why geelongs premiership was better than hawthorns ?

as it currently stands both the current cats and hawks side have won one premiership each but are they really equal to each other.....

.......... you all know its true that their is no comparison between geelongs premiership and hawthorns :)

Spot on GC, Geelong's premiership has more value as it took 44 looooongg, arduous, spirit-sapping years to get it compared to the Hawk's 'quickie' 17 years.

44 is more than 17, Geelong wins!!

Spot on GC, Geelong's premiership has more value as it took 44 looooongg, arduous, spirit-sapping years to get it compared to the Hawk's 'quickie' 17 years.

44 is more than 17, Geelong wins!!

:rolleyes: You responded to GC26, so either you're new or you're stupid... either way, if you've got an ounce of sense you'll never do it again.

Something tells me that you don't remember the 1991 flag... can you drive yet?

Ha ha ha.

This has actually been a contributing factor to me enjoying 2008's premiership even more!

I'm glad the Hawks beat you from second place. It made the victory even more sweet.

Your boys and 99.9% of Geelong supporters didn't even see us coming! You were to busy highlighting All-Australian lists, debating whether you had the best team ever and getting Premiership tattoos that you forgot that the 2008 title hadn't been won yet. You failed to accept that the Hawks were a contender who could indeed knock you off your perch.

And that f***ing burns doesn't it?

It wasn't hunger that your team was missing. You failed to give your opposition it's due credit and got stung.

Geelong's football was more consistent throughout the year than the Hawks' but when each team played on the one great day in September, only one side (plus Gary Ablett) stood up.

In our competition two teams make the GF and then, as the saying goes, "may the best team win". Unfortunately your mob, who have a history of surrendering when it counts, weren't.

The only people I knew on GF day who were cocky were Hawthorn supporters.
In 2007 and 2008 EVERY Geelong supporter I interacted with was optimistic but nervous.
If you think GFC was arrogant AT ALL in either season you are very, very sadly mistaken.
In fact the only public display of arrogance I heard before 2008 GF was from Steve Quartermain who said he had never felt more confident of winning a game in his life.

A premiership is a premiership mate. Don't care how they are won.

I am sure our premiership meant just as much to our supporters as yours did to cats supporters. Other supporters opinions mean absolutely nothing.

You beat a team that grossly overachieved to make the gf and didn't turn up on the day. We beat a team that had only lost 1 game for the year who most people thought were certainties.

Still doesn't mean that our premiership is worth more or less than yours.

EXACTLY..end thread!

In 2007 and 2008 EVERY Geelong supporter I interacted with was optimistic but nervous.
If you think GFC was arrogant AT ALL in either season you are very, very sadly mistaken.
In fact the only public display of arrogance I heard before 2008 GF was from Steve Quartermain who said he had never felt more confident of winning a game in his life.

How do you quantify opinion? In my opinion the GFC were very arrogant - it's an opinion, there is no right or wrong answer.

Well my "opinion" is based on the facts of the dozens of Geelong supporters I interacted with on a daily basis, the clubs daily comments throughout the season and my own informed assesment of our chances.
Maybe your opinion is based on Bigfooty trolls...I dunno. What's it based on? Media comments? GFC putting out press releases saying the flag was ours and that Hawthorn were shit? Banter between opposing fans?
You should learn to not confuse trolling in here with the real world.
Also there is a big difference between arrogance and confidence.
I suspect you'll figure that out by late September next year.

Actually that is just plain wrong and has no basis in fact. The Geelong Football Club has always been respectful to it's opposition and the press. OUR coach and club always behaves honourably and respectfully. Get your facts straight, mate.

Had we taken our chances in the GF, the outcome may well have been different. A five goal lead at half time may have seen some of your blokes hanging their heads a bit.

Of course I don't expect you to admit this.

I'll admit that, but would also like to add:

If your Aunty had balls, she'd be your Uncle.
Woulda, coulda, shoulda.
Fact is, YOU DIDN'T!

So, please, STFU already! :rolleyes:

Are you talking about the Geelong Football Club, whose coach and players were modest and humble all year, the collective Geelong supportes group who were a mixed bunch as all clubs are but generally were nervous and keeping a lid on it anyway or are you talking about the Geelong Bay 13 contingent?

