Why the angst towards Collingwood supporters?

Squeak

Jun 5, 2002
Lexus Centre Parma Bar
Milwaukee Beers
I don't understand it. Sure we've been pleased with our teams performances, as would any supporter of such a champion team.

Stuff like 'we won't lose a game' is clearly tongue in cheek, still not sure why people can't see that.

This is a topic that has me shaking my head whenever I take a look at big footy.

The number of Collingwood threads is always staggering and generally started by non Collingwood fans.

I know guys like Rohan etc have got under the skin of a lot of people, but surely its not that hard to ignore these types of trolling posts.

Do unto others as others do unto you,

If you play with fire expect to get burnt,

What goes around comes around,

If you give it expect to receive in kind,

i'm sure some one else could come up with another couple of sayings,

Gotta love how Collingwood ppl are now playing the victims.

Do a search on BF from Oct '02 onwards and you will realise why the hate towards your club!

Also the jealousy towards Essendon in the period of 2000 will not be forgotten by me. Whenever we lost a single game between 2000-2001 there were hundreds of individual threads started celebrating it by hypocritical collingwood fans, if you give you have to learn to take !!!!!!!! Now its their turn.

Originally posted by Squeak
I don't understand it. Sure we've been pleased with our teams performances, as would any supporter of such a champion team.

Stuff like 'we won't lose a game' is clearly tongue in cheek, still not sure why people can't see that.

A mixture of reasons. Partly because of a media seemingly obsessed with Collingwood, even when they weren't a top side during 1995-2001.

Partly because of their president, who is seen to have such a powerful and influential role in football, and as able to use it to his club's advantage. There's also his personal demeanour; his constant accusation of people "talking down football" whenever there is criticism of his club or the game itself - legitamate or not. Also, his inability of handling criticism at himself or the club - legitamate or not - and responding with cheap shots, usually at the club or the person it came from. This comes down to his ego and arrogance, which is somewhat inevitable considering his position and status in society.

Partly (and I think this is the most significant reason) the fear from opposition supporters that they can see the club is getting its act together and has the potential with its resources and fanbase, to be clearly the most dominant force in the AFL by a long way.

For me it is because of their supporters....
Most of who are loud mouthed, toothless ferals who have no clue and are so quick to dish out cr@p about other supporters and teams. They forget that while Collingwood have been playing a decent brand of footy lately that they haven’t actually won anything.
Collingwood are just getting back what they are quick to dish out, and I for one are loving every minute of it.

WOBBLE WOBBLE :D

Originally posted by eastaugh36
Also the jealousy towards Essendon in the period of 2000 will not be forgotten by me.

martian disease spreading to essendon supporters? i cant find a single reason to be jealous of the dons. they were brilliant in 2000 and deserved their success but you'll never find a pie fan jealous of any other side and essendon would be close to bottom of any list. the majority of don fans are in the same boat as sydney and west coast - chardonnay set supporters or 14 year old schoolgirls.

Originally posted by MJ_RULES
Most of who are loud mouthed, toothless ferals who have no clue and are so quick to dish out cr@p about other supporters and teams. They forget that while Collingwood have been playing a decent brand of footy lately that they haven’t actually won anything.
Collingwood are just getting back what they are quick to dish out, and I for one are loving every minute of it.

Had to love it when Carey did a sarcastic clap to the collingwobble cheer squad ! :D

Originally posted by ramjet
- the majority of don fans are in the same boat as sydney and west coast - chardonnay set supporters or 14 year old schoolgirls.

That's not a negative. Thats a positive because it proves the fans have a job, a brain and a decent appearance.

Originally posted by Gopies 2002

I know guys like Rohan etc have got under the skin of a lot of people, but surely its not that hard to ignore these types of trolling posts.

Rohan, love him or hate him, was a one off. A shame that he has gone from these boards.

Collingwood supporters are a mixture like every other club's supporters that post on these boards. You could categorise them as:

Good (Squeak)

Average (Ruddeger)

Awful (Abba Lonie)

martian disease spreading to essendon supporters? i cant find a single reason to be jealous of the dons. they were brilliant in 2000 and deserved their success but you'll never find a pie fan jealous of any other side and essendon would be close to bottom of any list. the majority of don fans are in the same boat as sydney and west coast - chardonnay set supporters or 14 year old schoolgirls.

I can think of 2 OBVIOUS reasons.....:D
At least we don't leave the sinking ship...Collingwooden mass exodus LMAO

I can think of 2 OBVIOUS reasons.....:D
At least we don't leave the sinking ship...Collingwooden mass exodus LMAO

might be just me not getting this but youre gonna have to explain. what sinking ship and what mass exodus?

Surely you are trying to be funny.:rolleyes:

not at all. i seriously wasnt sure what it was you were talking about. just reading other posts i figure you must be referring to people leaving the game last night? didnt see that myself so it didnt twig. is that what you were on about?

Who gives a toss

Personally I could not give a flying frogs **** what other supporters think of us. There are certain teams I detest and for good reason, others I hardly thing about as they really don't rate.

I love the exchanges between opposition fans, itis what makes the game great and the boards are just an extension of this. Last night I and a few others were crying with laughter about a comment delivered to some Crow fans and yes we had lost but it was a classic comment. The day we stop hating opposition clubs, hanging it on each other and generally being arseholes is the day I go follow something else.

BRING IT ON!

not at all. i seriously wasnt sure what it was you were talking about. just reading other posts i figure you must be referring to people leaving the game last night? didnt see that myself so it didnt twig. is that what you were on about?

Bingo, if you didn't see it I suggest you find a copy of the game and take a peek, it's rather amusing...

Re: Re: Why the angst towards Collingwood supporters?

Originally posted by M29
Mate, to be a champion team, don't you have to win something? ;)

Oh yeah, forgot about that bit.

After the decade we've had, winning more games than we lose is something to bask in. For the moment anyway. Imagine how it will be when we win a flag!

Re: Re: Re: Why the angst towards Collingwood supporters?

Originally posted by Squeak
Imagine how it will be when we win a flag!

You'll probably find a noticeable decline in the amount of start-a-dumb-thread-to-bag-collingwood guys for a few weeks.

In answer to your original question, I think some people take football too seriously.

Also the jealousy towards Essendon in the period of 2000 will not be forgotten by me. Whenever we lost a single game between 2000-2001 there were hundreds of individual threads started celebrating it by hypocritical collingwood fans, if you give you have to learn to take !!!!!!!! Now its their turn.

No, don't single out Collingwood supporters.
Everybody did the threads, especially the trolls and Karl.

Difference is - we LOVE IT!! whereas you seem to sook about ppl ragging your team

Most of the supporters? I think a small minority fall into that category and thats just another stupid stereotype. All teams have their fair share of bad and good supporters. Its just that people don't have the magnifying glass on other teams and their supporters.

In regards to dishing out crap to other teams. We by far receive the most crap of all the teams in the AFL x 10. The amount of trolling posts started here by opposition fans is testament to that. Collingwood is scrutinised more than any club. So you can't blame some fans for dishing out when the opportunity arises. But we take alot more than what we put out.

And as far as winning anything goes. We are way ahead of where we expected to be a year a go. Last years grand final appearance was a bonus. Success may not come immediatley but watch out in the next 5 years.

We have had a good pre-season, we were very flat last night but overall we are just about where we want to be.

GO PIES!!!

Why the angst towards Collingwood supporters?