Why do so many hate Egan?

augie

Feb 15, 2006
We seem to have a lot of Collingwood people come on this board and run down Chris Egan. I think the worst was the person who blamed him for not taking a moark when the ball was two metres over his head but there are many more who criticise him. Does anyone else see that he is a very, very talented footballer who will play a big part in the rise of the Pies?

I think the classic example would be the Adelaide game. I know I will get slaughtered for this, but Buckley made a massive error that probably cost us the game. He had a snap at goal when he should have handpassed to Egan (or another) who was in the clear and could have walked into an open goal. Not one word said about this on the board. What would the response have been if Egan did the same? He would have been crucified - selfish, lazy etc.

Just wondering why he is so maligned.

People have to pick someone to dislike because if they don't, their raging bias in favour of certain Collingwood players would seem unrealistic.

I think many people have found it easy to hate Egan because of his perceived softness and quite frankly, because they basically award him the standard Aboriginal "lazy and inconsistent" tag.

I actually like Egan - I'm a bigger fan of Egan than I am of Sean Rusling, which might actually make me the only person on this board.

I said the same thing about Burns' non-handpass to Egan.

But yeah, I'd say it basically comes down to everyone needing to pick a player to hate.

If Egan manages to play his best during a final this year, then people would be stoked on him. But then I think his weaknesses are exactly the ones that usually get exposed during higher-intensity finals football. I would look to play him in my home&away best 22, but maybe not in my finals best 22. Injuries to similar players means he's probably in the best 22 available, so so be it. He has shown improvement, and appears to have more improvement left in him. He'll only step-up to seniors level footy if that's where he's played. And even then he might not.

He's a goofy looking guy, but he clearly moves well. Also has magic hands. And is a modern player build, give it a few more pre-seasons. I'm not sure which position on the ground he's ever gonna grow up to dominate, but I can see talent in him. I can see why he was recruited, but obviously there's been better players so far from later in his draft.

I'm undecided on Egan, but have seen enough to want to find out just how much he can improve.

augie said:
I think the classic example would be the Adelaide game. I know I will get slaughtered for this, but Buckley made a massive error that probably cost us the game. He had a snap at goal when he should have handpassed to Egan (or another) who was in the clear and could have walked into an open goal. Not one word said about this on the board. What would the response have been if Egan did the same? He would have been crucified - selfish, lazy etc.
Correct. I pointed this out. Buckley was very selfish and it did cost us the game but thats got nothing to do with Egan.

He is soft, lazy and arrogant. Mate dont give the bird to the crowd in your 2nd game ever. Which first year players do that kind of stuff? He also has poor kicking skills which is not different to most of our players anyway :p :thumbsdown:

I will admit he has been pretty good in a game or 2 this year. Against Essendon a couple of weeks back he was our only forward target. Was playing the leading Chris Tarrant type. Needs to do it more often though.

I dont get know where why you guys think he is 'very skillful'? What has he actually done to make you think that

Personally I think he's a waste of a top 10 pick but time will tell.

Cassius_Clay said:
I dont get know where why you guys think he is 'very skillful'? What has he actually done to make you think that
The time he won the game off his own boot in the VFL for Buck's return game after surgery, against the Box Hill Hawks, was something to behold.

The funny thing is, I reckon he's in a serious form slump in terms of skills, despite being able to find it and hit targets more often than not at AFL level. That's what I find to be most encouraging, as I think he may quite soon have a game where it all comes together, and his freak will return.

I'm a fan of Egan's. He hasn't really shown a massive amount at AFL level yet but there just seems to be something there, small glimpses of that magic touch that alot of players simply don't have.

I think he just needs to break a game open for the Pies ie. kick 3 or 4 goals or get 25 possies, and then perhaps the doubters will be silenced

The only reason I can think of is he is an arrogant player. I love the guy, how he plays that is. His arrogance on the field is a feature and he might make some mistakes, but he has some handy skills and can find the ball if hot. Probably holds the record of most kicks on average OOF (first 3 kicks in AFL career were OOF, has done it many many times this season), but who cares.

