate with the Pye man. He will be handy for Square though.

Keenan me old mate, Im not a Square follower, do think that they will go ok in 06 though. I think that the square boys have consistantly been the best drinkers and uncle Doug consumers in the league for some time now, if they can put it on the park i dont think it will matter how many skirts they have, they can still win it.

I'll go Square, Kain Robins double!
The Square-Robins double. I'm prepared to offer you $16 for that return. How do those odds grab you nesty. Do you want in?

Righto my fellow punters out there in Big Footy land, we've had a look at the premiership market, we've had a glance at the Michelsen Medal, let's now have a look at the betting for the Ron Best Medal.
Here's how I see it:
Luke Beattie $4.80
Kain Robins $6
Phillip Lobb $8
Matt O'Toole $8.50
Mark Fitzgerald $12
Damien Brown $14
Marty Shadbolt $17

POSSIBLE LATE SCRATCHING!

Hold your bets Punters, my mail suggests that Fitzgerald might be heading to Elmore.......

max powers. said:
Gareeth what is your football background? Or do you just make up crap rumours like the Contessa one??? Who is Your "mate" at square?
Why don't you get an opinion of your own or isn't your football knowledge up to it?:cool:

Looks like I've struck a chord with you Maxy - are you one of the above mentioned outside players.

This forum is all about discussing footy and that's all I'm doing.
I've played footy in the BFL and even though I'm in Adelaide I still like to know how the comp is going - particularly Square.

One of my mates in Bendigo gives me some gossip about the league and Square but I find this forum gives me an unbiased look at the clubs.

If you don't like what I've written Maxy - stiff cheddar.

To everyone else - thanks for your input it's an entertaining forum.

Gareth Keenan said:
Looks like I've struck a chord with you Maxy - are you one of the above mentioned outside players.

This forum is all about discussing footy and that's all I'm doing.
I've played footy in the BFL and even though I'm in Adelaide I still like to know how the comp is going - particularly Square.

One of my mates in Bendigo gives me some gossip about the league and Square but I find this forum gives me an unbiased look at the clubs.

If you don't like what I've written Maxy - stiff cheddar.

To everyone else - thanks for your input it's an entertaining forum.
Looks like our friend Gareth has stirred a few people up here on this forum, most notably good old maxy powers.
Let's look at a market of who good old gareth will fire up next:
$3.30 Doona2
$6 Weapo
$8 Wobble
$12 Me
$16 Jock Clark 2
$22 HJ32
$26 Spoke 423
$35 On the Money
$44 Grimmet
$49 The Nest
$54 Tilt Carter
$60 Nuffy O'Dwyer (I reckon I know who this bloke is)
$65 South Hawk
$77 Woody 07
Speaking of markets, just a quick change of tact. Get on Doug Bromac at Harold Park tonight. race one, number eight. if anyone has some hot racing tips around the country, lets hear them on here as well.

Picklesmeoldmate said:
Looks like our friend Gareth has stirred a few people up here on this forum, most notably good old maxy powers.
$3.30 Doona2
$6 Weapo
$8 Wobble
$12 Me
$16 Jock Clark 2
$22 HJ32
$26 Spoke 423
$35 On the Money
$44 Grimmet
$49 The Nest
$54 Tilt Carter
$65 South Hawk
$77 Woody 07
Speaking of markets, just a quick change of tact. Get on Doug Bromac at Harold Park tonight. race one, number eight. if anyone has some hot racing tips around the country, lets hear them on here as well.

pickles lets not rule out myself the weed in these online betting schemes. everyone knows that i am as firey as the next person and i am comfortable with you having me at $15. i know i was recently given a set penalty suspension from this website a couple of weeks ago for a minor indiscretion but all i wish to say is don't rule out the "WEED" and $15 is a good bet. thank you all for your time.

patty O'furnicha said:
Any news on the Nick Knight of south bendigo trying his hand at horse racing??? heard a whisper of Jockey talk! 'onthemoney', your a betting man... any news?

haha young knighta had a minor altercation with a jockey last thursday night but i think he got out of that ok. according to OTM he was beaten by dirty fighter. a good old fashioned ankle biter.

Picklesmeoldmate said:
$3.30 Doona2
$6 Weapo
$8 Wobble
$12 Me
$16 Jock Clark 2
$22 HJ32
$26 Spoke 423
$35 On the Money
$44 Grimmet
$49 The Nest
$54 Tilt Carter
$65 South Hawk
$77 Woody 07

44s for myself! Would have said I was way under the odds but ya never know. Gary might upset me at some stage.

Picklesmeoldmate said:
$3.30 Doona2
$6 Weapo
$8 Wobble
$12 Me
$16 Jock Clark 2
$22 HJ32
$26 Spoke 423
$35 On the Money
$44 Grimmet
$49 The Nest
$54 Tilt Carter
$65 South Hawk
$77 Woody 07

The only market you know pickles is when little piggy went to market......