Banter Who will be Better in 2025, Collingwood or Carlton? Part 4

Banter threads are not to be taken too seriously. Have fun. Let others have fun.

Who will be better in 2025

• Collingwood

Votes: 108 51.4%
  • Carlton

Votes: 102 48.6%

Colliwobbles is more folklore than anything you bring up. It's cute trying to pass the baton, but not to be. The best thing is, it was coined by a collingwood legend and has stuck ever since. 27 grand final defeats will always be a bigger discussion point until it gets surpassed, which definitely won't happen in anyone's lifetime that is currently breathing air , here, or on Mars
The Martians I hear are heavily invested in AFL. campaigner of an away game

Just happens to be the last two years, should tell you something.
Yep

Based on a 29 year history this current run looks over. 3 single finishes in a row is as good as it gets

Yep

Based on a 29 year history this current run looks over. 3 single finishes in a row is as good as it gets
I've seen my side win more premierships and have been at the ground in attendance, than you and probably any other Collingwood person on this forum. We'll be ok with a lean spell. The flags certainly offset anything else you bring up

No need, I still remember the game vividly
You should , I do too. It was a great day for you guys thanks to Tuddy. Bloody idiot.

The 60s, 70s and 80s were great for you. No trouble admitting that.

I've seen my side win more premierships and have been at the ground in attendance, than you and probably any other Collingwood person on this forum. We'll be ok with a lean spell. The flags certainly offset anything else you bring up
No doubt. None of this is in dispute by me except your last comment. Never thought in those days I would get to a stage where I would prefer the Collingwood ride over the Carlton but that changed.

I know you wont agree but to be so poor for so long , a 29years where most seasons were worthless, thats just too long to balance the good times of the old days. Footy ends up being great experiences and flags are the very best of that but you have had too many years of nothingness and seeing your club as a laughing stock. I would hate to have that feeling.

No doubt. None of this is in dispute by me except your last comment. Never thought in those days I would get to a stage where I would prefer the Collingwood ride over the Carlton but that changed.

I know you wont agree but to be so poor for so long , a 29years where most seasons were worthless, thats just too long to balance the good times of the old days. Footy ends up being great experiences and flags are the very best of that but you have had too many years of nothingness and seeing your club as a laughing stock. I would hate to have that feeling.
When the AFL handed out the penalties, people were saying 5 years. I thought 15 given the age demographic at the time. Then GWS and Gold Coast hogged all the kids which set us back another 10 when Malthouse came over.
I have fears for us again in a few years, but more so for any side with a high age bracket at the moment. Richmond being shizen now and next year is a godsend for them. If they nail 3/4 of those kids, then they'll be on the right path. Probably why Carlton has put some investment into kids with keeping a small eye on Tasmania when they arrive. They will get the mother of all gift packages when it happens. It will piss a lot of clubs off including yours and mine and I can see why its easy to say that "we contend every 3rd year wtc etc blah blah blah" but the facts are that eventually it bites you on the arse sooner or later. Laughing stock - well I'm not feeling it. What goes around comes around. Sorry for the waffle I've just spent 2 hours in a dental chair.....

When the AFL handed out the penalties, people were saying 5 years. I thought 15 given the age demographic at the time. Then GWS and Gold Coast hogged all the kids which set us back another 10 when Malthouse came over.
I have fears for us again in a few years, but more so for any side with a high age bracket at the moment. Richmond being shizen now and next year is a godsend for them. If they nail 3/4 of those kids, then they'll be on the right path. Probably why Carlton has put some investment into kids with keeping a small eye on Tasmania when they arrive. They will get the mother of all gift packages when it happens. It will piss a lot of clubs off including yours and mine and I can see why its easy to say that "we contend every 3rd year wtc etc blah blah blah" but the facts are that eventually it bites you on the arse sooner or later. Laughing stock - well I'm not feeling it. What goes around comes around. Sorry for the waffle I've just spent 2 hours in a dental chair.....
Mate the gas must have been top notch. This is a great post that’s full of logic

Winning a premiership 14 months ago brings a smile to Collingwood supporters' faces...

What a pathetic attempt at a sick burn...

Reminds me of Freo fans celebrating our demise the past few years...

No thank you supporting the Pies would be the ultimate embarrassment i think!:D
You think that now...
Join Us Evil Dead GIF by filmeditor

Good management should have made 5 years very possible and 10 years max. Your other trouble was you went from cutting edge management of footy and admin to a refusal to evolve. Attitudes and appointments were often bad. We had it in the 60's onwards until late 80s. Hurt us but not like you have been hurt.

Hate to say it but Hawks could be a Tassie beneficiary more than anyone. They did it with GC/GWS and they did it even more with the zones they got. More than any club they have played it well but also been right place right time and then the zoning system was so slanted in their favour they had a massive advantage.

Banter Who will be Better in 2025, Collingwood or Carlton? Part 4