Why all the 'Saint Hate'?

I have never liked them but the passionate dislike has Intensified because of the smug and unsmiling coach...
I hope they get pumped so I can see Ross Lyons face

WOW:D

Some of the reasons are bordering on laughable..............

Any fan can go through any club and pick out little things from players to a game dating back years as a reason to hate them. For what its worth Ross Lyon probably wouldn't smile if we won the flag anyway, he's an unusual type. Do hope we win just so you can see his face drive you mental.:rolleyes:

This thread is a joke.:thumbsdown:

Yeah . . . sure you were. :D

What on earth did St Kilda do other than insist the AFL should stick to their rules?

I know it's a hard concept for supporters of franchises to understand but those of us that are old school sort of think it's an important principle.

You really are a ********. The tears flowing when the most unsuccessful team in Australian Rules history fails to add a secong flag in their 113 year history will be hilarious.

Ease up 'Fremantle Dockers' supporter...................

We've survived for 113 years and we're the most unsuccessful?

Interesting.

FWIW, insults from Dockers fans humour rather than hurt.

Got any more for me? :thumbsu:

We've survived for 113 years and we're the most unsuccessful?

Interesting.

FWIW, insults from Dockers fans humour rather than hurt.

Got any more for me? :thumbsu:

Why do you keep trying to pay out people who express the reasons that they hate St Kilda in a thread titled 'Why all the Saint Hate'.

People have their reasons. Just live with it. I can't believe it offends you so much.

Why are the Saints hated?
Do you really think they could now accommodate 16 seasoned first round draft picks under the salary cap legitimately?
Just refer to the Hudghton property transaction a few years ago as a clue to how it is done.....

I hate Geelong because Cameron Ling is ugly, Scarlett is an arseh*le and all their fans are cocky. I hate Carlton because Fev is ugly, Fev is a sook and all their fans are arrogant ... etc. etc. ad infinitum until all teams are accounted for.
We can all manufacture reasons why we hate other teams, but the simple truth is that, in general, we don't care about them, even feel sorry for them, until they become really good, better than our team. Then suddenly they become hated and their fans by association become cocky.

I'm quite taken aback by the hate directed at the saints as well. If anything I thought Geelong would be the primary target of trolls frothing at the mouth with insane jealousy this week. Even some maybloomers are getting behind us wishing us well. :eek: It's like I've landed in some parallel dimension or something, it's all very weird. lol :cool:

I have never liked them but the passionate dislike has Intensified because of the smug and unsmiling coach...
I hope they get pumped so I can see Ross Lyons face

How is Lyon smug? Unsmiling or unemotional maybe but he's not smug. If you want smug just look at Bomber Thompson.

Hey Saintsrule...any chance of a non emotional, subjective response?
Most hate teams from an emotional perspective...if Fev and Ling went to St Kilda and won you a premiership you would love them.
You paint the Saints as squeaky clean when they are like every other team doing deals to keep the best list they can...

Why all the Saint hate? Maybe because of flogs like this:

I don't think the saints had a training drill the last two weeks against the Pies or Bulldogs and they certainly won't have one this week, haha. I was taking the piss but got carried away with thorse three posts i made. Both Geelong and the Saints have been great all year and may the best team win. Yep a total cliche! I am confident but i got the upmost respect for the catters and this may very well go right down to the wire again!

I for one and hoping for a thrilling spectacle!

On Milne though, i think he cops it just a lil to much on bigfooty and will stick up for a saints player any day. He's a darned fine forward pocket, he plays his role well and people should admit that he's a very servicable player instead of this apparent dud he's made out to be!

Hey Saintsrule...any chance of a non emotional, subjective response?Most hate teams from an emotional perspective...if Fev and Ling went to St Kilda and won you a premiership you would love them.
You paint the Saints as squeaky clean when they are like every other team doing deals to keep the best list they can...

You don't get what I was trying to do, do you?
I will explain. I don't hate Fev or Ling, I was simply trying to point out that people invent silly reasons to rationalise why they hate certain teams, when the only real reason is that team's performance is exceptionally good, better than their team's. And where did I even imply anything re Saints being squeaky clean? Wasn't even mentioned.

You don't get what I was trying to do, do you?
I will explain. I don't hate Fev or Ling, I was simply trying to point out that people invent silly reasons to rationalise why they hate certain teams, when the only real reason is that team's performance is exceptionally good, better than their team's. And where did I even imply anything re Saints being squeaky clean? Wasn't even mentioned.
Yes, I understand what you were getting at...but probably didn't put it well. After all, I am recent years suffering Carlton supporter who appreciates there are valid reasons why Carlton is hated...
My point is that there are sometimes reasons why a team is disliked which are not just because they are going well, or some shallow emotional bias.

I can't understand it. I would be happy to have seen either the Bulldogs or Saints win it this year. I feel for the supporters who have stuck by their clubs with no success.

I can understand people hating the thought of the Blues, Bombers, Pies or Hawks winning another one, but come on people have some compassion, imagine if it was your team in that position. :(

no, if the Saints get up next week, they will have won two premierships.

best team ever? :rolleyes:

there's a few reasons why i don't believe the saints are popular, including them arguably being the original tankers and the whole milne thing - but the main reason is the lack of humility from their fans.

the dogs fans wanted this soooo badly last nite. the pies fans, and the geelong fans (even having just won a premiership 2 years ago) want it soooo bad - the saints fans, despite their team the most unsuccesful in vfl/afl history... well they just expected it.

there's been a lot of class shown on here and elsewhere since the match... but its easy to do it after the mach when you've won it. it would've been interesting if they'd lost i reckon...
Oh yeah cos my post just before the game sounded real confident. You should have gone to the g and seen all the Saints fans singing their way home. It didn't look like we expected it.

For what it's worth, I like Geelong fans. Melbourne, Carlton, Bulldogs are fine. But after a match against StKilda I feel ill after putting up with their arrogant, moronic supporters.

Well, at least we seem significant given how long this thread has gone for. What is worse, being a team that people love to hate, or being a team that no-one remembers?

My only gripe is that people cannot find love for any of our players, not even Lenny?

Well, at least we seem significant given how long this thread has gone for. What is worse, being a team that people love to hate, or being a team that no-one remembers?

My only gripe is that people cannot find love for any of our players, not even Lenny?
It's GF week and we are in it...wooo hooo, there are not enough Saint threads on here. There is much luv for the Saints and it's great to see who the bitter ones are :thumbsu:
Keep this thread alive.

1 flag since 1966 playing a side who got one in 2007. I would have thought the majority of non cats would be supporting The Saints.
I thought so too!

Didn't realise we were so hated.

Fair to say we are definitely not sentimental favourites. Seems to be the opposite. Don't remember it was so bad in 1997.

Why all the 'Saint Hate'?