Who will coach Devonport?

That sounds good on building your own talent, but do they have any?? I don't know Scott from a bar of soap, but to get, I think an ex Burnie boy, to come and coach a Devonport side, I'm pretty sure he must be on what everyone is saying, $25,000 a year. I know one thing, you'd want to be on a fair bit to coach East, because they have nothing that would appeal to any one in the players department, but we all know they have money.

But, I know one thing, East will not be any better next year, or the year after, or the year after, than what they were this year. They have been paying big money to get coaches and players for years now, and what have they achieved???

Yes I guess it would come as a surprise that an ex burnie player would be involved with east but I guess once you've played in several premierships with that side then a new challenge may be somewhat appealing dont you think?
I know what you are saying but I guess there is a time where things start to improve. You can pay big money for coaches and players but I guess at the end of the day (besides from being night) it takes the right person to come along to create a better culture at the club. Essentially they woul need to start from scratch - look at what is keeping them in the same position and set tangible goals for the future. What are your thoughts Birch?

Yes I guess it would come as a surprise that an ex burnie player would be involved with east but I guess once you've played in several premierships with that side then a new challenge may be somewhat appealing dont you think?
I know what you are saying but I guess there is a time where things start to improve. You can pay big money for coaches and players but I guess at the end of the day (besides from being night) it takes the right person to come along to create a better culture at the club. Essentially they woul need to start from scratch - look at what is keeping them in the same position and set tangible goals for the future. What are your thoughts Birch?

It all sounds good in theory Subi80, but a bottom side like East really needs leadership, and if blokes like Merv Neagle and Leon Perry couldn't install that, then I don't know how a young player Like Scott can do it. Especially if he is not bringing players along with him.

Your right, he needs to build the club from the bottom up, but he also need a large core of experienced, strong body players to compliment the young ones. I hope Scott is allowed an open cheque book to bring along some big strong bodied recruits, or I can see East being cellar dwellers for along period of time.

Are you an East Dev supporter Subi80?

It all sounds good in theory Subi80, but a bottom side like East really needs leadership, and if blokes like Merv Neagle and Leon Perry couldn't install that, then I don't know how a young player Like Scott can do it. Especially if he is not bringing players along with him.

Your right, he needs to build the club from the bottom up, but he also need a large core of experienced, strong body players to compliment the young ones. I hope Scott is allowed an open cheque book to bring along some big strong bodied recruits, or I can see East being cellar dwellers for along period of time.

Are you an East Dev supporter Subi80?

Yes you do raise some good points. I just feel that often when you recruit players from interstate etc for big money you dont get many years out of them before they move on. The club Scott played at this season is a prime example - they got players from all over Australia and hardly any are returning next season. So i guess you can buy talent but not loyalty and real passion for the club long term, its a bit of a trade off.

No I am not an east devonport supporter. I am not tasmanian - from Perth. How about yourself?

Yes you do raise some good points. I just feel that often when you recruit players from interstate etc for big money you dont get many years out of them before they move on. The club Scott played at this season is a prime example - they got players from all over Australia and hardly any are returning next season. So i guess you can buy talent but not loyalty and real passion for the club long term, its a bit of a trade off.

No I am not an east devonport supporter. I am not tasmanian - from Perth. How about yourself?

you seem to know alot about tassie football, or you just good mates with the coach of east dev?

I would seriously doubt whether you know Scott Matheson if you think he would only coach East Devonport for the money!!! Scott has the football brains and the attitude to take the club to a far more positive position. I believe his main reason for taking the job was a strong desire to take part in the improvement of the football club. It is ludicrous for you to even suggest that Scott's motives would be monetary. I can guarantee he will work tirelessly and silence all those who are so quick to pass comment

My point was Subi that If Scott was coming backto the coast it would be Burnie. For Scott to coach at East Dev they must have dangled a large carrot in front of him. I do know Scott well and yes he has a great footy brain and with the experience of being at Subi and ainslie he will bring a wealth of knowledge to East that should improve their club. As for Scotts motives - To be the future Burnie coach i would imagine

Yes we were mates. I dont really know much at all about tassie football to be honest!! Which ntfl club do you support birch?

You seem to know a fair bit Subi80, Not meaning to be rude mate, but your profile says you are from Canberra, but you stated previously that you were from Perth?

