Who can beat us next year?

And there they are the pies supporters we all know and love...clubs not a joke mate, we are in a lot better shape they your mob. Next year should be fun

We just won the PREMIERSHIP with the the youngest list to win a flag in AFL HISTORY you stupid troll. :D

**** off back to delusion land.

Collingwood deserved the 2010 flag no doubt but every time a team wins a flag there is always talk of a dynasty but it rarely eventuates.

I think Geelong will still be strong. Hawks will be a good team. And I reckon Freo will go great guns as well.

But I am very optimistic for our chances next year as long as we can keep the same passion and intensity...and hopefully Swannie will also have the Brownlow hanging around his neck.

I thought Sidebottom was Norm Smith to be honest.

How good is our midfield going to be.

Swan, Pendles, Thomas, Sidebottom, Beams, Wellingham, Didak playing there for periods. I like Blair too, but he is not as good as any of the above mentioned players.

I think we should keep Davis for another year. He is a legend of Collingwood and has given us alot of joy, he could turn his form around and play some good footy who knows.

There are some exciting young kids playing in our reserves too. Watch out for Luke Rounds in 2010.

What about our spine. Brown, Reid, Dawes and Cloke. That's a premiership spine. That's a fact.

Does he have a time travelling machine? :eek:

The move to GF in October can only be beneficial for us :cool:

We will have to wait for June next year to have a better idea of what is happening...

We just won the PREMIERSHIP with the the youngest list to win a flag in AFL HISTORY you stupid troll. :D

**** off back to delusion land.

what a load of crap, essendon of 1993 was clearly younger than ur mob, as they had up to 7 players under 21 and 40 games or less.
compare ur youngest to the likes of
misiti
fletcher
olarenshaw
hird
calthorpe
wanganeen
mecuri

allthese guys were under 21 and had a brownlow medal with them.
The thing is u havent a brownlow medalist there we stole it from u and theres always surprises each new year.
cant see who can challenge wait and see.
I mean geelong were a sure thing this year and they failed.
the hawks were a sure thing last year and they were younger than u guys and they missed out all together.
the eagles were a sure thing in 2007 and the cats in 2008.
how we all get decieved every year.
u poor souls getting way too cocky.
:D

what a load of crap, essendon of 1993 was clearly younger than ur mob, as they had up to 7 players under 21 and 40 games or less.
misiti
fletcher
olarenshaw
hird
calthorpe
wanganeen
mecuri

The thing is u havent a brownlow medalist there we stole it from u and theres always surprises each new year.
the hawks were a sure thing last year and they were younger than u guys and they missed out all together.

*FACEPALM* We have the youngest AFL premiership side...and the youngest premiership side since 1978...

misiti
fletcher
olarenshaw
hird
calthorpe
wanganeen
mecuri

Holy mother of God, we don't have a Brownlow Medallist!!!!
We will have to fold as club now or perhaps merge with one of the crap clubs like....um...Carlton.....on second thoughts,,, no... better we fold up.

Umpires' pets awards like the Brownlow are so significant, aren't they? I mean who wants a premiership when you can win a Brownlow? Dane Swan is gutted having to put up with a lousy Premiership medal.....remember those.....in the old Dark Ages... your club used to win them...usually by cheating, but that's another story.

Sonny boy, no one at Collingwood is cocky. We know we have a great challenge to go back to back, but guess what, we have a great administration led by the best president in the league, the best coaching panel led by the best coach in the league and a great young list of players with enormous character. That puts us in with a real chance.

Unfortunately you have an ordinary administration on life support from the cash of a wealthy supporter, a robot captain and a dill of a coach. Add to that a nasty recent history of cheating and wooden spoons and several players who obviously want to get the hell out of the joint. So,Good luck!!!

Congrats Collingwood

Geelong will treat '11 as a transition year
St.Kilda not good enough to beat you.The only thing that might beat you are hot girls and nightlife.
Hawthorn is a smokey,beware of them.

once again glad you won
and thanks for giving us at Geelong ,Neil Balme.an underrated part of our success.

well u m...n why would u all call chris judd a wa...r at the grand final parade when he has his managers 2 small kids under 10 with him and he had to explain to them that the term wan..r is another word for celebration seen as u guys were still harbouring anger from dane swan been robbed.
so in fact u guys are sooks and were supposed to win it all this year and it took u two attempts.
well done on the second attempt and not bad for the first.:D
Holy mother of God, we don't have a Brownlow Medallist!!!!
We will have to fold as club now or perhaps merge with one of the crap clubs like....um...Carlton.....on second thoughts,,, no... better we fold up.

