What's happening in the Bendigo Football League

Had an extremely disappointing season last year, lost his playing group after round 4. Constantly contradicted himself in his addresses which probably accounted for teams lack of discipline.
Good Luck Kangaroo Flat for 08 - You're gonna need it under him !

That would've been a very hard thing to do Doona because he always sat (generally stunned) in the lofty heights of the stands & transmitted his orders via walkie talkie !
Guess perception appeared really important to him rather than onfield performance because "HE" certainly looked & acted the part - loved the apparel ! ! !

Confusing a flick back thru some posts show at times a Gisborne flavour, Im not a huge BFL/Bombers follower and the only player off the top of my head I can think of from out there is M.Dillon, reckon DW would be disappointed if u are in fact Michael as I reckon he thought a bit of, or perhaps you're just a mate disappointed a little :confused:

You should perhaps THINK before you go potting innocent people like that !
Many country based Essendon supporters go & watch Bomber games Einstein, & guess what ? WE HAVE OPINIONS !

And just for the record, I am neither M Dillon or a mate of his !

Interesting your reply
I watched a bit of Bombers footy last year and it seemed to me that all players in the 2nds there were glorified rock stars hoping their names might be called out on Draft Day. Some very ordinary players running around with no football brains. Old Saying "Good players make good coaches"

Interested in more of your thoughts though

See that is where you a Fundamentally Wrong, It's
" Good COACHES make good players "
For example.... Would James Hird have been the Champion he was if Sheedy hadv'e played him out of the backline the whole of his Career ?
Would Wayne Carey have been the Match Winner he was if Dennis Pagan hadn't devised " Pagans Paddock " for him ?
Would Garry Ablett (senior or junior) be the player he is/was if he was/is played played out of the back pocket ?
Would Steven Silvagni have made Fullback of the Century if he had been left in the Forward line ?

I think not !

Good Coaches identify players strengths & weaknesses, then build a team structure around that which will get the ultimate potential out of the player/s. Then he devises & implements a successful stratergy around that.

This is where Wilson fell down miserably, cause he had the talent at his disposal, he just didn't have the insight to bring it out & direct it effectively.
He also failed to Discipline, & thats a " Killer " ! (Rnd 4)
Or Who knows ? Maybe he knew it was his last year !
Thing is Unfullfilled Potential is a Travesty.
Only time will tell I guess, so once again.... Good luck Flat !

You should perhaps THINK before you go potting innocent people like that !
Many country based Essendon supporters go & watch Bomber games Einstein, & guess what ? WE HAVE OPINIONS !

And just for the record, I am neither M Dillon or a mate of his !

I did think sorry, just obviously thought wrongly. With the previous Gisborne connected posts I thought that you may have been a friend just flying the flag for a mate thats all.

Wasn't having a go, and would hate for you to take it that way. Like I said I dont follow the BFL or the Bombers (actually a Roosters fan), was trying to filter thru the info to see where the interest in DW was generated from.

Would be a tough gig the VFL 2's Id imagine, as most guys that are good enough to play standard opt to play in VCFL leagues instead as we all need to be compensated for missed employment or time spent away from families on a weekend.

I did think sorry, just obviously thought wrongly. With the previous Gisborne connected posts I thought that you may have been a friend just flying the flag for a mate thats all.

Wasn't having a go, and would hate for you to take it that way. Like I said I dont follow the BFL or the Bombers (actually a Roosters fan), was trying to filter thru the info to see where the interest in DW was generated from.

Would be a tough gig the VFL 2's Id imagine, as most guys that are good enough to play standard opt to play in VCFL leagues instead as we all need to be compensated for missed employment or time spent away from families on a weekend.

Apology accepted, Keep contributing mate.
Shhh sometimes things on here arent always as they seem !