I knwo that many do hate Egan and it would have to have something to do with his 'softness' and 'arrogance' which probably isn't wrong. He isn't too keen to chuck his body in ruthlessly like a Scott Burns but he is just so exciting to watch. He is very skinny and needs to be in the gym at any oppurtunity, and we knwo that whle he can kick a miracluous goal or a shocker out on the full he will most likely be able to become a lot more consistent with more experience because as someone mentioned hchanged a couple of VFL games orm a loss to us, to a win in a matter of a couple of kicks.

He looks like he can jump a two storey building, he has a brilliant vertical leap, so hopefully we get to see a few hangers from him in the near future. He needs plenty of time, so patience is the key but he has shown enough for me to say he can play. I look forward to seeing him affter another pre season hopefully with half a dozen or more added kilos of muscle. :thumbsu:

Lonie_from_50 said:
The only reason I can think of is he is an arrogant player. I love the guy, how he plays that is. His arrogance on the field is a feature and he might make some mistakes, but he has some handy skills and can find the ball if hot. Probably holds the record of most kicks on average OOF (first 3 kicks in AFL career were OOF, has done it many many times this season), but who cares.

this is a joke right????

EGAN IS AN OUT AND OUT DUD,
Do you people go to the footy, especially you Lonie from 50, you're 3 favorite players are the 3 that cause the most angst. Lonie, O'bree and Egan, and let me guess, you're a fan of Tarkyn Lockyer as well.

Therussian said:
this is a joke right????

EGAN IS AN OUT AND OUT DUD,
Do you people go to the footy, especially you Lonie from 50, you're 3 favorite players are the 3 that cause the most angst. Lonie, O'bree and Egan, and let me guess, you're a fan of Tarkyn Lockyer as well.

Can we run a poll on this?

Which of the following statements is correct.

(A)Egan is a dud.
(B)O'Bree is useless.
(C)Therussian is an idiot.

augie said:
Can we run a poll on this?

Which of the following statements is correct.

(A)Egan is a dud.
(B)O'Bree is useless.
(C)Therussian is an idiot.
C) and possibly A. O'Bree is a good player. Dont know why so many bag him.

Egan may end up a dud in the event that he doesn't improve. Given that he's a second year player, to state that he definitely will not improve would require a time machine and therefore the only intelligent choice for A is in the negative.

O'Bree has been crucial in winning us footy games this year. Plenty of grunt inside. As an outside midfielder, he's pathetic, but then without him, our genuine outside midfielders would be lucky to get a kick. Thus the only intelligent choice for B is in the negative.

As Therussian has disagreed with the above logic, then one can only assume that he is an idiot and therefore C must logically be answered in the affirmative.

magpie_militia said:
Egan reminds me a lot like McCleod. Not with his disposal, but with the way he moves and reads the play.

I think he has a lot of potential.

......... do you hear that? that is the sound of me clapping,

you have just been awarded the stupidist post ever award,

Congrats MM

I always find it ironic when someone calls someone "stupid" and can't even spell the word correctly themselves.

Seriously though, I never said he was as good as McCleod, I just said that Egan & McCleod look very similar when they are running with the ball.

Sheesh, it's just a f*cking opinion. I couldn't care less what award you give me. Get over yourself.

magpie_militia said:
I always find it ironic when someone calls someone "stupid" and can't even spell the word correctly themselves.

Seriously though, I never said he was as good as McCleod, I just said that Egan & McCleod look very similar when they are running with the ball.

Sheesh, it's just a f*cking opinion. I couldn't care less what award you give me. Get over yourself.

what is more ironic is that you picked out my spelling mistake yet you continue to to spell McLeod incorrectly,

dont need a shell to be a peanut do you,

Great work Therussian - quite comfortably the most pathetic comeback ever.

