• 2-2 even

Votes: 36 29.0%
  • 3-1 :)

Votes: 50 40.3%
  • 4-0 awesome !!

Votes: 10 8.1%

Having not won a pre-season game at all, too many senior players now lacking match fitness and no chance for the starting 22 to play together and sharpen themselves as a unit. We will struggle. Don't think we can beat the Cats now, Eagles in Perth is highly unlikely, then they'll be tired from the trip and lose to Collingwood and maybe get over the line to Freo in Tassie. 1-3 if we are lucky.
Needed to field a stronger team against dogs, an even stronger one and best available against the Tiges and again this week against Norf.
Those of you, and there are plenty from what i've read, who think we can just flick a switch, turn on the heat and gel as a unit come round 1 and beat a team like Geelong who have been winning games, are dillusional.
Then expect us to back that up and go beat the Eagles in Perth ? Yeah Right.
I'll watch you all bag our team and look for blood and answers when we are 1-3 or 0-4.
NAB cup means nothing, scores mean nothing. BUT , i'd still rather have lost with our best out there against the Tiges just playing half arsed and finding some touch as a group than trying to do it round 1 against much better opposition when it counts.

Having not won a pre-season game at all, too many senior players now lacking match fitness and no chance for the starting 22 to play together and sharpen themselves as a unit. We will struggle. Don't think we can beat the Cats now, Eagles in Perth is highly unlikely, then they'll be tired from the trip and lose to Collingwood and maybe get over the line to Freo in Tassie. 1-3 if we are lucky.
Needed to field a stronger team against dogs, an even stronger one and best available against the Tiges and again this week against Norf.
Those of you, and there are plenty from what i've read, who think we can just flick a switch, turn on the heat and gel as a unit come round 1 and beat a team like Geelong who have been winning games, are dillusional.
Then expect us to back that up and go beat the Eagles in Perth ? Yeah Right.
I'll watch you all bag our team and look for blood and answers when we are 1-3 or 0-4.
NAB cup means nothing, scores mean nothing. BUT , i'd still rather have lost with our best out there against the Tiges just playing half arsed and finding some touch as a group than trying to do it round 1 against much better opposition when it counts.

So your trying to tell us that the majority of our best 22 who have played footy with eachother for the last 5-6 years wont gel together, have no match fitness/practise etc?? Geel, Coll, Syd and WCE all had half their best 22 out of the nab cup matches. So on your well thought out theory, all these teams will be sitting near the bottom of the ladder after rd 4?? Because they did not play their strongest team in a practise match series...?

This has to be a joke right? I look forward to the rest of us who do think we will start well "bag" you for your lack of faith in the coaches and players and your non nonsensical theory as to why we will have lost the plot!!!

What next...GWS premiers 2013?? Because they played full strength teams in practise matches??..............PLEASE!

If Blicavs is our starting ruckman in rd 1, organise the party and drink yourselves into oblivion.

1-0

I tend to agree, if Blicavs plays it could get very ugly come round 1
Put it this way, if we manage to win with 21 players, the Hawks are in trouble.

Agree again, if Blicavs plays, along with Walker likely, S.Johnson & Kelly out, a loss could & will be devastating. More on the line for Hawhorn than Geelong. Win to you guys & Hawthorn internally must be wondering what it will take to beat you mob. A win to us and Geelong can just put it down to being undermanned.

4 - 0 with the largest percentage ever after the first four rounds.

- Buddy will have kicked at least 18 goals - including six against Fremantle and then, after the game has finished, moons Ross Lyon's coaching box to display, 'suck it, I re-signed with Hawthorn' on his buttocks.
- Mitchell will have secured at least six Brownlow votes
- Lewis will have smashed Young into next year in Round 3 and not been reprimanded
- Breust will have changed his last name to 'Brooooooooooooost'

It's going to be a great start to the year.

Oh, so you reside in bizarro world too... nice. The land where Lewis does not get reported for snarling at the opposition

If Blicavs is our starting ruckman in rd 1, organise the party and drink yourselves into oblivion.

1-0

Nice deflection :D. I have not seen Blicavs but surely he can't be worse that hte big O and he gave Hale a sponge bath in the last game we played. Well he did for the first half anyway.

we'll be 4-0 awesome !!!
Awesome we will be
WE ARE AWESOME GET IT !

Not piss taking, but seriously, we'll be 4-0

Edit: ..........awesome !

I think FREO is the only team we will beat.

Geelong continually bend us over, WCE should be too good in Perth, the Pies will tackle us after our trip to WA, Freo will continue to be our bitches, so 1-3 for mine.

Why is everyone putting a line threw us against the Eagles already? Last year we lost at Patersons by only 5 points with a chance to win the game late, with inaccuracy the only thing that cost us that night. The Eagles in Round 2 will be a tough task no doubt about that, however the Eagles aren't guaranteed to win considering they have Rosa, Kerr, Natanui, Wellingham and a few others under some injury cloud themselves. If we go up there and give it our best shot and take it right up them for the four quarters, we actually a decent chance of coming away with the four points and causing an upset.

The only thing that kept us within reach last year was all the behinds they kicked!!

Very interesting the different tact to last year. Both years we have had a very tough start. Last year all the emphasis was on being up, and ready for round 1, playing our senior guys in the pre-season to get them in top form. This year seems the opposite. I''m guessing the people who matter have adjusted there thinking about the length of the season and its toll on the players, and maybe emulating more of what Sydney did..less emphasis on being the best team, more on winning the premiership.

Very hard from what I saw to see anything structural or tactical implemented this year...so very hard to predict an outcome after 4 games.

The only thing that kept us within reach last year was all the behinds they kicked!!
5.21 (51) to 5.16 (46). We kept them in it with poor goal kicking just as much as they kept us in it with theirs. Rioli was brilliant late though.

Who is this Blicavs you speak of?

Insurance Policy.

yvQZg

I think we can beat West Coast. Teams coming off a 2 week break (especially at the start of the season) will be sluggish and could get jumped. Chances of winning the next week however will be hard.

We played atrociously last time over there in conditions similar to what we had in the Gold Coast. With Lake in the side able to shutdown Kennedy, Schoenmakers/Gibson on Darling/Resting Ruckman, I can't see why we won't be able to beat them.
It will be a very tugh assignment no doubt, but so far they've had their share of injury coocerns, Kerr, Naitanui and Le Cras have had interrupted prep so far. I reckon we can do it if our intensity is up and we'll need Lake and Rioli firing.

Geelong will be a BRUTAL match. The WCE 6 days later on their turf. Tough ask, and I don't really hold much hope of winning either game.

It's just my opinion, you're welcome to disagree. Enjoy a DEMOCRACY whilst it lasts.

If we come out evens, I will be very happy with that. Anything more than that is a bonus.

Geelong and West Coast obviously the danger games.

Truly hoping for 4 and 0 though!!!!

Going on preseason form, 1-3 or even 0-4 if we drop our bundle. However IF they can get over Geelong that should them the confidence to go 2-2 or even 3-1.

Those of you predicting 4-0 must be dreaming if you think we have any chance of beating West Coast in WA six days after playing Geelong. Will not happen.

Would be very nice to have a ruck advantage over Geelong for the first time in at least 5 years....
Although Blicavs acquitted himself well in the last half yesterday against Collingwood, I still feel this is the area the Hawks can exploit during the match. If Hale and Co drag Blicavs forward, he'll struggle to contain your ruckman on the scoreboard.

This is the only area of concern on my behalf, and feel the Cats hierarchy will have made an error if they include him in the side on easter monday.

Where will we be after first 4 Rounds ?