Umpires' pets awards like the Brownlow are so significant, aren't they? I mean who wants a premiership when you can win a Brownlow? Dane Swan is gutted having to put up with a lousy Premiership medal.....remember those.....in the old Dark Ages... your club used to win them...usually by cheating, but that's another story.
we still lead u by one and that wont change next year fool.
Sonny boy, no one at Collingwood is cocky. We know we have a great challenge to go back to back, but guess what, we have a great administration led by the best president in the league, the best coaching panel led by the best coach in the league and a great young list of players with enormous character. That puts us in with a real chance.
hawks were in ur shoes and the cats were too.
neither went on with back to back.
as for the best coach he is the oldest coach to win a flag and he aint the best coach.
one flag in ten years isnt the best by any standards.
Unfortunately you have an ordinary administration on life support from the cash of a wealthy supporter, a robot captain and a dill of a coach. Add to that a nasty recent history of cheating and wooden spoons and several players who obviously want to get the hell out of the joint. So,Good luck!!!
mate we went a century without a spoon and 2 of ur flags were bogey in the 4 peat lol
u guys are a mockery at winning the way u have.
take heed it might happen again next year as u cant win them in september or the first time round.
we could surprise next year so dont get too cocky.
could very well bite u on the arse.

From a Hawks perspective, seeing my mob win a flag in 08 with blokes like Lewis, Ellis, Franklin, Roughead who were all 21 or so, I thought we would be dominant in 2009 and 10, but it wasnt to be.

Collingwood could well go on and win the next three flags with the list they have, but dont make the same mistake I (and many other Hawks supporters) did and start counting your chickens.

Why is this thread being flooded by Carlton fans?

Shouldn't you all be hiding in your corners in the face of a Collingwood premiership?

As for the OP, the top 4 next year will definitely change.

Geelong > can't see them recovering from the blows of this season. Older, Thommo and Ablett walking out, hard to recover.

St.Kilda > like us in 2002/2003, it's hard to recover after successive failures. I expect a downhill ride for their older side.

WB > as above

Potential new challengers?

Hawthorn > expect them to rise again next year, potentially our main challenger

Freo > a young, exciting side with another year under their belt

Carlton > interesting to see how they go in their off-season recruiting, but they're still largely a one-man team. They have to change that if they're going to be a serious threat.

Melbourne will probably make the 8 next year, but I still think they're 2-3 years from being a serious challenger.

It took Collingwood, Geelong and St.Kilda several years of being a top 4/top 8 side to become serious premiership contenders.

But not getting ahead of ourselves. A lot to be positive about re Collingwood, but we could also end up being a Hawthorn 08/09 or an Essendon 93/94. Take it as it comes.

From a Hawks perspective, seeing my mob win a flag in 08 with blokes like Lewis, Ellis, Franklin, Roughead who were all 21 or so, I thought we would be dominant in 2009 and 10, but it wasnt to be.

Wasn't just Hawks supporters, everyone expected it and I think everyone was shocked to see the Hawks fail to make the 8 to be honest.

I should really clear up some of the subtle non-sense trolling in here but I think for now, instead I will say until your club even hints at being good enough to challenge, maybe you should lay off trying to pick apart the premiership team eh? Given the comprimised nature of the next few drafts your club is going to find it very difficult to fix all the major flaws in the list by the time it does this Judd will be gone and you will have to try and fill that gap. Enjoy many years to come in the mid table abyss.

As for who can beat us and the talk of dynasties etc the obvious thing to do is to point out how quickly the game can change. As people have mentioned WCE were touted as a future dynasty, Hawthorn too.

At the same time the demise of the WCE is unique and well documented and whilst Hawthorn where very good they certainly didn't dominate the competition the way we did this year. On top of that Geelong will certainly take at least a step or 2 back with the loss of Ablett and St Kilda certainly don't have a major immediate improvement.

Hawthorn are still a real threat and I think as they settle into the changse to their list and if they manage to get a ruckmen or key backmen in trade period they certainly have the potential to jump straight back up. The other issues we may have are if opposition teams manage to find a way to restrict our ball movement or break the press.

It's happy days for now though and that is all that matters, I do firmly believe dynasties are something that should be appreciated in retrospect rather then predicted.

well u m...n why would u all call chris judd a wa...r at the grand final parade when he has his managers 2 small kids under 10 with him and he had to explain to them that the term wan..r is another word for celebration seen as u guys were still harbouring anger from dane swan been robbed.
so in fact u guys are sooks and were supposed to win it all this year and it took u two attempts.
well done on the second attempt and not bad for the first.:D

mate we went a century without a spoon and 2 of ur flags were bogey in the 4 peat lol
u guys are a mockery at winning the way u have.
take heed it might happen again next year as u cant win them in september or the first time round.
we could surprise next year so dont get too cocky.
could very well bite u on the arse.