I've said it before and I'll say it again, people who make decisions on the arrogance of a football club based on internet forums need to go outside more often. I hate St. Kilda because every single St. Kilda supporter I know personally acted like arrogant assholes in 2004-2005 when they were 'the next big thing,' and every one of them was quick to jump all over me when Geelong lost the Grand Final, not to mention the fact that I've met quite a few arrogant ones at football games. This is an example of basing an opinion on the real world rather the internet.

i was nervous i was not sure whether we would or not and did not want to be cocky at all , of course i wanted to win but was hoping for a great game of footy which it was and even if we had lost i would have been happy cause it was a great game !

lol its not possible to fluke your way to a GF , port were simply the 2nd best side that year I mean they did finish 2nd on the ladder as well as making the GF.Considering that port lost by 119 points ofcourse their supporters will say they are not ready its a no brainer that.

as for 07 being a week year well st kilda did make the top 4 in 08 so the standard cant be to high

as for the hawks being the best in 07 dont know what lodgic thats based on probably the same lodgic that puts the hawks in the BIG 4 and the same lodgic that says hodge should of been number 1 draft pick.Hawthorn finished 5th in 07 and could only beat the side that finished 8th on the last kick of the day.Hawthorn then came out and faced the side that finished 4th and were beaten with ease.It was like they were teasing you as they would let you get close then they would lift their game and kick 3 or 4 goals.

hawthorn in 08 did not come 1st , geelong did in 07
hawthorn did not convincenley win the 08 gf as geelong should of been 4 goals up at half time and the game would of been all over, geelong won by an all time winning record in the 07 GF

our premiership was the ultimate and as pure as you can get because we were without doubt the best, hawthorns is diluted because it can not be said without doubt that they are the best

Mate you could win all 22 games in a season and if you lose the GF then those 22 games mean F*ck/All, if you can't perform on the last day in September then your players need to have a look at themselves and assess what their motivation and mindset was. To me Geelong 08 were very similar to Lions 04 when they turned up on GF day expecting to win as the media and everyone else had talked them up so much.

Once you cross that white line and the ball is bounced its game on, 22 of the best players from your squad, ready to play 100%. each team has a chance to win. The Hawks weren't the best team throughout the year and learnt from their losses and the loss against the Roos in 07, they were hungrier and played a team game. Unfortunately for the cats they didn't, they showed that they had been fed lots of media crap and did not play as a team.

Pressure is intense in any game and more so in a GF, the Hawks were able to maintain continuous pressure the whole game and account for injured key players lost throughout the game (I am not talking about Hodge as if was injured he would not have played) whereby Geelong tried to be fancy and not play the way they had been successful, if they had why would Johnson have played so much in the midfield (we loved that move), Chapman was not fit to play and had no impact - they are Geelongs most dangerous forwards and I think they had probably three shots on goal. Mooney showed up that he is not a top class forward, Ablett was good and got plenty of ball but had no real damage and Bartel - well did he play?

Anyway we won and we loved it, Geelong won last year and I loved it to as they wiped the floor with Port. Any team that wins the GF are very deserving but just because you were the best all year doesn't mean your entitled to the cup!!! No-one reads the history records to see who finished on top of the ladder - they look at who won the GF.

Mate you could win all 22 games in a season and if you lose the GF then those 22 games mean F*ck/All, if you can't perform on the last day in September then your players need to have a look at themselves and assess what their motivation and mindset was. To me Geelong 08 were very similar to Lions 04 when they turned up on GF day expecting to win as the media and everyone else had talked them up so much.

Once you cross that white line and the ball is bounced its game on, 22 of the best players from your squad, ready to play 100%. each team has a chance to win. The Hawks weren't the best team throughout the year and learnt from their losses and the loss against the Roos in 07, they were hungrier and played a team game. Unfortunately for the cats they didn't, they showed that they had been fed lots of media crap and did not play as a team.

Pressure is intense in any game and more so in a GF, the Hawks were able to maintain continuous pressure the whole game and account for injured key players lost throughout the game (I am not talking about Hodge as if was injured he would not have played) whereby Geelong tried to be fancy and not play the way they had been successful, if they had why would Johnson have played so much in the midfield (we loved that move), Chapman was not fit to play and had no impact - they are Geelongs most dangerous forwards and I think they had probably three shots on goal. Mooney showed up that he is not a top class forward, Ablett was good and got plenty of ball but had no real damage and Bartel - well did he play?

Anyway we won and we loved it, Geelong won last year and I loved it to as they wiped the floor with Port. Any team that wins the GF are very deserving but just because you were the best all year doesn't mean your entitled to the cup!!! No-one reads the history records to see who finished on top of the ladder - they look at who won the GF.