Childish, ill-informed and unable to handle criticism. As a wise man once said - must be a real hit with the ladies.

augie said:
We seem to have a lot of Collingwood people come on this board and run down Chris Egan. I think the worst was the person who blamed him for not taking a moark when the ball was two metres over his head but there are many more who criticise him. Does anyone else see that he is a very, very talented footballer who will play a big part in the rise of the Pies? Just wondering why he is so maligned.

Think you might be refering to me there Augie. Were you at the game and actually saw that piece of footage when Fraser kicked it to him and he missed the mark? Is that the first time it has happened or does it happen all the time?

He has the same ability to judge the ball in the air as Corey McKernan! Wasn't Fraser's pass, it was Egan's ability to read the ball in the air! Any player should be able to realise, that hey, if I keep leading at this pace, i'm a fair chance of running under it here, I should perhaps back off a bit and make sure I give myself a good opportunity to mark it, with both hands.

Egan: i'll keep running at the same speed and try and jump two metres in the air and pluck it.

Why would Burns handball to a bloke when he had a clear shot on goal, wasn't under much pressure and there was two or three Port blokes bearing down on Egan in the goal square. Burns f**ked up, thats it. Why create another possession when its not needed. If Buckley was in the square, Burns still wouldn't have handballed the footy.

He is a maligned player because he is a top 10 draft pick, we picked this bloke with our first pick! He does not play with any consistancy, is soft, loves to chase rather than get in there and create his own opportunities and his foot skills aren't exactly terrific.

To say that Chris Egan reminds people, well one person imparticularly of Andrew McLeod is laughable and could be the funniesty thing I have ever read about (yes, even worse that some of the sh*t that comes out of Caroline Wilson's mouth). Chris Egan has a lot of potential and a lot of improving to do. Lets hope he is on the list long enough to repay the faith the Magpies have shown in him.

Finally, to answer the Poll Question.

A and B - O'Bree is a dud, so is Egan.

Spot on Russian

Therussian said:
what is more ironic is that you picked out my spelling mistake yet you continue to to spell McLeod incorrectly,

dont need a shell to be a peanut do you,

Like I said mate, I found it ironic that you were calling me stupid, yet didn't spell the word correctly yourself. Made me laugh, thanks :thumbsu:

sloth6 said:
Think you might be refering to me there Augie. Were you at the game and actually saw that piece of footage when Fraser kicked it to him and he missed the mark? Is that the first time it has happened or does it happen all the time?

He has the same ability to judge the ball in the air as Corey McKernan! Wasn't Fraser's pass, it was Egan's ability to read the ball in the air! Any player should be able to realise, that hey, if I keep leading at this pace, i'm a fair chance of running under it here, I should perhaps back off a bit and make sure I give myself a good opportunity to mark it, with both hands.

Egan: i'll keep running at the same speed and try and jump two metres in the air and pluck it.

Why would Burns handball to a bloke when he had a clear shot on goal, wasn't under much pressure and there was two or three Port blokes bearing down on Egan in the goal square. Burns f**ked up, thats it. Why create another possession when its not needed. If Buckley was in the square, Burns still wouldn't have handballed the footy.

He is a maligned player because he is a top 10 draft pick, we picked this bloke with our first pick! He does not play with any consistancy, is soft, loves to chase rather than get in there and create his own opportunities and his foot skills aren't exactly terrific.

To say that Chris Egan reminds people, well one person imparticularly of Andrew McLeod is laughable and could be the funniesty thing I have ever read about (yes, even worse that some of the sh*t that comes out of Caroline Wilson's mouth). Chris Egan has a lot of potential and a lot of improving to do. Lets hope he is on the list long enough to repay the faith the Magpies have shown in him.

Finally, to answer the Poll Question.

A and B - O'Bree is a dud, so is Egan.

Spot on Russian

Good post Sloth, quite fair.

Just to defend myself though, it was just an observation of mine that he moves like McLeod. I never said he was as good, just that he moves like him and that he has potential. Maybe you don't see it, but please DON'T compare me to Caroline Wilson!!!! :eek:

Why do so many hate Egan?