Who will be the next captain at each club?

Coin_Toss said:
Fraser. He is about to hit the right age.

Licuria is somewhat a chance too because Malthouse adores the bloke.
I don't know the bloke personally and what he's like around the club, but from what I see on the field, he doesn't seem to ooze leadership or be overly encouraging to his team mates. I may be wrong, but personally I think there are far better options than Fraser. Rocca to me, seems the one who has the ability to inspire and seems to use his voice a lot more than Fraser.

afc9798 said:
I don't know the bloke personally and what he's like around the club, but from what I see on the field, he doesn't seem to ooze leadership or be overly encouraging to his team mates. I may be wrong, but personally I think there are far better options than Fraser. Rocca to me, seems the one who has the ability to inspire and seems to use his voice a lot more than Fraser.

Independently, if I had to choose mate, Rocca would make an ideal captain. He holds such a presence to whom he makes Bucks look second-rate. But my sources say Malthouse wants a long-term captain, someone who can hold the job for five or six years.

Fraser has used his voice a lot more this year because he has been added to the leadership group, as a deputy vice-captain. Something the other leaders had a lot to do with I hear.

Don't be surprised if Sam Mitchell beats Luke Hodge to the job at hawthorn for next season.

IMO Mitchell should have been captain from the start of this season.

Clement will be the next captain. He will Captain for a 2-3 years after Buckley until the following list have a few extra years to mature and show their leadership quality.
Fraser (my pick if injury free during this time)
Didak (may just be the thing that takes him from very good to great)
Swan & H.Shaw (these two ooze leadership by example)
Pendlebury & T.Cloke (future keys to the magpie machine)

Skoff said:
Didak (may just be the thing that takes him from very good to great)

Players in the Didak ilk are rarely given the captaincy for some odd reason. Daics was never made captain, although, when he filled in for Shawry, he stood up (to the job) exceptionally well.

MaccasNeighbour said:
There is no stand out at this stage is there. Agree with comments about Rutten, VB and Thompson.

Some less obvious choices might include Mattner, Hentschel, Reilly, Shirley or Doughty. IMO all of these guys are blokes who throw their body on the line week in, week out. I guess a lot of it depends on the natural leading abilities of the players as well, something that's hard to judge from the outside.

Your club would have to take a massive downturn in personell, players with leadership quality and fortune for either of these two to be considered as captain material.

juddy_Like said:
Dean Cox..... no
Ben Cousins..... no
Michael Gardiner..... fukk no
Chris Judd...... yes (next premiership captain)

judd cant be next captain, he already is the captain daaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Sadly the club will probably promote Ling as Captain, despite him playing poor footy and being injured.

Ben Graham looks better everyday and that's almost an indictment from where sit.

afc9798 said:
Adelaide- Ben Rutten or Nathan Van Berlo (longshot at this stage)
Brisbane-Jonathan Brown-ready made successor to Voss
Carlton- Nick Stevens
Collingwood-Rocca/Thomas
Essendon- Stanton or Monfries
Fremantle- Pavlich
Geelong- Paul Chapman
Hawthorn- Hodge
Kangaroos- Harris
Melbourne- McLean
Port- K.Cornes/Symes
Richmond- Bowden.P.
Saints-Riewoldt (if they settle on a captain)
Sydney- Kirk (only cause I wanna hear Captain Kirk called during the games)
Western Bulldogs-Griffen
West Coast- next captain hasn't been drafted yet.

surely you mean joel?

CyberKev said:
Don't be surprised if Sam Mitchell beats Luke Hodge to the job at hawthorn for next season.

Hodge certainly seems to be an excellent on field leader, but I agree that Mitchell may get it next year, and IMO be an excellent choice.:thumbsu:

afc9798 said:
Sydney- Kirk (only cause I wanna hear Captain Kirk called during the games)
Well, he sort of is captain atm.

Given that all my blokes are 29-30, I'd be looking at these guys doing it for perhaps two years, form and injuries permitting.

B1 is a show, as is perhaps Buchanan, Goodes (who'll be 28 in 2008) or from left field Sean Dempster. I'd have no problem with any of the first three, although admittedly there would need to be improvement from the Dumpster. I do reckon though he could be the man.

CyberKev said:

Surely not Kev.Nothing against Mitchell but geez Hodge has all the attributes to make an excellent captain

bringbackschwarter5 said:
Deomons- Mclean or Rivers (means he wont go back to S.A.) or Bruce

After neitz I reckon we'll see

Captain: Bruce
Vice Captains: McLean, Rivers, Davey

but in my OPINION it should be

Captain: TRapper
Vice Captains: Bruce, McLean, Rivers

TGTOA said:
Agree - won't be Scarlo, he's too much of a recluse. Last year I would have said Ling, but his form this year might see him struggling to justify his spot in the team, let alone being captain. One of Ablett, Chapman or Mooney (or maybe all three).
You're a funny guy TGTOA, you really know how to make a guy laugh. Now why the **** would you want a filthy dirsty sniper with no talent to be your captain. HE would be 10x worse than Vandenberg as a captain. He has no morals, and would much rather pick a fight than actually do something related to getting the ball and kicking a goal. I think he's about 30 years too late in those stakes. Dirty, dirty, dirty.

footy4eva said:
judd cant be next captain, he already is the captain daaaaaaaaaaaaaa

i was refering to who should be captain. the way things are looking though, juddy is no garentees on remaining captain but thats another debate in itself. but you might of got the next part from the 'next premiership captain of my quote.

yup Jude Bolton for the swans:thumbsu: :thumbsu: but it depends on how long Roosy wants to keep this rotating captaincy thing going on and how long our seniors like O'loughlin have in them

Gunnar Longshanks said:
I reckon the interesting one is Collingwood.

Buckley will be captain at least until the end of next season.

By then, Clement and Rocca will both be 30-plus. Too old to take over the captaincy.

Who would you give it to after that?

Josh Fraser? Paul Licuria? Tarkyn Lockyer? Ben Johnson?
why will clement & rocca be too old, yet u say that goodwin is the ideal replacement for roo???

rocca is younger then goodwin, clement only 3 months older??

Skeppersap said:
I reckon for Geelong it will be Kent Kingsley

Skeppersap, what on earth are u on????????

Kent, no way.

To everyone who thinks Mooney will be the next captain of Geelong, I agree.

Kimirocks, you made a poor judgement on Mooney, i think you're living in the past. We're talking future captains here, so give him a year when King leaves, and he'll be right up there.

Hodge will be the future captain of Hawthorn.

Luke Ball should stay on as captain of the Saints.

Diamond Twin said:
Skeppersap, what on earth are u on????????

Kent, no way.

To everyone who thinks Mooney will be the next captain of Geelong, I agree.

Kimirocks, you made a poor judgement on Mooney, i think you're living in the past. We're talking future captains here, so give him a year when King leaves, and he'll be right up there.

Hodge will be the future captain of Hawthorn.

Luke Ball should stay on as captain of the Saints.

hook. line. sinker.

Who will be the next captain at each club?