Mate, that's far too sensible a post - the flog of an OP really only writes in IDIOT so others of his ilk can understand.

as it currently stands both the current cats and hawks side have won one premiership each but are they really equal to each other ? are all premierships the same ?

when you win the premiership you get a cup,some medals and your name goes into the record books, thats always the same however with a premiership also comes all the glory and pride which is not always the same with each premiership, and their are a number of reasons why their is more glory in geelongs premiership than their is hawthorns

1.Geelong won a premiership by builiding a side without a pick below number 7 while hawthorn required 2 priority picks to build their premiership list, one of the years they had their prority pick their were two gun kp forwards available

2.Geelong won a premiership playing a brand of footy that was good for the game as it was fast free flowing, while hawthorn had to rush multiple behinds, introduce zones and clusters all over the ground and have played a brand of footy that pushes the rules to the limit

3.In 2007 geelong were the best side all year, won almost every award their is to win and then came out under lots of pressure and smashed port by 119 points which is as pure a premierships as you can get.Hawthorns is some what diluted due to the fact that they werent the best side in the season and because the gf was more lost by geelong than won by them

4.Geelong had far more pressure on the going into the 07 gf than hawthorn did in 08 , its alot easier when you are the under dog and you can play with a lot of freedom as hawthorn did in 08

5.cant go much into this one but their is the tainted issue

6.due to the fact that geelong won the premiership 12 months ago they were not as hungry, yes port won a flag 3 years earlier but its not the same

I know most will come on here and say this is crap but deep down you all know its true that their is no comparison between geelongs premiership and hawthorns :)

You are a moron!! w***er all premierships are equal!!

If anything ours was better because we had a much stronger opposition against us, you brought the pressure on yourselves in 2007 because you had choked so many times in the past.

How many father/son picks have you had??

Honestly get a life!! You really are bitter!!!

Geelong the greatest chokers of all!!!!

You are a moron!! w***er all premierships are equal!!

If anything ours was better because we had a much stronger opposition against us, you brought the pressure on yourselves in 2007 because you had choked so many times in the past.

How many father/son picks have you had??

Honestly get a life!! You really are bitter!!!

Geelong the greatest chokers of all!!!!
Bradbury premierships (e.g. Hawthorn 2008) are the lowest of all. Nobody respects those. :thumbsu: :)

^^^^^^^^^^^^^

This particular Essenscum nuffie is really hurting that the Hawks destoyed every team they played in the finals. :thumbsu:

Ryder V Buddy.

Ok the Ryder V Buddy thing has nothing to do with this thread but it still makes me laugh.

Please, please, silly little Matty Knights play Ryder on Buddy again this year. :D

^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Oh dear. This inbred flog has posted the exact same thing the 50th time over about Ryder, Buddy, Knights, Essenscum in a thread that has nothing to do with it.

You try so so hard don't you? Truth is, you're very very terrible at this. :)

^^^^^^^^^^^

The Hawks finished second on the ladder then destroyed the teams that finished 3rd and 4th before going on to beat Geelong.

Buddy, Roughead and Sam Mitchell all had very quiet days and yet the Hawks still beat Geelong. :thumbsu:

Because Essenscum are the Hawks bitches, you are hurting.

Accusing others of being repetitive .................. Oh the Irony. :eek:

^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Oh dear. This inbred flog has posted the exact same thing the 50th time over about Ryder, Buddy, Knights, Essenscum in a thread that has nothing to do with it.

You try so so hard don't you? Truth is, you're very very terrible at this. :)
Why not mention it again? Glad it was. Makes me laugh everytime. Bumbers are disasters. :D

Are you talking about the Geelong Football Club, whose coach and players were modest and humble all year, the collective Geelong supportes group who were a mixed bunch as all clubs are but generally were nervous and keeping a lid on it anyway or are you talking about the Geelong Bay 13 contingent?

I've said it before and I'll say it again, people who make decisions on the arrogance of a football club based on internet forums need to go outside more often. I hate St. Kilda because every single St. Kilda supporter I know personally acted like arrogant assholes in 2004-2005 when they were 'the next big thing,' and every one of them was quick to jump all over me when Geelong lost the Grand Final, not to mention the fact that I've met quite a few arrogant ones at football games. This is an example of basing an opinion on the real world rather the internet.
Yeh not arrogant at all. When the choker mooney said this premiership is for the players before it was played. We know know how it ended up. Go Hawks!:thumbsu: Thanks moondog. :D

why geelongs premiership was better than hawthorns ?