Who is the best side in the comp on their day?

Woopsy Daisy!That didn't take long for you to get on my ignore list considering you've only recently joined. I only read this first sentence but it was enough for me to decide that I will not be reading another post of yours again understandably, so now they won't even show up. Do you really think that I'm going to read your post when you start off by violating BigFooty rules by attempting to personally insult me? I'm not interested in Neanderthals such as yourself who can't control themselves.

Toots calling me a neanderthal is also a violation of Big Footy Rules you simpleton :eek:.

I assume you're talking about your whinging on the Saints board about "how all these Collingwood meanies have taken me for a ride" ?

FWIW i agree but you could also add pissweak to that description.

Now that is really funny.
It would even be funnier if I actually posted it adn you didn't just make it up.:)

But that's fine.

Since you're so obliging, can you please tell me why the 'magpie zealot army keep denigrating their team?

I thought it was funny the first couple of times I heard it, but why all day

'Commooon Whoooore'

over and over again.

Now that is really funny.
It would even be funnier if I actually posted it adn you didn't just make it up.:)

But that's fine.

We aren't allowed to link with team boards but if anyone is looking for proof that Mister Magic here is a whining liar please direct your attention to the Saintsational thread on the Saints board :eek:

Right back at you...yours is 'only your opinion' aswell. However, unlike you, we can actually back up our 'opinion' with the fact tha we are the premiers, and our best, was better then anything the rest of the competition could dish up.

Where are your facts?

You are correct, mine is only an opinion (except for the actual question which is a fact).
But unlike the majority of your 'brethren' I would never presume to try and pass it off as a fact.

So, using your logic then,
The premiership team is always the best team of the year?
Geelong in 2009
Hawthorn in 2008
Geelong in 2007
etc.

Secondly, and even more importantly,
please explain how that relates to the original question that this 40 page thread is predicated on?

If you've forgotten it, I'll repeat it again:-

'Who is the best team on their day?'

Now if the question was 'Who is the best team in 2010? then I would simply agree with your assertion that it was Collingwood.

But that is not the question.

Why is it that everybody bar most of the Collingwood fans seem to understand what the question was and still is?

It's not so difficult.
It's not pure semantics.
It's a hypothetical question that can only be an opinion based answer.

I can tell you my opinion on who it cannot be:-
(in no particular order)
WCE
Brisbane
Gold Coast
Port Adelaide

becasue they simply, at this stage, do not have the playing personnel to be the very best on their day. That doesn't mean they cannot win against any other team on a day.

Now I'm sure this concept is not a too difficult thing to understand, and I'm assuming that the vast majority of Collingwood fans who are arguing this point are reasonably intelligent.
Therefore I can only conclude that they are belabouring this point out of pig-headedness.

And I find it hysterical that they are so insecure about their beloved Pies place in the pecking order that they will use any opportunity to try and steer any coversation to a conclusion that they want/need.

I'm sorry but,
That is not debate.
That is not rational discussion
That's just insecure brow-beating and forcing one's opinion down others' throats.

We aren't allowed to link with team boards but if anyone is looking for proof that Mister Magic here is a whining liar please direct your attention to the Saintsational thread on the Saints board :eek:

Please do and point out the post where I posted that statement.

Then I'd like an apology from the poster who just branded me a liar thanks.

You're counting wins in pre-season matches, claiming they somehow make for a good comparison between the 2 sides, and you call me stupid :confused:

Only losers take glory from pre-season matches. Winners treat them like practice matches. It's great to win them, but their results are often meaningless. Even Richmond can pull off a pre-season premiership. :rolleyes:

But if you wonna count the NAB Cup, then that's fine. It' just means that St Kilda played 4 GFs in the space of 12 months, without winning a single one. Now that truly is pathetic.

Absolute gold my boy, GOLD!!! Classic posting. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Please do and point out the post where I posted that statement.

Then I'd like an apology from the poster who just branded me a liar thanks.

Are you saying you didn't moan about Collingwood supporters in that Saintsational thread after being taken for a ride few days ago on here ???????

Depends what your definition of moan is???????
Here is my post from the Saints Forum:-

The main board of Big Footy is very fascinating to me , in a voyeuristic fashion.
Having steered clear of other Clubs' forums in the past this is my first real taste of debate/discussion/argument wqith opposition supporters.
Is what I see on there currently something new since Collingwood won the premiership or is it something that's been going on for awhile?

I find it almost impossible to have rational debate/discussion because of the hordes of Collingwood supporters.
And they are, in the main, football's version of Rev Jim Jones' followers in Guyana.
They receive a message on how to view things and they are stoic, almost reverent, in their slavish following of that pov.
No amount af rational debate or logic can sway them - in fact they seem to point blank refuse to accept any opinion that is even slightly different to the 'corpoarte line' they're following.
I'm assuming that they're not all your typical moron bogans, and that most of them are quite intelligent in everyday life.
I wonder if they had the ability to stand back and see what they're doing from a different perspective, what they'd make of it all?
Would they be embarrassed by the display of almost blind religious fervour in their defense of 'all things Collingwood?

Staggering but fascinating all the same

Please show me anywhere within that post where I stated anything you quoted me as posting?

And you know what - I still think it's a perfectly reasonable view from someone who's never 'visited' this forum before to take from this particular thread.
I stand by every word I posted.

But once again it shows to me (at least) that many posters simply cannot read and comprehend what is written.
Never mind what is actually posted - reply to what you think was posted or even worse, what you wanted to have been posted.

Maybe you're incapable of lateral thought then, which I thought was just common sense to be able to do that.Thanks for the insightful input Dr. Phil. Of course I'm happy that Collingwood won the premiership, but all Collingwood supporters, particularly paid members had something to do with the premiership.....

