Who will St Kilda delist?

Welcome back nexus, did tou enjoy your stint on the sidelines?

I must admit you were right about butters going. Now i have seen the rival group i must confess my prefernce to butters going. Its not that i dont like him, its just i like Westway better.

PS. I still dont agree with you about the on-feild side of things and our future.

G'day alo_saints_fan, I'm happy that you have seen the light regading Butthead!!! However, I'm not convinced about Westaway. The one thing that the Butthead board did was get rid of our debt. Now Westaway is saying that they didn't spend enough on footy. Even if that is true, that is not a valid reason to overthrow the board!!!!

Now to the on-field situation. You don't agree with me and that's fair enough. I would love to be proven wrong, I would love to see St.kilda do a Geelong and turn it around. But mate, believe me, St.kilda are headed South next year.

When you are trying to guage where St.kilda will finish on the ladder next season, you need to look at the other 15 teams first. Which of the teams above us this year can you honestly see us over-taking next year??

The only 2 possibilities are Sydney and Adelaide. Both are ageing teams but both have massive home ground advantages. Then you need to look at the teams that finished below us. Brisbane will definitely overtake us next season. Richmond and Carlton are on the way up.

Looking at all the scenarios, St.kilda are headed for 10th at best, 14th at worst. I know you don't agree, but in 12 months time you will......unfortunately.:(

Grow up!!!

It's a nice way of saying you are out of your freaking mind.

Well, just as I hypothesised, Brett Voss retired. That means four confirmed delistings so far. As I said I think Clinton Jones will get promoted, which will leave the minimum three spots for draftees.

However, if we trade for Judd then we still have to draft three players so there must be three open spots.

It's a nice way of saying you are out of your freaking mind.

Well, just as I hypothesised, Brett Voss retired. That means four confirmed delistings so far. As I said I think Clinton Jones will get promoted, which will leave the minimum three spots for draftees.

However, if we trade for Judd then we still have to draft three players so there must be three open spots.

Do you really think we will bounce back into premiership calculations next year?

Yes, and here's why:

The high-pressure game plan (tackling and running) needs a supreme fitness base that takes more than one pre-season. The width and breadth of St Kilda players who have question marks over whether they can complete a full pre-season are: Luke Ball, Brendan Goddard, Aaron Hamill, Michael Gardiner.

The list of our players who will enter next season 28 years old or younger: Jason Gram, Xavier Clarke, Fergus Watts, Leigh Fisher, Lenny Hayes, Steven Baker, Leigh Montagna, Nick Riewoldt, Luke Ball, Raphael Clarke, Aaron Fiora, Brendan Goddard, Sam Gilbert, David Armitage, Matthew Ferguson, Shane Birss, Justin Koschitzke, Barry Brooks, Sam Fisher, Nick Dal Santo, Jason Blake, Michael Rix, Brad Howard, Matt Maguire, Andrew McQualter, James Gwilt, Philip Raymond, Jarryd Allen, Justin Sweeney, Clinton Jones, James Wall, Robert Eddy, Jarryn Geary, Luke Can Rheenan, Jayden Attard, Stephen Milne. Obviously there will be players delisted from this group, but we have a good young core, built around a top-4 defence, a ball-winning midfield and tall, marking forwards. Our only clear area of deficiency is ruckmen. All being equal, we should aim for a Round 1 22 like this:

B S Fisher M Hudghton R Clarke
HB J Gram M Maguire L Fisher
C L Montagna L Ball R Harvey
HF A Fiora N Riewoldt S Gilbert
F S Milne F Watts X Clarke
Foll J Koschitzke L Hayes N Dal Santo
Int M Rix S Birss D Armitage J Gwilt

That is not including Goddard, Hamill, Gardiner or Steven Baker, who would come in for the four interchange players.

Even in the dark Colonial Stadium days I always believed we could beat any opponent on any day. While I wasn't as big a Grant Thomas critic as some others, to suggest he was better than the revered Allan Jeans is foolish. I think we can win the premiership next year, for the above reasons, coupled with the fact that the competition is extremely close and there are only a few teams without lists capable of being top-4 (Carlton, Richmond, Melbourne, Essendon).

And of course, the real possibility that we could land Chris Judd.

Yes, and here's why:

The high-pressure game plan (tackling and running) needs a supreme fitness base that takes more than one pre-season. The width and breadth of St Kilda players who have question marks over whether they can complete a full pre-season are: Luke Ball, Brendan Goddard, Aaron Hamill, Michael Gardiner.

The list of our players who will enter next season 28 years old or younger: Jason Gram, Xavier Clarke, Fergus Watts, Leigh Fisher, Lenny Hayes, Steven Baker, Leigh Montagna, Nick Riewoldt, Luke Ball, Raphael Clarke, Aaron Fiora, Brendan Goddard, Sam Gilbert, David Armitage, Matthew Ferguson, Shane Birss, Justin Koschitzke, Barry Brooks, Sam Fisher, Nick Dal Santo, Jason Blake, Michael Rix, Brad Howard, Matt Maguire, Andrew McQualter, James Gwilt, Philip Raymond, Jarryd Allen, Justin Sweeney, Clinton Jones, James Wall, Robert Eddy, Jarryn Geary, Luke Can Rheenan, Jayden Attard, Stephen Milne. Obviously there will be players delisted from this group, but we have a good young core, built around a top-4 defence, a ball-winning midfield and tall, marking forwards. Our only clear area of deficiency is ruckmen. All being equal, we should aim for a Round 1 22 like this:

That is not including Goddard, Hamill, Gardiner or Steven Baker, who would come in for the four interchange players.