You are not Scott Matheson are you???:)

You seem to know a fair bit Subi80, Not meaning to be rude mate, but your profile says you are from Canberra, but you stated previously that you were from Perth?

You are not Scott Matheson are you???:)

No you are not being rude at all- I am from Perth but living in canberra and NO I am certainly not Scott!!!!!

My point was Subi that If Scott was coming backto the coast it would be Burnie. For Scott to coach at East Dev they must have dangled a large carrot in front of him. I do know Scott well and yes he has a great footy brain and with the experience of being at Subi and ainslie he will bring a wealth of knowledge to East that should improve their club. As for Scotts motives - To be the future Burnie coach i would imagine

Blue Virus - why dont you just ask scott then why he is coaching at east? I am sure he will tell you

Will you be moving to Devonport next? Who's going to be Scott's assistants? I heard Wuffy Smith is on the Radar?

No devonport for me! To my knowledge the club is in the process of talking to a few guys about the assistant roles at the moment. Dont think they have made any decisions as yet

Any high profile ones Subi80? How did scotty go in Canberra this year? Who did he play for in the WAFL?

Would not like to speculate on the assistant coach issue to be honest. The club Scott played for in Canberra this year are in a major rebuilding phase (albeit not too successful I would predict) and it was pretty much a completely new playing group. He had a few injuries so he missed a few games. The level of competition here is not what he was used to (nowhere near as good as WAFL or NTFL) so he was pretty disappointed. He did have a few good games but there was no heart at the club so it was pretty hard for him to get excited about it.

He played for Subiaco in the WAFL although in 2006 season he broke his ulna twice so two operations later he missed most of the season which was pretty disappointing

Would not like to speculate on the assistant coach issue to be honest. The club Scott played for in Canberra this year are in a major rebuilding phase (albeit not too successful I would predict) and it was pretty much a completely new playing group. He had a few injuries so he missed a few games. The level of competition here is not what he was used to (nowhere near as good as WAFL or NTFL) so he was pretty disappointed. He did have a few good games but there was no heart at the club so it was pretty hard for him to get excited about it.

He played for Subiaco in the WAFL although in 2006 season he broke his ulna twice so two operations later he missed most of the season which was pretty disappointing

Do you know if east are getting any of their older players back subi?

When will you be talking to Scott Matheson again Subi??? When you are, ask jim is Barry Gaby going to be his bench coach?

I dont think so as far as I am aware. May I ask (no rudeness intended at all :)) what is your interest in Scott? Are you an east devonport supporter?

Yeah, originally a Dev boy, now in Hobart mate, use to follow the swanies when Wilo was coach and Laycock was starting out.

Who so you follow Subi?

How is big Rumbles going mate? seen he got delisted by Freo.

Will Gourdiadis get drafted, sounds a likely type, but he has got a terrible kick on him!

Dennis - lane sounds likely aswell mate, give us a rundown on them Subi.

Say g'day to Broady, Smithy, Newi, and Heise for me mate.:thumbsu:

How is big Rumbles going mate? seen he got delisted by Freo.

Will Gourdiadis get drafted, sounds a likely type, but he has got a terrible kick on him!

Dennis - lane sounds likely aswell mate, give us a rundown on them Subi.

Say g'day to Broady, Smithy, Newi, and Heise for me mate.:thumbsu:

my tip from a glenorchy source is that jaimes wiggens will be assistant coach at devonport ( bench coach) in the hope that he can next year move back down to be associated with glenorchy in the same roll. said that jaimes has always wanted to return south. do you know how jaimes has been going up their birch? he was a real character doen here at our club some years ago

Yep, Jaimes Wiggins will be a future Bench Coach of Glenorchy ... and I will one day coach OHA!
Jaimes would be a great asset for Glenorchy in the future no matter what role he takes on. There is not many people around as passionate about football as he is. Has developed a pretty handy resume over the last few years and through his many contacts has organised some very lucrative functions for the clubs he has been at. People that bag him are those that sit back on their arses and have never accomplished anything in footy. Those that have, know that Jaimes is a respected person in the footy community. Ps Im not Mrs Wiggins either;)

ask previous clubs who have had wiggo and im sure they would all agree he has done good things for each club. as the bench coach turned out to be utter sh*t cant knock the guy for caring alot about tassie footy. his heart is as big as his stomah:)

Who will coach Devonport?