Oh dear.

Sorry, but you didn't.

Of course the club wants your cash each year, so they'll con you into believing that you 'are a part of it!'. But anyone out of their early teens and with a hint of intelligence, knows that supporting a club doesn't actually justify your claims that you influenced or were involved in a win of any form.

You really think that if you didn't support Collingwood, they wouldn't have won the flag last year?
What happened in 01 and 02? You didn't 'barrack hard enough'??

Fair dinkum.

:)Somehow I get the feeling that you want to forget that the Collingwood premiership ever happened. Head in bucket of sand syndrome. ;)

I remember all premiership teams.

But once the siren goes, it's all over. No one bar supporters of the club that won give a stuff once the new season is about to start.

It's a whole new ball game, so to speak. Once the season starts, every is back on an even par, and it all starts over again.

As I said, the only people that care who was the premier the previous year are supporters of that team. Most supporters of that team don't care either. For most people, you get piissed, enjoy it for a day or two then get back to your own and find fulfilment through your own achievements - not those of others.

It's not like the UFC when people challenge the champ for the title.

Depends what your definition of moan is???????
Here is my post from the Saints Forum:-

The main board of Big Footy is very fascinating to me , in a voyeuristic fashion.
Having steered clear of other Clubs' forums in the past this is my first real taste of debate/discussion/argument wqith opposition supporters.
Is what I see on there currently something new since Collingwood won the premiership or is it something that's been going on for awhile?

I find it almost impossible to have rational debate/discussion because of the hordes of Collingwood supporters.
And they are, in the main, football's version of Rev Jim Jones' followers in Guyana.
They receive a message on how to view things and they are stoic, almost reverent, in their slavish following of that pov.
No amount af rational debate or logic can sway them - in fact they seem to point blank refuse to accept any opinion that is even slightly different to the 'corpoarte line' they're following.
I'm assuming that they're not all your typical moron bogans, and that most of them are quite intelligent in everyday life.
I wonder if they had the ability to stand back and see what they're doing from a different perspective, what they'd make of it all?
Would they be embarrassed by the display of almost blind religious fervour in their defense of 'all things Collingwood?

Staggering but fascinating all the same

Please show me anywhere within that post where I stated anything you quoted me as posting?

And you know what - I still think it's a perfectly reasonable view from someone who's never 'visited' this forum before to take from this particular thread.
I stand by every word I posted.

But once again it shows to me (at least) that many posters simply cannot read and comprehend what is written.
Never mind what is actually posted - reply to what you think was posted or even worse, what you wanted to have been posted.

Like i said - whining after being made to look like a fool. There was also another post were you tried to tarnish Beams in order to justify the immoral and embarrassing activities that your club has been involved in recently. Great to see we've managed to get to you in a space of 2 days,lol.
By the way don't ever dream of entering the Bay, impressionable young men like you get eaten for breakfast there.

Maybe the best is the team that won the premiership??

i think so, saints fans have claims as they drew the first GF with us (but we'll just keep that between you and me ok ;))

what pisses me off are these hawthorn flogs, they have lost more games then they've won over the last 2 years but somehow their best is better than anyones.

i think so, saints fans have claims as they drew the first GF with us (but we'll just keep that between you and me ok ;))

what pisses me off are these hawthorn flogs, they have lost more games then they've won over the last 2 years but somehow their best is better than anyones.

Really if you look at the question you could argue any of Hawthorn Collingwood Geelong and StKilda. Hawthorn at there best would get the nod because no one has anyone that can contain Buddy at his best. Then StKilda with Riewoldt and Collingwood with there eveness.

Like i said - whining after being made to look like a fool. There was also another post were you tried to tarnish Beams in order to justify the immoral and embarrassing activities that your club has been involved in recently. Great to see we've managed to get to you in a space of 2 days,lol.
By the way don't ever dream of entering the Bay, impressionable young men like you get eaten for breakfast there.

Ha!
Do you make lies up in every post you make?

Sign of desperation I would have thought.

Please explain where I 'whined' in that post?
Maybe you're actually thinking about the whinnying you're doing?

Now as for the next untruthful allegation from you.

All I asked was that why is it that nobody is asking how come the girl was partying at a licensed venue with the Collingwood players after the GF win?
It's a legitimate question given that not even Collingwood could claim they didn't know her real age then. You also conveniently left out the part of my post where I stated that if Gilbert continued in a relationship with the girl once he knew her real age then I thought that was morally wrong.

But once again you'll tell a lie to try and obfuscate the truth.

Would you like me to 'copy' that post on here so once again everybody can understand how you are attempting to twist the truth?

Have you always poisted in this fashion - distorting the truth?
I cannot believe nobody has picked you up on it previously.

As for 'looking like a fool' I might humbly suggest that you do exactly what I suggested you should do in my quoted post:-
take a look in the mirror and you will see a fool staring back at you.

A fool so big he doesn't even realize that people are laughing at him not with him.

But keep going.
I'm enjoying this immensely.
It's not everyday I get to exchange barbs with a host of magpie supporters.

Really if you look at the question you could argue any of Hawthorn Collingwood Geelong and StKilda. Hawthorn at there best would get the nod because no one has anyone that can contain Buddy at his best. Then StKilda with Riewoldt and Collingwood with there eveness.

the majority of the times buddy's gotton to us presty wasnt playing, same goes for all the times fev got to us, as soon as presty came back fev was owned, i know we dont have the human glove anymore but we recruited tarrant who seems to go alright against buddy.

remember also, buddy kicked a bag on us in the dead rubber last year, they still only won by less than a kick and we gave josh fraser a charity 200th game and let him ruck most of the day, im pretty sure didak and wellingham were rested that game as well, i think the hawks may have rested hodge, not sure bout that though.