See that is where you a Fundamentally Wrong, It's
" Good COACHES make good players "
For example.... Would James Hird have been the Champion he was if Sheedy hadv'e played him out of the backline the whole of his Career ?
Would Wayne Carey have been the Match Winner he was if Dennis Pagan hadn't devised " Pagans Paddock " for him ?
Would Garry Ablett (senior or junior) be the player he is/was if he was/is played played out of the back pocket ?
Would Steven Silvagni have made Fullback of the Century if he had been left in the Forward line ?

I think not !

Good Coaches identify players strengths & weaknesses, then build a team structure around that which will get the ultimate potential out of the player/s. Then he devises & implements a successful stratergy around that.

This is where Wilson fell down miserably, cause he had the talent at his disposal, he just didn't have the insight to bring it out & direct it effectively.
He also failed to Discipline, & thats a " Killer " ! (Rnd 4)
Or Who knows ? Maybe he knew it was his last year !
Thing is Unfullfilled Potential is a Travesty.
Only time will tell I guess, so once again.... Good luck Flat !

Yes all your points are valid

with due respect you are talking about legends and icons of the game and my answer to that is yes they probably would have been no matter where they played.

You are right with coaches strategy, but we are talking seconds footy here

Just a little info " Carlton were quoted to build another premiership side from 95 around Kouta, Adrian whitehead, Campo" (where the Blues now 05 should have been their premiership window) - No coach knows what he has for the future the game moves to quick

I am a Wilson fan, after seeing the three peat he produced at colbo most central vic footy public admire that

when it comes to discipline, the way that wilson kept the side together to win the flag against Broadford and the Adrian Baker show in 03, should be mentioned.

"Good Coaches Manage Good Players" - " Good players make good coaches"

I think BFL clubs need to look out for Flat

Time to move on

just reading through the best rated coaches in country vic thread and came across this:

stringy

Re: Best Coaches in country football
great coach is darryl wilson, played in premierships at colbinabbin and later coached them to 3 premierships in a row, and is now assistant coach with the bendigo bombers in the vfl. his communication and organisation is second to none

I can't see how hw could have been too bad! Should do Flat the world of good.

Can confirm 100% Massina is now with the Pioneers and has been training with them for a few months and has made the first cut...

Watched him in September in trial games at Cannons the only way he can be at Pioneers is if they passed on him and he applied to go to Pioneers or has changed residential address into the Pioneers zone . Do you know which one it is D24.

looks like there should be some massive news this week with a star of the league looking to head west of the border. stay tuned....

bears boy,
how are you son? how is everything going down at the graveyard, how are all the boys training? anymore recruits we should know about?

Wrong player and wrong club[/quote

club -gisborne, player - luke saunders , am led to believe monday night was the last night he had to decide by so unsure on his decision but that is definatly the player mentioned, maybe some one from gisborne can confirm what his decision was.

Can confirm he is off to port adelaide magpies. Apparently a very tough decision for him but a very good one I reckon. It will be good to see how he goes in what is arguably the 2nd best league in the country. Also a very good learning opportunity to play for one of the countries most famous football clubs. Good luck lukey.

Heard a rumor that Square today signed gun midfielder Daniel McLoughlan from Wangaratta. Can anyone confirm this?

Did hear that apparently played over 150 games in the O&M and is a more than handy player. Will boost squares midfield. Also heard the Mark Lloyd is a massive chance to head back to square.

Luke Saunders news is huge i have no doubt there would be some very happy opposition side defenders. No doubt he has caused some headaches for these blokes over the years.

Can confirm he is off to port adelaide magpies. Apparently a very tough decision for him but a very good one I reckon. It will be good to see how he goes in what is arguably the 2nd best league in the country. Also a very good learning opportunity to play for one of the countries most famous football clubs. Good luck lukey.

1)AFL
2)VFL - because of the AFL Players
then SANFL
3)SANFL is full of blokes not quite up to AFL standard but very good players. Alot of country vic good players are heading over again this year. A few going from Echuca and Shepp as well.

4)WAFL long last at present.