Even in the dark Colonial Stadium days I always believed we could beat any opponent on any day. While I wasn't as big a Grant Thomas critic as some others, to suggest he was better than the revered Allan Jeans is foolish. I think we can win the premiership next year, for the above reasons, coupled with the fact that the competition is extremely close and there are only a few teams without lists capable of being top-4 (Carlton, Richmond, Melbourne, Essendon).

Mate, you are either delusional or a supreme optimist. Doesn't really matter which one you are. You are so off the mark it is laughable. I tend to think that it's the ROSE-COLOURED-GLASSES syndrome.

I'l guarantee you this Mr. The Punter, St.kilda will definitely not make the top 8 next season. In fact, the highest they could possibly finish is tenth with the worst case scenario being 14th IMHO.

I dare you to make this post a sticky if you can or ask one of the moderators to do it. This ROSE-COLOURED-GLASSES syndrome is why St.kilda have 26 wooden spoons and only 1 Premiership.

I am happy to put my reputation on the line (considering that only my friends know who I am on this site and they already know how I feel).

Do as the lady says. Make it a sticky. I push all my chips into the table. I'm all in.

If you blokes dont delist barry brooks you are insane.

Rix has done more and had no time on the list compared to brooks.

Absolutely no benfit in keeping him

I'm with The Punter on this one !

I was, despite the occasional hick-ups (C'wood / Bulldogs / West Coast), quite happy with the second half of the season and am convinced that a full pre-season with Ross Lyon and the team knowing / understanding each other a lot better will get us in the Top 8, if not the Top 4.

Confidence in your abilities and game plan means so much these days - St Kilda still has a very, very good team and with a good start and injury free pre-season, I feel that anything is possible (the sky is the limit...). Geelong did not make the 8, had a lot of internal problems, lack of confidenace in the coach, problems with players discipline - and where are they now ?

Top 8: The Punter, Dominique, ...

Bottom 8: NeXus_Helen, ...

Sweeney and Raymond are reportedly gone already and Voss retired.

That makes 6
Gehrig
Thompson
M.Clarke
Voss
Sweeney
Raymond

With 2 probable rookie elevations, that could be all we see in terms of retirements/delistings. Cut one rookie and we can use 4 draft picks and 3 rookie picks.

Here is my prediction from the start of the thread. The only thing wrong so far was that I thought Voss would be retained for one more year (while I was hoping that he would retire).

Retired: Gehrig, Thompson, M.Clarke
Delist: Raymond, Sweeney

Elevate: Jones, Geary
Cut from rookie list: Wall

Yes, and here's why:

Mate, every list has decent crop of youngsters and a pack of players under 28, which isnt exactly young :confused:

To suggest that list will get the saints a flag is the exact reason you guys have only won 1.

Mate, you are either delusional or a supreme optimist. Doesn't really matter which one you are. You are so off the mark it is laughable. I tend to think that it's the ROSE-COLOURED-GLASSES syndrome.

I'l guarantee you this Mr. The Punter, St.kilda will definitely not make the top 8 next season. In fact, the highest they could possibly finish is tenth with the worst case scenario being 14th IMHO.

I dare you to make this post a sticky if you can or ask one of the moderators to do it. This ROSE-COLOURED-GLASSES syndrome is why St.kilda have 26 wooden spoons and only 1 Premiership.

Sorry NH, the reason we have 1 flag is because Thomas was our coach during our dominant years.

He faltered in the finals. Pure & simple. Sure I loved what he did with the club, and respect that - but come finals time we fell apart. each & every year.
I would rather 1 yr of what we served up & then come back stronger & actually win a flag .. rather than make prelim after prelim & lose by 30 points.

Yes, and here's why:

Mate, every list has decent crop of youngsters and a pack of players under 28, which isnt exactly young anyway :confused:

To suggest that list will get the saints a flag is the exact reason you guys have 1 premiership to show for your effort

Absolutely, the reason we have only won one premiership is because Punter keeps suggesting our list might win a premiership!

Sorry NH, the reason we have 1 flag is because Thomas was our coach during our dominant years.

He faltered in the finals. Pure & simple. Sure I loved what he did with the club, and respect that - but come finals time we fell apart. each & every year.
I would rather 1 yr of what we served up & then come back stronger & actually win a flag .. rather than make prelim after prelim & lose by 30 points.

Get your facts right SG. 2004 Prelim lost to Port @ AAMI by 6 points. We were 5 points in front at quarter time and would have been 5 goals in front if it wasn't for those invading the ground when Gehrig got his 100th. I will never forgive Demetriou for not stating before the game that if anyone invaded the ground they would cop a $10,000 fine. It was about 10 mins into the first quarter when Gehrig got his 100th and we were 2 - 2 - 14 and Port had barely gone into their forward 50. As soon as they cleared the ground Port got 2 quick goals.

2005 Prelim...we were absolutely savaged by injuries having 8 players missing against Sydney that night. To add insult to injury Sydney had made 1 forced change in the last 10 weeks of the season. Can you believe it? That is a !@#$ing miracle, and we were leading at 3 quarter time and finally got over-run.

So for you to say that Thomas faltered in the finals says to me either 1 of 2 things. You are either a fool or you do not barrack for St.kilda.

Who will St Kilda delist?