"Who do the white men think will win?"

I will do no such thing. If you want to intimidate and vilify somebody you can do it yourself. Just have Erin's courage and do it under your own name, you gutless wonder.
The problem is, the valid criticisms of the poor writing and sensationalism in the article are lost in the tide of angry racist/sexist trolling, so she probably isn't going to take any constructive criticism away from the experience either.

Some deliberately go out of their way to respond to her in the way in which she complains about purely and simply to stick it up her.

Which achieves what exactly? I certainly don't concur with her views on these issues - racism against white people might be lesser than other forms of racism, but it's still racism nonetheless, and no doubt she's inflated minor issues or made issues out of nothing (e.g., the "white men" panel) - but vitriolic responses that are themselves sexist in nature don't achieve anything except the proliferation of precisely the same issues she identifies, and attacking the author, rather than simply criticising the points she makes, is poor form.

I will do no such thing. If you want to intimidate and vilify somebody you can do it yourself. Just have Erin's courage and do it under your own name, you gutless wonder.

As an aboriginal I find Erin racist.

Her own bias does not allow her to see why people dislike Adam Goodes, so of course it must be because he's aboriginal, only fools play the race card imo.

Goodes publicly humiliated a child and his crusade against white people is a joke.

Cool thanks for telling us what you really think. Also I am not intimidating or vilifying anyone any differently to the way she has done through the article and subsequent comments.

The problem is, the valid criticisms of the poor writing and sensationalism in the article are lost in the tide of angry racist/sexist trolling, so she probably isn't going to take any constructive criticism away from the experience either.

I'm not really here to engage with whether it's a good article. I happen to disagree but it's not really the point.

I've been on Bigfooty longer than Erin has been following the sport, so I'm not exactly a blow-in and if I say something I mean it. I'm only here to tell you all that no amount of shooting the messenger makes her message less true. I was there.

I'm not really here to engage with whether it's a good article. I happen to disagree but it's not really the point.

I've been on Bigfooty longer than Erin has been following the sport, so I'm not exactly a blow-in and if I say something I mean it. I'm only here to tell you all that no amount of shooting the messenger makes her message less true. I was there.
I don't have a problem with pointing out racist abuse at a game.

I have a problem with stereotyping a majority by it, and claiming five white people having their tips on the screen at once is somehow racist. This article used a legitimate issue as a cornerstone of a piece of flamebait.

If your targeting a specific person all day for their colour then I would count that as an action

No I don't , everyone gets teased
There shouldn't be only certain people you can tease

No there shouldn't. But there shouldn't have been slavery or genocides ,bigotry etc. There was and so we need to tread lightly and with care and that takes time .

Do you agree with Erin's assertion that "racism against white people isn't actually a thing" and that there is no double standards in her posting topless photo's of footballers as a "perk of the job" ?

I don't have a problem with pointing out racist abuse at a game.

I have a problem with stereotyping a majority by it, and claiming five white people having their tips on the screen at once is somehow racist. This article used a legitimate issue as a cornerstone of a piece of flamebait.

Again, I'm a bit too sickened by this thread to want to engage fully. But in a sport that is famous for the on-field brilliance of its Indigenous players do you not find it curious that none of them have ever broken into the media bubble that surrounds it? Maybe I'm forgetting somebody (perhaps even somebody obvious, I dunno) but I can't think of an Indigenous commentator or writer in the sport. As for including women - run a search on "Caroline Wilson" on this site and see how much misogynist language you find.

I get it. Erin, like Adam Goodes last year, spoke out of turn. And this thread is the unrestrained id of football's privileged lashing out at the non-conformist. But no amount of attacking an unwelcome truth will make it any less truthful.

I don't suppose you bothered to take your phone and film any of this outrageously terrible behavior ?

Again, I'm a bit too sickened by this thread to want to engage fully. But in a sport that is famous for the on-field brilliance of its Indigenous players do you not find it curious that none of them have ever broken into the media bubble that surrounds it? Maybe I'm forgetting somebody (perhaps even somebody obvious, I dunno) but I can't think of an Indigenous commentator or writer in the sport. As for including women - run a search on "Caroline Wilson" on this site and see how much misogynist language you find.

I get it. Erin, like Adam Goodes last year, spoke out of turn. And this thread is the unrestrained id of football's privileged lashing out at the non-conformist. But no amount of attacking an unwelcome truth will make it any less truthful.
If you have to keep trying to imply i'm a misogynistic racist, I don't think you're really addressing any crticisms.

I point you as well as Erin, to Marngrook footy show. You're probably going to say it is racist that the majority of indigenous footy commenters are on one show, which may hold some water, but if it got better ratings than the Footy Show, wouldn't that be a greater victory than arguing with people on twitter? plusI'd still like for people to encourage the show and get it watched by more people. It has women, it has aboriginals, it has white people, it doesn't have Sam Newman. It's got it all.

Do you agree with Erin's assertion that "racism against white people isn't actually a thing" and that there is no double standards in her posting topless photo's of footballers as a "perk of the job" ?

Go searching through all 10,000 of my posts here on BF and you'll find some stupid comments I've said at times too. I'd be astonished if you didn't, since I started posting here when I was 15 years old. I would say this, though. For all that Erin might enjoy seeing shirtless footballers, they don't need to get shirtless to garner some attention for what they do well, which is play sport. Female athletes far too often have to do so. Nor is objectification the same thing as misogyny (or misandry) for that matter.

