Hard to see it happening with the A-League being the F-League in quality. When anyone who is any good plays somewhere overseas it is hard to see it attracting the kind of support needed to overtake AFL.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Hard to see it happening with the A-League being the F-League in quality. When anyone who is any good plays somewhere overseas it is hard to see it attracting the kind of support it could had we had a true A-Grade competition.
It's called politics and lobyists .
A successful AL would be one potential .
Do you see beyond that ?
I don't see one reason for it being "vital".
Australia has three very successful winter sporting codes that are already immensely and vitally important to the nation of Australia .By implication , dismantling any one of those structures to build soccer would result in net negative loss to the Australian and world sporting landscape .Those codes are present an important international focus .One could argue that the RUWC is more important to Australia because it is obtainable .The RL WC is important and provides great exposure for Australia .Even Australian Football draws great crowds for it's matches .If Australia promoted it's International Cup for Australian Football imagine it's potential - a world cup devoted completely to an Australian indiginous product .
If Soccer Australia was smart they'd target Summer. Cricket participation levels have been decreasing rapidly over the last decade and crowds going down. Move the local leagues to summer and it would be the new ultimate summer sport within the next decade. Footy fans are far too stubborn and proud to ever fully change to Soccer but a summer game would be a huge success (strewth even I'd probably play).
That's if the FFA are smart
The reality is, as a truly global game, it is a year long sport (a bit like cricket these days). There is club football, the ACL the WCC and then all the internationals. It's impossible to keep it bound to one season. Some people say there is no competition between the football codes, but in my view there really is. I mean, wouldn't the AFL like an extra 40 odd million that the gvt has dished out to the FFA? And there is only so much TV revenue to go around.
Yep take OUR tax money away from soccer and it would be broke as it cannot stand on its own feet and compete with the AFL,RU and even thugby!
If its SO popular as the soccer urgers suggest then let them play their games in winter like all the other codes instead of slinking off to the summer.
In Victoria from 2001 Cricket has grown by 64,900 while Soccer has increased by only 18,300, these figures are from the State Government.If Soccer Australia was smart they'd target Summer. Cricket participation levels have been decreasing rapidly over the last decade and crowds going down. Move the local leagues to summer and it would be the new ultimate summer sport within the next decade. Footy fans are far too stubborn and proud to ever fully change to Soccer but a summer game would be a huge success (strewth even I'd probably play).
That's if the FFA are smart
Yep take OUR tax money away from soccer and it would be broke as it cannot stand on its own feet and compete with the AFL,RU and even thugby!.
If its SO popular as the soccer urgers suggest then let them play their games in winter like all the other codes instead of slinking off to the summer.
That is utter rubbish. Irrespective of any world cup funding, the FFA is now in the black, and is now looking quite sound financially.
That's great ,perhaps they can loan England, Italy, Spain etc some of their dough, as those countries soccer competitions are billions and billions in the red.
Realistically, I can't see soccer ever replacing AFL as the number 1 code in Australia. On a world scale soccer is number 1 and I think it will be happy to be known as the number 1 world game which comes in at number 2 in Australia. There are some countries soccer will not be number 1 in:
India (Cricket)
USA (NFL/NBA)
Australia (AFL)
It just has to accept this.
IMO soccer is as dull as dishwater ...less excitement than lawn bowls...if that rubbish ever overtakes Aussie rules as our number one sport, then Australia has been overun by a foreign country.
I reckon you can add
New Zealand
Pakistan
Canada
Pacific Island countries
Sri Lanka
And I'm not sure about China either.
That is a sh1tload of people.
Why would soccer overtake a game that is so much apart of our history? People don't just forget these things.
Yes, soccer has always been popular in Europe, and it seems to have grown rapidly throughout Asia over the last 30 or so years. But these countries had no ingrainded sporting culture or history as America, India, Australia and even New Zealand has.
I think AFL will always be number one here, but I do think the AFL needs to do more to promote the game to different ethnic groups, because soccer is the game they're inclinded to support. You only need to compare the makeup of A-League and AFL crowds to see that.
Realistically, I can't see soccer ever replacing AFL as the number 1 code in Australia. On a world scale soccer is number 1 and I think it will be happy to be known as the number 1 world game which comes in at number 2 in Australia. There are some countries soccer will not be number 1 in:
India (Cricket)
USA (NFL/NBA)
Australia (AFL)
It just has to accept this.
But the main point here is that I wouldn't underestimate the power of any well organised and managed sport moving in and stamping their claim over a more traditional sport or at least equaling it. Japan is a good example.
In every suburb and country town there's a footy club
lol you are so wrong, every heard of the South West of your state or the Barrassi line, also lots of Sydney suburbs have Australian Football clubs.that's certainly the case in Victoria, but in NSW - Australia's most populous state - you'd be lucky to find one country town, and hardly any Sydney suburbs, with a rules club
lol you are so wrong, every heard of the South West of your state or the Barrassi line, also lots of Sydney suburbs have Australian Football clubs.