Mate, have you graduated from primary school yet?
As I said, next year is a massive challenge but we have the right parts of the jigsaw to give us the chance. Your mob doesn't.

As for making a mockery?????? God forbid, a mockery is cheating the system to win like your mob has been accused, tried,convicted and punished for. So give us a break!!!!!!!!!

The beauty of winning yesterday was shoving it up ferals like yourself. We have had to put up with all the jokes, abuse, derision, arrogance from your mob for 30 years, so shove it mate!!!!!!!!!!!! It's your turn to suck on lemons.

I should really clear up some of the subtle non-sense trolling in here but I think for now, instead I will say until your club even hints at being good enough to challenge, maybe you should lay off trying to pick apart the premiership team eh?

Just let all the Trolls in Shawthing. It will be fun reading their garbage. They all sound so desperate to downplay what was in the end a thumping GF victory. The biggest in our history, I believe.

I need a good laugh and Carlton fans clutching at straws is certainly providing that.

If you could just do one thing, when they post, just add some 'Benny Hill' music!!!

Congratulations on the win, but I would be sitting back enjoying the win and not even considering a Dynasty, those are things you consider after you've achieved the results.

It is also important to remember Collingwood was a minute/bounce/umpire call/straight kick away from losing this years final. I would not say the 2011 premiership is already in the bag.

You would have to think that Collingwood, Geelong, Dogs, Saints are still up there with a chance to win. There is also the Melbourne, Carlton, Sydney, Hawthorn.... that are attempting to bridge the gap.

This.

Flag contenders for 2011 should be interesting to see given the upcoming trade week looks to be quiet active. It looks like there are some clubs willing to make some bold moves and others that are going to suffer from player exits. I think there will be the usual 4 genuine premiership contenders with the two grandfinalists being 2 of those 4. I'm pretty sure that if the Dogs can stay healthy they'll be top 4 again too and I expect to see them making a bold trade or two this year.

I'm not sure where the Cats will be given the expected exits of players and coaches. The Cats have lost Ablett which is a huge blow and you'd expect that there will be a retirement or two this year. If a new coach comes in will he look at the list and say lets load up for another crack. I think the list is still young enough to have two more years in the top 4 without any drastic bold trades. Or will the new coach trim and trade to bring an influx of youth with a plan to be back up contending in about 3 years time? Should be interesting to see what the Cats do in trade week.

But its some of the other clubs that could make this trade period and next year interesting. I'll be interested to see what the Hawks, Swans, Dees and Dockers do. With the Brisbane exodus theres real opportunity to grab some good experienced players to boost your list. The Dees have focused on developing through the draft, but maybe they'll start to make some moves now particularly with some of the players said to be on the market.

If any Pies fan thinks we'll stroll in for another premiership next year then they should take a good look at what happened with the Hawks after 08. Clubs caught up with them fast and the AFL changed some rules that the Hawks had exploited. The same can happen to us given the AFL is looking at slowing the game down by minimizing how clubs like us have exploited the unlimited interchange. Enjoy the moment guys and focus on WHAT IS NOW without getting carried away with what MAY BE in the future.

Congrats Pies :thumbsu:

one interesting factor will be the proposed interchange cap and how this impacts your game plan. IMO Collingwood more than any team prepared their side for a high rotation game style

even though Adelaide had a poor 2010 I would like to think that we are well placed to rise again next year

yes we have lost experience in Goodwin, Macca, Burton and Edwards however over the last half of the season in particularly the last month when we beat St Kilda and Geelong and went down to you guys and the WB by less than a kick, I certainly saw signs that we have a great young group to take us forward.

Walker, Tippett, Dangerfield, Henderson, Davis and Sloane all have showed that they will be very good players.. while having a fit Knights, VB, McKay, Porplyzia, Vince, Johncock and McKay will certainly help our cause

Trade period will be crucial to Adelaide, Jacobs, Tambling, Mackie and A Walker have all been approached by the Crows, Jacobs is a certainty and if we can land a Walker or a Tambling I think that we will be in pretty good shape.......

Im not saying that we will challenge for the flag in 2011, however what I am saying is that you have shown us how quickly you can rise when you have the young talent, I certainly do believe that we the crows do have the young talent

again congrats, and you are definitely the new benchmark

I know 2011 is far away but I can't see any strong sides other than Collingwood.

Cats, Saints and Dogs will be passed it, and than who will be the next challenger. Blues, Swans, Freo I can't see being a serious challenger, Hawks maybe able to regroup and challenge.

Outside of that, NM, Rich and Melb have promise but are a few years away.

Essendon is my tip for the wooden spoon.

Don't know about Essendon, but the rest reflects my thoughts pretty well. What about Adelaide? How will they go?