As for "racism against white people isn't actually a thing", well, yes, I agree with that once you take a moment to think beyond your defensive outrage. Erin is talking about structural racism. Not the type of casual bigotry that leads an ill-informed 13 year old girl to call a black man an ape, but the more subtle but far more pervasive racism that turns the victim into a "hypocrite" and "bully" for having the temerity to speak out of turn. Does casual bigotry towards white guys occur? No doubt. Do I have to live with it everyday, shaping how people see me and creating culturally-imposed fences around what inconvenient truths I'm allowed to say without being attacked for it? No, I do not.

Perhaps Erin's biggest mistake is trying to use Twitter to engage with this sort of rubbish. 140 characters isn't enough to inject nuance and complexity into a debate. But then it's probably pointless anyway, because the people Erin is critiquing are never going to have the self-reflection necessary to comprehend what they are getting wrong and change.

If you have to keep trying to imply i'm a misogynistic racist, I don't think you're really addressing any crticisms.

I point you as well as Erin, to Marngrook footy show. You're probably going to say it is racist that the majority of indigenous footy commenters are on one show, which may hold some water, but if it got better ratings than the Footy Show, wouldn't that be a greater victory than arguing with people on twitter? plusI'd still like for people to encourage the show and get it watched by more people. It has women, it has aboriginals, it has white people, it doesn't have Sam Newman. It's got it all.

I'm sorry, I'm not trying to call you a misogynist or a racist. It's clear that your objections to the article are at least beyond the knuckle-dragging we see on much of this thread. I have been quoting you but addressing a wider class of posts in my responses and I apologise if that was unclear. I don't watch Marngrook mainly because I no longer watch any footy shows. But Marngrook's not exactly a mainstream program, is it?

And congratulations on your truly depressing victory, btw. All season I didn't want to play Hawthorn because I knew that if you got on top inside then you'd slice us open. And sure enough.

Well you stood by and did nothing then.

Get off your high horse.

Actually, I did try to do one thing. When the flogs were continuing to sing through their own captain's acceptance speech I turned and shouted at them to at least show him the respect of listening, as I was trying to do. In return I copped abuse and threats.

And I repeat, attacking the messenger doesn't make the message any less true. I know I won't get through to you, because I understand what cognitive dissonance is even if you don't.

The AFL doesn't have a problem with racism, sexism, homophobia or anything. The AFL is a football competition.

People have a problem with racism, sexism, homophobia or anything, because people are jerks. We could try and focus on the actual issue, but why not grandstand on social media instead?

Go searching through all 10,000 of my posts here on BF and you'll find some stupid comments I've said at times too. I'd be astonished if you didn't, since I started posting here when I was 15 years old. I would say this, though. For all that Erin might enjoy seeing shirtless footballers, they don't need to get shirtless to garner some attention for what they do well, which is play sport. Female athletes far too often have to do so. Nor is objectification the same thing as misogyny (or misandry) for that matter.

As for "racism against white people isn't actually a thing", well, yes, I agree with that once you take a moment to think beyond your defensive outrage. Erin is talking about structural racism. Not the type of casual bigotry that leads an ill-informed 13 year old girl to call a black man an ape, but the more subtle but far more pervasive racism that turns the victim into a "hypocrite" and "bully" for having the temerity to speak out of turn. Does casual bigotry towards white guys occur? No doubt. Do I have to live with it everyday, shaping how people see me and creating culturally-imposed fences around what inconvenient truths I'm allowed to say without being attacked for it? No, I do not.

Perhaps Erin's biggest mistake is trying to use Twitter to engage with this sort of rubbish. 140 characters isn't enough to inject nuance and complexity into a debate. But then it's probably pointless anyway, because the people Erin is critiquing are never going to have the self-reflection necessary to comprehend what they are getting wrong and change.
She made a dumb flippant comment that was uncalled for in regards to white people and racism.

:$:$:$

Actually, I did try to do one thing. When the flogs were continuing to sing through their own captain's acceptance speech I turned and shouted at them to at least show him the respect of listening, as I was trying to do. In return I copped abuse and threats.

And I repeat, attacking the messenger doesn't make the message any less true. I know I won't get through to you, because I understand what cognitive dissonance is even if you don't.

Say what you want, if you had actually bothered to read this thread, you would know I have not brought sexism, racism or homophobia into it.

The problem with this whole Country is exactly what your posts entail, you waited until after you had seen something you believed to be wrong before taking to the internet to shame the alleged perpetrators without any proof or evidence.

You jump on a soapbox with Erin, on some kind of moral or ethical superiority complex when in fact, confronted by the issue YOU DID NOTHING.

I have said a dozen times already that I am aboriginal and Erin's article is bigoted and racist.

get stuffed mate

it's not exactly an easy thing to tell a group of people to stfu if they are being heinous

you're likely to get a response that is similar to this thread...

I've been the recipient of racism in the workplace, does that mean that all workplaces are racist?

You can get stuffed with your PC bullshit, as an Aboriginal person, I believe it is ok to have an opinion about Erin's blatant racism and bigotry.